Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More evidence of bull beef dying a death

• 20-12-2013 8:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭

From the Angus website.

"Our policy on bull production is changing for 2014. Please take note of the following changes:
    1) Angus Premium Payments
    From 1 January 2014, Angus bulls will be excluded from our AAA scheme and from our Off-Season premium scheme. Therefore bulls will only receive a maximum premium of 10c/kg immaterial of which system of production they are produced under.
    2) Age Limits
    The following age limits will apply to all Angus bulls produced in 2014:
    • From 1 January to 31 March 2014, bulls must be under 24 months of age to collect 10c/kg Angus premium.
    • From 1 April to 31 July 2014, bulls must be under 20 months of age to collect 10c/kg Angus premium.
    • From 1 August to 30 September 2014, bulls must be under 18 months of age to collect 10c/kg Angus premium.
    • From 1 October to 31 December 2014, bulls must be under 16 months of age to collect 10c/kg Angus premium.
    Bulls that fall outside of these age limits will be priced at commercial value.
    3) Removal of Bulls from Certified Scheme
    Angus bulls of any age will no longer be accepted in our scheme from 1 January 2015.
    The reason behind these decisions is to ensure the quality of our Certified Irish Angus beef lives up to the increasing expectations of our discerning consumers."

The writing is on the wall for bulls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

TUBBY wrote: »
    From the Angus website.

"Our policy on bull production is changing for 2014. Please take note of the following changes:
    1) Angus Premium Payments
    From 1 January 2014, Angus bulls will be excluded from our AAA scheme and from our Off-Season premium scheme. Therefore bulls will only receive a maximum premium of 10c/kg immaterial of which system of production they are produced under.
    2) Age Limits
    The following age limits will apply to all Angus bulls produced in 2014:
    • From 1 January to 31 March 2014, bulls must be under 24 months of age to collect 10c/kg Angus premium.
    • From 1 April to 31 July 2014, bulls must be under 20 months of age to collect 10c/kg Angus premium.
    • From 1 August to 30 September 2014, bulls must be under 18 months of age to collect 10c/kg Angus premium.
    • From 1 October to 31 December 2014, bulls must be under 16 months of age to collect 10c/kg Angus premium.
    Bulls that fall outside of these age limits will be priced at commercial value.
    3) Removal of Bulls from Certified Scheme
    Angus bulls of any age will no longer be accepted in our scheme from 1 January 2015.
    The reason behind these decisions is to ensure the quality of our Certified Irish Angus beef lives up to the increasing expectations of our discerning consumers."

The writing is on the wall for bulls.

That has being the position for awhile regarding the AA bulls being excluded. Suppose the last line is the most important

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

Crikey... I am not surprised by reduction of age to 16mth but total eradication of premium is in 2015 is a big change.

Is it the way the factories are positioning themselves for lots of dairy breeds post 2015?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

You wonder with the expected increase in the dairy herd to prevent them being finished as bulls over the winter. It may well make the finishing of these cattle uneconomical.

Is this a move to allow them to control the market. Forces farmers to finish all cattle before 30 months. This would force sucklers farmers to breed cattle that can be killed at 24 months during there second winter. Friesians bullocks will provide cattle from June-October with traditional breeds filling the gap in between and the top up to the other two lots.

At least the AA scheme is being honest and putting a process in place to allow farmers to sell there stock. However most AA bulls will be outside the scheme by September as the majority of cattle are born Feb-April.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

This eactly what the meat processors do with years.they decide they are going to use a category of cattle, young bulls , cows, angus certified, heifers whatever and they push the prices on this category and farmers see the margin and increase production,.then 12 or 18 months down the line when fellas have the numbers they cut the price and the cattle are there so they have to be killed so the processers are work7ng the market.it s got nothing to do with market returns. I see it first hand with fr bulls at the moment once cattle are fit they cant be stored indefinitely

It has being flagged going on two years that bull beef isnt a product that is in demand. with the improved DNA testing it has meant that before young bull and bullock beef could be sold together now this cannot happen. So who here would like to buy a pallet of bull beef instead of say a pallet of heifer beef with both trading in or around the same price. If you cant or wont adopt to what the market wants there is little point in complaining about the price paid when the time comes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

It has being flagged going on two years that bull beef isnt a product that is in demand. with the improved DNA testing it has meant that before young bull and bullock beef could be sold together now this cannot happen. So who here would like to buy a pallet of bull beef instead of say a pallet of heifer beef with both trading in or around the same price. If you cant or wont adopt to what the market wants there is little point in complaining about the price paid when the time comes

What are we to do with all our bull/bullocks then bob. Finish them under 16 months in an uneconomical fashion.
    No its to easy to say "this product isn't in demand". They can say what they want it doesn't make it a fact. I find bull beef lovely, especially when it has been hung for long enough. And as for the argument that the cuts are simply to big. Well I don't buy that either. If it keeps going at this rate we will have to bring in the animals already butchered and in the nice plastic shop containers. In order to save the factory the bother.

Its not really my business and maybe you know better but I think thats rubbish, for majority of customers beef is beef and by customers I mean McDonald's or multiple s.there a retired farmer near us that rears a couple of jersey bull calves and kills them, grandest stuff ever

Flagged and putting a process in place are two different things. Yes for the last two years they have being saying that, however when push came to shove they took bulls, I know a lad that got over 24 months bulls killed in September and he only 3or4 .

I wonder if they had not got there lairages full would they be so bullish excuse the pun
    TITANIUM. wrote: »
    What are we to do with all our bull/bullocks then bob. Finish them under 16 months in an uneconomical fashion.
    No its to easy to say "this product isn't in demand". They can say what they want it doesn't make it a fact. I find bull beef lovely, especially when it has been hung for long enough. And as for the argument that the cuts are simply to big. Well I don't buy that either. If it keeps going at this rate we will have to bring in the animals already butchered and in the nice plastic shop containers. In order to save the factory the bother.

Big cust are a huge issue, striploins are the most valuable cut and as well everybody wants a bit of fat on there round roast not a lump of meat from the middle. With smaller familys and more couples people do not want a big lump of meat.

keep going wrote: »
    Its not really my business and maybe you know better but I think thats rubbish, for majority of customers beef is beef and by customers I mean McDonald's or multiple s.there a retired farmer near us that rears a couple of jersey bull calves and kills them, grandest stuff ever

This is my point small carcasses like jerseys croses and Fresians killed at less than 350kgs DW are suitable however like bob said DNA states that it has to be what it says on the Tin.

The factory's promised that farmers would not have to pay for the horsemeat debacle but here we go we farmers are. I wonder if the horsemeat scandal had not happened would we have an issue with bulls.

Like I stated I would not have an issue with this if a process like the AA are doing had been put in place after all as late as September/October factory managers were telling farmers as long as bulls were under 24 months there would be no issue. That another type of flagging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

I'm struggling to understand how DNA testing can tell the difference between bull and Bullock.
    The only difference between the two is the Bullock no longer produces sex hormones and sperm.
    You can use it to tell between horses and cattle as they are different species and even heifers and bulls as they are different sex.
    Maybe I'm wrong but DNA won't differentiate between bulls and bullocks. The only way I could see would be to test for difference in testosterone levels or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Flagged and putting a process in place are two different things. Yes for the last two years they have being saying that, however when push came to shove they took bulls, I know a lad that got over 24 months bulls killed in September and he only 3or4 .

I wonder if they had not got there lairages full would they be so bullish excuse the pun

Big cust are a huge issue, striploins are the most valuable cut and as well everybody wants a bit of fat on there round roast not a lump of meat from the middle. With smaller familys and more couples people do not want a big lump of meat.

This is my point small carcasses like jerseys croses and Fresians killed at less than 350kgs DW are suitable however like bob said DNA states that it has to be what it says on the Tin.

The factory's promised that farmers would not have to pay for the horsemeat debacle but here we go we farmers are. I wonder if the horsemeat scandal had not happened would we have an issue with bulls.

Like I stated I would not have an issue with this if a process like the AA are doing had been put in place after all as late as September/October factory managers were telling farmers as long as bulls were under 24 months there would be no issue. That another type of flagging

Was talking to two factory managers in sept/ oct, one said to make sure the factory has a market before you start feeding and the other said they didn't want bulls, too many complaints coming back.
    They have been flagging problems with bulls for over a year now.
    If theres steer/heifer beef available, why would any supermarket buyer take bull beef

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭stanflt

Have to say bob that you have surprised me again with a very intelligent reply- are you feeling well- this is not the first useful comment you have made this year either- I'm seriously worried about you

Happy Christmas and all the best in 2014

rancher wrote: »
    [/B]
    Was talking to two factory managers in sept/ oct, one said to make sure the factory has a market before you start feeding and the other said they didn't want bulls, too many complaints coming back.
    They have been flagging problems with bulls for over a year now.
    If theres steer/heifer beef available, why would any supermarket buyer take bull beef

Sure we'll shoot all bulls at birth so to save ourselves rearing them.
    Look there a part of the business ourselves and the factory's are in. One side of the house can't just say someday "no hang onto your bulls lads. We had a few complaints so we're only going to take your quality heifers from now on" all parties involved in this industry have a responsibility to each other. And I believe this kinda tripe that is currently happening is extremely short sighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

They're only one Daily Mail headline away from serious problems with this stance. Something along the lines of UK supermarkets and slaughter houses forcing farmers to resume antiquated, barbaric practice with a photo of what will look to many consumers like the devils tooth pliers. An opening paragraph along the lines of

"After a number of years where farmers had been discontinuing the barbaric practice of castration, often without vetinary supervision despite regulations to the contrary, British supermarkets and slaughterhouses are forcing their farmer suppliers to resume this unessecary and cruel practice....."

and so on with a little dig about the lower performance of steers tempting farmers to consider using illegal growth promoters and the wheels will come off the we don't want bulls bandwagon. We have been doing bull beef here on and off for 20+ years and never had any problem getting them away at a reasonable return.

I'm with J.O. on his assertion that telling bull beef from bullock using a DNA test would at the very least be problematic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭severeoversteer

in the supermarket is there a label saying this is ''bull'' and this is ''heifer'' or ''bullock''. no there isn't. the customer doesn't know and wouldn't know the difference.

the factory pay more for each kilo of bullock and a bit less for the bull and then sell them under same label for same price

they can dna test all they like but for the time being people don't care whether its a bull or a bullock just as long as its traceable, irish and from an animal that isn't a horse !

but aside from this you will have your butcher type butty heifers that are top quality

as long as continental charolais etc bulls are paid on the grid for 16 months or under, the future for these bulls is ok for the minute

older bulls ( >16 months) and fr bulls days might be numbered

Sure we'll shoot all bulls at birth so to save ourselves rearing them.
    Look there a part of the business ourselves and the factory's are in. One side of the house can't just say someday "no hang onto your bulls lads. We had a few complaints so we're only going to take your quality heifers from now on" all parties involved in this industry have a responsibility to each other. And I believe this kinda tripe that is currently happening is extremely short sighted.

Factories won't buy bulls unless they can sell them, we have to produce for the markets, ''customer is always right'' and all that.
    Plenty of bull calves being destroyed in other countries, why is that?
    Will beef buyers take bull beef when heifer/steer beef gets scarce, whenever that is.....maybe they will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Hershall

We can all buy bks and hfrs this spring and they will be a rob in the marts. Have them fit to kill at the back end when lots of cattle around and the factories will discount them as well! !!!

I would imagine that a DNA test will show the level of testerone in a meat sample and trace to bull. However if handled right and if hung a little longer there is no discernible difference in quality.

AA has been using bull beef for ages however are now putting in place a process to exit the market. Factory's continually send out these so called flaggings however they never put a process in place to change supply from farmers it always a case of wait until a bit of a glut (in this case one manufactured by factory's I think) and then make a profit on the so called unwanted product.

In Ireland bacuase of the non avaibility of byproduct we cannot compete at winter finishing as the UK and the rest of Europe. To equalise supply we need a certain % of bulls in mix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

I would imagine that a DNA test will show the level of testerone in a meat sample and trace to bull. However if handled right and if hung a little longer there is no discernible difference in quality.

A DNA test doesn't show the levels of anything in the system. It will show genes for production of testosterone are present not if they are being used.
    They could use perhaps a different test to detect hormone levels but this is unrelated to DNA tests.
    Anybody telling you that DNA can be used is either far more up on recent scientific developments than me or don't know what they're talking about. my bets is on the latter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Hershall wrote: »
    We can all buy bks and hfrs this spring and they will be a rob in the marts. Have them fit to kill at the back end when lots of cattle around and the factories will discount them as well! !!!

Will this result in dairy herds going down the route of all female calves, putting more emphase on sexed ai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭paddysdream

Think Bob hit the nail on the head but many of ye seemed to miss the point.

There is no use producing something that is not wanted ,no matter how good you think it is or how ever much it suits your system,way of farming etc.

Farmers have been, and in the vast vast majority of cases ,will always be following the market not leading it.

If we stick our heads in the sand and refuse to listen then we only have ourselves to blame.
    If anyone thinks that there is a vast fortune in the meat industry could they please point out all the farmer run factories that they supply.

and so on with a little dig about the lower performance of steers tempting farmers to consider using illegal growth promoters and the wheels will come off the we don't want bulls bandwagon. We have been doing bull beef here on and off for 20+ years and never had any problem getting them away at a reasonable return.

I'm with J.O. on his assertion that telling bull beef from bullock using a DNA test would at the very least be problematic.

And I will argue all day that hormones should be allowed in beef production as they are so safe, doubt the customer would check out the research that states why.

A hormone test of meat will very quickly tell if it is bullock or bull beef. Every thing down as far as the tongues is now being labeled. I have being told that there is a test available if really wanted to determine the age of the meat. This is over my head so I just had to nod

Think Bob hit the nail on the head but many of ye seemed to miss the point.

There is no use producing something that is not wanted ,no matter how good you think it is or how ever much it suits your system,way of farming etc.

Farmers have been, and in the vast vast majority of cases ,will always be following the market not leading it.

If we stick our heads in the sand and refuse to listen then we only have ourselves to blame.
    If anyone thinks that there is a vast fortune in the meat industry could they please point out all the farmer run factories that they supply.

I understand what you're saying paddy but I think it's yere side of the debate thats missing the point. Who's saying this product isn't wanted, Only vested interests. I no yere saying we have to follow the market and all dat. But to simply say were not taking bulls because its a bit easier to sell heifer beef is completely unfair not to mention ethically unsound. It might be easy for the likes of Bob who (and im assuming here) buys in most of if not all the animals he finishes to simply buy heifers instead of young bulls and change his system immediately. Yere forgetting about the suckler to weanling man and the suckler to beef man. With sexed semen still unreliable what are we meant to do with our bulls. Castrate them? How long before they then tell us they don't want them anymore either.
    I see the whole system as having three branches, each with their own responsibilities. The producer : to breed and provide top quality beef within the Numerous restrictions in place. The Manufacturer: source and process this product . The retailer: to provide an infrastructure to sell the product. And at a price (as this is the end of the line) that leaves a viable margin for all keeping the whole system healthy. If one of these branches (particularly the last two) decide to look entirely at themselves and forget about the remainder then the system will ultimately fall down at some point and fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

When you castrate a bull and he becomes a bullock his DNA is unchanged.

I understand what you're saying paddy but I think it's yere side of the debate thats missing the point. Who's saying this product isn't wanted, Only vested interests. I no yere saying we have to follow the market and all dat. But to simply say were not taking bulls because its a bit easier to sell heifer beef is completely unfair not to mention ethically unsound. It might be easy for the likes of Bob who (and im assuming here) buys in most of if not all the animals he finishes to simply buy heifers instead of young bulls and change his system immediately. Yere forgetting about the suckler to weanling man and the suckler to beef man. With sexed semen still unreliable what are we meant to do with our bulls. Castrate them? How long before they then tell us they don't want them anymore either.
    I see the whole system as having three branches, each with their own responsibilities. The producer : to breed and provide top quality beef within the Numerous restrictions in place. The Manufacturer: source and process this product . The retailer: to provide an infrastructure to sell the product. And at a price (as this is the end of the line) that leaves a viable margin for all keeping the whole system healthy. If one of these branches (particularly the last two) decide to look entirely at themselves and forget about the remainder then the system will ultimately fall down at some point and fail.

What are we meant to do with our bulls?

Well if they are not wanted then dont produce them.
    The bit about responsibilities sounds like you expect both the retailer and factory to do what suits the farmer wants and not the other way around.
    As farmers we tend to see things the opposite way around.

The way I see it is as follows;
    Retailers job is to sell what the customer wants,make a few bob for themselves and well and good if they can promote and sell new or different products.
    Factories job is to source and process what the retailers want, at a price that leaves a margin, and make a few bob and well and good if they can find new markets for different products.
    Farmers job is to produce the raw materials wanted by the consumer in a processed state ie that which the retailer can sell and the factory can process.

For example if you go into a shop and want a pair of size 10 boots but the shopkeeper tells you that, no we dont really stock them but we have size 8s at a very good price and thats all we will have for the next 2 years then what would you do?.Buy them?
    Analogy mightnt be the best but can you understand what I mean.

The bit about responsibilities sounds like you expect both the retailer and factory to do what suits the farmer wants and not the other way around.
    As farmers we tend to see things the opposite way around.

The way I see it is as follows;
    Retailers job is to sell what the customer wants,make a few bob for themselves and well and good if they can promote and sell new or different products.
    Factories job is to source and process what the retailers want, at a price that leaves a margin, and make a few bob and well and good if they can find new markets for different products.
    Farmers job is to produce the raw materials wanted by the consumer in a processed state ie that which the retailer can sell and the factory can process.

For example if you go into a shop and want a pair of size 10 boots but the shopkeeper tells you that, no we dont really stock them but we have size 8s at a very good price and thats all we will have for the next 2 years then what would you do?.Buy them?
    Analogy mightnt be the best but can you understand what I mean.

I don't hear a huge clamour from the consumer looking for bull beef to be taken off the shelves.maybe they're shouting about it quietly but I'd be more of the opinion that the factories are acting the maggot as usual.

But why oh why cant farmers get it into their heads that factories exist to make money,as much as possible, and not to support farmers or provide an outlet for our produce.

Nobody is saying consumers are rejecting bull beef.Its that the factories see an chance to make a few more quid.But basing your whole industry on something that may or may not be wanted is not a recepie for success.

For example will all the new dairy farmers be crying if after 2015 the milk price falls?Can see them blaming co ops for not paying enough etc etc.
    At the end of the day we as primary producers are at the mercy of the market, fashion ,fads ,food scares ,and anything else you can think of.

But why oh why cant farmers get it into their heads that factories exist to make money,as much as possible, and not to support farmers or provide an outlet for our produce.

Nobody is saying consumers are rejecting bull beef.Its that the factories see an chance to make a few more quid.But basing your whole industry on something that may or may not be wanted is not a recepie for success.

For example will all the new dairy farmers be crying if after 2015 the milk price falls?Can see them blaming co ops for not paying enough etc etc.
    At the end of the day we as primary producers are at the mercy of the market, fashion ,fads ,food scares ,and anything else you can think of.

I don't disagree with anything you've posted there but the least they could do is stop patronising us with the sort of BS they're trotting out at the moment.

mf240 wrote: »
    When you castrate a bull and he becomes a bullock his DNA is unchanged.

There are more tests than DNA tests, they test for medicine residue, they test for hormone, testerone is a hormone not sure if it is present in bullocks but would be at way lower levels than Bulls, so it would be able to distinguise the source.

However some contributors fail to see the point yes we know that factory's are in it to make money, but all parts of the chain have responsibility to the chain. If factory's were sure they were not going to take bull beef this Christmass then they should have signalled it clearly however they want it both way they want the bulls there in case there is a shortage.

In my opinion because of there access to CMMS and feet on the ground they had a fair idea of the level of produce available, did they then decide in Sept to buy up loads of fast finishing AA/HE stores. How come both of the main players did it and may have bought at a higher level than normal, and switched from continental heifers that were there main play before.

Farmers loose the run of themselves when they want cattle (myself included in the past) and blame the factories when it doesn't work out! !!

Sure we'll just tell the cows to have all heifers so!!! Tis no wonder farming is in the state tis in.

If you produce something that is not in demand then you shouldnt be surprised if the price reflects this.

Its not about the cows having heifers or not.

Not trying to be rude here but your attitude is one which a lot of farmers have ie we have cattle,sheep ,milk etc to sell and there is no regard as to whether its what the purchaser wants or just what the farmer has to sell.

For example if I go to the mart with store ram lambs from September onwards then the price I get will reflect the fact that the demand for these is much less than for wether or ewe lambs of the same weight.Doesnt matter how good I think mine are.
    I would always pay less for ram lambs to finish myself as they are more hassle(need to either castrate or keep seperate etc)
    Same with anything .We as farmers cant think we can produce whatever we want and the processor and retailer will just have to make the best of it. Those days are long gone.

Its like the weight cut off on lambs.No matter how many times you explain it ,most farmers still dont get it. If the factory say we will pay to a maximum of 21kgs, 22.5 kgs etc. then little use in complaining if you get nothing for the meat you supply in excess of this.They have different markets at different times for lamb and carcase weights suitable for these vary.Common sense really.

There are more tests than DNA tests, they test for medicine residue, they test for hormone, testerone is a hormone not sure if it is present in bullocks but would be at way lower levels than Bulls, so it would be able to distinguise the source.

However some contributors fail to see the point yes we know that factory's are in it to make money, but all parts of the chain have responsibility to the chain. If factory's were sure they were not going to take bull beef this Christmass then they should have signalled it clearly however they want it both way they want the bulls there in case there is a shortage.

In my opinion because of there access to CMMS and feet on the ground they had a fair idea of the level of produce available, did they then decide in Sept to buy up loads of fast finishing AA/HE stores. How come both of the main players did it and may have bought at a higher level than normal, and switched from continental heifers that were there main play before.

Factories only have a responsibility to make money.They know that in reality farmers will stay supplying cattle regardless of whether they are making anything from them.
    Its like suckler cows.Everyone says they are a loss making enterprise in most cases but thousands still persist with them.Why?

Have the factories stopped buying bullocks now,
    There is a poor market for bull beef at the moment....people were warned, they'll just have to think before they feed bulls in future.

rancher wrote: »
    Have the factories stopped buying bullocks now,
    There is a poor market for bull beef at the moment....people were warned, they'll just have to think before they feed bulls in future.

Where is the evidence for this other than the actions of the factories? It's very similar to the one about the factories being over-run with cattle despite the fact that they killed almost 10% less cattle last week than the same week 12 months ago. They aren't just talking sh1te in that instance they are writing sh1te down and no-one in the farming press or the IFA is calling them on it. Threats of protests is not calling them, calling them on it is a front page in the comic saying "factory bosses lie about kill levels", calling them on it is the IFA refusing to even bgin negotiating with whoever is minister on new SFP arrangements unless the factories are put back on input only on the CMMS with all information, other than about your own herd, available to anyone other than ICBF and Dept staff at least 6 months out of date.

I have sold bulls to butchers suppling directly to supermarkets in the past. They would never take steers certainly never from us but young bulls no problem, this is one of the main reasons I think the current assertions by the factories that the customer doesn't want bull beef stink. Pudsey explained elsewhere about the size that different cuts of meat get to when carcasses get too large and the difficulty in selling these cuts, that's believeable and easy to work towards and is common in all types of meat from beef to poultry. Pigs, lamb, poultry all have weight limits and payments based on these limits but the producer knows before the animal is born what the criteria are and can work towards it. We keep hearing that they're upset about the big carcasses but nothing is done about it, why I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭manjou

I stopped feeding bulls 2 years ago as all indicators were that this was going to happen even went as far as ringing bull calves when they were born this year as all over the rest of the world this is what they do [experiment to see how it would work]Have no contintal calves calving next year to try and reduce finishing age and cost which is why factories filled feedlots with aax & hex this year.If supermarkets dont want bulls then as they sell the beef they call the shots i dont like it but nothing i can do about it only try and produce what they want or do something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭epfff

manjou wrote: »
    I stopped feeding bulls 2 years ago as all indicators were that this was going to happen even went as far as ringing bull calves when they were born this year as all over the rest of the world this is what they do [experiment to see how it would work]Have no contintal calves calving next year to try and reduce finishing age and cost which is why factories filled feedlots with aax & hex this year.If supermarkets dont want bulls then as they sell the beef they call the shots i dont like it but nothing i can do about it only try and produce what they want or do something else.

Watching here for few days
    When did factories say they didn't want bull beef?
    when did consumers say they wanted it under 30 month's or what's the idea of under 30 month's?
    Both rules are there for 1 reason and that is so factories can cause glut of cattle when they want it and plan there kill for months in advance
    factories just don't want bulls at the min

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

Probably a good thing

Ireland trying to market itself as a grass based beef system yet nearly 50% of it beef coming from bull beef was nothing short of deception really

Panch18 wrote: »
    Probably a good thing

Ireland trying to market itself as a grass based beef system yet nearly 50% of it beef coming from bull beef was nothing short of deception really

It was no where near 50% of the beef from bulls at it height it was about 20% of total kill and about 33% of the prime kill. This was only at times of when finished cattle were scares. Last year 2012 which was the height of it the factory's kill was 15% bulls overall and about 20% prime kill Heifers young bulls and Bullocks.

The next issue we will have is the lack of bulls may turn the kill seasonal again. It is uneconomical to finish Friesian cattle etc over the winter and if bulls are excluded in my opinion dairy farmers will have to start shooting Jersey and Jersey/Friesian cross bull calves at birth. Will this not look nice on the front pages of newspapers.

This all goes back to the horsemeat scandal where factory's and supermarkets chains worked on a wink and nod basis on the frozen burger front. Supermarkets not consumers have now become holier than thou. I have no issue with that al that need to have been done is that in July/August tell farmers that there was no way they were taking bulls this winter. but they did not do that.

The other thing I wonder is will the retailers/factory's use beef after Christmas in post Christmas sales after buying at a discount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

The whole harvest 2020 thing and also not becoming a seasonal producer is pie in the sky if you effectively eliminate one of your main sources of beef.

Also, bull beef provides the fastest turnaround for animals and can be present to fill the gaps at times of year when grass fed cattle aren't going to be available.

Not much incentive to push on heifers or bullocks at current prices with their lower feed conversions.

Very short sited ploy imo.

TUBBY wrote: »
    The whole harvest 2020 thing and also not becoming a seasonal producer is pie in the sky if you effectively eliminate one of your main sources of beef.

Also, bull beef provides the fastest turnaround for animals and can be present to fill the gaps at times of year when grass fed cattle aren't going to be available.

Not much incentive to push on heifers or bullocks at current prices with their lower feed conversions.

Very short sited ploy imo.

Back to the same old same old.

Fastest turnaround,lower feed conversions etc. are an irrelevance to the purchaser.They want what they want and not what we as farmers think is the best suited to our system of farming.

I know we cant be jumping from one system to another overnight but we will always be following the market not leading it.

Thats where the money is to be made ie knowing when to get in or out of certain types of stock.

As I said earlier ,the processors know that there will be a sure and certain supply of raw materials esp. cattle,available to them because farmers will trot out all the usual excuses even when cattle,lambs etc are leaving no money.

Try some of these (any sound familiar)

Shur may stick at it cause next year may be better.

If I get out of stock then how will I replace them?

Good for the cashflow at certain times.

What else could I do with the land?

What would the locals say if I set the whole place?

Great way of getting a few quid together.

What would I do for the winter/summer with no cattle?

Shame to see all those nice sheds empty.

Tis only a pastime anyways.

If all the breeding stock go I will never be able to replace them.

Shur dont the lamb sales pay for all the cattle meal anyways.

Them cattle look a bargain (only if they go back to 4.50 a kilo!)

Lambs are bound to hit a fiver a kilo after Christmas(one I told myself for a few years in the early 90s but cant rem. what the actual hoped for price would have been)

According to the Farmers whatever they will leave a margin of x. (Of course assuming the following;price goes up;you buy at the bottom of the market;none die;the holstien crosses trive like blues;meal is purchased at a price that no merchant seems to have it at;sheds etc are all paid for;fert is purchased for cash;etc

The auld lad always had a few suckies and he would turn in his grave if he saw the state of the place now.

Thats my take on it.Bull production is just one aspect of the problems facing us at the moment.

Maybe I am running us down too much but to me,we as Irish farmers are living with our heads in the sand .All this aspirational shi*e about green produce, grass fed beef and lamb,no GM, harvest 2020 etc is just keeping people(not farmers)in jobs and sounds good coming from ministers and journalists.

Remember a thread on here a while ago re. making a living from farming.
    Well to me you need to be making in excess of 40k to live,pay a mortgage and rear a family.Thats without spending serious money on improvements or investing in land machinery etc.Who apart from efficient dairy farmers or those farming on a large scale, are doing that?
    Looking at the Teagasc? figures recently and off the top of my head think it gave an average farm income of about 19k including supports of 18k.
    Anyone who thinks that is a living for anyone other than someone with either no family ,an off farm job etc is living in dreamland.

Rant over.

to put an end to these rants condemning bull beef !

eat your words

farmers journal 21st november exactly a month ago

eat your words

Anybody know how much a kg they paying?

eat your words

I heard they were sourcing them for feeding for the kk contracts, in which case it would be a very specific market and feeding regime

Hershall wrote: »
    Anybody know how much a kg they paying?

dont know tbh, as far is i reckon they have a big burger king contract as of earlier this year

they are buying bulls which would probably be fit for killing from beginning of april onwards, so that may be a hint as to when there might be a shortage of beef

have a few pens of young bulls here and even more pens of bullocks all will be ready for may- june period

heavy stores have been dear in the marts recently so thats another hint

dont know tbh, as far is i reckon they have a big burger king contract as of earlier this year

they are buying bulls which would probably be fit for killing from beginning of april onwards, so that may be a hint as to when there might be a shortage of beef

have a few pens of young bulls here and even more pens of bullocks all will be ready for may- june period

heavy stores have been dear in the marts recently so thats another hint

I presume if u rang the first thing you would be told is that nobody wants bulls! !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Well to me you need to be making in excess of 40k to live,pay a mortgage and rear a family.

That isnt that easy got an I dont mean just in Farming. I'm a science graduate working in a lab with 6 years experience and I'm nowhere near it.

I agree with a lot of what you said but your expectations might be a bit high

That isnt that easy got an I dont mean just in Farming. I'm a science graduate working in a lab with 6 years experience and I'm nowhere near it.

I agree with a lot of what you said but your expectations might be a bit high

You should reach for the stars and all that !!!!!!

Not to demean or run down anyone but my expectations would be that a return from assets of 2,000,000 plus between land stock machinery and buildings should be enough to live on.

If you produce something that is not in demand then you shouldnt be surprised if the price reflects this.

Not trying to be rude

Im not disagreeing with you there paddy, but I think your so enthusiastic about your own side of the debate that you're missing the point im attempting to make.
    I guess the difference between both our arguments is the same as Macro and Microeconomics.

Not getting through to ye lads so im going to leave it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

Would be inclined to agree with paddysdream 40 k is not a massive income in this day and age to pay a mortgage and rear a family ,most farmers not making it if profit monitors are accurate and the majority have outside jobs or businesses to make up the difference so the farm is ultimately a hobby. A major commitment is required to make a living from farming ie dairying or scale however the capital tied up even in a small farm is showing very little return so what to do.
    One of the biggest issues facing drystock farmers is the cartel which fixes prices in the processing sector which should have been broken up when Goodman first hit the rocks in the 80s .The decision to bail him out still has repercussions.
    Second problem is poor representation particularly over CAP which sold small farmers down the road .
    Farmers will always be price takers so until they change this there is a limited future bearing in mind that processors going by recent trends seem to be able to feed enough cattle to move the market for stores and beef, this is a worrying development in market manipulation to the further detriment of farmers.
    Farmers have two options high cost volume systems or low cost lower risk ,considering the vagaries of the fixed market in Ireland it seems to be an easy choice.