Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Diet Help

• 15-12-2013 9:12pm

Hi guys! Ye seem to know what yer talking about so thought I'd start a thread.

I've been put on a wheat free diet by my doctor due to a dodgy stomach (bloating, nausea, cramps...reckons it's ibs). He wants me to strictly stick to it for 6 weeks and see how it works out. If it doesn't make a difference I'm then going off lactose, if that doesn't work gonna get some tests done...anyway!

I've been a vegetarian for most of my life and it's pretty hard to find decent vegetarian meals that don't contain wheat. Mainly when eating out/at work.

I'm going start making my own lunches for work, which is a shame because the food is great there!

I have also decided to eat fish maybe 2 days a week. Or if I am eating out and can't find anything..

I've also starting going to the gym a lot more and doing lots of weight training with a personal trainer. I also run a good bit.

So I'm mainly asking for some guidance on some good ideas for bread/pasta/pastry substitutes. I used to rely a lot on bread and pasta, don't really want to eat the gluten free stuff either. Want some ideas for protein also! What are the best fish/seafood for protein?

Also, is it safe to eat to 5-6 eggs a day? People at work are constantly giving out to me about how many eggs I eat and how it would cause high cholesterol, but isn't that a loada bollox?

I'm a 24 year old girl btw. Not trying to lose weight or anything, just want my diet to be a bit healthier!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

Bread? just cut it out, don't bother replacing it.
    If you want to make something that uses flour just substitute, you can get rice/almond/coconut flour etc.

As for pasta, use rice/quinoa/cous cous instead.

Eggs are awesome. Protein sources I use are all kinds of peas/beans, soy, lentils, various nuts & seeds.

Zombienosh wrote: »
    Bread? just cut it out, don't bother replacing it.
    If you want to make something that uses flour just substitute, you can get rice/almond/coconut flour etc.

As for pasta, use rice/quinoa/cous cous instead.

Eggs are awesome. Protein sources I use are all kinds of peas/beans, soy, lentils, various nuts & seeds.

Thanks!

Oh btw cous cous contains wheat :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

Oh my bad, I rarely eat it I see it as a poor mans quinoa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Mary-Ellen

I did gluten free veggie for a while, I lived on
    Omlettes (spinach and sweet potato, spanish, minted feta and pea)
    Muesli
    Oatcakes with peanut butten and banana or houmous
    Soup with gluten free stock cubes.
    Falafel with gf flour
    Leftover chili or stew with rice
    http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/1364/spicy-root-and-lentil-casserole
    The Sam Mills corn pasta is nice
    Quorn chicken pan fried in oil with garlic/smoked paprika/other spices or herbs with veg and potatoes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,774 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

If you relied heavily on bread, was it for sandwiches/rolls/wraps? If so, eat the same fillings, but wrap them up in lettuce leaves for a lettuce wrap. Depending on what the filling is, you could eat twice as much for the same caloric intake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,548 ✭✭✭siochain

WOW a doc giving good advice.

I use coconut flour for making bread and pancakes. Bread can be dry but if you add milled flax seed it helps to moisten it.

There loads of paleo sites out there with wheat free recipes. one of the key tricks to be able to stick to it is preparation, plan your meals a week in advance. One easy way of prepping lunch is always make extra for dinner the night before and bring the extra for the next days lunch.

Pancake recipe (half the amount if it's for one)
    http://www.nourishingdays.com/2010/07/fluffy-coconut-flour-pancakes/

I'd be really interested to know if you notice improvement over the next few weeks, good luck and keep us posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

I eat a lot of curries made with lots of veg and eat it more like a stew with no noodles/rice.

Great thanks everyone!

No major improvements so far but will keep ye posted!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Magenta

If you relied heavily on bread, was it for sandwiches/rolls/wraps? If so, eat the same fillings, but wrap them up in lettuce leaves for a lettuce wrap. Depending on what the filling is, you could eat twice as much for the same caloric intake

YES!!!! This is a fantastic alternative to wraps etc.
    Another one to try is wafer-thin turkey or chicken.
    Lia_lia wrote: »

I've been put on a wheat free diet by my doctor due to a dodgy stomach (bloating, nausea, cramps...reckons it's ibs).

Going wheat-free will probably really help you. I have IBS, iron overload and can't absorb B12.... My stomach was constantly in bits. I gave up wheat and all my symptoms disappeared. If I eat bread now I bloat straight away and have indigestion for the rest of the day. The difference!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,781 ✭✭✭✭siblers

If you aren't seeing any real improvement you may want to consider giving up all gluten containing grains instead of just wheat. Are you eating any gluten free biscuits, bread etc? If so you may want to give them up too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭dor843088

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Hi guys! Ye seem to know what yer talking about so thought I'd start a thread.

I've been put on a wheat free diet by my doctor due to a dodgy stomach (bloating, nausea, cramps...reckons it's ibs). He wants me to strictly stick to it for 6 weeks and see how it works out. If it doesn't make a difference I'm then going off lactose, if that doesn't work gonna get some tests done...anyway!

I've been a vegetarian for most of my life and it's pretty hard to find decent vegetarian meals that don't contain wheat. Mainly when eating out/at work.

I'm going start making my own lunches for work, which is a shame because the food is great there!

I have also decided to eat fish maybe 2 days a week. Or if I am eating out and can't find anything..

I've also starting going to the gym a lot more and doing lots of weight training with a personal trainer. I also run a good bit.

So I'm mainly asking for some guidance on some good ideas for bread/pasta/pastry substitutes. I used to rely a lot on bread and pasta, don't really want to eat the gluten free stuff either. Want some ideas for protein also! What are the best fish/seafood for protein?

Also, is it safe to eat to 5-6 eggs a day? People at work are constantly giving out to me about how many eggs I eat and how it would cause high cholesterol, but isn't that a loada bollox?

I'm a 24 year old girl btw. Not trying to lose weight or anything, just want my diet to be a bit healthier!

I would be surprised if you are intolerant to wheat or gluten as its only a tiny fraction of the population who are affected by this but as usual its over hyped and everyone seems to be a self diagnosed wheat intolerant. You are a vegetarian? Ever measured how much fibre you consume? Too much can cause bloating cramps gas etc etc. Someone may correct me on this but I think the recommended amount of fibre is 10-15g per thousand calories or so and as a vegetarian I would guess you may be getting an enormous amount more than that. Just something to think about .

dor843088 I guess the standard food pyramid is a the way forward?

dor843088 wrote: »
    everyone seems to be a self diagnosed wheat intolerant. .

Being ill every time I eat wheat or wheat derivatives is a bit of a giveaway all right

No problem with eggs lia, got my cholesterol done recently and it's completely normal 4.3 despite my 2-4 egg breakfasts and snacks

dor843088 for someone who demands facts and proof from everyone else is that all you can offer?

From eliminating wheat and increasng fats I’ve reduced my total cholesterol from 5.6 to a consistent 3.9, lp(a) is way down and more importantly inflammation markers are consistently way down. And no allergy test in the world will say I have any an issue with wheat.

I could give you countless examples of many people who made very positive changes in their health but I know I’m wasting my time …….

siochain wrote: »
    dor843088 for someone who demands facts and proof from everyone else is that all you can offer?

From eliminating wheat and increasng fats I’ve reduced my total cholesterol from 5.6 to a consistent 3.9, lp(a) is way down and more importantly inflammation markers are consistently way down. And no allergy test in the world will say I have any an issue with wheat.

I could give you countless examples of many people who made very positive changes in their health but I know I’m wasting my time …….

I only demand proof from people I know who cannot backup their claims with proof. Its quite amusing.

If I though there was a chance of having an intelligent discussion on this I would invest my energy in doing so. If you think I'm getting drawn into your clueless trolling that brings treads into the ground you have another thing coming.

Why don't you give us another nutritional gem like ice-cream diet for athletes tread

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057103420

Now that's amusing......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

I would be surprised if you are intolerant to wheat or gluten as its only a tiny fraction of the population who are affected by this but as usual its over hyped and everyone seems to be a self diagnosed wheat intolerant. You are a vegetarian? Ever measured how much fibre you consume? Too much can cause bloating cramps gas etc etc. Someone may correct me on this but I think the recommended amount of fibre is 10-15g per thousand calories or so and as a vegetarian I would guess you may be getting an enormous amount more than that. Just something to think about .

Where did he say he was "intolerant to wheat"?

macadam wrote: »
    Where did he say he was "intolerant to wheat"?

You clearly didnt read my post or the op.

If I though there was a chance of having an intelligent discussion on this I would invest my energy in doing so. If you think I'm getting drawn into your clueless trolling that brings treads into the ground you have another thing coming.

Why don't you give us another nutritional gem like ice-cream diet for athletes tread

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057103420

Now that's amusing......

Ever heard of alan aragon ? He agrees with everything iv said on boards. If you dont know who he is please leave.

Is he the juiced up YouTube head you were referencing in the sugar tread?

If you know anything about nutrition youv probably learned or studied his work . And then disagree with him on boards lol. Its a bit like arguing with Stephen Hawkins about the big bang, your out of your depth. Shockingly so. Google the man , his work , his achievements and then tell me again how you and your board buddies who like to squirt all over your posts know better.

Your right I'll give you that one I'm thankfully out of my depth with you. At least you got one fact right.

WTF are you delusional or something?

Your right I'll give you that one I'm thankfully out of my depth with you. At least you got one fact right.

Your not stopping now are you I like where this is going.

I have read the OP and intolerant to wheat is not in it anywhere, maybe you can highlight it for me..

Second sentence. Doctor putting HER on a wheat free diet to see if it stops her symtoms. Got it now? The fact that you reffered to the op as HE or that staunch blossom and lord jessington thanked your post im not sure which is more bizarre im not going to explain other peoples posts to people who cant understand or dont bother to read them.

SO you are a right know it all busy body & a Troll, it still doesnt mean SHE is a SHE or is intolerant to wheat, by the way Im an alien...:P:P:P:P
    Sorry for straying off topic Lia Lia it wont happen again .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I thank anyone who disagrees with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Arrow.

This forum is a joke when it comes to bread.

A lot of people who have 'miraculous' things happen (in my experience) have cut out a lot of stuff, not just bread, but accredit weight loss to simply giving up bread.

I've lost weight eating moderate amuonts of it.

I prefer a Mediterranean diet - studies have proved it lowers mortality rate. So give up bread all you like, but it's not the only way and it's not that bad in moderation.

I thought dor84308 could use a bit of back up - everyone here seems to let on to know more than they do when it's 10 v 1 in an argument about bread/wheat etc.

Good luck op...I've been on paleo diet for the last 11weeks and feel so much better. I suffered ibs, that's gone plus my nails and hair and skin are so much improved. I make a lot of currys and have brocolli or cauliflower instead of rice. I eat a lot of fish and veg. Lunches can be tricky thou!sometimes il end up having two dinners, say just stir fried veg for lunch and then chicken n veg for dinner.

SO you are a right know it all busy body & a Troll, it still doesnt mean SHE is a SHE or is intolerant to wheat, by the way Im an alien...:P:P:P:P
    Sorry for straying off topic Lia Lia it wont happen again .

Last sentence in her post clearly states she is a 24 year old girl you didnt read the post you just didnt . And I never said she was intolerant to wheat her doctor prescribed a strict wheat free diet to see if it would ease her symptoms.
    I think you should stick to listening .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,737 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

The OP hasn't self-diagnosed a wheat intolerance. The doctor has put the OP on a wheat-free diet for six weeks to see if it alleviates the symptoms. That's a light year away from a diagnosis and even further from a self-diagnosis. So would it be possible to help her out with wheat-free options, as was asked for in the OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,999 ✭✭✭deisedude

Hi OP, can sympathise a lot with you. I'm also 24 and suffering with IBS. I was instructed to give up wheat and dairy and now go to a personal trainer twice a week and have seen a huge improvement. I'm not perfect but my life is much better

For giving up bread i would recommend BFree as the best gluten free brand. They do nice wraos and bagels in particular.
    Aldi have a gluten free sliced pan which is fine when toasted
    DS do nice crispbreads. Makes a nice snack with houmouss or smoked salmon

Heinz have started making gluten free pasta which is yummy.

If you have any questions feel free to PM me

Arrow. wrote: »
    This forum is a joke when it comes to bread.

A lot of people who have 'miraculous' things happen (in my experience) have cut out a lot of stuff, not just bread, but accredit weight loss to simply giving up bread.

I've lost weight eating moderate amuonts of it.

I prefer a Mediterranean diet - studies have proved it lowers mortality rate. So give up bread all you like, but it's not the only way and it's not that bad in moderation.

I thought dor84308 could use a bit of back up - everyone here seems to let on to know more than they do when it's 10 v 1 in an argument about bread/wheat etc.

Hey arrow nobody is advocating a one fix for all. Most on this forum are just trying to help out based on there experience and many have being helped by advice given here. As with anything on the net people should do there own research. I would have no problem debating the subject if there was someone open to doing so in an adult manner. Problem with dor84308 is he offers nothing of any value except dropping links to bodybuilding and other so called internet guru's and generally has ass of an attitude to anything he doesn't agree with. Take a look through his last 20 posts.

And coming in with a statement saying forum is a joke when it comes to bread doesn't help, there are loads who attribute specific health benefits to eliminating bread. Of course if you have evidence to prove otherwise post it up?

Cheers

Hey arrow nobody is advocating a one fix for all. Most on this forum are just trying to help out based on there experience and many have being helped by advice given here. As with anything on the net people should do there own research. I would have no problem debating the subject if there was someone open to doing so in an adult manner. Problem with dor84308 is he offers nothing of any value except dropping links to bodybuilding and other so called internet guru's and generally has ass of an attitude to anything he doesn't agree with. Take a look through his last 20 posts.

Cheers

A look through your last few posts would suggest to the unaware you know a lot about nutrition and exercise. I presume your in great shape and not just an airmchair dietician and gym goer? Everyone can tell you how its done but very few can actually do it . Im guessing your all talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

C'mon lads....

Its christmas

We have enough bah humbug all year round. Can we calm down and realize it is food and not the end of the world? I am getting a headache with my gmail notifications pinging me letting me know that another post has been reported ... I mean, you are all RUINING my gift wrapping. I am bad enough at it as it is.

Siochains right bread is bad. Weve only been eating it as a staple food for 30,000 years .

If you knew anything about the subject you would know the grain we eat today is not the same grain we ate for centuries. This is the heart of the problem. Jesus certainly wasn't breaking Brennan's bread.

As for my sporting and coaching accomplishments you are the last person I have anything to prove to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,999 ✭✭✭deisedude

Ah lads for feck sake would ye not take your frankly boring argument to pm. Ye are in no way responding constructively to what the OP asked

yeah my bad for getting sucked in again

Starting this again as it was started up due to bickering before.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056858705

Try and keep it to fact based studies and personal experiences.

No personal BS.

Thanks everyone for the help! And just ignoring the rest of the posts..

Trying to avoid the "gluten free" breads, pasta etc. Don't think they can be very good for me. Been making lots of rice-based (risotto!) dishes and curries. It's helping a bit alright. No major changes symptoms..but small changes!

With regards the bread thing.. One summer I gave up bread completely for 3 months and felt a million times better. So I think the no bread think works for me! Started eating it again when I went back to college as it was convenient..

I find that I have to eat extremely small portions (and eat very slowly!) also in order not to feel sick. I was never one for eating 3 meals a day and the doctor says my body has just become accustomed to that.