Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off duty Garda calls PSNI officers who arrested him in taxi row "orange *****"

• 27-12-2013 8:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/offduty-garda-abused-psni-officers-who-arrested-him-in-taxi-row-29859092.html
    AN off-duty Dublin garda made sectarian insults at PSNI officers who arrested him after he damaged a taxi during a drunken Christmas party, the Sunday Independent has learnt.

The incident is understood to have happened when gardai were on an overnight Christmas party in Belfast earlier this month. It is alleged one of the off-duty officers became very drunk and insulted a taxi driver, before kicking his car door causing damage.

The taxi driver alerted the PSNI, who arrested the garda, who was then taken to a city-centre police station.

It is claimed the off-duty garda abused the PSNI officers in Irish and called them "Orange c***s".

It is understood the PSNI did not charge the garda after he sobered up and agreed to pay damages to the taxi driver.

The PSNI declined to comment on the incident.

The incident comes after it emerged last week that three young Dublin gardai were allegedly involved in a drunken fight in Limerick after two of them tried to enter a house they thought was a brothel.

Two men, one living in the house, were injured in the incident and received hospital treatment. They have made complaints and a garda superintendent has been ordered to carry out an investigation. CCTV from Limerick city centre is being examined.

The three gardai are also being ordered to make statements about the incident in Catherine Street. They initially denied the allegations.

Older gardai were last week mortified by the latest damaging allegations involving members of the force.

A number expressed concern about the lax vetting when the force was rapidly expanded with the intake of 2,000 extra recruits in the 2004-2006 period at the direction of then Justice Minister Michael McDowell.

Senior sources said the intake was so rapid that proper vetting was not carried out in many cases and not at all in some cases. It later emerged that people had been recruited into the force with convictions for traffic, disorder and other offences.

All four gardai involved in the alleged drunken incidents are said to be part of the intake ordered under the then Fianna Fail-Progressive Democrats coalition.

This cant be helpful for PSNI-Garda relations after the Smithwick findings. The limerick Brothel incident seems seriously iffy as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

Must of been a good night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

So there it is...
    Even Garda when of duty and full of drink can be Arseholes, I blame Gerry Adams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

it remains to be proven that the gardai was incorrect.
    The officers could well have been orange c***s

anyway the article is full of hyperbole - "older gardai are horrified...".fcuk that. older people are horrified at the best of times. meaningless claptrap.
    lazy journalism at it's worst/best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Nothing like the indo for a bit of a laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

It's not too late to take them to the Vet if it's still needed.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

kaimera wrote: »
    Nothing like the indo for a bit of a laugh

It's a wonder there wasn't a teacher and a defence forces person there too, then the Indo would have had an orgasm blaming them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭shane9689

i understand i gaurd getting drunk and maybe committing a minor offence during x-mas, but the part about limerick just highlights the corruption...i mean really? a brothel? and a fight? i wouldnt touch a place like that (mostly because theyre run by scumbags not because im against prostitution) and im no angel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

bet they're shortarsed little hoors without a word of Irish :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

ffs

The Independent really is a hape of shyte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

The Independent really is a hape of shyte.

Not even worthy of wiping said shyte off one's backside TBH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Could it be Brendan Gleeson making the Guard2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Man gets drunk and says something stupid shocker.

The Pulitzer people will be in awe of this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

Orange c**ts isn't necessarily sectarian. Maybe they were female PSNI officers who were heading out on the town after work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

So a drunk guy insults a cop trying to arrest him. Seem like a regular night for the PNSI officer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭ei9go

"It is claimed the off-duty garda abused the PSNI officers in Irish and called them "Orange c***s"."

I'd love to know what that is in Irish, Orange is Oraiste but what about the rest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

It's all fun and games until someone gets called an Orange cnut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

Free State Media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

Shocking behaviour. And at Christmas too!! I'm appalled!

I guess you haven't been out much over the holidays. I've seen worse behaviour waiting for a burger.

[-0-] wrote: »
    I guess you haven't been out much over the holidays. I've seen worse behaviour waiting for a burger.
    Good heavens!!!! Really? I shall never go for a burger again.

You're better off never going outside again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Did someone piss on your leg?

• Site Banned Posts: 263 ✭✭Rabelais

He's a Free Stater as well. Sure he's half orange once you get drink into him. Not a true Gael like us sons of Róisín.

This may be the best course of action. Gone are the days of dancing at crossroads with fair maidens. A terrible beauty is born of rivers of gawk and fisticuffs in fast food establishments.
    Rabelais wrote: »
    He's a Free Stater as well. Sure he's half orange once you get drink into him. Not a true Gael like us sons of Róisín.

I'll evoke the spirit of Michael Collins and tell you to piss off.

Daqster wrote: »
    Did someone piss on your leg?

Nah, that happened to another AH poster a few months ago. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=87106496

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Shock horror!!! An off duty Garda gets drunks and verbally abuses a police officer in another country! So fcuking what??? Plumbers bakers doctors drivers soldiers nurses chefs etc etc get drunk every night of the week and abuse gardai and no newspaper covers the story. What a crock of ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭MaxFlower

Jester252 wrote: »
    So a drunk guy off duty Irish police officer aka Garda insults a cop in Northern Ireland - another country trying to arrest him showing no appreciation of the PSNI's officers situation having to arrest a fellow policeman. Seems like a regular night disappointment for the PNSI officer if he has any respect for his chosen profession having to deal with a 'comrade' in such a manner after he has acted like a common criminal .

My interpretation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Nah, that happened to another AH poster a few months ago. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=87106496

That was the joke ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

The PSNI lads get more abuse than the Gardai down here so you would think the off duty Garda would keep his mouth shut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

Just another piece of s##t with some authority showing off his true colours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭h2005

Would they not be more of a high vis yellow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

h2005 wrote: »
    Would they not be more of a high vis yellow?

New recruits would certainly start with that colour, but when you wear a high vis jacket it tends to darken as time goes by. The old jackets are still there.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,382 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

anyway the article is full of hyperbole - "older gardai are horrified...".fcuk that. older people are horrified at the best of times. meaningless claptrap.

I'm by no means an "older Garda", i've less than 10 years done, but i'm still horrified. That member is nothing but an absolute and total twat and deserves everything he gets thrown at him. I get judged by the actions of idiots in the force like this. And i couldn't care less if there was alcohol involved, i get drunk, sometimes too much, but i don't insult our colleagues in the North, across the sea, anywhere. It's utter stupidity.
    shane9689 wrote: »
    i understand i gaurd getting drunk and maybe committing a minor offence during x-mas, but the part about limerick just highlights the corruption...i mean really? a brothel? and a fight? i wouldnt touch a place like that (mostly because theyre run by scumbags not because im against prostitution) and im no angel

Corruption? Really? How is it corruption? More idiots with drink on board making stupid decisions which they should have had more clout about, yes. But corruption? If you can prove how it is corruption, then i'll accept the answer, but i think you're just using the word incorrectly.

Look, we are a force of 13,500 (all ranks). It is guaranteed that we have the bad eggs. Every walk of life has them. You'd imagine giving someone a badge and some authority would teach them humility, but no, even with the added responsibilities you can't change certain people. I'm ashamed to call them colleagues, and i would apologise on behalf of them, but that's up to them to do. Just please don't judge every other member on the actions of these fools. Some of us want to make a difference, some of us want to be that person who does their job properly, some just treat it as a job and do what they must, but you will have the fools who just can't handle it and think they are gods gift. Well, they are, they're gods gift to stupidity.

I'm by no means an "older Garda", i've less than 10 years done, but i'm still horrified. That member is nothing but an absolute and total twat and deserves everything he gets thrown at him. I get judged by the actions of idiots in the force like this. And i couldn't care less if there was alcohol involved, i get drunk, sometimes too much, but i don't insult our colleagues in the North, across the sea, anywhere. It's utter stupidity.

perhaps - but gardai are just human. a few jars and a few insults are hardly a hanging offence.

if you read the article - older gardai weren't horrified by this incident but by the riff /raff hired in the early noughties.
    I.e. YOU :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Corruption? Really? How is it corruption? More idiots with drink on board making stupid decisions which they should have had more clout about, yes. But corruption? If you can prove how it is corruption, then i'll accept the answer, but i think you're just using the word incorrectly.

Look, we are a force of 13,500 (all ranks). It is guaranteed that we have the bad eggs. Every walk of life has them. You'd imagine giving someone a badge and some authority would teach them humility, but no, even with the added responsibilities you can't change certain people. I'm ashamed to call them colleagues, and i would apologise on behalf of them, but that's up to them to do. Just please don't judge every other member on the actions of these fools. Some of us want to make a difference, some of us want to be that person who does their job properly, some just treat it as a job and do what they must, but you will have the fools who just can't handle it and think they are gods gift. Well, they are, they're gods gift to stupidity.

Hang in there Guard..........we'd be up the creek altogether without ye! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,382 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

perhaps - but gardai are just human. a few jars and a few insults are hardly a hanging offence.

if you read the article - older gardai weren't horrified by this incident but by the riff /raff hired in the early noughties.
    I.e. YOU :)

Wasn't hired in the early 00's! I'm awesome so they hired me outside of any recruitment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Maybe he thought he was being tangoed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 LikeClockwork

Amazing isn't it? Gardai abuses psni in a drunk and disorderly incident and he's defended and people divert by blaming the indo for being a rag. Whereas if it was joe public it would be pitchforks at dawn.

Gardai or anyone in a position of power really are unjustifiably held in high esteem in this country. No wonder we have the politicians we have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

A number expressed concern about the lax vetting when the force was rapidly expanded with the intake of 2,000 extra recruits in the 2004-2006 period at the direction of then Justice Minister Michael McDowell.

Senior sources said the intake was so rapid that proper vetting was not carried out in many cases and not at all in some cases. It later emerged that people had been recruited into the force with convictions for traffic, disorder and other offences.

So the fact they've reopened Garda recruitment and are mad to get the ball rolling again to show that the country is getting back to normal, will the same lax vetting procedures be in place and let the usual, learn nothing from the past, happen or will they take 5 minutes to see who they are letting to be the Guardians of the Peace in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Amazing isn't it? Gardai abuses psni in a drunk and disorderly incident and he's defended and people divert by blaming the indo for being a rag. Whereas if it was joe public it would be pitchforks at dawn.

Gardai or anyone in a position of power really are unjustifiably held in high esteem in this country. No wonder we have the politicians we have.

The Indo is a rag, but you're right otherwise. The level of deference to authority people have in this country is pathetic. If it's not the church that people go out of their way to defend and side with, then it's Gardai or politicians.

I guess that's the mentality that being walked all over for generations leads to.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭statesaver

WOW drunk people do stupid things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,084 ✭✭✭enricoh

Why all the hate for the indo? What d' yiz rate above it- the mirror, the star!
    Probably all public servants hating it coz they wont ignore that the average wages in ps are 50% higher.
    Unlike rte who report on anything but it!

Wasn't hired in the early 00's! I'm awesome so they hired me outside of any recruitment!

Sorry 2013 - less than 10 years - somewhere early 00's made sense to me.

apologies.

I'm sure the old guard judge you though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭grainnewhale

I blame Michael mc dowell and the lack of proper vetting. some of these guys didn't even have a farther, brother or uncle in the force. they may have even let some f.f types in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭jonsnow

I blame Michael mc dowell and the lack of proper vetting. some of these guys didn't even have a farther, brother or uncle in the force. they may have even let some f.f types in.

The whole jab at Michael McDowell and the FF-PD coalition did feel a bit weird alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭grainnewhale

in reality, it looks like a story about nothing which quiet possibily is based on pure ****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Shock horror, Gardai are human like the rest of us. So someone gets drunk and makes a stupid drunken comment. Big deal, must've been a quiet news day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

it remains to be proven that the gardai was incorrect.
    The officers could well have been orange c***s

"Older gardai" = some aul fella that drinks in Jim Cusack's local that claims to be a retired guard. Mind you after one Power too many he also claims Elvis is living on the moon with Marilyn Monroe and Jim Morrison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Can we have a few words from the serving 'officer' in Galway? He usually has an unbiased view of things :rolleyes: