Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster v Ulster, Sat 28 Dec 6:45pm; Live on RTE2, BBC2NI

• 27-12-2013 12:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

John+Lacey+Italy+Referees+Photocall+IRB+Junior+_FD0hs_UiJtl.jpg

John-Lacey_2679233.jpg

johnny_lacey_rdax_558x344.jpg
    The teams:

Leinster: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Dave Kearney, 13 Brendan Macken, 12 Noel Reid, 11 Luke Fitzgerald, 10 Jimmy Gopperth, 9 Isaac Boss, 8 Jordi Murphy, 7 Sean O'Brien, 6 Rhys Ruddock, 5 Mike McCarthy, 4 Leo Cullen, 3 Martin Moore, 2 Aaron Dundon, 1 Michael Bent.
    Replacements: 16 James Tracy, 17 Mike Ross, 18 Jack O'Connell, 19 Tom Denton, 20 Dominic Ryan, 21 Luke McGrath, 22 Ian Madigan, 23 Darragh Fanning.

Ulster: 15 Ricky Andrew, 14 Andrew Trimble, 13 Darren Cave, 12 Luke Marshall, 11 Craig Gilroy, 10 Paddy Jackson, 9 Paul Marshall, 8 Roger Wilson, 7 Sean Doyle, 6 Robbie Diack, 5 Dan Tuohy, 4 Lewis Stevenson, 3 Declan Fitzpatrick, 2 Rob Herring, 1 Callum Black.
    Replacements: 16 Niall Annett, 17 Tom Court, 18 Nicky Lutton, 19 Neil McComb, 20 Mike McComish, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Jared Payne, 23 Michael Allen.

Date: Saturday, 28 December
    Venue: RDS Dublin
    Kick-off: 18:45 GMT
    Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
    Assistant referees: Peter Fitzgibbon, Eddie Hagan-O'Connell (both Ireland)
    Citing Commissioner: Eugene Ryan (Ireland)
    TMO: Sean Flannery (Ireland)
    From planetrugby.com

Prediction? 65 votes

Leinster BP win
    0%
    Leinster win
    4%
    Mr.ApplepieBluefoamInspector Coptoor 3 votes
    Ulster BP win
    63%
    miseRuggieBear[Deleted User][Jackass]tolosencJelloeyeball kidTim RobbinscsmNiall06matthew8BarzipanRigor MortiseoferrallScrubsfanChrisIrishHomerLEINtechdiverthomond2006errlloyd 41 votes
    Ulster win
    0%
    Draw
    32%
    Hippomelekalikimakanordydanspank_infernoongariteLogie-1peterakoGrimeboxJudgement Daythe immortalsawecOldRiodtpc191991tac4271bilstonsixypostitnoteSinbad_NIQwertyIIIjjjd 21 votes

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Draw
    Lacey again?! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Glass Prison 1214

Ulster BP win
    Great write up ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Class. Who needs tables....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

mccoy_pedestal_table.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

awec wrote: »

I know he's not the most popular with ulster fans but his a fine ref, one of the better ones imo. It could be a lot lot worse is what im saying

Draw
    Tox56 wrote: »
    I know he's not the most popular with ulster fans but his a fine ref, one of the better ones imo. It could be a lot lot worse is what im saying

awec disagrees!

Draw
    El Gringos vs Los Mexicanos.

ist2-3165316-mexican.jpg

OLE! OLE!

Draw
    Poll added. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Ulster BP win
    Poll added. :)

No Delon Armitage / Dylan Hartley / Neil Francis / Mark McCafferty / Nigel Wray option? :(

Tox56 wrote: »

Guess who's on touch duty....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Completely forgot to buy a ticket for this and it's sold out now I believe. Merde.

Teferi wrote: »
    Completely forgot to buy a ticket for this and it's sold out now I believe. Merde.

Sullivlo mentioned she had a spare....

Draw
    I've been watching the ticket exchange and there has been about 8 tickets in the past 10 minutes. Need to keep refreshing just!

Just about to say the same. 3 there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

could be philips, count yourself lucky:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,980 ✭✭✭✭phog

I think Lacey is a fine ref.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

Great write up ;)

Yeah it's excellent. But no table. I mean all the great previewers always include a table. It's not rocket science. Says the pot calling the kettle black.

The weather could kill this game. However, I'm happy to see Kirchner get a run at 15, in theory he should stand out, especially with Payne on the Ulster bench. Also, see how Gopperth copes with potentially "Windy Wellington"-like conditions. He might just feel right at home (although he's a New Plymouth lad, truth be told). Good to see SOB back, a sight for sore eyes, and potentially a difference between the 2 sides. Hard to see this being a high-scoring affair, so any points on offer will hopefully be gratefully received.

Draw
    Interestingly, our entire starting team from 1-15 are all Irish qualified players.

George Hook IV is the team mascot for the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

One of the lads was supposed to get me a ticket for the game but he let me down, looks like I'll be watching it on tv instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

Ulster BP win
    phog wrote: »
    I think Lacey is a fine ref.

Definitely better than Fitzgibbon. Would be interesting to see an assessment of Lacy or is it just a case people give out because they lose?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

Lacey is right up there with my least favourite refs. I don't like how unwilling he is to communicate with both teams. It's his way or no way. I find that he can be really pedantic at the breakdown one minute, and then very lenient the next. I'd imagine it's difficult for teams to have a clear understanding of what he's looking for.

Interestingly, our entire starting team from 1-15 are all Irish qualified players.

Across the four starting 15s in the provincial derbies this weekend, only 4 of the 60 players are NIQ, and one of those (White) will soon be IQ. Great to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

El Gringos vs Los Mexicanos.

ist2-3165316-mexican.jpg

OLE! OLE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Hagz wrote: »
    Lacey is right up there with my least favourite refs. I don't like how unwilling he is to communicate with both teams. It's his way or no way. I find that he can be really pedantic at the breakdown one minute, and then very lenient the next. I'd imagine it's difficult for teams to have a clear understanding of what he's looking for.

Have to say I've found him the opposite. His communicating during a game is very clear and concise. Maybe that's just me, but I think he's the best Irish ref outside of Rolland

Draw
    Hagz wrote: »

I agree.

Ulster at the breakdown - can't get the whistle into his mouth quick enough.

Leinster at the breakdown - ah whatever yous want there lads, work away. Ah sure tackle the man there without the ball, it's not as if I'm going to give the deserved penalty try.

I do not rate Lacey. I find him infuriatingly inconsistent.

I agree.

Leinster at the breakdown - ah whatever yous want there lads, work away. Ah sure tackle the man there without the ball, it's not as if I'm going to give the deserved penalty try.

What you're accusing him of there is bias, which is something a lot bigger than inconsistency. Not going back into that game again but leaving it aside I've always found him an above average ref, in fact his communicating to players was what made him stand out to me in the first place. I'll see what happens tomorrow and I'll keep a closer eye on him, but most of the time I watch him I'm impressed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭former legend

I agree.

Are you seriously suggesting he's pro-Leinster and anti-Ulster?

We've all had matches that haven't gone our way. Time to move on.

Draw
    Are you seriously suggesting he's pro-Leinster and anti-Ulster?

We've all had matches that haven't gone our way. Time to move on.

No, I'm not really suggesting that. My post was partly tongue in cheek. :)

Though I don't like him as a ref. Hopefully he has a better game tomorrow.

Awec was suggesting that! Get him!!

There's not really any ref I like all the time.

They are up and down and being strict on one thing and lax on another even without the emphasis from above on a certain element after elite referee conferences.

Being interesting to see what's being blown up for at alarming regularity in the first two rounds of the 6N.

Then again a certain sexy idol of mine has an opinion of criticising referees . . .

no6hro.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

Dear Ulster and Leinster please please please can you give us a better spectacle of a match than Connacht vs Munster yours truly a Connacht fan

Ah to be honest that's down to the weather. Wouldn't hold your breath.

.ak wrote: »

Oh I know but even if the discipline is better itll be a better spectacle

Oh I know but even if the indiscipline is better it'll be a better spectacle

Morf wrote: »

Skirmishes are grand its more at the breakdown and offside I meant

I was just being silly.

I'll be happy if Leinster can just win the punch-up tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Ulster BP win
    With Munster pulling away at the top and second place up for grabs, as well as a really tight arm wrestle between 5 teams for 4 play-off spots, this is a must win game for both sides.

Given it's the home leg, Leinster must absolutely win this game.

Looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

molloyjh wrote: »
    Sullivlo mentioned she had a spare....

I will know tomorrow & post accordingly!

A draw would be great :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

sullivlo wrote: »
    I will know tomorrow & post accordingly!

Have put a ticket for north stand on ticket exchange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

sullivlo wrote: »
    Have put a ticket for north stand on ticket exchange.

There's normally tons of tickets on the exchange. Why is this game so high demand?
    Gonna be a great crowd by the look of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

.ak wrote: »

Weather looks like ti will be OK: http://www.yr.no/place/Ireland/Leinster/Dublin/hour_by_hour.html

durkadurka wrote: »
    There's normally tons of tickets on the exchange. Why is this game so high demand?
    Gonna be a great crowd by the look of it.

Most people on holidays, sport during the festive period is always sell-out material eg the annual Boxing Day (=Stephen's Day) test match in Australia...admittedly they always have incredible weather...but then Dublin is smiling on its locals so far today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

I appreciate that but I don't remember such demand for a Christmas game before.

Anyway my main hope is that we grind out a win tonight. After failing to win the last two when we had the chance, and watching munstrr do it, I think we really need to dig out a win by hook or by crook.

durkadurka wrote: »
    I appreciate that but I don't remember such demand for a Christmas game before.

Anyway my main hope is that we grind out a win tonight. After failing to win the last two when we had the chance, and watching munstrr do it, I think we really need to dig out a win by hook or by crook.

Munster are making winning a habit at present, even if their supporters despair somewhat at the method. This game could go either way alright, and I think I would just take a win, any sort, to get the ship back on track.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Thomas D

I just picked one up on the exchange. Has anyone ever presented the ticket on their phone to be scanned? I've no printer where i am now.

Thomas D wrote: »
    I just picked one up on the exchange. Has anyone ever presented the ticket on their phone to be scanned? I've no printer where i am now.

I thought about using that trick for the Aviva match - but glad I didn't, as there is no way the iPhone would fit! I went to a local hotel who printed out the ticket for me. But maybe the RDS might be OK.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Thomas D

Swiwi. wrote: »
    I thought about using that trick for the Aviva match - but glad I didn't, as there is no way the iPhone would fit! I went to a local hotel who printed out the ticket for me. But maybe the RDS might be OK.

They usually have the hand scanners. Its a risk.