Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Baking and listening to The Cranberries.

• 23-12-2013 4:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭

Seriously have to be one of the best Irish bands ever. A lot of the current Irish bands seem to be a load of hipsterish ort school wankery. Can anyone prove that statement wrong?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

What are you baking?

Regale me with stories of cake..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I'll have a go. I shared a flat in Prague with two girls from Donegal in 93. The wailing of the Cranberries was never off the cassette* machine. I berated them frequently for their appalling taste in music. The two girls admitted years later that the Cranberries were in fact a pile of shite.

*For our younger readers
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Compact_Cassette

Here's some alternatives for "Best Irish Bands Evar" - you might need to brush up on your music listening...

Thin Lizzy
    Rory Gallagher
    Stiff Little Fingers
    My Bloody Valentine
    Elvis Costello
    The Pogues
    Therapy?
    The Undertones
    Ash
    Aphex Twin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

One or two catchy airs but most of it is a bag of cats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

MadsL wrote: »
    I'll have a go. I shared a flat in Prague with two girls from Donegal in 93. The wailing of the Cranberries was never off the cassette* machine. I berated them frequently for their appalling taste in music. The two girls admitted years later that the Cranberries were in fact a pile of shite.

*For our younger readers

They are probably listening to Michael Buble now.

But you see, it's not me, it's not my family.
    In your head, in your head they are fighting,
    With their tanks and their bombs,
    And their bombs and their guns.
    In your head, in your head, they are crying...

In your head, in your head,
    Zombie, zombie, zombie,
    Hey, hey, hey. What's in your head,
    In your head,
    Zombie, zombie, zombie?
    Hey, hey, hey, hey, oh, dou, dou, dou, dou, dou...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

But you see, it's not me, it's not my family.
    In your head, in your head they are fighting,
    With their tanks and their bombs,
    And their bombs and their guns.
    In your head, in your head, they are crying...

In your head, in your head,
    Zombie, zombie, zombie,
    Hey, hey, hey. What's in your head,
    In your head,
    Zombie, zombie, zombie?
    Hey, hey, hey, hey, oh, dou, dou, dou, dou, dou...

Yeah I see what you mean actually..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

'Discover Northern Ayreland'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

assholes.

After our affair
    I swore that I'd leave Dublin
    And in that line I'd left behind
    The years, the tears, the memories and you

In Dublin

At the quays friends come and say farewell
    We'd laugh and joke and smoke
    And later on the boat
    I'd cry over you

In Dublin

How can I leave the town that brings me down
    That has no jobs
    Is blessed by god
    And makes me cry

Dublin

And at sea with flowing hair
    I'd think of Dublin
    Of Grafton Street and Derby Square
    And those for whom I really care and you

In Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Not my favorite band but I did quite like them. Always been a bit silly how they weren't as popular in Ireland as they were in many other countries. Think perhaps not coming outa Dublin turned a lot of our music press's noses up. To put in context for some younger posters I think they sold about twice as many albums as the Killers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭Wordless

I wouldn't describe The Mighty Stef as art school.

https://www.facebook.com/themightystef

Sive likewise.
    https://www.facebook.com/siveband

Check out Knoxville Morning (Jesus if those boys are art school they would let anyone in ha ha)

https://www.facebook.com/knoxvillemorning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Wordless wrote: »
    I wouldn't describe The Mighty Stef as art school.

https://www.facebook.com/themightystef

Sive likewise.
    https://www.facebook.com/siveband

E
    Check out Knoxville Morning (Jesus if those boys are art school they would let anyone in ha ha)

https://www.facebook.com/knoxvillemorning

The mighty stef are a cracking band.

But will probably go unnoticed because the coronas get the airplay because of their "connections".

After our affair

In Dublin

And later on the boat
    I'd cry over you

In Dublin

That has no jobs
    Is blessed by god
    And makes me cry

Dublin

I'd think of Dublin

In Dublin

Ah what a tune. Of course for all the Lizzy bashers ( and there are a few) their musicianship was outstanding. They straddled various genres from rock, folk, jazz, trad, blues and funk. Lynott was an outstanding bass player (especially on the early stuff) and he was also a great songwriter. Downey, IMO was up there with some of the best on drums (Bad Reputation being a case in point). Not to mention the harmony guitar styling of Gorham, Robertson, Moore et al.

The mighty stef are a cracking band.

But will probably go unnoticed because the coronas get the airplay because of their "connections".

The lads are too scruffy ha ha but you are right!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I hate the fcuking Cranberries and that whining miserable faced aul bitch Dolores.
    Nothing cooked while their 'music' is playing will come out good.
    A crap name for a crap band.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Wordless wrote: »
    The lads are too scruffy ha ha but you are right!

Bit of rough in the music business never done any harm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

*For our younger readers

Here's some alternatives for "Best Irish Bands Evar" - you might need to brush up on your music listening...

Thin Lizzy
    Rory Gallagher
    Stiff Little Fingers
    My Bloody Valentine
    Elvis Costello
    The Pogues
    Therapy?
    The Undertones
    Ash
    Aphex Twin

Sinner, you forgot the Blades, they belong in that group. Not my cup of tea, but odd that they are not on your list beside the Untertones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Thin Lizzy
    Rory Gallagher
    Stiff Little Fingers
    My Bloody Valentine
    Elvis Costello
    The Pogues
    Therapy?
    The Undertones
    Ash
    Aphex Twin

We're claiming Aphex Twin? And Elvis Costello? Great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

They got huge if the American college scene long before they made it back home, if I remember correctly.

Awful whiny stuff though, to be fair. And they were always a bit odd in that the 3 lads seemed to be like cardboard cutouts with just Dolores (realistically the ugliest woman's name ever) just ranting and moaning up the front. I think she fancied herself as the second coming of Sinead o Connor at one stage.

Mind you they were still all retired, pretty anonymous and loaded by the age of 30. Bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I knew somebody that used call them The Knackerberries.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Seriously have to be one of the best Irish bands ever. A lot of the current Irish bands seem to be a load of hipsterish ort school wankery. Can anyone prove that statement wrong?

This IS just another 'todays music isn't as good as in my day' thread. Please stop and admit you no longer care about music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Can anyone prove that statement wrong?

Difficult to prove subjective opinions wrong, but most right-thinking individuals wouldn't put them in the top 20 Irish bands.
    Personally I wouldn't have them in the top 50.
    Reasonably decent debut album, the rest of their output has been consistently awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭dandyo

Lol --- was just scanning to see if anyone else picked up on this..

These two certainly would have been eligible for Jacks Army with Tony Cascarino up front -- same logic applied I guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Cranberries made the dreadful mistake of becoming popular.

They were hugely hip in Ireland before that happened.

Here is a fact:

What is the most viewed song exclusively by an Irish artist/ band on YouTube.

The answer:

The Cranberries - Zombie has 102 million views.

And considering this was released 20 years ago, that is some going.

Irish people have absolutely no idea how popular this band are internationally, particularly in Latin America and South America. I spent a year in South America in the late 1990s and when I said Ireland, people said 'The Cranberrries'.

Don't get me wrong, I don't sit at home listening to them every night, but I do think they were a very good band that produced very good music. Linger is one of those songs that I would describe as a perfect pop single.

But of course you'll get people who say - just because they are popular doesnt mean they are good.

Well here's a thing - just because you dont like them doesnt mean they are crap!!

Credit where its due folks.

MadsL - I have to laugh at you leaving U2 off your list. Popular is not good obviously. Ash and Therapy! really are far better bands....

The Pogues - if you take a good hard look at them - aren't all that Irish either.

Most of their members have no Irish connection. Heaven forbid that any English newspaper call them a English band though; even though they are from England, most of the members are English and they sing in English.
    MembersSpider Stacy
    Jem Finer
    James Fearnley
    Andrew Ranken
    Darryl Hunt
    Terry Woods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

dandyo wrote: »
    Lol --- was just scanning to see if anyone else picked up on this..

These two certainly would have been eligible for Jacks Army with Tony Cascarino up front -- same logic applied I guess

Barack O'Bama could do a job in goals for us, making use of the great great great great great great great great great great great granny rule.

After our affair

In Dublin

And later on the boat
    I'd cry over you

In Dublin

That has no jobs
    Is blessed by god
    And makes me cry

Dublin

I'd think of Dublin

In Dublin

Where is Derby Square?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Thin Lizzy
    Rory Gallagher
    Stiff Little Fingers
    My Bloody Valentine
    Elvis Costello
    The Pogues
    Therapy?
    The Undertones
    Ash
    Aphex Twin

Thin Lizzy - if i ever hear them again i'll slit my wrists, and f**k off Philomena
    Rory Gallagher - ok he was good
    Stiff Little Fingers - one song
    My Bloody Valentine - pretty good
    Elvis Costello - English
    The Pogues - English
    Therapy? - Sh*te
    The Undertones - not familiar with them
    Ash - SH*TE
    Aphex Twin - What??? He's English.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

anncoates wrote: »
    I knew somebody that used call them The Knackerberries.

I knew somebody that used call them The dangleberries

Anyway this is their best song

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭Evelyn Cusack

Cranberries were pretty daycent

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    Thin Lizzy - if i ever hear them again i'll slit my wrists, and f**k off Philomena
    Elvis Costello - English
    The Pogues - English
    Therapy? - Sh*te
    Ash - SH*TE

So, you are a fan of Thin Lizzy then? And SLF had better songs than just Mr Fire Coalman!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

I loved the Cranberries but the best band from Ireland is U2.
    Without a shadow of a doubt.

I am not too cool to say it.:p

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    The Pogues - if you take a good hard look at them - aren't all that Irish either.

Most of their members have no Irish connection. Heaven forbid that any English newspaper call them a English band though; even though they are from England, most of the members are English and they sing in English.
    MembersSpider Stacy
    Jem Finer
    James Fearnley
    Andrew Ranken
    Darryl Hunt
    Terry Woods

But but if we are discounting them because they were born in England then Aphex Twin is Irish because he was born in Ireland

I loved the Cranberries but the best band from Ireland is U2.
    Without a shadow of a doubt.

I am not too cool to say it.:p

Nah The Clancy's were better followed by Emmet Spiceland and the slit wristingly excellent Thin Lizzy all followed by a good three hour chat by Philomena.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,191 ✭✭✭trashcan

Elvis Costello - English
    The Pogues - English
    Therapy? - Sh*te
    Ash - SH*TE

Seriously ???? Not familiar with the Undertones ? Wow. Now there is a credible contender for best Irish band ever. The Blades a scandalous ommison from that list too, as ayone who was at the Olympia last weekend will testfy to. Stars of Heaven also. Not a well known band, but my personal favourite.

Oh yeah, and the Cranberries were dire. Her voice had all the appeal of a fork scratching on a plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Crea

Well Dolores is sueing Noel Hogan at the moment.
    Seems much wants more in the money stakes.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/oriordan-launches-court-action-against-bandmate-29698975.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

While we're on the subject of musical berries.

Aphex Twin was born in Limerick. Elvis Costello claims Irish 'heritage'.

As for The Undertones they certainly wrote the undisputed best song ever, John Peel's favourite song, and are forever legends as a result. No amount of Cranberries wailing can erase the majesty of the punk anthem "Teenage Kicks":

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Aphex Twin was born in Limerick. Elvis Costello claims Irish 'heritage'.

As for The Undertones they certainly wrote the undisputed best song ever, John Peel's favourite song, and are forever legends as a result. No amount of Cranberries wailing can erase the majesty of the punk anthem "Teenage Kicks":

Oh ok I know that teenage kicks song. Just sounds like horrible whiney noise to me now though. I'm no Cranberries song but I'd rather hear the song Linger a 100 times over that teenage kicks rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

I hate to tell you this OP, but the Cranberries are not playing on your radio/iPod/whatever. It's just that in your head, in your head, in your head, they're still playing.

I'll get me coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,191 ✭✭✭trashcan

Oh ok I know that teenage kicks song. Just sounds like horrible whiney noise to me now though. I'm no Cranberries song but I'd rather hear the song Linger a 100 times over that teenage kicks rubbish.

I'm afraid you're simply beyond help then. :P

Myself and John Peel disagree with you. If I had any doubts on my own taste in music, a look over my shoulder at John Peel's playlist reassures me.

You on the hand prefer to listen to a song commonly known as Langer.

I rest my case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Thought the OP was baking cranberries there for a second.

Heard that,Dolores was in a lift one time and was about to fart when a guy got it in. She tried to hold it in but couldn't and so let a massive ripper. Guy looked at her in shock but noticed there was no smell and said: "That's mad Delores, your farts don't smell". She smiled at him and said: "You have to let it linger".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

Good memories there.
    I went to the Renegade tour gig at the RDS . I'd been reliably informed there would be tickets at the door. Doors opened and crowd surged forward and the lad checking tickets was decked and I got carried through for free. A girl fainted and some lads picked her up and put her up over the emergency door. That afternoon Ireland had won the triple crown ( I think - some rugby victory anyway) and when Lizzy came on for the encoure they were all wearing Ireland jerseys. A million miles from the invented and manufactured crap everywhere now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

Linger was a cracking song, in my opinion one of the great singles by an irish band.

Every other Cranberries song I have heard was patchy to awful (to my uneducated ear). Admittedly off the top of my head only dreams and zombie come to mind but they were both poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

And we still don't know what the op was baking :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

I agree with you i came across them again on youtube a few weeks ago and spent about 2 hours listening to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Never liked them (bar the odd song) and I find her voice dreadful; the accent making it worse.
    Nothing to do with them becoming popular/being Irish/not being from Dublin (ffs). These accusations always get thrown out, as if nobody could possibly simply dislike the act in question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Ill see your Cranberries but raise you with......
    The stunning......shes on my mind
    and
    Don Baker......winner in you.

*may be feeling rosemantic tonight* :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

The Power of Dreams :)