Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alcohol & Driving

• 26-12-2013 3:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭

First family row there :o

Okay, so I was asked to collect a friend of the family from a few miles away who was having trouble getting a taxi and I said I would in around 90 minutes as I had just finished one measure of JD and ice and told them that even at that I didn't feel comfortable doing so.

The cast of characters present then hit me with a barrage of:
    'You're fine, you can have one drink an hour'

'Yeah, your liver can deroxify (not a misspelling) two units in an hour'

'Do a withnail, ha ha, shout slappers out the..' (his g/f not getting the reference told him to shut up before he could finish this sentence).

'If it's your first drink you're cool bro but would be too much in an hour if your second'

'Just bring an apple and eat it if you get pulled over as the fructose will remove the alcohol from your blood stream'

I personally think there should be a zero tolerance and the limit should be even lower than it is currently, but few questions..

What exactly does = 0.05?

Has anyone witnessed anyone drink driving over the Christmas?

Would you get in a car with someone who has been drinking but below the .05?

Do you ever drive after drinking yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Never, ever, drink and drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Tell them to fcuk right off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭rwg

'Just bring an apple and eat it if you get pulled over as the fructose will remove the alcohol from your blood stream'

this means Cider would counteract itself :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Can't believe people are still so lax about it. Good man for standing your ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

According to Mattie McGrath TD alcohol can make you more relaxed and comfortable behind the wheel and therefore safer.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/one-drink-helps-some-drivers-td-26576650.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭TheFarrier

rwg wrote: »

this means Cider would counteract itself :confused:

Surely any sugar would have been turned to alcohol during fermentation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

You're cool, bro.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Tell pissed asses to walk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭andy125

lightweight...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

andy125 wrote: »
    lightweight...

I'm all for banter on Boards but joking about drink driving is weak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

Tell them to feck off, seriously.

I was supposed to stay at my sisters last night, but we had a row so I walked home as there were no taxis. The walk was 6 miles on country roads at 4am under moonlight. Fairly dangerous, but I was confident I wouldn't meet a car and I didn't.

No way was I driving. It was actually extremely peaceful and I loved it. I live in the states but I'm home in Ireland for Christmas. That walk is something I'll never forget.

Cydoniac wrote: »

is it actually drink driving though? he's under the legal limit - so its up to individual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭Its All Wright

I had one irish coffee and i refused to drive..obviously one irish coffee is legal and wouldnt effect my driving abilities but i had no idea what measure of whiskey was put in it so i wouldnt risk the slim chance of being stopped & breathalized, not worth it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

is it actually drink driving though? he's under the legal limit - so its up to individual

If he crashed into your family even with one drink, I'm sure you would say it made a difference!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

It's easy to say, 'Never drink and drive. Zero tolerance!' but if you really look at it objectively I think it's silly.

Yes alcohol impairs your ability to drive. But lots and lots of things impair your ability to drive at a similar rate. Things that are less easy to label as 'evil'. Things like driving with passengers, listening to music, being tired, having to pee, being hungry, having a headache, having a cold, not feeling well, being sad, being angry at your boyfriend, being in a hurry, being old (reaction time decreases with age). Oh and it's not just YOU - the weather impairs your ability to drive. The time of day impairs your ability to drive too.

In a perfect world - you would only drive when you were in perfect physical and mental shape. You would do so in complete silence, alone, in optimal weather conditions, during the day. You'd never drive if you were distracted by anything. You'd never drive if it were raining, snowing, windy, or night time.

So, yeah - it's really easy to say, 'Never drink and drive' but it's kind of ridiculous in my opinion, unless you are equally as restrictive against other things that are equally dangers.

Sleepy Drivers as Dangerous as Drunk Drivers
    http://www.doityourself.com/stry/sleepy-drivers-as-dangerous-as-drunk-drivers

Blood alcohol levels are objective and measurable; but the effects aren't. If you drink regularly you might not feel anything at 0.05 - but if you've never had a drink you might feel drunk. Also the guidelines for how much alcohol your body can process....those are just averages. You might be different so even if you find a chart online that says 'If you weigh X you can drink Y and be at a 0.05' YOU personally might be higher or lower.

In all seriousness I'd recommend buying a breathalyzer. It was one of the best gifts I ever got. But it's also useful to get a feel for what these limits will mean for you.

Still - it would take a few drinks for most people to get to 0.05. There are charts you can use that look at your gender, weight, and time you've been drinking to estimate BAC pretty accurately.

EDIT: To be clear, OP, if you ever do not feel comfortable driving for any reason, don't do it. One drink or no drinks. But I also don't have a problem with people who are under the legal limit driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

The dude looking for a lift can either wait or walk.

Good job OP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

[-0-] wrote: »
    Tell them to feck off, seriously.

I was supposed to stay at my sisters last night, but we had a row so I walked home as there were no taxis. The walk was 6 miles on country roads at 4am under moonlight. Fairly dangerous, but I was confident I wouldn't meet a car and I didn't.

No way was I driving. It was actually extremely peaceful and I loved it. I live in the states but I'm home in Ireland for Christmas. That walk is something I'll never forget.

With the utmost respect, you sister needs a punch in the ...t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

With the utmost respect, you sister needs a punch in the ...t

She didn't ask me to leave. I did that of my own accord.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭TheBully

I always drive after 10 or 11 pints! Im only 5 mins from the pub

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Drink a pint of water, you'll be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

TheBully wrote: »
    I always drive after 10 or 11 pints! Im only 5 mins from the pub

Can't believe they still let you drive the bus.

If he crashed into your family even with one drink, I'm sure you would say it made a difference!

why would it make a difference? if it did then surely it would be illegal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭TheBully

Can't believe they still let you drive the bus.

Pack of airwaves and avoid all contact with the patrons on the bus and ur grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Mayo_Boy

Never drink and drive. You might hit a bump and spill your drink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I think everyone has lost the run of themselves here. One drink doesn't make anyone drunk or incapable. That is why there is a limit set, below which you can drive perfectly legally and safely. Otherwise you should not be allowed to drive if you've had a sherry trifle or a slice of Christmas pudding.
    I often have a glass of wine with my lunch and I don't feel any less capable of driving and in fact I am not any less capable. Fatigue is actually a much more dangerous problem and the main cause of late-night fatal accidents. I have never heard of anyone becoming apoplectic about someone driving when they are tired.
    Common sense is all that is required.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

The original post is now 1 hour old, surely to Christ he's able to drive by now, or is he going to make a huge deal out of it altogether

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

One JD?..Unless it was a very large one it wouldn't bother me in the least, I'd drive.

Although I don't drink and drive, I do enjoy sitting over two or three pints and riding the motorbike ~ ya get a nice little buzz out of it, relaxing sort of feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭martinedwards

everyone's body is different, as it their ability to process alcohol.

it also depends on what you've eaten and a load of other factors.

there is no way on earth I'd drink and drive, even after a sniff of alcohol.

if they can't be bothered to stay off the drink and expect someone else to come and dance attendance on them tell them to chase themselves.

unless they give you a 20,000 Euro surity against you loosing your licence of course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭oceanman

im all fairness if you feel you cant drive properly after one measure of JD then you probably should give up driving full stop!

oceanman wrote: »
    im all fairness if you feel you cant drive properly after one measure of JD then you probably should give up driving full stop!

or JD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

Personally I wouldn't feel comfortable driving after even one drink. If I'm drinking at all, I'm not driving that day. Wouldn't let anyone put any pressure on me to drive them anywhere, either ... they should make their travel plans in advance.

I know that one drink SHOULDN'T really make a difference ... but what if you were in an accident that one time you'd had a drink, and you hurt/killed someone. Even if you were tested and were under the limit ... it would be impossible really to be sure that the alcohol hadn't slowed your reactions by those few split seconds that might have made a difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

I was at the in laws for Christmas dinner, we had driven 60 miles to get there and the 1st thing I was offered when I had got through the door was would I like a drink, my wife explained I was driving and she was told "sure a couple won't hurt"
    These are the same people that told me to have a drink before I went into the rotunda when my wife was giving birth to calm the nerves.
    Some people just don't see the issue in having a few drinks before getting in the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I think everyone has lost the run of themselves here. One drink doesn't make anyone drunk or incapable. That is why there is a limit set, below which you can drive perfectly legally and safely. [\QUOTE]

Personally, I go 6-9 months without drinking. The first time I drink a pint after that length I've got a buzz after one. I wouldn't be great at driving in that state.

My friend and I bought an electronic breathalyzer for our apartment. It was for the next day to see when we could drive. One day we tested at 1pm and were still way over the limit. We weren't passable until the evening.

I think those figures of how quickly people absorb alcohol doesn't apply to everybody. Mind you, my housemate was much bigger than myself and we were both well over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

I may be under the limit but I still never drink and drive. I also don't drive tired and I don't drive angry, I agree with another poster who said these are also impairments to driving.

If I decide to drive after I have a drink it should be my decision, and fair play to the OP for refusing to cow down because of peer pressure from others.

Let them go drink drive if they think it's ok and have no moral or legal heebie Jeebies about the consequences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

whupdedo wrote: »
    The original post is now 1 hour old, surely to Christ he's able to drive by now, or is he going to make a huge deal out of it altogether

I collected the person when I said I would :confused:

Odd post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Was in Applegreen on the M1 on Xmas day night getting smokes, and I saw a really pissed Indian guy of all things, could barely keep his balance I'm front of me, he hopped in his car and drove off as if it was nothing, I waited about 3 mins before following him up the road so I didn't have to be on the same motorway as him....

In hindsight I should have reported him, my head was wrecked not getting his reg...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

Fieldog wrote: »
    Was in Applegreen on the M1 on Xmas day night getting smokes, and I saw a really pissed Indian guy of all things, could barely keep his balance I'm front of me, he hopped in his car and drove off as if it was nothing, I waited about 3 mins before following him up the road so I didn't have to be on the same motorway as him....

In hindsight I should have reported him, W my head was wrecked not getting his reg...
    Was he on a horse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭hedgehog2

I dropped into my local shop just b4 Christmas Eve and picked up an energy drink.
    Had it in my hand to the car park,drove down the road,car followed and flipped on their lights.
    Two guards in unmarked car,straight over with breathalayzer and asked for a sample.
    They were sure I was over the limit as pub attached to shop and can is a large can looked like I was swiggin and driving.
    Passed it nae bother as I dont drink anymore and did not mind them doing it but it could have been the other way,if I was a drinker having 2 pints and driving up the road hone I was caught.
    They were very sneaky in the car park but I think no one should risk it.
    The amount of times I saw drink driving in USA r friends would drive us drunk to a club when I was younger.
    I have driven motorbikes drunk myself literally 100's of times in the far east in my 20's,copped on once I gave up the drink it just makes you do stupid things and makes people suggest stupod things like drink drivin to pick up a rellie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Kurtosis

Whatever about all the other things that can impair driving, alcohol is one of the few modifiable factors. If anyone chooses to voluntarily impair their driving ability by drink-driving, that's their own idiotic decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Cydoniac wrote: »

'Tis after hours.. What did you expect?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭preston johnny

When I was living in England I was driving home from the pub when a Policeman pulled me over. He asked if I'd been drinking. I said "I've had eight pints of Fosters." He told me he was sorry to have troubled me and let me go on my way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Limecube

Sky King wrote: »
    According to Mattie McGrath TD alcohol can make you more relaxed and comfortable behind the wheel and therefore safer.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/one-drink-helps-some-drivers-td-26576650.html

First time, I've seen this! You couldn't make this **** up. It never enters their heads that maybe a "nervous" or "jumpy" driver shouldn't be driving and should get more training. Does the theory work for pilots?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭seano12

Two pints is the limit in England much better system

Sick of the government turning our country into a Nanny state, if people want to drink and drive nobody is gonna stop them its their own decision now 3 or 4 pints is taking the mick

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Thomas D

I can have four pints on a night out and drive home later. The level of scaremongering is ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Pro Hoc Vice

While a person may be under the limit, there still is the offence intoxicated driving that does not require evidence of being over any limit, it requires two pieces of evidence 1 consumption of an intoxicant, drink, prescription drugs or illegal drugs, secondly the evidence of not having proper control of a car, that can be a cash or the evidence of a person that driver did not have proper control The minimum ban in such cases is 4 years, they are rare but do happen.

why would it make a difference? if it did then surely it would be illegal

It may be illegal, the driver could be found guilty of section 4 (1) Road Traffic Act 2010 minimum 4 year ban.

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I think everyone has lost the run of themselves here. One drink doesn't make anyone drunk or incapable. That is why there is a limit set, below which you can drive perfectly legally and safely. Otherwise you should not be allowed to drive if you've had a sherry trifle or a slice of Christmas pudding.
    I often have a glass of wine with my lunch and I don't feel any less capable of driving and in fact I am not any less capable. Fatigue is actually a much more dangerous problem and the main cause of late-night fatal accidents. I have never heard of anyone becoming apoplectic about someone driving when they are tired.
    Common sense is all that is required.

Incorrect! On the its ok to drive with one drink. In fact most people will give the AGS part of the required evidence I only had the one. Also its important to remember for certain drivers the limit is .2 rather than .5.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

oceanman wrote: »

Then why drink at all. The way I see it is, people drink because of the effect it has on the body. If the alcohol has any effect at all, reactions will be slower, and the chances of being involved in an accident are increased. In which case you shouldn't drive.
    If you feel that the amount of alcohol won't have any effect on your body, then why bother drinking it?

seano12 wrote: »
    Two pints is the limit in England much better system

Sick of the government turning our country into a Nanny state, if people want to drink and drive nobody is gonna stop them its their own decision now 3 or 4 pints is taking the mick

The UK limit is 80 milligrammes of alcohol in 100 millilitres of blood, in ireland its 50 milligrammes of alcohol in 100 millilitres of blood.

The UK also allows conviction in cases where there are no samples.

infosys wrote: »
    While a person may be under the limit, there still is the offence intoxicated driving that does not require evidence of being over any limit.

in the case of alcohol (thats what is in discussion here) please refer me to one case where this have ever occurred