Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

European geography

• 21-12-2013 3:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,648 ✭✭✭✭

Stemming from this thread: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057108759 EDIT: North America added here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057108769

I wonder how many After Hours users can name all the (generally recognised*) countries in Europe. So, take this quiz and tell us how fast you answered / how many you got.

http://www.sporcle.com/games/g/europe

* Here's not looking at you Transnistria.

How many ansers did you get right and how quickly? 202 votes

1-5
    0% 0 votes
    6-10
    0% 0 votes
    11-15
    0% 0 votes
    16-20
    0% 1 vote
    21-25
    1% 4 votes
    26-30
    3% 7 votes
    31-35
    9% 19 votes
    36-40
    19% 39 votes
    41-43
    20% 42 votes
    44-46
    13% 27 votes
    47, under 8 minutes
    17% 35 votes
    47, under 7 minutes
    1% 4 votes
    47, under 6 minutes
    1% 4 votes
    47, under 5 minutes
    3% 8 votes
    47, under 4 minutes
    1% 3 votes
    47, under 3 minutes
    1% 4 votes
    47, under 2 minutes
    1% 3 votes
    47, under 1 minutes
    0% 2 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Ahhhhh its grand

Got them all eventually. Couldn't think of the last one for ages, fecking Andorra! Took me about a minute to spell Liechtenstein and Bosnia :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Ah Geography, nice one - I can get me Maths homework done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

All 47 in under 2 minutes. But I'm a sporcle addict, so... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I enjoyed that. Did the full 8 minutes and missed Cyprus, Monaco and Hungary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭Sheldons Brain

It is a rather limited definition of Europe, Eurovision is more inclusive.
    And it is partly a typing test.
    I got 45/47 with one spelling problem and one latecomer nation missed.

But Sheldon Cooper is a notorious know all.

A better test would be naming them in their local languages*

* not including Република Молдовеняскэ Нистрянэ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,648 ✭✭✭✭Victor

That's good going.

Now, I'm not sure if the person who was quicker than you is lying or not. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It is a rather limited definition of Europe, Eurovision is more inclusive.
    And it is partly a typing test.
    I got 45/47 with one spelling problem and one latecomer nation missed.

But Sheldon Cooper is a notorious know all.

Was it Bosnia and Herzegovina you had the problem with spelling? Took me a few attempts to get that right, Liechtenstein was a pain as well. :pac:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

40 only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 KildareBlue

I got 45 out of 47. I missed out on Cyprus and Malta because I ran out of time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

CORRECT ANSWERS
    28/47

Wheels rolling too fast for me. Or too much Burgundy :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Agonist

I got 28 too! I was typing on my phone which didn't help. More relevantly, I failed geography in the Inter cert. There were probably only 28 countries in Europe back then anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Agonist wrote: »
    I got 28 too! I was typing on my phone which didn't help. More relevantly, I failed geography in the Inter cert. There were probably only 28 countries in Europe back then anyway.

Inter Cert? I'd say a quiz on Pangaea would of been more apt for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

You must be the fastest typer in the world. Nearly 400 characters in under 120 seconds, you capped about 190 characters a minute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I used to be able to name all the countries in the world in two minutes. There was 188 then, there must be thousands now, what with your Kryghyzstans and Turkeyminestans and and whatnot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Ahhhhh its grand

I used to be able to name all the countries in the world in two minutes. There was 188 then, there must be thousands now, what with your Kryghyzstans and Turkeyminestans and and whatnot.

196 apparently. Just found this one http://www.jetpunk.com/quizzes/how-many-countries-can-you-name.php

I managed to get 150, then I ran out of time. You need to type pretty fast :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭diograis

got 40, couldnt spell four of the last seven so does that help my case in any way? I mean I could have lived not knowing how to spell Liechtenstein :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

30/47 would have been a couple more but spelling was off on some of my answers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,921 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Spook_ie wrote: »
    30/47 would have been a couple more but spelling was off on some of my answers

I also got 30.

On my second attempt :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Got fed up at 27 trying to spell those mad ones over there in the east.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

46. Forgot Monaco.

Why aren't Georgia, Armenia and Azerbaijan in it?

I prefer purpose games

No typing! Just point and click.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

You must be the fastest typer in the world. Nearly 400 characters in under 120 seconds, you capped about 190 characters a minute.

I'm an office admin when I'm not on sporcle. I regularly clock over 80 words per minute on typing tests. :)

Keno wrote: »
    Inter Cert? I'd say a quiz on Pangaea would of been more apt for you!

I didn't even do geography in secondary!

Loved maps, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

Got 47 in 5:59. Figuring out how to spell Bosnia and Herzegovina and Liechtenstein cost me some time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Got 46, apparently
    Kosavo
    doesn't exist but
    Kosovo
    does :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,781 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

45, forgot Luxembourg and Malta. That little exclave of the Russian Federation got me - I kept wondering which Baltic country I'd forgotten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,774 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

44. Missed San Marino, Liechtenstein and... Cyprus! The small ones, grand, but I didn't even see that other place.

I had 40 after 3 mins and it took me another 5 to get the last 4. I swear I typed Corsica and Sardinia over and over in different ways, convinced that those white patches were somehow countries now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

like this? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭BurnsCarpenter

Got them all in 3 and a half minutes. Makes up a bit for my poor showing in the North America quiz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

Got 33. I got stuck on those former Yugoslavian countries. Damn that Tito for not keeping them together....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

46, forgot Monaco and Cyprus, it didn't accept lichtenstein because i bloody spelled it right, not the backwards assed way the game does.

Seaneh wrote: »
    it didn't accept lichtenstein because i bloody spelled it right, not the backwards assed way the game does.

They spell it the same way the principality does. :confused:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Got 47 with 5:20 left on the clock (2:40 it took so).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Fcuking Liechtenstein!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Vatican City didnt think it was a country.

Couldnt spell Liechenstein.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I got 46/47 and ran out of time.

Missed out on Kosovo! I learned something today so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 361 ✭✭Filibuster

Is the Faroe Islands not a country??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I nailed these motherf*ckers

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Filibuster wrote: »
    Is the Faroe Islands not a country??

Nah, part of Denmark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Pang

Bloody Balkan countries let me down in addition to Moldova.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Got them all in under three minutes, because like another poster mentioned, I'm a Sporcle addict and have done this quiz before!

For some reason, I blitz through the all the countries and then get stuck on Kosovo and Moldova at the end. It always takes me half a minute or so to remember those two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Seaneh wrote: »
    46, forgot Monaco and Cyprus, it didn't accept lichtenstein because i bloody spelled it right, not the backwards assed way the game does.

Awesome punchline

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

I missed 2, Malta and Cyprus.

The freak islands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

I knew them all, had 44 after 4 minutes (slow typer), spent ages working on the spelling for Bosnia, Lichtenstein and Moldova. Had them all with 1:26 to spare.

I've no idea how someone can physically type those names out correctly in less than 60 seconds, seems there's 4 of ye on here. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Red Kev wrote: »
    I knew them all, had 44 after 7 minutes (slow typer), spent ages working on the spelling for Bosnia, Lichtenstein and Moldova. Had them all with 1:26 to spare.

I've no idea how someone can physically type those names out correctly in less than 60 seconds, seems there's 4 of ye on here. :cool:

Never mind that...for our closest neighbour, I had Great Britain, England, UK, until finally I managed to type United Kingdom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Pang

I will honestly admit to googling the spelling of Liechtenstein. I got frustrated after my third failed attempt.

Likewise, I had a huge issue with United Kingdom. Took me a few goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

its flawed

i was typing ukraine and the uk lit up on the map

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

Never mind that...for our closest neighbour, I had Great Britain, England, UK, until finally I managed to type United Kingdom.

uk worked for me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

41/47
    Belarus; Vatican City; Monaco; Kosovo; Bosnia; Macedonia. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭Wompa1

41 for me...I didn't know how to spell Herzegovina...or whatever...completely blanked Vatican and Monaco though...interesting!

My trick was Eurovision countries and teams Ireland has played over the years