Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Would you jump into water to rescue your dog?

• 24-12-2013 06:18PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭

The current stormy weather has claimed someone who went into the water after their dog jumped/fell in to river or sea, as is so often the case the dog survived (them being much better designed for cold, wet and harsh conditions) so would do jump in or be willing to wait and see (even as bystanders boo and hiss at you).

Wouold you jump in to save your dog? 189 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    no
    100% 189 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

In a heartbeat. I wouldn't even think about it, my dog is part of the family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭lostdisk

How much is the dog worth?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭SilverScreen

My dog doesn't exist, so jumping into the water to rescue it would be a pointless exercise and might get a few funny looks from passers-by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Of course not - they have an ability to get out of the water themselves. We, on the other hand, risk our lives to the current.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,343 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Dogs are excellent swimmers and well able to get out themselves,also how would you swim holding a dog?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

i really dont see how i'd be able to carry a wet german shepard out of a stormy river or sea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭98q76e12hrflnk

kneemos wrote: »
    Dogs are excellent swimmers and well able to get out themselves,also how would you swim holding a dog?

How do life guards save ppl? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Id keep myself and my dog away from areas where I thought there was a risk that could happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

declan2693 wrote: »

By being trained and strong enough, most people are weakened in cold water and they tend to be dressed inappropriately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭Its All Wright

I always taught dogs were supposed to jump in & save us & not the other way around???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,343 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

With one hand around them and their co-operation.I have trouble seeing how you could hold a dog and swim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

Jumping in after a dog (they are natural swimmers) would be an incredibly stupid, borderline suicidal thing to do. Try to coax it to a spot where it can get out or you can get a hold of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

Jumping in after a dog (they are natural swimmers) would be an incredibly stupid, borderline suicidal thing to do. Try to coax it to a spot where it can get out or you can get a hold of it.

Actually most dogs struggle to swim and tire very easily. Lots of dogs drown.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 95,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Dogs swim better than people in clothes.

LOTS of stories of someone jumping in after a dog and then someone else jumps in after them and in some cases the dog survives anyway.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-lancashire-20892279
    On a winter morning 30 years ago, one man's efforts to rescue his pet from the sea set off a chain of events which cost his own life and those of three police officers.

Family drowns trying to rescue dog from churning waves at the beach

Couple drowned trying to save dog from swollen river

Dog rescue tragedy boys are named

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Yes of course i would. I'm not going to think ah he can swim he'll be grand. I'll hop in and get him out ASAP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

SV wrote: »
    Actually most dogs struggle to swim and tire very easily. Lots of dogs drown.

I would wager that they are better swimmers than the humans that jump in after them in most cases. They definitely have a better resistance to hypothermia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Y2KBOS86

I would wager that they are better swimmers than the humans that jump in after them in most cases. They definitely have a better resistance to hypothermia.

All true.

Most popular breed of dogs here are probably labradors, golden retrievers, cocker spaniels, german shepherds, westies etc.

All very good swimmers, much better than the average person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

I'll throw in a few lifebouys, 2 or 3 to be safe and then consider going in after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I think the poll results show how little value people place on human life rather than how much value they place on their dogs'.

If you don't think much of your own safety then fair enough, but at least think of the poor cnut that will inevitably have to go in after you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

I think a lot of people here are probably exaggerating with this poll. I think if push came to shove and the dog fell into freezing cold water you'd find a great deal of those who said 'yes' in the poll would in fact stay put.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭sonyvision

Been involved in the coastguard on a river station in the south east.... i wouldnt think twice the answer is no !!!!!

Seen first hand how cold been in the water can be even in full survival gear... especially this time of year... even if your a strong swimmer underwater currents and your clothes holding you down in the water it would be extremely risky....

and if you jump in who is going to raise the alarm if your in trouble ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

In this type of weather I wouldn't let my dog next or near any dangerous water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Why would you have a dog who couldn't swim?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I think the poll results show how little value people place on human life rather than how much value they place on their dogs'.

If you don't think much of your own safety then fair enough, but at least think of the poor cnut that will inevitably have to go in after you.

Nah...

If I had to choose between a human family member and a dog - I'd pick the human. No doubt.

It's just that I don't care too much about strangers to be honest. It's nothing personal it's just that there are billions of people in the world and if I cared about them all like family I'd spend my entire life and every penny trying (but failing) to make a difference. Hardly seems right for me to buy a computer when people are starving. Watch a movie? That ticket could buy rice for someone starving somewhere. Too many worthy causes and all.

People I don't know....I wish them well; in the sense that I don't wish them any specific harm.

My dog > a stranger.

Now, if I had to choose between saving a strange person or a strange dog; I'd go for the person.

My dog is huge, I couldn't possibly save him. I'd just be risking my own life if anything. And I'm a trained lifeguard!

If it was a smaller dog, then yes. But depends on the water really..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

While I think it's admirable that people are willing to go to such lengths for their pets, they should probably take a moment to think about what they're diving into:

http://www.snopes.com/horrors/freakish/hotspring.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,861 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

kneemos wrote: »

If dogs are that good at swimming, the little fecker can swim for both of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Yep, did it about 3 years ago. Was walking the dog next to the canal in Dublin, little bastard took a look over the edge and fell in.

I went straight in after him, just an instinct I suppose. It doesn't help that I can't swim. Straight under I went, girlfriend helped get me out after I got the dog.

Little fcuker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,218 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Not by being an idiot and jumping blindly into fast flowing rivers without any safety precautions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

UCDVet wrote: »
    Nah...

If I had to choose between a human family member and a dog - I'd pick the human. No doubt.

It's just that I don't care too much about strangers to be honest. It's nothing personal it's just that there are billions of people in the world and if I cared about them all like family I'd spend my entire life and every penny trying (but failing) to make a difference. Hardly seems right for me to buy a computer when people are starving. Watch a movie? That ticket could buy rice for someone starving somewhere. Too many worthy causes and all.

People I don't know....I wish them well; in the sense that I don't wish them any specific harm.

My dog > a stranger.

Now, if I had to choose between saving a strange person or a strange dog; I'd go for the person.
    I sincerely hope no one ever has to risk their life to save yours.:)