Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hollister Clothing Online store

• 26-12-2013 11:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭

Sorry for delay in posting.
    Sale started 22/12/2013. Still good availability, but was better earlier in the week.
    25% off entire purchase + free shipping over €50. Seems genuine.
    http://eu.hollisterco.com
    I could honestly not afford full price for their products, but the 25% off makes it more reasonable. Also online avoids the queing outside the store in Dundrum - it was like that before Christmas at full price, so can only imagine it now.
    They have also selected items in their 'sale' section, with higher discounts, but limited selection.
    Goods seem to ship from Holland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭El_Drago

Thanks but their european prices are farcical.I'll stick to the US site where at full price the items are considerably cheaper than the same "for sale" on their european site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭baldshin

Not sure if it's still the same, but, yesterday if you logged into the uk site(already cheaper due to exchange rate) via a proxy, there was 40% off everything.

baldshin wrote: »
    Not sure if it's still the same, but, yesterday if you logged into the uk site(already cheaper due to exchange rate) via a proxy, there was 40% off everything.

Are the prices comparable to the US site where at regular price a full zip hoodie is 30-35eur ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭baldshin

El_Drago wrote: »
    Are the prices comparable to the US site where at regular price a full zip hoodie is 30-35eur ?

Nope, but still a fair chunk cheaper than here. They'll never be as cheap here as they are in the states, where decent clothes seem to be crazy cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Rashers72

baldshin wrote: »
    Link? Cannot seem to avoid euro site via google. Thanks.

Rashers72 wrote: »
    Link? Cannot seem to avoid euro site via google. Thanks.

Go through something like Hidemyass or something similar.Careful buying through a proxy through - details can be intercepted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Murt10

I was talking to someone recently who told me that there was no tax (like our vat) on clothes or footware over in the USA.

That, alone, would account for some of the price differences.

I just had a pair of Uggs delivered by hand from the states, and the price difference was huge,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭ShoulderChip

Murt10 wrote: »
    I was talking to someone recently who told me that there was no tax (like our vat) on clothes or footware over in the USA.

I just had a pair of Uggs delivered by hand from the states, and the price difference was huge,

Ok let me get this straight, you heard something off a friend.
    You are not sure if it is true.
    You have not bothered to do a quick google to verify it,
    yet are happy to pass on this rubbish to other people?
    WTF!!!

Murt10 wrote: »

My understanding is that they have something called a "state tax" which is deducted at the checkout.It's annoying as it's not included in the price as is the case here but it's only something like half the rate of our VAT.When you buy clothes/shoes in the US you realise just how ripped off we are in Europe,especially Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

WTF!!!

It doesn't sound like he stated it as a fact, rather as a plausible explanation as to why the prices in the U.S. are lower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,386 ✭✭✭FourFourRED

Thanks but their european prices are farcical.I'll stick to the US site where at full price the items are considerably cheaper than the same "for sale" on their european site.

How do you get them delivered here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭Hococop

is this the uk site? http://www.hollistercoukoutletsale.co.uk/

took a while to find it, also some of the prices are crazy, some t-shirts on sale was £108 now £20, obviously it was never £108 but it just ridiculous to make it up just to try and show you are saving alot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,386 ✭✭✭FourFourRED

Hococop wrote: »
    is this the uk site? http://www.hollistercoukoutletsale.co.uk/

took a while to find it, also some of the prices are crazy, some t-shirts on sale was £108 now £20, obviously it was never £108 but it just ridiculous to make it up just to try and show you are saving alot

Thats not the real site.

Use Google Chrome & the extension Hola Better Internet and you can access the UK version of the official site: http://www.hollisterco.com/shop/uk/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭padocon

Are the sizes the same on the US site as the UK one? i.e. is an L an L or would the US L be the equivalent to UK XL? I know they sometimes do sizes different in the US.

Aodhagan wrote: »
    How do you get them delivered here?

Through a parcel forwarding company/individual.You've to find the right one or else you'll end up being ripped off by the shipping cost(s),and consequently will end up paying much more than if you were to buy the clothes from the European site.For example,for the first couple of packages forwarded from two different companies I paid over $200 dollars each for consolidating and shipping.The same parcels tend to cost me no more than $100 now with the individual I'm currently using (I order alot).

Another complexity is that Hollister have blacklisted a huge number of the parcel forwarding companies and individuals in a bid to prevent europeans from buying through the US site.I'd suggest that once you find a suitable forwarder,don't share the forwarder's address as Hollister quickly cop on and will blacklist once there's any suspicion.Just to give you some idea,I've been blacklisted twice already in the last year and I'm currently third time lucky.....so far anyway.

padocon wrote: »
    Are the sizes the same on the US site as the UK one? i.e. is an L an L or would the US L be the equivalent to UK XL? I know they sometimes do sizes different in the US.

I've never bought off anything other than the US site.However,I'd imagine that their sizes would be the similar irrespective of what side of the Atlantic you purchased from.It's the exact same merchandise after all,just charged double the price and dispatched from a different location.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Kopy

Thats not the real site.

Use Google Chrome & the extension Hola Better Internet and you can access the UK version of the official site: http://www.hollisterco.com/shop/uk/

Just placed an order on the UK site and the difference was €30.00 !! compared to the Eu site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

WTF!!!

Sh*t - You better call the internet police. :rolleyes:

The clothes are way cheaper in the US but I don't think it's possible to get it shipped here without getting hit with nice postage fee through parcel forwarding companies.

Thats not the real site.

so the app changes your location, any risks with it?, also will the uk site send to ireland or will i have to use parcel motel

Will ship direct ! all you have to do is select Ireland as shipping address.
    Can pay via PayPal too.

Kopy wrote: »
    Just placed an order on the UK site and the difference was €30.00 !! compared to the Eu site.
    That's a great saving. And I thought I had made some savings v's shop on the EU site.
    Clicked on the UK link, and got the UK splashscreen. However, once I go past that page, it puts me back to the EU site automatically, with the higher euro prices. Tried different pc's but same result. Assume it is just my set up.
    On another note, none of the 'sale' items I ordered are now available....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Smash The House

For anyone wanting a good free secure VPN try TunnelBear. Can set location to USA, UK and a few other countries. 500mb free per month.
    Just be sure to clear your cookies before revisiting the Hollister site. (Ctl+Alt+Del)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

WTF!!!

Serious ShoulderChip me thinks.. calm down. US is cheaper cause it is. Does not matter what tax or VAT they apply.. its just cheaper. Does it really matter at this point. Your choice, and everyone elses in here, on what they buy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 949 ✭✭✭The Governor

Do ye lads ordering from US not get hit with sizeable import tax when your stuff arrives though?

Not if you are sensible about who you choose as the forwarder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 949 ✭✭✭The Governor

Not if you are sensible about who you choose as the forwarder

Are these forwarders referring to parcel motel and the likes?

VAT yes but if the total order inc shipping is less than 150 euro you don't have to pay Import duty (correction).

padocon wrote: »
    Tax yes but if the total order inc shipping is less than 150 euro you don't have to pay VAT.
    Was always a little confused by that.
    Due to the US price difference re taxes etc. a bundle of clothing in US Sales retailing for say US$100 (incl local sales tax in say NY), would retail in the Hollister shop in Ireland for say EUR200 (from my experience).
    Now when customs look to the slip on the US package and it says US$100 (direct exchange equiv. of EUR85), yet they know the goods retail in Ireland for EUR200, would they not apply a higher customs tax etc.? Just a curious point from me, as I have never imported goods myself via post. Thanks for clarifying in advance, and sorry for bringing this thread off topic!

Due to the US price difference re taxes etc. a bundle of clothing in US Sales retailing for say US$100 (incl local sales tax in say NY), would retail in the Hollister shop in Ireland for say EUR200 (from my experience).
    Now when customs look to the slip on the US package and it says US$100 (direct exchange equiv. of EUR85), yet they know the goods retail in Ireland for EUR200, would they not apply a higher customers tax etc.? Just a curious point from me, as I have never imported goods myself via post. Thanks for clarifying in advance, and sorry for bringing this thread off topic!

By the time you pay VAT and shipping costs its almost the same price as here. Thats from previous times I have looked into it, but since theres a sale now I have been calculating and I think we could do well at the moment.

Edit: Its the VAT you pay and not the import duty if under 150 euro...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,901 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Now when customs look to the slip on the US package and it says US$100 (direct exchange equiv. of EUR85), yet they know the goods retail in Ireland for EUR200, would they not apply a higher customs tax etc.? Just a curious point from me, as I have never imported goods myself via post. Thanks for clarifying in advance, and sorry for bringing this thread off topic!
    VAT is value added tax and is based on a percentage of what you pay. It makes no difference what its actual worth is the price you pay that is used to calculate VAT and duty

ted1 wrote: »
    VAT is value added tax and is based on a percentage of what you pay. It makes no difference what its actual worth is the price you pay that is used to calculate VAT and duty
    Thanks - so if I ordered US 160 worth of clothing, there would be absolutely no customs charges? Just the freight forwarding charges... is that correct?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

If you order from the US you are most likely going to get stung for import duties. Making the savings negligible.

Use Hola to change your IP to the UK and there is 40% off. But can you still get it shipped to Ireland for free??

Zascar wrote: »
    If you order from the US you are most likely going to get stung for import duties. Making the savings negligible.

Use Hola to change your IP to the UK and there is 40% off. But can you still get it shipped to Ireland for free??

any risks with Hola?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭jantheman91

Zascar wrote: »

Parcel Motel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭pa limerick

Does it deliver to ireland even though its the English website or will I have to use parcel motel? You also don't need a proxy to access it just go to the Hollister webpage scroll down to the very end of the page click on "ship-to country" and select United Kingdom

i saw that cheers but it says

"SELECT THE REGION YOU WANT TO SHIP YOUR ORDER TO.
    Alert: Your shopping bag may be deleted.
    If you pick a country in a different region than you are currently shopping in, you will be directed to a different site for that country. Unfortunately, it has a separate shopping bag and you will need to re-add any items you currently have in your shopping bag. Sorry for the inconvenience.

does this mean when you try and send it to ireland it will delete your order and bring you to the european site?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭pa limerick

i saw that cheers but it says

"SELECT THE REGION YOU WANT TO SHIP YOUR ORDER TO.
    Alert: Your shopping bag may be deleted.
    If you pick a country in a different region than you are currently shopping in, you will be directed to a different site for that country. Unfortunately, it has a separate shopping bag and you will need to re-add any items you currently have in your shopping bag. Sorry for the inconvenience.

does this mean when you try and send it to ireland it will delete your order and bring you to the european site?
    I'm not sure because when you try to make an order it let's you select Ireland as your shipping address it let's you continue to pay for it in GBP but I didn't continue because I wasn't sure

yeah same i went to the checkout but didnt go further hopefully someone tried it here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭fergpie

yeah same i went to the checkout but didnt go further hopefully someone tried it here?

I used Hola and bought a couple of items on the UK site. Selected Ireland as delivery location and the transaction went through okay...so far!

fergpie wrote: »
    I used Hola and bought a couple of items on the UK site. Selected Ireland as delivery location and the transaction went through okay...so far!

just curious any risk with Hola?

I paid through paypal so hopefully not.

sorry, not with the site, just curious with the app Hola is there any spam risks etc when you download it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Hayezer

So ordering on the UK site through Hola and parcel motel is ok, Hollister won't be charging me more or coming after me?

Hayezer wrote: »
    So ordering on the UK site through Hola and parcel motel is ok, Hollister won't be charging me more or coming after me?

You won't need Parcel Motel as its free delivery from the UK site.
    Just select Ireland and input your address and it will be accepted.
    i did and got email confirmation and delivery date estimate.

Well done to those who ordered via UK site. A significant discount over those ordering from the eu site. Cannot understand why they discounted UK orders so much versus other locations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭jantheman91

Well done to those who ordered via UK site. A significant discount over those ordering from the eu site. Cannot understand why they discounted UK orders so much versus other locations.

For the exact same reason they sell the Xbox One for 500 dollars in the U.S and 500 euro here : because they can.

kept 4 items saved, downloaded hola, put money into my account and of-course my luck they dropped it to 30% off in the uk site ugh. rougly comes out around £16 more now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Anyone get a shipping email yet?

Vain wrote: »
    Anyone get a shipping email yet?

Yes. Dispatched yesterday :D

Ordered 23.12. Received this morning.