Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it trendy to be a

• 19-12-2013 8:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭

Vegetarian or a Vegan I meen it's like making a statement?

I don't mind them but please stop banging on about it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Are they people who only eat thin slices of ham?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

How do you know someone is a vegan?

Don't worry, they'll tell you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I'm eating a juicy steak.

F**k you vegans

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

If someone genuinely believes that killing and eating animals is murder, and thus an immoral act, then I can understand why they would want to "bang on about it".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Hootanany wrote: »
    Vegetarian or a Vegan I meen it's like making a statement?

I don't mind them but please stop banging on about it..

You're the one who brought up the subject :confused:

But while we're here. I've been vegetarian for about 35 years. I've never, ever thought it was "trendy"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

If someone genuinely believes that killing and eating animals is murder, and thus an immoral act, then I can understand why they would want to "bang on about it".

hey, vegetables have feelings too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

But you don't mind killing plants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

cunt?

unfortunately yes, these days it seems to be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Chucken wrote: »

But while we're here. I've been vegetarian for about 35 years. I've never, ever thought it was "trendy"

Have a cheeseburger then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

SV was right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Not all vegetarians do it for some moral reason. My girlfriend gets ill when she eats red meat and poultry so had to become a vegetarian.

She does still eat fish from time to time though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

The only people I ever hear banging on about vegetarians and vegans are defensive omnivores.

Also this: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2736/4170866438_ac0255a0b8.jpg

See how many you can get.

kneemos wrote: »
    SV was right.

Lets talk about something else then! :p
    You all set for Christmas?

Prawns are the insects of the sea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

No, it's annoying and awkward.

Having to cook extra for the people who don't eat meat... ughhhhh!

I don't invite veggies for dinner anymore.

Holsten wrote: »
    No, it's annoying and awkward.

Having to cook extra for the people who don't eat meat... ughhhhh!

I don't invite veggies for dinner anymore.

Why would you have to cook extra?
    Do your meat eating friends not eat vegetables as well? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I mean having to cook an entire separate dish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

If your in my house, and I'm cooking I always do a vegetarian option as well. Last time it was cornflakes.

Holsten wrote: »
    I mean having to cook an entire separate dish.

I don't understand why you think you would have to do that...but whatever floats your boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭job seeker

Have a cheeseburger then.

Ah a lovely 1/4 ponder. Yum! No rabbit food for me.. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

I think I could become a vegetarian, I have toyed with the idea.
    However veganism is just too much, or too little!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Prawns are the insects of the sea

Insects are the food of the future.

Roacheburger:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭hedgehog2

Veganism is a massively healthy eating meal plan to follow once you supplement with a good multi vitamin and get your protein in.
    I am currently turning to a vegetarian diet with the eventual goal of becoming a vegan
    Yes I am doing it because I believe we do not need to kill animals to eat,I will be doimg the earth a favour and my body a massive favor.
    It is not easy at all to change to this diet primarily because if you are not prepared a day in advance its so difficult to find decent options when eating out or in a takeaway.
    I wont be shouting about it as I used to enjoy meat but its just not for me anymore.

But you are harming plants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

But you are harming plants

Plus they fart like a Whoopie Cushion.

Lets talk about something else then! :p
    You all set for Christmas?

If your a vegie, what do you eat on Christmas dinner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

job seeker wrote: »
    Ah a lovely 1/4 ponder. Yum! No rabbit food for me.. :pac:

you should ponder more than 1/4.

Muise... wrote: »
    you should ponder more than 1/4.

Ha!

Like these:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Dubl07

What about the sheep, cattle, venison, pigs, turkeys, chickens etc: if we all went vegan tomorrow we'd need their pastures and pens to use for arable land in order to feed us all. There'd be no profit in rearing animals. There'd be golden waves of gm rapeseed for as far as the eye could see.

I'm very firmly on the side of ethical omivore. No Soylent Green in my universe, please.

job seeker wrote: »
    If your a vegie, what do you eat on Christmas dinner?

A selection Box and trifle...maybe a glass of water to wash it down :D

I find it hilarious that you would ask that question. What do I eat every other day of the year?
    This year I'm making butternut squash roast. Its got potatoes, chickpeas, pine nuts and caramelised onions.Served with a port and cranberry jus.

..and yes, I will be cooking turkey for my son and hubby, though we don't always go the traditional route. Last year we had an Indian theme. The year before it was Scottish.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I'm a level 7 vegan, I don't eat anything that casts a shadow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Show me a man who calls himself a Vegan,

and I'll show you a man who's trying to shag a Vegan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

I don't eat anything, I just absorb the nutrients with my hands and leave the waste. So basically I go up to animals and turn them into poo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

Morriseys chin is murder..an absolute example of how being a vegetarian turns you into a miserable bastard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭preston johnny

Feckin Vegans...
    They won't even get their photographs taken in case they have to say 'Cheese'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

Not all vegetarians do it for some moral reason. My girlfriend gets ill when she eats red meat and poultry so had to become a vegetarian.

She does still eat fish from time to time though.

She's not a vegetarian if she eats fish.

nibtrix wrote: »
    She's not a vegetarian if she eats fish.

I think she ok is if she only eats it on a Friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I think I'd eat Human flesh, just to try it. It would have to be ethically sourced though. I suppose it would have to be organic too, I wouldn't like to eat Human that's loaded up with processed foodstuffs. I guess a raw food vegan would be the best Human to eat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

kowloon wrote: »
    I think I'd eat Human flesh, just to try it. It would have to be ethically sourced though. I suppose it would have to be organic too, I wouldn't like to eat Human that's loaded up with processed foodstuffs. I guess a raw food vegan would be the best Human to eat.

Tastes like chicken

No..it tastes like pork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭systemicrisk

bronte wrote: »

Ha Ha brilliant

"I didnt climb to the top of the food chain to eat plants"

Add my own personal one "I like eating meat"

Bit off topic but I think most people definitely eat too much meat healthwise, I am trying to cut down but I have no interest in becoming vegetarian as I have no moral issues with eating animals and they are so damn tasty.

I have no problem with vegetarians or vegans either and I dont think I have ever met a "preachy" one in person. In fact I usually am surprised when someone I know reveals they are vegetarian because I would not have noticed.

I usually am surprised when someone I know reveals they are vegetarian because I would not have noticed.

watch the canine tooth formation, it's a dead giveaway

I find it hilarious that you would ask that question. What do I eat every other day of the year?
    This year I'm making butternut squash roast. Its got potatoes, chickpeas, pine nuts and caramelised onions.Served with a port and cranberry jus.

..and yes, I will be cooking turkey for my son and hubby, though we don't always go the traditional route. Last year we had an Indian theme. The year before it was Scottish.

Butternut Squash yuk

Last year we had an Indian theme. The year before it was Scottish.

Oatmeak boiled in a condom with neeps and tatties served by a sullen drunken man in a dress?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

I hear more people suggesting vegetarians are weak and look sick a hell of a lot more than I hear vegetarians just out of the blue say they are one. I think people also say that vegans are always going on about it as usually when vegetarian celebrity is on a chat show or whatever, they will get asked about their diet and so then get accused of "banging on" about as other celebs don't tend to discuss what they eat on chat shows and so it sticks out.

The whole weak and pale thing is bullshit though. It's such a myth that vegans are weak and sick all the time. Any I know are never bloody sick and seem to never get flus or colds near as much as the rest of us.

Famous vegans some to look great to me and can't think of one who doesn't perfectly healthy: Samuel L Jackson, Anne Hathaway, Joaquin Phoenix, Casey Affleck, Tobey Maguire, Kristen Bell, Pamela Anderson, Ben Stiller, Gwyneth Paltrow and her man bitch Chris Martin Paul McCartney, Christie Brinkley, Russell Brand, Kate Winslet, Kristen Wiig, Olivia Wilde, Natalie Portman, Eva Mendes, Brad Pitt, Hayden Panettiere, Woody Harrelson, Christian Bale, Anthony Kiedis etc etc etc.

As for weakness, UFC Mac Danzig dispels that myth quite well all on his own:

Ha! What if the selection box contains milk chocolate. Do you consume that?

Whats so funny, it was a genuine question. Jaysus, don't ask me.. I haven't a clue.

Oh, sounds adventurous.

A full turkey for two people? :eek:

Daqster wrote: »
    I hear more people suggesting vegetarians are weak and look sick a hell of a lot more than I hear vegetarians just out of the blue say they are one. I think people also say that vegans are always going on about it as usually when vegetarian celebrity is on a chat show or whatever, they will get asked about their diet and so then get accused of "banging on" about as other celebs don't tend to discuss what they eat on chat shows and so it sticks out.

The whole weak and pale thing is bullshit though. It's such a myth that vegans are weak and sick all the time. Any I know are never bloody sick and seem to never get flus or colds near as much as the rest of us.

Famous vegans some to look great to me and can't think of one who doesn't perfectly healthy: Samuel L Jackson, Anne Hathaway, Joaquin Phoenix, Casey Affleck, Tobey Maguire, Kristen Bell, Pamela Anderson, Ben Stiller, Gwyneth Paltrow and her man bitch Chris Martin Paul McCartney, Christie Brinkley, Russell Brand, Kate Winslet, Kristen Wiig, Olivia Wilde, Natalie Portman, Eva Mendes, Brad Pitt, Hayden Panettiere, Woody Harrelson, Christian Bale, Anthony Kiedis etc etc etc.

As for weakness, UFC Mac Danzig dispels that myth quite well all on his own:

There we are Banging on about it:rolleyes: