Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why isn't there a wider variety of condom sizes?

• 27-12-2013 1:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6

The vast majority of condoms come in a standard size, it seems crazy to me that there isn't an array of sizes similar to shoe size or other garments. After all a condom that is too big or too small could have a huge impact on your life. I know there are different sizes but there isn't enough of a variety of different sizes and shapes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

problem buying half inch sized condoms isit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

"Shapes'"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 teatreeshamble

I too have got sick of crap size selection of condoms in Irish stores. Go on to Amazon and search for My Size Condoms.
    Sold by condom-discount and fulfilled by Amazon. Absolutely no complaints since I ordered mine. Wide range of fits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Since a regular condom will stretch enough to fit over your head I don't see why there'd be a market for bigger ones. Smaller ones would be logical, but I can't see many men being happy to buy XS johnnies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Sounds like it's only a small problem OP..:D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Just cut the little finger off a rubber glove and you'll be fine OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Pointless, as even if the correct size, no guy would ever buy Medium, Small or, heaven forbid, Xtra Small.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 527 ✭✭✭joeperry

Always wondered about lads looking for bigger sizes considering I've seen people putting normal ones over their heads :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

No problems with sizes in the US. Seems to be only standard and then larger though. Trojan do decent larger ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

"Can i get a Price check on a 3 pack of extra small condoms? Thats EXTRA SMALL..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

I have to get wider fitting ones as the standard width of durex ones is far too tight and regularly split down the side on me. Standard mates are wider than durex and a far far better.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭rovoagho

The Master wrote: »
    Just cut the little finger off a rubber glove and you'll be fine OP

Tayto packet and sellotape.

OP, they're made of rubber. You're either doing it wrong, or you should be asking for a diaphragm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

What I find weird about condoms is, very few places sell the latex free ones. The town where I'm from doesn't have Boots, and none of the chemists sell anything other than durex. Sometimes tesco has them but not always. And there's definitely no chance of getting them at 3:30 on a Sunday morning in the likes of applegreen or topaz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,101 ✭✭✭✭ted1

No problems with sizes in the US. Seems to be only standard and then larger though. Trojan do decent larger ones.

There actually is a problem as the FDA have made it illegal to sell large condoms and have strict regulations with regards size

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,101 ✭✭✭✭ted1

kylith wrote: »
    Since a regular condom will stretch enough to fit over your head I don't see why there'd be a market for bigger ones. Smaller ones would be logical, but I can't see many men being happy to buy XS johnnies.
    The head contains a skull which keeps the condom open. A penis has no nine and relies on blood flow to maintain an erection a over tight condom restricts the blood flow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

As someone who has worked for Durex, I can tell you there are a vast array of sizes, colours, textures etc.

• Administrators Posts: 54,827 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

What I find weird about condoms is, very few places sell the latex free ones. The town where I'm from doesn't have Boots, and none of the chemists sell anything other than durex. Sometimes tesco has them but not always. And there's definitely no chance of getting them at 3:30 on a Sunday morning in the likes of applegreen or topaz.

You can get the Mates ones in basically any chemist I have been in to, but that is maybe just Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Mollyd90

Daqster wrote: »
    Pointless, as even if the correct size, no guy would ever buy Medium, Small or, heaven forbid, Xtra Small.

They could do like Starbucks and sell big, bigger, biggest instead of s, m, l

awec wrote: »
    You can get the Mates ones in basically any chemist I have been in to, but that is maybe just Dublin.

Only get those in boots and sometimes tesco around these parts. All chemists seem to stock are stupid durex latex

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Only get those in boots and sometimes tesco around these parts. All chemists seem to stock are stupid durex latex

To the internet for bulk buying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

I'm allergic to the latex, .... which sucks. Wish they had some "fun" latex free ones too.
    Can only get latex free in likes of boots, some larger chemists also have'em.
    But it's only one choice (sometimes 2 if they include durex latex free).

I really don't get why people would use Durex condoms. They're absolutely terrible for the most part - you can get much better Online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

I feel your pain OP. I need to get XL black bin liners......

.....to put the body in afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

kylith wrote: »
    Well if a fella is bigger in that department and wears a condom that is too small, it risks bursting. And one that is too big risks slipping off. So it's an issue on both ends of the spectrum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

OP must be planning a posh ****.

Bless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,364 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Sizing issue is easy. Change the sizing charts as follows.

XS= XL
    S= XXL
    M= XXL
    L= XXXL
    XL= XXXXL
    XXL= XXXXXL

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

I always wondered how those fellas in the pornos with the big bendy langers cope.

You know the ones with a banana type bend in them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

120 litre bin-bag FTW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭ElvisChrist6

I actually can't believe the amount of potentially adult people saying you don't need different sizes of Johnnies... It's pretty important they fit, you know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

joeperry wrote: »
    Always wondered about lads looking for bigger sizes considering I've seen people putting normal ones over their heads :confused:
    Yeah but is there anything worse than having one a johnny be too small and winding up with a numb cock while you're going at it? Sure she's delighted since you're going forever, but it gets to the point where you just get bored and almost eager to get it over with since you can't feel a bloody thing down there!

Billy86 wrote: »
    Yeah but is there anything worse than having one a johnny be too small and winding up with a numb cock while you're going at it? Sure she's delighted since you're going forever, but it gets to the point where you just get bored and almost eager to get it over with since you can't feel a bloody thing down there!

Tbh, there's lasting a while, and no end to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Tbh, there's lasting a while, and no end to it.
    How feckin' stupid do I feel that I only found out there are non-latex condoms off this thread!? This thread might be the greatest Christmas present I'll ever get if they're as good as I'm thinking!!

Bet they're a 'mare to get in pharmacies in Dublin, but I'll definitely be checking everywhere when I'm in town for some of the sales next week.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

rovoagho wrote: »
    Tayto packet and sellotape.

Salt and vinegar are the best, just make sure to turn the salty side out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Codoms are for sailors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Tatyo bag is where it's at.

Cheese & onion masks the smell of benji

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Featherlite man, they're the only ones worth using. The rest are mostly shyte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

socks: ribbed for your pleasure

• Site Banned Posts: 91 ✭✭batman88

A friend who was 15 at the time tried to use a plastic bag before.

How feckin' stupid do I feel that I only found out there are non-latex condoms off this thread!? This thread might be the greatest Christmas present I'll ever get if they're as good as I'm thinking!!

Bet they're a 'mare to get in pharmacies in Dublin, but I'll definitely be checking everywhere when I'm in town for some of the sales next week.

Go to boots, they always have the SKYN brand, and are all non-latex afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭ElvisChrist6

Go to boots, they always have the SKYN brand, and are all non-latex afaik.

Boots in Dublin have Skyn? The big Bootses like in Jervis? Jaysus, that'd be really good to know if so, I was going to order some!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Thread started by Blitzen15. Obviously carrying a raging horn after the Christmas rush. Ask Santa.

Boots in Dublin have Skyn? The big Bootses like in Jervis? Jaysus, that'd be really good to know if so, I was going to order some!!

I haven't seen a boots shop that doesn't.
    Their webpage has them, and feck if Mallow stocks them surely Dublin does.

• Administrators Posts: 54,827 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Every boots should have them. And most other pharmacies.

Most pharmacies do Durex and Skyn, the Durex may be more prominent on the shelves.

awec wrote: »
    Every boots should have them. And most other pharmacies.

Most pharmacies do Durex and Skyn, the Durex may be more prominent on the shelves.

My local pharmacy only has Durex. In fact most pharmacies I;ve seen only sell Durex. Admittedly they are smaller pharmacies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

Some tesco have them too

Umm, what da fuq?

I use latex free ones because I'm allergic to latex.
    I'm not worried about STD's, I'm in a monogamous relationship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

What happens if a person is allergic to latex and uses a latex condom? :)

Mint Aero wrote: »
    What happens if a person is allergic to latex and uses a latex condom? :)

Different for everyone I guess. For me it felt like a yeast infection, that didn't respond to treatment. Even latex gloves irritates and burns my hands so its worse elsewhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

You should see my Johnnies.

Whoppers they are