Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who's your favourite DJ and Why?

• 21-12-2013 2:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭

For me it has to be(in commercial terms), John Digweed, his attention to detail in his mixes is phenomenal. An absolute pioneer in the progressive genre along with sasha-who hasn't come out with anything significant since the first involver album IMO. Recently I bought Digweed's Bedrock 1, Los Angeles and Hong Kong. My fav would have to be L.A, an incredible dark proggy mix that gets better at every listen. JD is a very gifted musician and demonstrates his technical skills in his mixes.

As a young lad getting into the scene nearly 15 years ago, Oakie was the man and Tiesto was still cool, I didn't have any interest in JD's stuff, but now I can't get enough of it.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭Mahogany

I'd have to say Todd Terje, incredibly creative!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Overall I'd say Carl Cox but with so many different genres I'd break it down to the following.

House - Graeme Park - A House music legend, resident for years in the legendary Hacienda, still plays out every weekend all over the world.

Techno - Carl Cox - My all time favourite Dj, seen him numerous times and always brilliant.

Old Skool - Slipmatt, still rocking it after all these years, a Rave legend.

D&B/Jungle - Undecided on this, I'd say either Grooverider or Goldie

Prog House - Sasha and Digweed no question although not so much a massive fan these days but the original Renaissance mix album is the greatest ever IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Sound men

deadmau5 for me
    I know he's not old school like the men mentioned above but he's the one who really got my attention to electronic music. his attention to detail is first class and you can really feel the emotion and work out into some tracks (although 4x4=12 is a party album imo). even though he's a very love/hate character I think in terms of music he's a perfectionist and stands up for what he believes in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Sound men wrote: »
    deadmau5 for me
    I know he's not old school like the men mentioned above but he's the one who really got my attention to electronic music. his attention to detail is first class and you can really feel the emotion and work out into some tracks (although 4x4=12 is a party album imo). even though he's a very love/hate character I think in terms of music he's a perfectionist and stands up for what he believes in.

I've never heard any of his stuff, what is his style? house,trance,techno?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭ThirdMan

lufties wrote: »
    For me it has to be(in commercial terms), John Digweed, his attention to detail in his mixes is phenomenal.

I love how Digweed has stuck to his guns. He plays a range of different music, but it always fits into his sound. Ironically, the first time I heard techno on a big system was during one of Digweed's progressive sets. He's a class act, that's for sure.

I don't have an out and out favourite myself. But at the moment I'm really into what Prosumer is doing. I actually don't like some of what he plays, but I love the fact that he plays it. He seems to be loosely tied to the ongoing 'house revival', but that's really unfair on him.

I also like that he plays exclusively from vinyl. And I don't mean that in an arrogant, elitist way. There's just something refreshing about seeing the good old vinyls at a time when the push for new technology is (for me at least) reaching saturation point.

Also, he's a great DJ, but his mixes aren't flawless. I can't do what he does, but he makes me feel like I should give it a go. I just might get there in the end. DJs with that particular 'talent' always endear themselves to me; I once seen DJ Sneak knock the needle off in front of 10,000 people. The thought of that always makes me smile, but in a good way. Human after all.

Sound men wrote: »
    deadmau5 for me

Deadmau5 isn't a DJ. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

ThirdMan wrote: »
    I love how Digweed has stuck to his guns. He plays a range of different music, but it always fits into his sound. Ironically, the first time I heard techno on a big system was during one of Digweed's progressive sets. He's a class act, that's for sure.

I don't have an out and out favourite myself. But at the moment I'm really into what Prosumer is doing. I actually don't like some of what he plays, but I love the fact that he plays it. He seems to be loosely tied to the ongoing 'house revival', but that's really unfair on him.

I also like that he plays exclusively from vinyl. And I don't mean that in an arrogant, elitist way. There's just something refreshing about seeing the good old vinyls at a time when the push for new technology is (for me at least) reaching saturation point.

Also, he's a great DJ, but his mixes aren't flawless. I can't do what he does, but he makes me feel like I should give it a go. I just might get there in the end. DJs with that particular 'talent' always endear themselves to me; I once seen DJ Sneak knock the needle off in front of 10,000 people. The thought of that always makes me smile, but in a good way. Human after all.

Yeah, prosumer's boiler room was one of the few 'thumbs up' i gave on youtube in a while. Just enjoyed the variety and general vibe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭shane9689

Deadmau5 isn't a DJ. :P

well, he is a dj, but hes mostly a producer...he can certainly dj but he doesnt do anything fancy because he prefers to produce, but djing is really the only way he knows how to perfomr his music....id like to see him start using piles of live hardware though...thatd be cool

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AqnXQEQsDy0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,521 ✭✭✭francois

shane9689 wrote: »
    well, he is a dj, but hes mostly a producer...he can certainly dj but he doesnt do anything fancy because he prefers to produce, but djing is really the only way he knows how to perfomr his music....

Didn't he admit to just doing the press and play thing, hardly DJing

http://createdigitalmusic.com/2012/06/deadmau5-honest-about-his-own-press-play-sets-misses-out-on-scene/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

DJ EZ, Mr. Scruff, JFB, Parker, dj captain crunch

Yeah, prosumer's boiler room was one of the few 'thumbs up' i gave on youtube in a while. Just enjoyed the variety and general vibe.

I just watched it on youtube, honestly isn't my thing, I prefer darker, more intense, proggy stuff. I went to see Dave Seaman in Dusseldorf last year and expected it to be similar to his latest Renaissance mix, I was sorely dissapointed. A crowd pleasing set that never went anywhere :o

I just watched it on youtube, honestly isn't my thing, I prefer darker, more intense, proggy stuff.

I understand. Five years ago I wouldn't have got through ten minutes of it. I guess it's part of growing up. It just seems to make sense to me now.

But I'm with you on the dark stuff. I went through a phase where only the darkest music would do. I still like it, and it's what I'd seek out if I was on the rip. But there's just something so oppressed about it. I couldn't listen to it all night. It's just too aware of itself. I get the feeling that lads like Dave Clarke need a good bloody ride. That's all that's wrong with them. My man Prosumer has it on tap.

shane9689 wrote: »
    well, he is a dj, but hes mostly a producer...he can certainly dj but he doesnt do anything fancy because he prefers to produce, but djing is really the only way he knows how to perfomr his music....id like to see him start using piles of live hardware though...thatd be cool

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AqnXQEQsDy0

I'm sure he does the occasional DJ set, but his tour performances are 'live', meaning he's 'performing' his own music using a range of software applications and midi controllers. Playing pre-planned sequences of your own music isn't DJing. He's not a DJ.

I understand. Five years ago I wouldn't have got through ten minutes of it. I guess it's part of growing up. It just seems to make sense to me now.

But I'm with you on the dark stuff. I went through a phase where only the darkest music would do. I still like it, and it's what I'd seek out if I was on the rip. But there's just something so oppressed about it. I couldn't listen to it all night. It's just too aware of itself. I get the feeling that lads like Dave Clarke need a good bloody ride. That's all that's wrong with them. My man Prosumer has it on tap.

I'm also a fan of Nick warren, who would probably suit my taste more. I listened recently to one of Richie Hawtins, Plastikman early albums. Minimal dark techno, you'd really want to be in the right mood for it, but really good all the same.

Another one is Sasha's expander EP with belfunk and rabbitweed, classics!

I went to see Dave Seaman in Dusseldorf last year and expected it to be similar to his latest Renaissance mix.

I like his Global Underground mix. Melbourne. There's lots of different styles on there. Some techno, some breaks. There's even some oddball house from FC Kahuna. And yet it always feels like a prog mix. I love how they do that.

Must check that one out.

I'm also a fan of Nick warren, who would probably suit my taste more. I listened recently to one of Richie Hawtins, Plastikman early albums. Minimal dark techno, you'd really want to be in the right mood for it, but really good all the same.

Hawtin was some piece of work alright. I was blown away the first few times I seen him. Ditto his albums. Extraordinary stuff.

People are now looking back at 'Spastik' as being part of the minimal canon, alongside compositions from Steve Reich and Philip Glass. That is serious kudos for a techno musician. And yet Hawtin has ended up playing tech-house to the masses? Strange. But it is what it is. He doesn't owe anything to anyone.

Hawtin was some piece of work alright. I was blown away the first few times I seen him. Ditto his albums. Extraordinary stuff.
    But it is what it is. He doesn't owe anything to anyone.

Agreed, amazing stuff, groundbreaking, the rot set in when he adopted that wierd blonde look, his stuff became bland, his DJ sets uninspired.

I'm not sure if I could say I have a favourite DJ as such, often I'd be just as impressed by some lads at a party who haven't played out in clubs as I would be by names, not to mention enviroment, mood context etc.

That being said sven vath (I'm not normally a fan) blew me away at I Love Techno, Stacey Pullen when we had him in Columbia Mills was special as well, but without doubt the gig I enjoyed most was some guy called DJ Nipper in a barn just outside of Newry at an event called the Tag Rave (91 I think any other boardsies at this?), mixed everything up, breaks, techno the then emerging prog sound, basically class eletronic dance music before it started to fragment

francois wrote: »
    That being said sven vath (I'm not normally a fan) blew me away

He seems to blow Richie away from time to time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

Jackmaster or XXXY, every mix of theirs i'm always finding new tracks i love, be they new or old, and seeing them out they've been great when i've seen them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭gavkm27

Ben UFO

To me in these modern time he is a true DJ in every sense of the word,himself Jackmaster and Oneman would be the only non producers to feature in Top 100 DJ polls worldwide.He is not bound by any genre and it's incredibly creative in his sets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭was.deevey

Of late has to be Jeroen Verheij AKA Secret Cinema

Absolutely Fanbloodytastic Progressive .....Techno I think is the closest genre I can come up with - superb DJ

was.deevey wrote: »
    Of late has to be Jeroen Verheij AKA Secret Cinema

Absolutely Fanbloodytastic Progressive .....Techno I think is the closest genre I can come up with - superb DJ

His live sets are excellent as well, he is also a very nice man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

I'm going to weigh in for Seth Troxler as he hasn't been mentioned here. I saw him close Sonar in Barcelona back in June. I really enjoyed it. His programming and mixing were great. He weaved a really nice house/techno set together. I completely understand how he ranks so high in Resident advisor poles as forgive the nobiness of this but 'real heads' would get it and the more populist 'like my Facebook' or whatever type DJ mag pole will always have the guetta/SHM/big room trancey people usually filling out the top spots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Highcontrast1

Andy C, Ez, Craze, Raresh, Scratcha dva, Ben ufo, Mala (dmz).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

I've never heard any of his stuff, what is his style? house,trance,techno?
    electro and prog. tracks such as, hi friend, ghosts n stuff, not exactly, i remember, jaded, the veldt, and more

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Sasha's expander EP with belfunk and rabbitweed, classics!
    absolutely, a gem, enough said, love all 4 tracks myself, the downtempo track baja is a very underrated track IMO

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

absolutely, a gem, enough said, love all 4 tracks myself, the downtempo track baja is a very underrated track IMO

I agree, just listened to Sasha San Fran, what a mix especially cd1, always thought it was overrated, but its only now I 'get it'.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

Digweed - cos he's feckin brilliant, from Northern Exposure and Renaissance to his latest Live' recordings such as London, Cordoba and Slovenia he's always been belting out some sublime mixes.

Must admit I was blown away by Hawtin at Electric Picnic in 2012.
    And my latest guilty pleasure is Green Velvet :)

Digweed - cos he's feckin brilliant, from Northern Exposure and Renaissance to his latest Live' recordings such as London, Cordoba and Slovenia he's always been belting out some sublime mixes.

Must admit I was blown away by Hawtin at Electric Picnic in 2012.
    And my latest guilty pleasure is Green Velvet :)

check out cd 2 or northern exposure expeditions, think its all digweed. fantastic mix. Really cant say enough about GU L.A too, dark dark mix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

check out cd 2 or northern exposure expeditions, think its all digweed. fantastic mix. Really cant say enough about GU L.A too, dark dark mix.

GU LA - is that the one with Love In Traffic? Dark - the only word for it, love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Yo Mamma

Got to be Digweed for me, he has produced some of the best sets I have ever heard and the 'Transitions' CD Comp series is Unbelievable namely 1, 2 and 4. Some of the best music out there ! been a little static of late but still at the forefront of the scene, will be interested to hear what the 'Versus' CD is like :pac:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,897 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Juan Atkins. He's mostly a producer, but if his dj sets are unreal. Doesn't get more old school than the man who invented techno.

Most of my favourite DJs are fairly vintage and do more producing than DJing: Laurent Garnier, Andrew Weatherall, Darren Emerson.

Lately I quite enjoy Marcel Dettman and Ben Klock. Wouldn't listen to them much at home though. Much more of clubbing favourites.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

garnier is still playing like a madman, at about 55 years old.. legend.

all i listen to in work is sets all day, so personally...

best dj - james holden: can listen to his sets from 2005-now and still be amazed at the tracks he somehow manages to mix together. miles ahead of the game. plus, you can listen to his sets on the bus, in work, gym, pre party, whatever. (lot of the time he plays the same few tunes for months/years!)

close second would be sasha. then zabiela, then apparat, fourtet, nathan fake, then the new breeds, likes of alkan, kolsch, daniel avery etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭BofaDeezNuhtz

DJ Skitzo inda mixo LOL

stop

ah no Coxy FTW :cool:
    /Thread

DJ Skitzo inda mixo LOL

stop

ah no Coxy FTW :cool:
    /Thread

Coxy, Yea? :rolleyes:

Yeah Coxy yeh snobby ****!

Who are you the grammar police around here?

Yeah Coxy yeh snobby ****!

Who are you the grammar police around here?

Relax, I was joking

You relax with yer eyeball rolling there.

As a young lad getting into the scene nearly 15 years ago, Oakie was the man and Tiesto was still cool

15 years ago I was getting outta the scene ffs :rolleyes:

The music was getting sh1te, the love buzz was out and the skag heads were in,
    the yokes were that sh1te I wouldnt even sell them anymore ffs, I got a bitch and
    a job and a nice jammer and had kids, and here's you some noughties kid telling me I can't call him Coxy ffs?

Mid nineties, Carl Cox in the SFX, he was dressed in overalls and wearing a Balaclava like a Ra head I sh1t you not,
    running 4 decks simultaneously and absolutely fukking blew us all away!!!
    Replaced my night at The Prodigy in the Point Depot as my best ever night out.

The man, the Legend, Big C, fukkin' Coxy!!! :cool: Ok kid?

I'm sorry you missed the nineties kid, dont try take it out on me tho k.
    Neck 'a ye lol :D

(P.S. btw Tiesto was never cool sry ;) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭spitfireIRL

Digweed, Sasha, maybe Hernan Cattaneo then, and probably Guy J after that..

I'll just leave this here

But overall, probably Digweed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 TSR

Eric Cloutier. Probably the most underrated DJ out there, but one of the most talented ones. The guy is bloody awesome. Technically brilliant, and great music selector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Heisenberg1

Sasha for me an absolute master never stays still always pushing for the new sound. OP I agree with you on Digweed excellent. First time I seen him was Homelands 99 he flew in from playing Twilo the night before. GU Hong Kong was released I remember him dropping this little daisy. Today I am huge Nick warren fan incredible DJ.

Sasha is special. A true master, though I think he has seen better days. Sasha's 'Involver 3' released last year was a bit of a disappointment.

Digweed, Sasha, maybe Hernan Cattaneo then, and probably Guy J after that..

I'll just leave this here

But overall, probably Digweed...

Always liked Cattaneo now again I'll have listen to this.....

TSR wrote: »
    Sasha is special. A true master, though I think he has seen better days. Sasha's 'Involver 3' released last year was a bit of a disappointment.

Check out his soundcloud he posted a set from Vancouver one of the best I've heard from him in a while.

https://soundcloud.com/sashaofficial

Check out his soundcloud he posted a set from Vancouver one of the best I've heard from him in a while.

https://soundcloud.com/sashaofficial

That's a good set. ;)

TSR wrote: »

A bit? Jaysus he seems to have dropped the ball completely, Involver 3 was pretty bad :(.

In fact it seems that he hasn't had really hit much of a high post airdrawndagger. I wonder if it is down to technology and new tooling. That raw analogue feel is gone and replaced by something a bit more generic that perhaps has more mass appeal(nothing on the same level as Tiesto or Oakenfold though). That said, Digweed has been flying fairly high with 'transitions' etc. Sasha is indeed special though, and an absolute legend.

A bit? Jaysus he seems to have dropped the ball completely, Involver 3 was pretty bad :(.

In fact it seems that he hasn't had really hit much of a high post airdrawndagger. I wonder if it is down to technology and new tooling. That raw analogue feel is gone and replaced by something a bit more generic that perhaps has more mass appeal(nothing on the same level as Tiesto or Oakenfold though). That said, Digweed has been flying fairly high with 'transitions' etc. Sasha is indeed special though, and an absolute legend.

Airdrawndagger sure that was Charlie May ;)

Airdrawndagger sure that was Charlie May

Charlie "spooky" may was involved in the production of the album or at least some of the tracks but it was sasha's album

Sasha's name is on the album but Charlie done most of the work but wasn't credited for half of it. Just like Xpander.