Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Age profile of forum

• 24-12-2013 11:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭

Just out of interest over next couple of days, I thought it would be interesting to look at what ages use the forum.Age profile for farming is pretty old according to statistics.

don't think this should be a prob with privacy, but if it is apologies to mods.

What age are users/ contributors 208 votes

Under 20
    0% 0 votes
    20-30
    3% 8 votes
    30-40
    33% 69 votes
    40-50
    41% 86 votes
    Over 50
    21% 45 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

35 last time I counted, but I can be up to 150 depending on which little person you ask and their humour on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭locky76

Fair play, it should be interesting, I would imagine the 30-40 will be the biggest sector...
    TUBBY wrote: »
    Just out of interest over next couple of days, I thought it would be interesting to look at what ages use the forum.Age profile for farming is pretty old according to statistics.

don't think this should be a prob with privacy, but if it is apologies to mods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭flat out !!

Show the results u sneaky fecker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

they set to show at the end. Didn't want to bias voting:P
    will try to change it but not sure if I can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Im 45 and hip starting to give jip!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭stanflt

delaval wrote: »
    Im 45 and hip starting to give jip!!!

im 32 and need a new knee- damn cruciate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

stanflt wrote: »
    im 32 and need a new knee- damn cruciate
    31 and in same situation with the right knee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭jaymla627

26 in the new year and the knees grand gave up running around after balls at 21 and reckon it will stand to us in years to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

I'm only as old as the woman I'm feeling and she's not telling.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

33, the years are starting to skip by now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

41 here, but like a good wine, I seem to be getting better with age(at least in my head anyway)
    My six year old though refers to me as the auld lad when we are farming.(otherwise to be fair its daddy)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

19 and feeling every bit of it! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭foxylock

36 now apparently but the frosty mornings are making me feel older. Need more WD40 !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

44 and not able to work as hard as I used to but nearly achieving more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Nearly 32 ere where do the years go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

I suppose the other question is how long have you been farming. I did all the usual stuff farming wise until I went to college and from then until I came home a few years ago, I did shag all farming. So I am kinda back at novice level again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

32 hitting 33. is it down to the downturn the last few years or is it a normal progression that a lot of lads dont go straight into farming. fro what i see locally it seems to be only dairying whereby the heir may stay farming a lot younger, a lot i suppose is based on the fact it may be one of the more profitable but then again the beef ads may just rather a wilder time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

old enough to know better,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Rho b

Jeez you are lightweights :D
    In my late 40's and still fit to kick a few buckets about the yard ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

47 and need two new knees. Rugby from 25 to 37, and the odd kick from a limo heifer :'(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

30 , time to start looking after myself better from here in .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

31 farming 6 yrs too knee fcked from soccer/hurling also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭knockmulliner

munkus wrote: »
    33, the years are starting to skip by now!

life is like a toilet roll the further you get in it the faster it goes, if you think it's starting to skip at the stage you're at by the time you're 60 you'll be going so fast you won't be able to keep up with yourself, i.e. it'll be going faster and you slower. I know.
    happy xmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

33 here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭lefthooker

just gone 33. And still have the body of a greek god, probably Dionysus:D
    At home farming since I left a college 15 years back, took over the reigns 3 years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Still in my 20s thankfully :p! But anyways I'm sorta surprised that there isn't more of a spread in age, nobody over 50, most in their 30s!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    I suppose the other question is how long have you been farming. I did all the usual stuff farming wise until I went to college and from then until I came home a few years ago, I did shag all farming. So I am kinda back at novice level again.

Farming all my life I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Timmaay wrote: »
    Still in my 20s thankfully :p! But anyways I'm sorta surprised that there isn't more of a spread in age, nobody over 50, most in their 30s!

As Bob says "believe 30%"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭restive

40 waiting for my mid-life crisis. Definitely going to be comprised of women & car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭gazahayes

28 here only started out on my own this year taking the land back from long term lease when the father took early retirement 12 years ago. Working in farming for the last 9 years tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

30. Mental age about half that. Farming 12 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

34 years young,farming 4 years after following Munster all over Europe ,working in a factory for 11 years and seein a bit of the world.was made to go farming at 20,but glad I went working to get a different experience.if I did thomind park is as far as I would of got !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

turned 29 over the weekend. I'm getting old lads! definatly felt it when I Did the GOAL Mile this morning!

Fair play, I try do it most yrs but dying of the flu this yr! Nothing like your lungs burning after 4laps of the track in the cold dec air, but I bet there were plenty lads in there 40s/50s going strong! Cant remember what time I got last yr, think I just dipped under the 5mins, not a hope of that now, was lazy all morning instead and afew beers in already!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

Still in the 30-40 age bracket. Farming over 20 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

biddy2013 wrote: »
    Still in the 30-40 age bracket. Farming over 20 years

just hanging in there is it!
    I'm 34 and a very part time farmer, where my dad is still the boss. There seems to be over half of the people on here in their 30's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭dzer2

47 farming and working all my life apart from the 2 yrs in the states. Came home when father got ill. Have made a lot of changes to the place to increase the quality of life for my family and spent a hell of a lot of money on these changes. Haven't worked fullime in 5 yrs now and finding a right balance between work money and life style.

in multi was it, was going myself but the roads put me off

just hanging in there is it!
    I'm 34 and a very part time farmer, where my dad is still the boss. There seems to be over half of the people on here in their 30's
    yeah and the fathers still calling the shots :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

yeah and the fathers still calling the shots :D

In fairness, my dad would had over the whole lot I if id take it. But I like my job and the regular good money that follows it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

25 going on 40:rolleyes:
    Been around/working with cattle and other animals since I could walk.

in multi was it, was going myself but the roads put me off

no in Athboy. The road round the fairgreen was leathal when we were running

Timmaay wrote: »
    Fair play, I try do it most yrs but dying of the flu this yr! Nothing like your lungs burning after 4laps of the track in the cold dec air, but I bet there were plenty lads in there 40s/50s going strong! Cant remember what time I got last yr, think I just dipped under the 5mins, not a hope of that now, was lazy all morning instead and afew beers in already!
    Under 5:eek: I've been chasing 6 the past few years and never quite made it. Finished 9th at 6.20 this year. made worse by my brother beating me and a lad piping me at the post.

every year I say I'll put a bit of training in in December to get under 6 but it never happens

Under 5:eek: I've been chasing 6 the past few years and never quite made it. Finished 9th at 6.20 this year. made worse by my brother beating me and a lad piping me at the post.

every year I say I'll put a bit of training in in December to get under 6 but it never happens
    why kill yourself lads :D

6mins still moving, I'd say the average time must be 7-9mins? I've been with a club for yrs so fairly handy at athletics, but 1st yr I did it, I was expecting a low 5mins,never got going, and ended up just scraping under 6mins! Ran 4.30ish for a mile during the summer, abit of focus and the times will plummet, hopefully will keep on progressing well into my 30s, no reason to slow down just yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Me 50 and have the body of a god - Buddah!
    Hurt my right hip in my 20s with a badly executed karate kick, so it is beginning to give me trouble when there is a lot of getting up and down off the tractor. I've been farming since I was 5 and tall enough to reach the pedals on the MF135 for my dad to throw muck off a trailer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭PMU

54,farming since 1977.(feels like it sometimes)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

hi all. Could not change settings on poll but update is 5% under 20, 31%, 33%,22% and 6% over 50.

130 votes so far.

decent spread of ages and experience be it college, age or both.