Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hector's Gone

• 17-12-2013 4:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭

From the Twitter:
    RTÉ 2fm has just confirmed that presenter Hector Ó hEochagáin will no longer host the 2FM breakfast show. More to follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Heym

The new show in 2014 = BKJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

http://www.breakingnews.ie/showbiz/hector-leaves-2fm-617476.html

RTE 2fm have announced the departure of Hector O hEochagain.

The radio station said they will be announcing a breakfast show early in the New Year.

Dan Healy, the head of 2fm, said: "Hector is a major personality and hugely loved by Irish audiences and has played a significant role in developing breakfast radio with his show ‘Breakfast with Hector’ on 2fm.

"‘Keep her lit’ helped take the country through the past three years of the recession with outside broadcasts from Friday factory floor fillers to second chance debs.

"RTE 2fm would like to take this opportunity to thank Hector for the enormous effort it takes to broadcast a breakfast show and for the entertainment he gave to his 'soldiers of the dawn'."

RTE said Hector's will be back for a second of his series ‘Hector Goes’.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,283 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Could Tubs be heading back to breakfast with 'The Full Irish', I wonder?

• Site Banned Posts: 23 Bebo Rocks

Rumor is iano is coming home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭miketv

Should Tubs be worried, next on the chopping block and all that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Who's gonna keep her lit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

Goddamit, the only show i enjoy in the morning :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

The fact she was kept lit was a financial disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭SmurfX

Thought he was doing quite well tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 447 ✭✭Pen.Island

Pity. It was either him or Ray and JP.

He was different. Ray and JP have the same segments eveeery day.

"News me up Ray!"
    "Hey.....how ya doin'"

And what's 98fms obsession with playing Kodaline, Lily Allen and Bruno Mars??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Keep it in house and give Damian Farrelly a proper bloody show, he's brilliant on the 6-7 slot every morning, extend him from 6-9 i'd say. I always have him on from 6-7 in the car and switch over to Dempsey, i can't frigging abide by Hector and his soldiers of the dawn..makes my skin crawl....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

Hector hosting a breakfast show solo was always going to be up against it, even Dempsey has Mario, Duffy and Mac Sweeney to bounce off. Ideally breakfast needs to be a two hander from the perspective of energy, creativity and dynamic. Good luck to who takes over they will really need it to win over a Dublin listenership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,283 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Goddamit, the only show i enjoy in the morning :(

*radio on*

Heeeeeeey! Don't annoy me!
    Sho! Sho! Sho! Sho!
    Such a cranky keeeeer!

*radio demolished with one karate chop*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭Kettleson

Pen.Island wrote: »

"News me up Ray!"
    "Hey.....how ya doin'"

Can't believe Ray hasn't been dumped years ago. All he can do is read dull text messages in a very dull way.

Hector was too much in yer face. Torture with a hangover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,914 ✭✭✭✭Eeden

I'm not a Morning Person, therefore Hector was not for me. I just couldn't cope.

• Moderators Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Wise Old Elf

I'm another one in the minority sorry to see him go, I know he's not everyone's cup of tea, but he tried. I REALLY hope ray foley doesn't get this gig.

• Site Banned Posts: 53 ✭✭Cuddled

He was a painful bogger ! Fairwell Red Daddy you won't be missed

I'm another one in the minority sorry to see him go, I know he's not everyone's cup of tea, but he tried. I REALLY hope ray foley doesn't get this gig.

I would be a Hector fan, he was a right good kick up the arse of the typical blah blah, blah, nicey nicey, isn't it a disgrace radio, tut tut, what would you do, mindless garbage that pollutes the airwaves. He was too much for the suit and tie mob. I swear I'll throw my radio in the bin if foley gets anymore airtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

idiots up there in RTE.......he'll go to the USA now and make big dollars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭QuadLeo

Hitchens wrote: »

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

brinty wrote: »
    Keep it in house and give Damian Farrelly a proper bloody show, he's brilliant on the 6-7 slot every morning, extend him from 6-9 i'd say. I always have him on from 6-7 in the car and switch over to Dempsey, i can't frigging abide by Hector and his soldiers of the dawn..makes my skin crawl....

Thanks mom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

So one of the rumours from this forum actually turned out to be true for once :P

Seren_ wrote: »
    So one of the rumours from this forum actually turned out to be true for once :P

Shouldn't this forum be best migrated to Conspiracy Theories then? :D

I sense a country/ballad will soon be written. "Hectors' Gone.."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Is there a fund anywhere to contribute to his air fare?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Was this on the cards, or a surprise announcement?

When will he be finishing up?

I found him pretty OTT at the start, all that shouting at us, in Spanish....jaysis. Then he calmed down a bit once he found his feet. I have to say I tend to flick around the stations in the morning until I hear a song I like (not into too much chat) so I guess I listened to Red Daddy as much as I listened to any other breakfast show.

I miss Pat Courteney on Nova in the mornings though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

It wasn't too long ago that the Head of 2FM was giving Hector his full support, like the chairman of a football club gives his full support to the manager just before he gets the chop. Interestingly, he was also giving his "full support" to Tubs........

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Is there a fund anywhere to contribute to his air fare?

LOL!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,094 ✭✭✭forgotten password

go néirigh an bóthair leat hector a mhac,

que te pasa bien :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Doing what exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

It wasn't too long ago that the Head of 2FM was giving Hector his full support, like the chairman of a football club gives his full support to the manager just before he gets the chop. Interestingly, he was also giving his "full support" to Tubs........

Dan Healy should choose his words more carefully.
    He looks like an eejit now

Irish Independent
    November 15th (32 days ago)

http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/hector-is-not-getting-the-axe-says-2fm-boss-29757165.html
    Hector o hEochagain has been assured his job at 2fm is safe.

The popular presenter got an early phone call from 2fm boss Dan Healy this morning to inform him he was not being axed from the station.

The RTE boss was reacting to media reports that popular host Hector was to be replaced in a radical shake-up at the radio station.

“Hector to be axed? You might as well have said Hector picked to play for Ireland by Roy Keane,” Mr Healy said.

“This is nonsense. I personally rang Hector this morning to assure him that he was not being axed.” Dan Healy told the Herald.

It has been coming for a while. Hector is toxic to too many people (especially at Breakfast time). I think it's a good result for Tubridy. A new presenter at Brekkie might give him a better lead in audience (not withstanding the fact that Tubridy's show also has serious ratings problems).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,094 ✭✭✭forgotten password

Doing what exactly?

how many countries have u been to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Doing what exactly?

I suspect it was a tongue in cheek remark.

(At least I hope it was :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,801 ✭✭✭prunudo

Is it possible he left himself, the press release isn't very clear, especially after Healy saying his job was safe only last month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

They could axe more than Hector, bring in some fresh blood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,671 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

No loss, there was only so many times he could say "Soldiers of the Dawn" and get away with it.

I suspect it was a tongue in cheek remark.

(At least I hope it was :D)

every single day it gets.........a little bit harder to handle, and yet......:D

endeavour to persevere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭soc160

"News me up Ray!"
    "Hey.....how ya doin'"

There are plenty more options out there not just those two, have a flick around. As for the music they are a Hot Adult Contemporary so that music fits there playlist, whatever is popular with the mass will get played. Kodaline because they are Irish and Lily Allen because she is a female, certain requirements with the BAI.

brinty wrote: »

I thought RTE's problem was that they do keep it in house all the time and never give others a chance?
    Seren_ wrote: »

Broken clock and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭patrickc

I for one will miss Hector, he was light hearted and didnt take himself too seriously.

to beatfm now I'd imagine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭billie1b

Ha ha, best joke ever

Hecthor would be hyper .......if we could calm him down a bit :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Hopefully Ruth "MGMT' Scott won't take over...sheesh, does she play any music thats' not from 2004-2008? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Aestivalis

Thank jaysus for that. Most irritating man ever.

*turns on radio*

AAHUEHAEAUHUE and now its time 4 GUESS WHICH CAR ENGINE THIS IS!!1"

"vroooooooooom"
    "vrooooooooooooooooooooooom"
    "vroooooom"

OH BAI JAYSUS SHE'S A FINE ONE I TELL YA! CAN YOU GUESS WHAT CAR THAT IS?

/drives off bridge.

The poor daft sod has obviously been sacked given what he's said this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,801 ✭✭✭prunudo

Cuddled wrote: »
    The poor daft sod has obviously been sacked given what he's said this morning

What did he say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭blue4ever

It strikes me like they are reprimanding the wrong child- let the numbers speak. It's not the breakfast show slot that is not holding it's own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭room_149

Good riddance. One less reason to hate my morning commute to work.
    Hopefully Phantom will follow suit and get rid of that Joe & Keith pair in the new year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Seanokelly123

"News me up Ray!"
    "Hey.....how ya doin'"

I agree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Fresh Pots

What was said this morning?

TheTechGuy wrote: »
    What was said this morning?

Soldiers of the Dawn blah blah blah end of the journey Soldiers of the Dawn positivity blah Soldiers of the Dawn YERRHOOOO Soldiers of the Dawn blah blah etc

And he wonders why he was sacked !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 phil1234

Thank you dear lord he is finally gone. I couldn't bare all his paddy wackery in the mornings. It was cringe radio. He tried hard, ill give him that but cranky car and the likes ..... dont get me started !!!!