Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

how many penalty points have you got?

• 20-12-2013 1:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭

got 2 last year and was told by the rsa that they expire 24th of december 2015 :eek::eek:

3 years on a persons license is to long.. how many have you got?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I got 2 too many.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

None.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Had 4, all expired now.

Points aren't the worst, it's the bloody fines that come with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

I should have about 10 points in the last 3 years but I have none because my cousin is a member of the Garda traffic corp.

I should have about 14 points in the last 3 years but I have none because my cousin is a member of the Garda traffic corp.

I'd rather have 14 penalty points than a cousin who's a traffic cop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I don't have any Mr. Garda.

Is that because you drive backwards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭akura

0 but i've only been driving two years and I live in Donegal so there's not many gardai about.

WikiHow wrote: »
    Is that because you drive backwards?

Na, it's because I drive the same way I post on boards, stick to the rules, don't draw attention to yourself and lick arse at every oppurtunity. :D

Why lick arse if you obey the rules?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Got my first 2 just there, paid my €80 fine today, then did a great big wheel spin leaving the post office.
    HYUP!

Why lick arse if you obey the rules?

Why look both ways at the junction of a one-way street?

Because you never know what might be coming.

Why look both ways at the junction of a one-way street?

Because you never know what might be coming.
    A car coming backwards is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

A car coming backwards is it?

Could be. They don't like me taking the car out anymore :(

Chucken wrote: »
    Could be. They don't like me taking the car out anymore :(
    They might be into drifting so it could be backwards-sideways with the backwards man driving it forwards. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Ahem cough ahem.

Daqster wrote: »
    Ahem cough ahem.
    While singing "Some call me the gangster of love"

Ahem cough ahem.

Like I said, you never know what's around the next bend.

We were on about a juction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

None, but around 8yrs ago back in the UK i got 3 points for doing 40 in a 30 zone, they last for 3 years.

3 years to the fcukin day, the same day they were due to be removed (June 6th) i got done again, same camera, EXACT same location, same speed :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

I have none but surprised I don't have some speeding points at this stage as I refuse to go 30kph in some nonsensical places were that is the limit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

None because I don't drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Ahem cough ahem.

Well done. You can't bull**** a bull****ter.

I don't have any points but I do have two Demerits courtesy of Queenslands finest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

AH! Das trafficgarda ist eine.....nuisancegarda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

None but only because they have all expired, usually in the 2-4 range.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

My neighbour has 10 and none that will expire soon. I told him he would be better off getting a ban and recieve a new license with 0 points lol

carzony wrote: »
    My neighbour has 10 and none that will expire soon. I told him he would be better off getting a ban and recieve a new license with 0 points lol

Ya, cos you can just "receive" a new one.

:pac: I've 12 points on my last licence, I'm gonna need youse to send me on a new one, sound lads!

so when your banned you lose your license then?

:pac: I've 12 points on my last licence, I'm gonna need youse to send me on a new one, sound lads!

Just winding up the photo copier now :pac:

I am forging new wallet licences from old telecom eireann call cards, €10 a pop.

If you rack up 12 points in any 36 month period.

Are you sure its 10 points?

2 more and your "neighbour" can start walking. Great really, I'll feel safer with him off the road.

He can start walking with the backwards man.:D

ye, I got talking to him in the post office as he was paying the fine. He is wreckless and deserves to get a ban/lose his license. He works as a welder so badly needs the license aswell :eek::eek:

I find it funny with such little enforcment in Ireland how people can rack up so many points lol

There's GoSafe vans around now, doesn't have to be the Gardaí who catch you speeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

None yet, thank feck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Floraidh

I have been driving for 15 yrs,not one penalty point.Moved to Donegal,as soon as I changed my plates etc.Was giveb 2 penalty points....for going over 1km.Swear the Garda could hardly contain their excitment in doing this.Probably made it an National Garda holiday in their honour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

Still none!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

None thankfully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭newbie2013

none in 10 years

Jesus lads your all very law abiding...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

I'm a good girl I am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭newbie2013

Jesus lads your all very law abiding...

My criminal record says different lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Never had any in 13 years. I got a speeding fine in NZ once but no points :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Floraidh wrote: »
    I have been driving for 15 yrs,not one penalty point.Moved to Donegal,as soon as I changed my plates etc.Was giveb 2 penalty points....for going over 1km.Swear the Garda could hardly contain their excitment in doing this.Probably made it an National Garda holiday in their honour.

So... You moved to donegal from where ? And why did you have to change plates... And exactly what plates did you change?
    And... You were given penalty I points for what?
    Methinks you have a serious attitude problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Got 2 points for the first time a couple of months ago. Caught speeding on the m4.
    The guard never showed me what speed I was doing though and I think he's supposed to. I suppose I could've argued against it but probably wouldn't have been worth the hassle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Nil points

Have 4 down from 6. Got them all within 4 months. Two were Garda camera vans, I was doing a few kilometres over in a 50kph zone both late on Sunday.

The other one was going through and orange light but a Garda parked up at the port tunne/east wall roadl junction didnt seem to think crossing 6 lanes takes time and when he seen the green in his side assumed I went through a red.

Havnt had any more 2 years later, have I changed my driving, no. With the shooting fish in a barrel merchants you can just be in the wrong place at the wrong time.