Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Throwing things at people from your car.

• 19-12-2013 5:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭

When I was 17 or so myself and a few chums used to launch water baloons and Mcdonalds milkshakes at people from our car. Can't say I'm proud of this but nevertheless it was great fun at the time. Of course most missed and we even drenched ourselves a fair bit but when you got someone square in the face with a milkshake it was priceless.

Disclaimer: This activity is abhorrent and I do not condone it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Backseat w4nker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

It's not only abhorrent it's also assault and you should have been charged for it!
    Not to mention dangerous driving (and I assume you were L-plated at the time).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I'm sure the nurse who lost an eye after being hit by an egg thrown from a moving car also thinks it's priceless, and great fun.

Only scumbags do this kind of thing.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/mother-of-three-blinded-in-one-eye-by-egg-thrown-from-car-seeks-damages-248160.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

When your next car insurance renewal drops through the letter box, please remember, this is what you are paying for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Bolderdash

seamus wrote: »
    I'm sure the nurse who lost an eye after being hit by an egg thrown from a moving car also thinks it's priceless, and great fun.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/mother-of-three-blinded-in-one-eye-by-egg-thrown-from-car-seeks-damages-248160.html

I agree thats why I said its abhorrent. Milkshakes for sure could do damage. Not sure about water balloons though.

I was stupid and immature, that can't be denied, but I did have a great laugh doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

seamus wrote: »

Was about to post the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It's only acceptable to throw things at John Malkovich from your car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

i blame video games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

In Soviet Russia, car throws you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

I don't get the point of this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

wprathead wrote: »
    i blame video games

I blame the rap music.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

so divided on this issue on the inside.

Its impossible to choose

oh theres no making sense of it, anyway I go Im bound to lose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Unbelievably scummy thing to do

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

whiskeyman wrote: »
    In Soviet Russia, car throws you!

Are you suggesting that outside USSR you throw car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

I blame the rap music.

Boyz in da Hood

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

I blame the rap music.

Thank God they don't have as easy access to guns here. Although there's always pellet guns and airsoft rifles. At least the OP didn't resort to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Morgan offered €10,000 to Ms Doody as compensation but this was turned down by Ms Doody. He was ordered to pay the €10,000 to the Society of St Vincent de Paul and the Peter McVerry Trust

Jesus an eye is only worth ten grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Someone threw a water balloon at my granny like that and she ended up stopping going outside as a result.

It's complete a**hole behaviour and it's genuinely physical assault!

Do it to the wrong person and they follow up and you could find yourself in front of a judge and possibly a civil action to bankrupt you too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I'd get your number plate pretty f*cking sharpish and have you in the small claims courts paying for destroying my clothes.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

SpaceTime wrote: »
    Someone threw a water balloon at my granny like that and she ended up stopping going outside as a result.

Do it to the wrong person and they follow up and you could find yourself in front of a judge and possibly a civil action to bankrupt you too.

Do it to the wrong person, they follow up and you could end up in hospital.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Throwing rubbish in the street is a vile act. From a car even worse. From a car and trying to hit someone is truly repugnant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭jimboblep

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    Thank God they don't have as easy access to guns here. Although there's always pellet guns and airsoft rifles. At least the OP didn't resort to that.

Pellet guns are a firearm and subject to the same licence process

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

At the other side of that coin, a few years ago I was parked up when a burger hit my car at speed. Gave a dangerous chase to a white Glanza through Cahir and the surrounding countryside but a wrecked 1.4 astra could do little more than just keep up. Gave up trying to close the gap and just drove around for the day before going home. Just as stupid, looking back imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

At the other side of that coin, a few years ago I was parked up when a burger hit my car at speed. Gave a dangerous chase to a white Glanza through Cahir and the surrounding countryside but a wrecked 1.4 astra could do little more than just keep up. Gave up trying to close the gap and just drove around for the day before going home. Just as stupid, looking back imo.

Your username is perfect for that post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

If your that immature then you shouldn't be driving a car tbh, everyone is stupid when they are younger, we often said stupid stuff to pedestrians, never insulted them or anything, just innocent stuff. If one of my passengers threw something at a pedestrian then I would have stopped the car and ****ed them out on the side if the road tbh before going back to apologise and see if the victim was okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Jesus an eye is only worth ten grand.

According to the school insurance form, if my son loses an eye he gets 50,000. I rather my eye myself, but 10,000 goes nowhere these days. Her med bills would nearly be that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭illeagles_mcc

was walking thru town with ex one night few years back, car load of d*ckheads drove by, roared something at us and threw waterballoon. :D stupid f*ckers had to stop at traffic lights about 20 yards up the street. still remember look on passengers face when i pulled open car door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

People always did around my college campus. Some nights i would carry a stone and **** it at any car that tried. Got them most of the time but always missed the window :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭ALiasEX

was walking thru town with ex one night few years back, car load of d*ckheads drove by, roared something at us and threw waterballoon. :D stupid f*ckers had to stop at traffic lights about 20 yards up the street. still remember look on passengers face when i pulled open car door

What did you do next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Mammanabammana

Bolderdash wrote: »
    I did have a great laugh doing it.

Well that makes it ok so. If you happen to get picked on by a few scumbags who rob you blind and then pound you into the concrete so hard that you need your skull glued back together, presumably that too will be ok if they have a great laugh doing it, as that seems to you to be an acceptable justification for assault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭Malcolm.

I was stupid and immature, that can't be denied, but I did have a great laugh doing it.

Ah sure that's the main thing. Every village needs an idiot. As long as you got a laugh at someone else’s expense and misfortune. Not to worry though, what goes round will come round to you or yours someday instead, and sure at least you'll understand as they have a great laugh doing whatever they done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Absolute scum.

I have no idea how anyone could think this was a laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Well that makes it ok so. If you happen to get picked on by a few scumbags who rob you blind and then pound you into the concrete so hard that you need your skull glued back together, presumably that too will be ok if they have a great laugh doing it, as that seems to you to be an acceptable justification for assault.

If you think that doing that and throwing water balloons are the same thing then god help ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭illeagles_mcc

ALiasEX wrote: »
    What did you do next?

eh...

dont think i should say on here :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

afatbollix wrote: »
    I don't get the point of this thread.

I think the OP is demonstrating that after many years of training and months of practice they can now turn on a computer, log into a message board and type letters on a keyboard.

I think his progression from pond scum should be applauded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

SpaceTime wrote: »

When I was around 17 someone threw a water balloon at me and a few of my "chums" as we were walking, then they sped off. Imagine their surprise and delight when we gave chase and they got stuck in traffic at the next set of lights. Oh the lols. We didn't have any water balloons though, so we just wore our shoes off them. I'm guessing they thought throwing it was great craic. Probably not so much afterwards though...

Mint Aero wrote: »
    I'd get your number plate pretty f*cking sharpish and have you in the small claims courts paying for destroying my clothes.

We changed the number plate. A 0 changes to an 8 very easily.

That wasn't justification, just the bare honest truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I was hit by a plastic bottle when cycling. It was thrown from a car with a few young lads. This is a common source of "fun" for simpletons with nothing to do.

Once after work a young employee asked me for a lift as I drove close to where he lived. He saw a young teenage girl on the footpath, opened the window, and started shouting sexual abuse at her. I pointed out that I would be in trouble if she took a note of my car number.

I take the long view. They will pay, probably not now, but they will pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

In my day it was all about pissing in the windscreen washer bottle, turning the washer jets sideways facing the footpath and driving through town spraying people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭tomtucker81

We changed the number plate. A 0 changes to an 8 very easily.

Oh you thought everything through. What a clever little boy you are.
    Bearing in mind that any item that struck a pedestrian and caused them physical harm is in fact a criminal offence for which you could still be charged. So you're talking about your participation criminal behaviour.
    Then there's the general road offences of altering a registration plate, which you just said you did.
    best thing you could do is talk about it on a public forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Mammanabammana

SV wrote: »
    If you think that doing that and throwing water balloons are the same thing then god help ya

I don't. But the principle of justifying scumbag behaviour by saying 'we was just having a laugh' is the same. Getting a hiding is a more extreme example of it but it's still acting the prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

When I was 17 or so myself and a few chums used to launch water baloons and Mcdonalds milkshakes at people from our car.
    I think you used the wrong c word there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Mint Aero wrote: »

Theres no point in even trying.. That route is so restrictive, so expensive and filled with red tape and "political correctness" (:mad:) only to finally, after a year or so of trying to bring someone to "justice" for, say, dislocating your shoulder with a melon your reward is to see them told to hand two hundred quid to the poor box and do some community - oh and you wont be payed much if anything because they come from "a disadvantaged background" in fact youll about break even.

So so sooooooooo worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

So OP, you never told us - do you regret it? Do you feel bad thinking about it? Or do you feel good or laugh thinking about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

I have been hit by an egg which destroyed clothes and a pair of shoes, I had no other choice but to walk on as it was a long stretch of road with and they had decided to turn around, I had picked up a rock and threw but sadly missed as did they with their second egg. I know of many people who have done this kind of thing, generally people in there teens whose friend borrowed mommy or daddys car. Pure scumbags is all they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

diomed wrote: »
    I was hit by a plastic bottle when cycling. It was thrown from a car with a few young lads. This is a common source of "fun" for simpletons with nothing to do.

Once after work a young employee asked me for a lift as I drove close to where he lived. He saw a young teenage girl on the footpath, opened the window, and started shouting sexual abuse at her. I pointed out that I would be in trouble if she took a note of my car number.

I take the long view. They will pay, probably not now, but they will pay.
    You were damn lucky just the bottle hit you - I'd say the average young lad weights about 50-60 kilos - if one of them clipped you as he flew past you'd know all about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭Ebr sniper

When I was 17 or so myself and a few chums used to launch water baloons and Mcdonalds milkshakes at people from our car. Can't say I'm proud of this but nevertheless it was great fun at the time. Of course most missed and we even drenched ourselves a fair bit but when you got someone square in the face with a milkshake it was priceless.

Disclaimer: This activity is abhorrent and I do not condone it.

Complete and utter tosser!!!! Sad life you live lad when that's what you resort to to make yourselfs feel good!!!! Say your parents are proud of you ye gimp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭Funk It

Nope, can't say I ever threw things at people from a car, had an egg miss me from one once though.

Although, after reading the thread title, I couldn't help but remember this old clip:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

When I was 17 or so myself and a few chums used to launch water baloons and Mcdonalds milkshakes at people from our car.

Wasting money on McDonalds milkshakes to throw at people is up there on the league of arseholery and scumbeggery alongside throwing things from cars.