Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have to get this of my chest big time

• 18-12-2013 1:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭helpme23

What's the story with all these young boys these days going around with quiff's skinny jeans square glasses all tanned up like that Geordie shore tv programme.Was christmas shopping at the weekend and in both the shopping center's i was at all these type of young lads in their teens and twenties going around like these boys on the x factor what the fcuk is going on :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Fashion boi.

I used to be with it but then they changed what it was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭helpme23

Hahahahahaha it is new age thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭somuj

helpme23 wrote: »
    What's the story with all these young boys these days going around with quiff's skinny jeans square glasses all tanned up like that Geordie shore tv programme.Was christmas shopping at the weekend and in both the shopping center's i was at all these type of young lads in their teens and twenties going around like these boys on the x factor what the fcuk is going on :eek:

Whats the story with you bitching about how other people choose to dress?

Hahahaha its funny man you must be one of these lads

X factor people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

It looks ridiculous I have to admit.
    Then again I seen a picture of myself when I was 15 and I looked ridiculous aswell..live and learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

X factor people

Go asleep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Yeah, we should go back go wearing sensible clothes like shellsuits and dungarees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭dobman88

What's with all the giving out and Americanism's?? Too much Hanna Montana op

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

bluewolf wrote: »
    I used to be with it but then they changed what it was

One year I saved up all my pocket money to buy a Burton's jacket, but by the time I got it everyone was wearing Topman jackets and I was a laughing stock. :(

I think its awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭job seeker

bluewolf wrote: »
    I used to be with it but then they changed what it was....

.....Now what I'm with isn't *it*, and what's *it* seems weird and scary to me. It'll happen to you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Bloody hipsters, little whippersnappers, Bah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

tbf It looks better than the tracksuit,white runners peak cap and cheap argos jewellery look

It has to be the x factor that has done this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

They go into it a bit here...

"I just bought it in a shop - euuugh!" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭SeaDaily

I think its awful

And what exactly are you wearing op?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

I think its awful

They could be going around naked which is worse. It's a trend which will pass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

As much as I hate the Geordie look. It's better than the 1 all over and track suits they used to wear about 5 years ago. Although its very much a class thing. You don't see UCD south county dublin individuals dress like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

SeaDaily wrote: »
    And what exactly are you wearing op?

I want to see a pic of the OP's chest :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

If the world did not self combust with the disgustingness of the state of what I wore as a teenager then I think it'll survive that stuff you're describing OP.

What they wear shouldn't matter anyway so long as they don't cause trouble.

Am a nudist

They don't even say hello to me Joe.

Its all a bit mad this fashion craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭job seeker

Am a nudist

There's more bends in this thread, than there is in Lombard Street...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Shaughnessy00

Im 19 but honestly too lazy too care, as long as im comfy and confident the world is my playground! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭The_Gatsby

If that's how they want to dress then let them. I don't see why it's any business of yours OP.

Its not just saying it is all up 2 what you want to do sir or madam, but who care's I was just thinking what's the story wit it funny old world it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

I can't understand it either, OP. What a weird way they dress. Why can't youngsters today dress normal, like my generation for instance.

For example: for trousers we just wore pleated baggy jeans or stay press slacks. For tops we'd have maybe a Y cardigan or a black and white american football jacket (like Axel Foley's in Beverly Hills Cop) or maybe a Nazi German army parka jacket. For a shirt we'd wear just a collarless Grandfather shirt or Paisley shirt with maybe a leather waistcoat and for footwear some pretty basic suede chelsea boots perhaps or very simple slip on open front leather shoes, with a few tassels and white towel socks for smartness.

Now you try getting the kids of today to wear sensible clothes like that and they'd bleedin' well laugh at ya so they would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

How should we be dressing? Baggy bootcut jeans, Cat boots and GAA jerseys?

Well they must be loaded with money or have very well off parents cos clothes these days is a rip off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Well I was never so delighted to see all those lads dressed like that in town Christmas shopping last week, and I'll tell you why, my son has been dressing like that for a couple off months now, and I was seriously concerned that he might be gay, in fact I was sh!tting myself on how I would approach him about it or when he was gonna tell me.. The relief I felt was over whelming.. Eh unless they're all gay!!:eek:

Ha copy everybody else that seems to be the way were what all the cool trendy people.

It could be that these lads are Gay ?????

The world has gotten eve more ****ed up!!!!

Well I was never so delighted to see all those lads dressed like that in town Christmas shopping last week, and I'll tell you why, my son has been dressing like that for a couple off months now, and I was seriously concerned that he might be gay, in fact I was sh!tting myself on how I would approach him about it or when he was gonna tell me.. The relief I felt was over whelming.. Eh unless they're all gay!!:eek:

Yeah, your son's gay anyway

It could be that these lads are Gay ?????
    Is it something in the water that they are drinking?

Ha ha ha something they are taking.It is out of control these people need to be stopped it cant go on.Next they will be in control of the country.And they be having dance offs and and fashion competitions and more x factor shows to solve problems these are the future for gods sake ..... Joke it is!!

They need to be stopped Joe.

You seriously need a hobby, mate. Got far too much time on your hands

I need a hobby ha ? You ballbag you way more posts than me ya twat.

Better grammar, too ;)

Better grammar 2 opps!!!!

Hobbies maybe ??? Well I dont spend as much time as you on this so I guess this is your life man!!!!!

I just took notice of your user name there, do you need help?

Hobbies maybe ??? Well I dont spend as much time as you on this so I guess this is your life man!!!!!

Haha. You're debating men's fashion and how you don't approve at 2 in the morning. Thought every self respecting guy just got on with things like that and weren't very fussed what other people wear when it's got nothing to do with them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

_Redzer_ wrote: »
    How should we be dressing? Baggy bootcut jeans, Cat boots and GAA jerseys?

At least clothes that are remotely comfortable.

Aus is ridiculous for mid-twenties hipsters running around in skinny jeans - too short, leather shoes - no socks, usually a man-bag in tow. Not a good look for anyone. Not trying to be all manly about it, but there is no room for balls in skinny jeans. It can't be healthy.

On the flip-side, there are plenty of hot chica's running around in skin tight pvc pants and short shorts, so I suppose it balances out. Swings and roundabouts

At least clothes that are remotely comfortable.

Aus is ridiculous for mid-twenties hipsters running around in skinny jeans - too short, leather shoes - no socks, usually a man-bag in tow. Not a good look for anyone. Not trying to be all manly about it, but there is no room for balls in skinny jeans. It can't be healthy.

On the flip-side, there are plenty of hot chica's running around in skin tight pvc pants and short shorts, so I suppose it balances out. Swings and roundabouts
    You see the lads you described there are the extreme, and tbh, the minority. The lads doing the moaning and bitching about what they're wearing are coming from the opposite extreme which are the bootcut, jersey wearing crowd, which looks pretty bad too, comfortable or not.

There's a middle ground to be had. Straight or slim jeans are best for most lads and normal clothes that look well. It's all still comfortable and you're not gonna be looking like a hipster.

Am sure you have plenty other posts to continue with on here and fashion trends to be part off.I was just wondering what is going on did not mean to offend you.But that must be cos you are into the old fashion in a big way and you love it and don't want anyone to think that your not cool kinda dude.