Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The After Hours end of year awards for the Best & Worst of 2013

• 29-12-2013 6:23pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭

Lets keep it simple with 8 categories;

General

Best Film: Rush and Saving Mr Banks were both good but Gravity dazzled. I think Sandra Bullock might be a surprising Oscar win next year

Worst Film:
    The Internship

Best Song: Daft Punk "Get Lucky"

Worst Song: Kanye West "Bound 2"

Good Person Of The Year: Independent TD Shane Ross for kicking arse on the Public Accounts Committee

Bold Person Of The Year: Joint winners are Anglo Irish Bank senior managers John Bowe and Peter Fitzgerald. Both were caught on tape having a laugh about how Anglo was luring the State into giving it billions of euros. Both remain unjailed.

Boards.ie Awards

Poster Of The Year: Wibbs always has something very sensible to say.

Thread Of The Year: The "How The Internet Used To Be" thread was great ;)

For the craic you can add your own category and winner in addition to the 8 above, but no nasty ones like "biggest troll" etc

Who do you give your After Hours end of year awards for the Best & Worst of 2013?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,950 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

This thread has some potential. Alternatively it might get locked after six posts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

This thread has some potential. Alternatively it might get locked after six posts.

Why would it get locked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

This awards cermony has some potential. Alternatively everyone might get locked after six pints.

More realistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭stretchdoe

IvaBigWun wrote: »

Why would it get locked?

Dutch courage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Best and subsequently biggest let down of a thread award goes to.

I Found a Safe thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Why would it get locked?

It might get into the drinks cabinet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Gravity is a load of cnut. The Family with De Niro is pathetic. What is all the fuss about the Anchorman? Wankerman more like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭patmac

Alpha papa Partridge best film

patmac wrote: »
    Alpha papa Partridge best film
    I quite enjoyed that and Filth. Die Hard 5 was dreadful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

The tributes to the late Mel Smith and Felix Dexter were appropriate and dignified, so comedians get my media death of the year award.

Can't say the same of many the others, other than may they rest in peace.

Dexter Season 8 and the finale was absolutely awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

General

Best Film: 12 years a slave or american Hustle, I can't decide :(

Worst Film: movie 43

Best Song: "The Mother We Share" Chvrches

Worst Song: Ylvis What Does The Fox Say

Good Person Of The Year: No Idea :L

Bold Person Of The Year: Yer one who killed a tiger and proudly posted it on Twitter.

Boards.ie Awards

Poster Of The Year: Me obviously.

Thread Of The Year: None. Although, if I had started one, It'd definitely be the thread of the year.

I'd also like to add a category if I may: Best album: Holy Fire by Foals.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Prisoners was my pick for film of the year

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Dexter Season 8 and the finale was absolutely awful.

Worst finale ever imho, not just 2013 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Worst finale ever imho, not just 2013 ;)

Also the year of Breaking Bad, arguably the best TV ever.

Thing That Attracted The Most Attention In 2013: Breaking Bad too ;)

Humungous year in gaming, with the release of GTA V and COD Ghosts, and the end of the 360/PS3 era.

Ghosts and GTA V must be put down as a bit of a disappointment. Certainly neither have pleased everybody, and probably also have the biggest amount of people selling them on immediately. GTA online continues to develop and will hopefully improve over time. Maybe by mid 2014, we will have a fully working game.

The physical release of Minecraft on Xbox 360 must be called a massive success for gamers. Huge sales, a well-crafted port of the PC game and at a very reasonable price.

The jury is still out on PS4/Xbox One. Even though we have had a great year of arguing the qualities of each pre-release, nobody can afford one yet.

Apparently Love/Hate was big too this year. I wouldn't know, I've been under a rock.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Humungous year in gaming, with the release of GTA V and COD Ghosts, and the end of the 360/PS3 era.

Ghosts and GTA V must be put down as a bit of a disappointment. Certainly neither have pleased everybody, and probably also have the biggest amount of people selling them on immediately. GTA online continues to develop and will hopefully improve over time. Maybe by mid 2014, we will have a fully working game.

The physical release of Minecraft on Xbox 360 must be called a massive success for gamers. Huge sales, a well-crafted port of the PC game and at a very reasonable price.

The jury is still out on PS4/Xbox One. Even though we have had a great year of arguing the qualities of each pre-release, nobody can afford one yet.

The Last of Us deserves a mention, one of the best written games I've ever played

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

wazky wrote: »
    Best and subsequently biggest let down of a thread award goes to.

I Found a Safe thread.

was there
    nothing in it
    ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Worst thread of the year was safe mark 2 by some fella failing hard at been funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,796 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Good Person Of The Year: Independent TD Shane Ross for kicking arse on the Public Accounts Committee

Bold Person Of The Year: Joint winners are Anglo Irish Bank senior managers John Bowe and Peter Fitzgerald. Both were caught on tape having a laugh about how Anglo was luring the State into giving it billions of euros. Both remain unjailed.

This is of course the same Shane Ross (he with a PhD in Revisionism), who was a cheerleader for Anglo during the last decade and even went as far as to call for Sean Fitzpatrick to be appointed to the board of the Central Bank?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Breaking Bad is good I'll grant you, but Fair City was fcuking EPIC this year. Did you see the way Barry malevolently stirred his tea in episode 12?. Ledge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

was there
    nothing in it
    ?

Worse.
    It had a money box in it, full of old curry jars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

General

Best Film: Django Unchained
    Worst Film: grown ups 2

Best Song: nothing compares to wrecking ball

Good Person Of The Year: Pope Francis

Bold Person Of The Year: Board of CRC

Boards.ie Awards

Poster Of The Year: mango Salsa

Thread Of The Year: Fergie Retires

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Worst thread: housemates sexual dalliances

efb wrote: »

General

Best Film: Django Unchained
    Worst Film: grown ups 2

Best Song: nothing compares to wrecking ball

Good Person Of The Year: Pope Francis

Bold Person Of The Year: Board of CRC

Boards.ie Awards

Poster Of The Year: mango Salsa

Thread Of The Year: Fergie Retires

May I just say that this is a great song let down by an incredibly horrendous video? Cause I think it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

May I just say that this is a great song let down by an incredibly horrendous video? Cause I think it is.

You can say it, but we can also point and laugh at you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Best thread has got to be 'Turn Ons/Offs in the opposite sex.' 162 pages and still going strong. :)

mauzo! wrote: »
    You can say it, but we can also point and laugh at you.

I guess it's just cause I'm completely gay for Kanye :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Best thread is The creepy/Unnerving stories thread.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=88112866#post88112866

Kim Kardashian gets her substantial rack out in the video. Whats not to like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Poster Of The Year: Me obviously.

Thread Of The Year: None. Although, if I had started one, It'd definitely be the thread of the year.

Kim Kardashian gets her substantial rack out in the video. Whats not to like?

That's great but the overall video is shockingly bad :L

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Good Person Of The Year: Michael D. Higgins for giving it to the EU C*nts
    Bold Person Of The Year: Snowden

Boards.ie Awards

Poster Of The Year: Mint Aero

Thread Of The Year: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=87399097

Edit : Ah sh*t, it's your thread OP

Apparently Love/Hate was big too this year. I wouldn't know, I've been under a rock.

You didn't miss much this year

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,267 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

That's great but the overall video is shockingly bad :L

Agreed. If an advanced Alien civilisation produced that video as evidence that life had to be restarted on this planet for the overall benefit of the universe it would be indefensible.

'I know I got a bad reputation
    Walking 'round, always mad reputation
    Leave a pretty girl sad reputation'

smcgiff wrote: »
    Agreed. If an advanced Alien civilisation produced that video as evidence that life had to be restarted on this planet for the overall benefit of the universe it would be indefensible.

'I know I got a bad reputation
    Walking 'round, always mad reputation
    Leave a pretty girl sad reputation'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Gobsh!t of the year - That HealyRae fella
    Ad of the year - Van Damme on the Volvo trucks
    Dickhead of the year - That West fella going with yer wan
    Man of the year - Walter White
    Film of the year - Django
    Song of the year - intro by the xx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭Rough Sleeper

For me, Yeezus gave RAM a close run for its money in the "Massively hyped albums that really, really let me down" award.* I didn't "get it" to the extent that I think there might be a bit of an Emperor's New Clothes thing going on given the universally ecstatic reviews it received.

But it isn't a terrible album, and Bound 2 is not a terrible song. So when I started seeing the internet going wild over the song as well as the video, I was perplexed to the degree that I thought that a synaesthesia pandemic might have filled in for the usual bout of winter flu. But really, I think it was a a case of internet Chinese whispers run wild. The video came out, it was a ****pile, and alternative music sites recognised it as the steaming, polished turd it was. As the news of this abomination trickled down from niche indie blogs to sites like Facebook and Boards, in which people who aren't into music feel more at home, the message got a bit muddled and changed from "The video is ****pile" to "The video and the accompanying track are a collective ****pile." This was pounced upon by people who don't like music made by black people who don't play stringed instruments, and gave them that warm, fuzzy, look-at-me-I'm-a-music-critic feeling I'd get as a 14-year-old going mad about Westlife's undeserved success. It's very telling that no one was declaring it to be the worst song of the year when it emerged on Yeezus, sans video. This is because the people who hold this opinion do not listen to albums, perhaps with the exception of a Christmas compilation by Michael Bublé, or the odd greatest hits disc by a 70's Dadrock band. "Bound 2 is the worst song ever" is a meme, not a reasonable self-formed opinion.

And don't get me started to the preposterous furore surrounding What does the Fox Say?, which I see is still alive and well. The track first came to my attention on a thread on this site, and the righteous fury it had stirred up in its detractors was tangible even through the impassive screen of my laptop. It wwas declared as "The end of music " - a pretty frightening claim. What had happened; had Burial collborated with Rebecca Black to produce some heavy Brostep that was "All about the drop?" Or maybe Kendrick had put down the pen and pad and replaced it with a guitar to make "quirky" acoustic covers of 90's dance anthems for Youtube videos?

Oh wait, it's a cute joke song with an innocuous Eurodance beat made by two nobodies from Finland or somewhere.

"The end of music," Jesus ****ing wept. What's next, an in-depth Guardian piece annihilating Pat Shortt's Jumbo Breakfast Roll, or a 5000-word polemic about how the rise of Richie Kavanagh and the sad decline of rave culture in Ireland is no mere coincidence?

*Not an actual award

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Best Film: Gravity really got my attention. Didn't expect it to blow me away like it did.

Worst Film:
    Can't say I watched a great deal of movies this year but didn't they have a Scary Movie film this year? We'll assume that was garbage.

Best Song: Hmm... Bibio - You was one of my favourites. James Blake up there, along with Jon Hopkins, Bosnian Rainbows, Dirg Gerner...nah, can't pick a favourite, 2013 had some really great releases.

Worst Song:

Get Lucky maybe a close second. Random Access Memories altogether was a hideously overhyped and decidedly average album.

Good Person Of The Year: Wendy Davis, Edward Snowden too.

Bold Person Of The Year: Ian Watkins

Biggest Troll: They know who they are...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭Rough Sleeper

MJ23 wrote: »
    Song of the year - intro by the xx
    Song of 2009, maybe.

I'm guessing you're a Love/Hate fan? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Song of 2009, maybe.

I'm guessing you're a Love/Hate fan? ;)

I heard it around the start of the year. Love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

General

Best Film: Cloud Atlas.

Worst Film:
    After Earth.

Best Tv Moment:
    Game of Thrones Red Wedding.

Best SongArtist: Avicii.

Worst Song: That Royals shíte.

Good Person Of The Year: Chris Hadfield.

Bold Person Of The Year: That piece of shít Watkins.

Boards.ie Awards

Poster Of The Year: K9, always has something to say worth hearing, willing to listen to others opinions and never comes across as a dick (unlike the rest of us). Boards could do with a few more K9's.

Thread Of The Year: This gripping tale of a man overcoming pain and adversity to achieve what few of us could ever hope to.

Boards moment of the Year: Responses to Eden Hazard in the lookalikes thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭glass_onion

Should have a "kick in the face" award.And an "atari jaguar" award for gamers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

MJ23 wrote: »
    I heard it around the start of the year. Love it.

I heard it a year before you on Irelands next top model. Love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭diograis

Cydoniac wrote: »
    Best Film: Gravity really got my attention. Didn't expect it to blow me away like it did.

Worst Film:
    Can't say I watched a great deal of movies this year but didn't they have a Scary Movie film this year? We'll assume that was garbage.

Best Song: Hmm... Bibio - You was one of my favourites. James Blake up there, along with Jon Hopkins, Bosnian Rainbows, Dirg Gerner...nah, can't pick a favourite, 2013 had some really great releases.

Worst Song:

Get Lucky maybe a close second. Random Access Memories altogether was a hideously overhyped and decidedly average album.

Good Person Of The Year: Wendy Davis, Edward Snowden too.

Bold Person Of The Year: Ian Watkins

Biggest Troll: They know who they are...

thank you so much for this, this video is one of the funniest ive ever seen on the internet. ohhhhh my god, when she starts skipping with the panda i nearly died

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Burky126

RAM wouldn't of been that bad if they focused on more than just one song off the damn thing! Touch,Contact and Giorgio Moroder were the only decent tracks.

Album Of The Year: ...Like Clockwork by QOTSA got many replays.

Movie of the year: Nothing really comes to mind that was amazing though I enjoyed Pacific Rim and The World's End for what they were.

Good guy of the year: Chris Hadfield

Best TV moment: Ozymandias episode of Breaking Bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Good Person Of The Year: Michael D. Higgins for giving it to the EU C*nts
    Bold Person Of The Year: Snowden

Boards.ie Awards

Poster Of The Year: Mint Aero

Thread Of The Year: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=87399097

Edit : Ah sh*t, it's your thread OP

I read your comment and agreed that yeah mint aero is actually a funny poster, then I saw that you posted that comment, which only confirmed that you are actually the poster of the year as voted for by me. And you.