Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The National - Cork (Marquee) & Dublin (Iveagh Gardens) Dates - July 2014

• 20-12-2013 10:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭

JUST ANNOUNCED!

The National
    July 14th
    Cork, Live At The Marquee

July 16th
    Galway Arts Festival

July 18th & 19th
    Dublin, The Iveagh Gardens

TICKETS ON SALE TOMORROW MORNING AT 9AM

Following two incredible live shows in Ireland in 2013 The National return to the Marquee in Cork on July 14th and take over The Iveagh Gardens, Dublin for two nights on July 18th and 19th.

When The National performed to an ecstatic audience at the Marquee last June they walked off stage and immediately asked ‘Can we do this again next year?’ such was the electricity of the occasion. They followed that show with a sold-out 02 in Dublin in November proving indie-rock bands can step up to arenas and still have the hairs on the back of your neck stand to attention. The lyrical soul-searching intelligence you hear on The National’s records takes on an intense almost frenzied dimension when performed live. It’s impossible not to be moved by Matt Beringer’s raw animation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭cruhoortwunk

MCD and Aiken goin ape**** with gig announcements hoping people will buy as Christmas presents
    Iveagh could be a good venue for them, instead of the the Point

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭Just Like Heaven

Galway on the 16th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭sinead88

This is amazing. I was dying to see them again after Belfast. Didn't think they'd be playing over here again for a few years! This just so happens to fall when I'm home from Edinburgh for 2 weeks also. Perfect timing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭sheroman01

Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭lc180

Delighted with the Dublin venue, delighted with the nights (fri/sat) but tickets on sale at 9am on a Saturday morning is a pain in the arse!

Iveagh Gardens is about 5,000 capacity right? Should sell out at least one for Dublin tomorrow I reckon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭CFC007

Dublin gigs are clashing with Longitude if people are thinking of going to both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭deisedude

CFC007 wrote: »
    Dublin gigs are clashing with Longitude if people are thinking of going to both.

Anyone announced for that yet?

Will try and get a ticket for the National in Galway or Cork before the Iveagh gardens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Great news about galway. Saw them in Cork duting the summer but had to sell my tickets to the gig in the Point due to financial reasons. Definately one of the biggest bands to play galway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭JJ

deisedude wrote: »
    Anyone announced for that yet?

Latitude made its initial lineup announcement and there should be some crossover between the two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,191 ✭✭✭dinneenp

suprised a gig for Galway Arts Festival is announced so early but delighted.
    Saw them at the O2 and they were great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,695 ✭✭✭✭siblers

How does Iveagh Gardens compare to The Marquee? Saw them at The Marquee earlier this year.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Sweet!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

siblers wrote: »
    How does Iveagh Gardens compare to The Marquee? Saw them at The Marquee earlier this year.

It will be outdoors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭iamanengine

Can't believe they're coming to Galway, what will the capacity be?

Got 3 for Cork. Happy days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭mcw100

Got my tickets for Galway show! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Boom, done 12 pubs last night, and still got up in time to get tickets!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 ailishoco

Venue wise what do ye think will be better - the Galway Arts Festival or Iveagh Gardens? Torn!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

I'll be out of the country in July...balls anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭brevity

Got my 2 for Cork anyway. Whoop! They were amazing this year.

ailishoco wrote: »
    Venue wise what do ye think will be better - the Galway Arts Festival or Iveagh Gardens? Torn!!!

Iveagh Gardens would be cool, but you can't beat Galway for atmosphere ! My vote is for Galway..

Got me a ticket for Cork! :D Not even sure I'll still be living anywhere near Cork in July but I've incentive not to drift too far now.
    I very briefly saw them at Electric Picnic in 2010; we missed the start of their set 'cause my (ex) bf had to run back to get his phone, and then I had to leave after two or three songs to go see Fever Ray (who came on later than advertised >_<) so I really didn't see a lot. I'm more familiar with them now though so will be able to appreciate them more anyway. :) Don't know anyone else as of yet who's going though so may end up there on my lonesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭roll

Got me a ticket for Cork! :D Not even sure I'll still be living anywhere near Cork in July but I've incentive not to drift too far now.
    I very briefly saw them at Electric Picnic in 2010; we missed the start of their set 'cause my (ex) bf had to run back to get his phone, and then I had to leave after two or three songs to go see Fever Ray (who came on later than advertised >_<) so I really didn't see a lot. I'm more familiar with them now though so will be able to appreciate them more anyway. :) Don't know anyone else as of yet who's going though so may end up there on my lonesome.

was that the night of the storm? bad times...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Slow Show

Got tickets for Galway on Saturday morning, too excited already. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

ailishoco wrote: »

Galway arts festival by some distance

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Bowlardo wrote: »
    Galway arts festival by some distance

A tent?

No way, the sound in the Iveagh Gardens is surprisingly very good for an out door venue.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

Iveagh Gardens is a lovely venue. Fantastic on a nice summers evening.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Owen Pallett (Final Fantasy) is the support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 rmckeown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,191 ✭✭✭dinneenp

Here's complete live set from their gig in Sydney this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭Paulegend

bring on cork :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭aka accounts 2010

The National's July 19th show at The Iveagh Gardens is now SOLD OUT

Tickets are still available for their July 18th show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭lc180

Only a couple of months away now, Phosphorescent are supporting in Cork, Galway and Dublin(July 18th only)

Phosphorescent is brilliant, superb support to have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

The National's July 19th show at The Iveagh Gardens is now SOLD OUT

Tickets are still available for their July 18th show.

Just bought a ticket for the 19th there on Ticketmaster. Maybe they have released a few more or maybe there was only one ticket left and I got it. (Billy no mates :()

Anyway, looking forward to them and Owen Pallet.

What did you guys think of tonight? Really enjoyed it, was hoping for About Today to be played but not really surprised and I had expected them to play to Conversation 16, but apart from that I thought it was a great gig. When Matt came out onto the crowd during the encore was brilliant, he must be an absolute nightmare to play with at times though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭Zardoz

What did you guys think of tonight?

I loved it ,fantastic gig .
    Wouldnt be familiar with alot of their newer stuff but I liked Boxer and Alligator .
    Crowd were well up for it and the band were great.Real showmen.
    2 hours flew by ,must say Matt does like a drink .

Really liked Phosphorescent too ,great tunes ,crowd really liked them.

Oh yeah forgot to add ,whoever the 7 foot tall guy in the front row was ,I hope you realise that you didnt need to be in the front row,if you are 7 feet you will have a good view anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Rock Strongo

Hi guys, can anyone give me any info about the iveagh gardens gigs? Is it fully outdoor or in a tent? Is it a festival vibe or like a normal gig? I've been to the comedy festival there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭PadraigOK

If it's anything like Beach House last year then it'll be outdoors.

Bar to the back of the site, merch/grub to the left, toilets on the right, stage front. As it's a sell out, I'd imagine it'll be a more difficult to get to the bar and toilets than last year (was incredibly easy then).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,659 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

What did you guys think of tonight? Really enjoyed it, was hoping for About Today to be played but not really surprised and I had expected them to play to Conversation 16, but apart from that I thought it was a great gig. When Matt came out onto the crowd during the encore was brilliant, he must be an absolute nightmare to play with at times though!

Im not really a fan of them, dont dislike them in the slightest either. It was grand, no bad songs but got a bit same-y after a while, then picked up again. Still really enjoyable though. Singer is hilarious. I would return to see em alright.

Only caught end of phosphorescent, they were damn good. Id see them again in a heartbeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Posted this in the Cork forum...

Awesome gig! Matt is a legend going through the crowds like that :D They really got the crowd going for the big ones. Best bits for me though were the slower songs (Ada, Slow Show, Exile, Hard to Find, Vanderlyle, Demons). The Geese of Beverly Road was the stand out song on the night for me. Matt voice is incredible and they are mesmerising to see live. The light show was impressive too.

The only blip on the night was Pink Rabbits, don't know what happened but Matt's voice was all over the place for it, it actually sounded bad. That song was the highlight last year, this year... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Zardoz wrote: »
    Wouldnt be familiar with alot of their newer stuff but I liked Boxer and Alligator .

I highly recommend you check it out. I love Boxer and Alligator but I just get lost listening to High Violet and Trouble Will Find Me. Such beautiful albums. Trying to pick a favourite from those 4 is what I imagine trying to pick a favourite child is like for a parent :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Framed10

Did Matt injure himself at the gig last night?
    Saw a photo on FB page of a big bloodied cut on his leg.
    Really enjoyed them, was so happy they sang Geese of Beverly Road, all that was missing was 'Secret Meeting'.
    Anyone think that Matts voice can be a little muffled at times, maybe its the way he uses the mic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭sinead88

They were amazing in Cork last night. Exile Vilify was fantastic.

Posted this in the Cork forum...
    brevity wrote: »
    Ya was a great show, they seemed to have a bit more energy last year though.

I was sitting in the C stand and Matt wandered over. Got to help him up the steps and carry the microphone cable for him He just stood at the top of the steps, dropped the mic and headed back to the stage! Seemed well out of it.

"....Seemed well out of it."
    Thought so too..
    Hope he's a bit more coherent for the Iveagh Gardens on Saturday

Framed10 wrote: »
    "....Seemed well out of it."
    Thought so too..
    Hope he's a bit more coherent for the Iveagh Gardens on Saturday

Not in the sense that he was completely out of it...more a case of him being in the zone.

In the Mistaken for Strangers documentary, there is a small piece about how he goes to a different place when he's performing.

brevity wrote: »
    Not in the sense that he was completely out of it...more a case of him being in the zone.
    Thanks, thats a better way to put it.

There will be designer socks. Cork, Ireland

10478132_10152141179601010_2316210368870532248_n.jpg

Blood Buzz Matt!

Excited...much! Galway tomorrow night 😊