Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garage replaced engine with 3 months warranty - engine ****ed up, free to fix?

• 25-12-2013 1:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭

Hey, so long story short:
    Two weeks ago I had an M43 engine replaced in E46 318i.
    The work was done by reputable garage in Dublin, I did lots with them before, always just fine, they sourced engine from a company that sells engines with low mileage and I got engine with 80k miles, it was replaced, paid 1700 for all together (labour + engine + clutch),
    yesterday engine management light came up, the interior of car is shaking and there is oil burning smell + there is barely any power going, I assume it's engine misfire as the RPM arrow is never steady at idle and it's all shaking.

Is the garage supposed to fix it for free? I mean I paid to solve my problem with my car - problem not solved.
    I mean even if they get new engine or fix this or whatever - I am not supposed to pay for labour again? Any help on this?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,523 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Depends. If its something simple and consumable like a coil pack they wouldn't, but if its more serious then yes, that's what the warranty Is for.

Can't believe you put so much money in that car, I'd have cut my losses a lot sooner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Jaysus you are always in car trouble dude..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭arleitiss

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Depends. If its something simple and consumable like a coil pack they wouldn't, but if its more serious then yes, that's what the warranty Is for.

Can't believe you put so much money in that car, I'd have cut my losses a lot sooner.

Yeah well it's like a ****ty situation, paid too much to sell now.
    The engine was replaced + serviced (spark plugs, filters etc..)

I drove 800 km since the engine was replaced, all fine until this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Jesus you're the only one with car trouble as bad as me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭martinr5232

arleitiss wrote: »
    Hey, so long story short:
    Two weeks ago I had an M43 engine replaced in E46 318i.
    The work was done by reputable garage in Dublin, I did lots with them before, always just fine, they sourced engine from a company that sells engines with low mileage and I got engine with 80k miles, it was replaced, paid 1700 for all together (labour + engine + clutch),
    yesterday engine management light came up, the interior of car is shaking and there is oil burning smell + there is barely any power going, I assume it's engine misfire as the RPM arrow is never steady at idle and it's all shaking.

Is the garage supposed to fix it for free? I mean I paid to solve my problem with my car - problem not solved.
    I mean even if they get new engine or fix this or whatever - I am not supposed to pay for labour again? Any help on this?

Thanks.

Depends what warranty you got with the job its a second hand engine after all.

Its a hard one to call really depends on whats wrong with the engine is the fault with one of the original components from your old engine or the new base engine.

Like if the problem is a faulty coil that was fitted off your old engine then it wouldnt be warranty but if the new engine failed internally it shoud be.

Its all going to depend on just how reputable the garage is.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Jesus you're the only one with car trouble as bad as me.

E46 as well

E46 as well

I'm glad I bailed out when I did. I could see the exact same thing happening of putting in huge money and then having to continue to do so.

If I was you I'd try get them to sort it, if they don't and its time to take the hit and cut your losses.

So they are not supposed to fix it for free?

Btw engine management light is on always now, and sometimes blinking few times. Sometimes when engine warms up it goes off and car drives okay-ish (not as it should) but then comes back on.

As above, it depends on what's wrong. It could be any amount of things.
    Relax and enjoy your christmas. Don't drive the car obviously.

As above, it depends on what's wrong. It could be any amount of things.
    Relax and enjoy your christmas. Don't drive the car obviously.

I don't celebrate catholic christmas, mine's on 7th of January :D
    Still though crap situation for me as the garage is closed till Friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

You were told to bin that bucket of sh*te......

Best to contact the garage and ask what the story is. Plug it in and see what faults are being thrown up etc. My guesses are a sensor or 2 are shot

Your new years resolution should be to cut your losses and get a new car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭ford jedi

before ye get too excited checkin fault codes , etc check it for oil and water since the engine was only replaced , you might find a hose leakin or pissin oil, after an engine replacement you really need to keep an eye on the levels as leaks are very common after a big job like that.

and untill you know exactly what is wrong with i wouldnt be driving it anywhere as the garage will just say you roasted it..it may be something simple but if its driven it will be defo not be .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

dgt wrote: »
    You were told to bin that bucket of sh*te......

Bit harsh that, christmas day and all..... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭martinr5232

Ah but its not christmas for the op :-)

Thetruth is often harsh, better someone says it out rather than water itdown for what it is! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

dgt wrote: »
    Thetruth is often harsh, better someone says it out rather than water itdown for what it is! :pac:

I think praytell that you might have spent a tad too much on a car that seems to be highly temperamental sir. Id suggest a field and a gallon of petrol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

OP, you need to get the problem diagnosed. If the problem is a result of recent work done by the garage then yes I would expect them to sort it. A decent garage would not argue if it was as a result of their work. That would be my take.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Burn that car with fire

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Gary ITR wrote: »
    Burn that car with fire

I agree, but you need to remember the op frequently seeks advice here, gets plenty of good advice, and then totally ignores it.

Very strange carry on altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I agree, but you need to remember the op frequently seeks advice here, gets plenty of good advice, and then totally ignores it.

Very strange carry on altogether.
    Karma works in mysterious ways :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Did the garage supply the engine?
    If so, and if it's an engine fault, you should be covered. If on other hand it is a fault with something outside of the engine itself, you will be throwing more cash at it.

mickdw wrote: »
    Did the garage supply the engine?
    If so, and if it's an engine fault, you should be covered. If on other hand it is a fault with something outside of the engine itself, you will be throwing more cash at it.

Garage got engine from other supplier who provides 3 months warranty.

To those who say I don't follow advice: I asked if they should fix it free or not, instead I got: Burn it down. Not really the answer that I was looking for to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

To those who say I don't follow advice: I asked if they should fix it free or not, instead I got: Burn it down. Not really the answer that I was looking for to be honest.

In the past on previous threads you got loads of good advice and you didn't take any of it. That's what they are referring to.

If this is going to cost you a lot again, take their advice and get rid of it.

No one here can give you an answer yet, as we don't know what's wrong with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

What's the point in giving you sensible advice? You never listen to what people on here say anyway. You were told to stop pumping money into this disaster of a car and you still went ahead and wasted a fortune on repairing it.

Of course the garage should be covering any issues with the new engine; I would have thought that was obvious seeing as how they supplied and fitted it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

come on Guys, you just aren't offering the advice he wants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

corktina wrote: »

It'll be grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭bidiots

What answer are you looking for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I'll give you 50quid for the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Give the guy a chance.
    He stumped up for an engine and its not right. This doesn't have a whole pile to do with whether he should have gone for the new engine or not.
    He is kinda tied to it now. If it was mine, I'd wouldn't have been driving around happily if there was engine light problems.
    Anyway, see if it's covered by garage. If not, set yourself a strict spending limit and stick to it. If you can fix it for a further 150 quid, fair enough. Anything more, just get rid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

OP the most common reason for a misfire on one of these would be a coilpack failure. The coilpacks were most likely transferred from your old engine onto the replacement engine when the engine change was carried out so this would not be covered under the warranty as it is not a failure of a part supplied by the garage.

Obviously this is only speculation. Nobody can answer your query until we know exactly what the problem is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

corktina wrote: »

He won't listen anyway!!!!!

OP the most common reason for a misfire on one of these would be a coilpack failure. The coilpacks were most likely transferred from your old engine onto the replacement engine when the engine change was carried out so this would not be covered under the warranty as it is not a failure of a part supplied by the garage.

Obviously this is only speculation. Nobody can answer your query until we know exactly what the problem is.

Coilpacks arent' too expensive to change I assume?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

No they are cheap enough.

Also I noticed a few days ago just before this happened: When going high speeds (not revs but speed specifically) - 5th gear - 5000 RPM the car dash lights go off, radio goes off, headlights go a bit darker, but when I slow down they go back normal, this happened once and after that these misfires started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Tow

No they are cheap enough.

But... If he continues to drive the car it can get very expensive...

When is the money (including lost growth) Michael Noonan took in the Pension Levy going to be paid back?

Tow wrote: »
    But... If he continues to drive the car it can get very expensive...

The story is:
    I am 20, I got refused by 7 insurance companies, quoted 7000 by one company and 2600 by my old insurance (which I went ahead with). The least thing I want to do is even call or talk to my insurers not even talking about changing car, if I change car it will be upgrade not downgrade, I will never go lower than my current car which again means they will **** me up and quote 3500 or so.

I am currently off college for 10 months and I will switch from part-time to full-time in my job which means I might upgrade on 25th of May (when my current insurance policy is due), until then - I just need to drive something for now (but nothing lower than 1.9).

That is the reason I cannot just sell the car now and get something else (just yet)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Most people at 20 years of age are mature enough and realistic enough to drive what they can afford. The money you have spend on keeping this ****box on the road would have gone a long way towards buying yourself something very decent when you are old enough and have enough experience to be able to afford to drive it, had you just had the cop on to suck it up and drive a smaller, cheaper car for a couple of years like the rest of us did when starting out.

djimi wrote: »
    Most people at 20 years of age are mature enough and realistic enough to drive what they can afford. The money you have spend on keeping this ****box on the road would have gone a long way towards buying yourself something very decent when you are old enough and have enough experience to be able to afford to drive it, had you just had the cop on to suck it up and drive a smaller, cheaper car for a couple of years like the rest of us did when starting out.

One thing I can say now I should have done: I should have saved up for 4 months then bought 2008 318i. (But even then, who knows what could go wrong)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Also I noticed a few days ago just before this happened: When going high speeds (not revs but speed specifically) - 5th gear - 5000 RPM the car dash lights go off, radio goes off, headlights go a bit darker, but when I slow down they go back normal, this happened once and after that these misfires started.

5th gear, 5000rpm... Seriously?

Beat me to it. No wonder its a wreck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭grainnewhale

djimi wrote: »

what a worthless post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭grainnewhale

Karma works in mysterious ways :pac:

it sure does, considering there is no such thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I'm pretty sure you have defined contradiction, grainnewhale.

I think that's about an indicated 130mph in one of those bmws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

And a very good reason why insurance cost as much as it does.

One litre micra I say !

Vectras all round I say

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Slipping clutch more likely.

• Site Banned Posts: 1 Don Seed

Time to bring that Beemer to the breaker's yard lad