Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you abolish Christmas?

• 23-12-2013 3:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭

...and instead of the current hoo-hah we'd have a normal working week.

It would have the effect of saving a lot of money for many people!

I would.

Would you abolish Christmas? 29 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 29 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

No

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

uch wrote: »
    No

You picked the wrong choice. Sorry. You have to leave the thread now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭rosiem

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,988 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I would.
    Bah Humbug!

Think about the bigger picture and the amount of jobs lost that rely on Christmas.

Think about the even bigger picture and the ridiculously long winters with nothing to look forward to to break em up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Just think of all the money pulled out of the Economy if you got rid of Xmas..... All them seasonal jobs too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Boo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

No.

I don't like Christmas but I can see how much joy it brings to people and their families.

It's idiots themselves spending lots and lots of money on gifts. It doesn't need to be done.

Keep Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Nah. If ye don't like it it's a few days off. If ye like it well you're in pig in shtie mode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

No.

Although I would abolish blue Christmas lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

The grinch has learnt to use the internet, make it stop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

Wouldn't abolish it outright but I'd honestly prefer the US custom of just having a few days' off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭agriman27

Christmas brightens up the darkest days of the winter and brings a bit of life to a miserable time of year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

porsche959 wrote: »
    Wouldn't abolish it outright but I'd honestly prefer the US custom of just having a few days' off.

Few?

The wife is working Christmas Eve, and is back to work on the 26th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭Kettleson

Oh I wish it could be Christmas everyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

The lead up to it is a pain in the hole but the day itself is grand, meet family, veg out, watch movies and eat your own weight in junk. It's one of the few days where everything comes to a crawl and you just chill out, and you need that occasionally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭jubella

Grinch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭spankysue

No. I couldn't care less that I have no money left after it.

The fridge is at it's fullest, I'll get to see family and friends that I don't get to see very often and see the joy on our nieces and nephews faces as they open their presents, why would I want to abolish that?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

No.

I'm a baby-eating atheist and think the entire thing stinks of hypocrisy, commercialism and extreme materialism and the music associated with it is like nails to a chalkboard to me. But it is the one time of year that I know my family are guaranteed to be together and that all my emigrated friends are going to be back in the country.

And the food. Why would you get rid of the food?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

No. I'd abolish everyone who gives out about it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭PlanIT Computing

MadsL wrote: »
    Few?

Surely the best present any man can get???

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,833 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Dfmnoc

I'd change it back to a pagan holiday and leave the pubs open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Im not the most pro Christmas person but I wouldn't get rid.

I think sometimes people need to tone it down though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

No.

I'm a baby-eating atheist and think the entire thing stinks of hypocrisy, commercialism and extreme materialism and the music associated with it is like nails to a chalkboard to me. But it is the one time of year that I know my family are guaranteed to be together and that all my emigrated friends are going to be back in the country.

And the food. Why would you get rid of the food?

So basically you like it but still feel duty bound to deliver a hipster caveat that nobody really requires.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Dfmnoc wrote: »
    I'd change it back to a pagan holiday and leave the pubs open

It can be as pagan as you want and "keeping the pubs open" would ruin Christmas for many.

(The sad obsession with pubs in this country. Take a day off from the pub and get scuttered at home.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

porsche959 wrote: »

We have that here. I can work today, tomorrow, and Friday. I choose not to. The office is open but most people are off. In the US they would have taken a few days off around Thanksgiving leaving them with fewer by Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

No, but I would put a ban on Christmas advertising until a week before, and I would have a staggered system whereby people born on even dates could shop every second day, and those born on odd dates could shop every other day. I would also ban the term "boxing day" from Irish screens and I'd shoot the lispy fuucker in our church who murders Oh Holy Night every year but...aside from all that...keep it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭weirdspider

I think you're in your own little bubble of negativity there. Most people enjoy the festive season because it makes the gloomy days of winter less miserable. If you wish to take that away then you'd be a complete pessimist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Since the dawn of time people have been dancing and having sex in winter. Aboloshing Christmas will have no bearing on this whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Shrobbs

It should be once every 4 years like the world cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭bop1977

Yes I like the idea of going all olly Cromwell on Christmas's ass. Shame it got revived after a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Cian92

MadsL wrote: »
    Few?

Lets not take exceptions to the rule, most in offices will take at least 5 workdays off, obviously those in lifesaving professions, caring and retail will not have that luxury.

Would anyone support moving it to Summer? :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

Just think of all the money pulled out of the Economy if you got rid of Xmas..... All them seasonal jobs too

But on the other hand it show the government just HOW MUCH MONEY we have outside the economy and it gives them the impetus to tax us to within an inch of our lives as they don't believe we are broke.

Christmas always trips us up when we spend so much of the money we claim we don't have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

anncoates wrote: »
    So basically you like it but still feel duty bound to deliver a hipster caveat that nobody really requires.

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

What's not to love about Christmas? Great food (hello delicious turkey and ham!), time off work, spending time with your nearest and dearest, the great stuff on telly, presents!

Cancel Christmas?!! Back in your corner Scrooge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭LOSTfan57

I would.

Howya Ebenezer!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,621 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. G

God no. Worth too much to the economy in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Christmas is only as painful/difficult as a person makes it.
    it's a lovely thing to look forward to at such a dark/dreary time of year.

Christmas day is good, but I really like Christmas Eve. 6 oclock Christmas Eve, everything is done, no more shops/fussing, I find it really peaceful.

So in answer to your question. no.
    Think Christmas is here to stay.:)

tinkerbell wrote: »
    What's not to love about Christmas? Great food (hello delicious turkey and ham!), time off work, spending time with your nearest and dearest, the great stuff on telly, presents!

Cancel Christmas?!! Back in your corner Scrooge.

You lost me at that point.

Mr. G wrote: »
    God no. Worth too much to the economy in my opinion.

I truly wonder on that one in fact. Christmas sucks the living blood out of people, January is as quiet as the grave, February we test if there is life in the patient by injecting a Valentine's Day love potion. And in March we promise little children chocolate eggs and tell them their parent's don't love them unless they buy ten eggs per child.

By April a modicum of sustainable business has returned for those who have survived the famine months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

i would abolish selection boxes for their cheap crappy chocolate content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Christmas always seems to be a merry sort of year, but it also brings out the scrooges as well. While I'm not really one of those christmassy type people, I wouldn't abolish it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I adore Christmas and everything about it, but as an aside there are so many in here talking about Christmas being a break/distraction from "the gloomy winter time of year" that I have to ask - am I the only one who absolutely loves winter? Don't get me wrong, summer is epic too, but this time of year is just associated with so many good times for me that when it starts getting dark in te evenings once the clocks change I'm thinking "sweet, it's that time of year again" :D

Anyone else? Or am I even more of a weirdo than previously assumed?

Here am I sitting watching the approaching storm, really exciting. I'm still on a high from the winter of 2009 or 2010 ~ the one that started with snow in November and it lasted all through Christmas and then we got a spring in spring [must have been a first for Ireland]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

I would.

For alot, it pretty much is a normal working week, with the added bonus of double pay, and catching up with family and friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

What Ive gleamed from this thread is I dont make enough threads with views that are well wrong.
    How do people forget that many people get work at christmas when they try play the sure arent we losing a load off money not working card

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Cian92 wrote: »
    Lets not take exceptions to the rule, most in offices will take at least 5 workdays off, obviously those in lifesaving professions, caring and retail will not have that luxury.

She is in non-critical healthcare, not lifesaving nor caring nor retail. She had a full day of 5 meetings today. Most are in tomorrow too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

I would.

Work work work. There's more to life than work. I wouldn't like to see the abolishment of Christmas because it's a great time to relax fully and be with the family and a laugh, and of course a few glasses of Benedictine. :cool:

And not forgetting the Christmas dinner made for a king, oh yeah.