Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying festive people.

• 15-12-2013 4:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭

Clowns wearing Christmas Jumpers with lights, this seems to be the new thing this year for the 12 pubs. Big college gobsh1tes out spending their parents money or the State's if they're on the grant.

I was in Dublin yesterday and witnessed these cretins taking over such established Ale houses as McDaids of Harry st and Mulligans of Poolbeg street. Big loud festive mouths arriving in annoying everyone and getting sick in the smoking area and toilets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Same everywhere I'm afraid, smug little contradicting "know it all's"

I know the type, I often cringe when having the misfortune of encountering any on nights out.

I often wonder why I go out in the first place, having to listen to some overly dressed young lad drinking Bavaria telling me how the world works. Only for him to puke all over the shop an hour after he arrives.

F**k Off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

People in pubs? Enjoying themselves???? I won't hear of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

What the hell is wrong with wearing a Christmas jumper and having a few pints?

FFS lads were ye never young or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Those who I encountered yesterday were a solid disgrace, terrible behaviour all round. I was young once yes, still young, but I'd never act the bollocks like they did. Loud mouthing from the the super drunk alpha males, putting down a pint of Guinness to go outside and through it up. The women necking vodkas and telling the barman to go fcuk himself when he said no more, no class whatsoever. This is our bright up and coming future

The funniest thing was the lads outside McDaids trying to smoke a cigarette between intervals of vomit.

Well the Christmas jumper has only become "the thing to do at Christmas" of late up until what? Around the time Tubridy got the gig doing the Late Late, now everybody does the jumper thing on nights out. It's always the same feckin jumpers too, those feckin ho, ho, ho ones in Penney's that everybody gets. Everybody looks the same.

I just commented to mention the typical college students that annoy me that wear them, not so much the jumper itself.

If anything that annoys me about the jumpers, its that everybody has the same feckin one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

zcorpian88 wrote: »
    Well the Christmas jumper has only become "the thing to do at Christmas" of late up....

If anything that annoys me about the jumpers, its that everybody has the same feckin one!

It is a bloody jumper with lights on it! Seriously how different can they be???
    Those who I encountered yesterday were a solid disgrace, terrible behaviour all round. I was young once yes.....an to go fcuk himself when he said no more, no class whatsoever. This is our bright up and coming future

The funniest thing was the lads outside McDaids trying to smoke a cigarette between intervals of vomit.

Are you sure???? I think everyone I know and more have done at least one night of debauched drunkenness that they probably can't remember.

Maybe, just maybe, you were the odd one out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,837 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I have a Xmas jumper that I've had for years now but I think I'll be lobbing it into a charity clothes bag. Being a proud hipster I wouldn't be seen dead in one anymore.

As for the 12 pubs, I have to admit I enjoy them apart from last years one when I got lost in an industrial estate in Sligo and not knowing how I ended up there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

If they didn't wear those jumpers how would anyone know what "legends" they are and what an "epic" night out they're having?

catallus wrote: »
    It is a bloody jumper with lights on it! Seriously how different can they be???

Are you sure???? I think everyone I know and more have done at least one night of debauched drunkenness that they probably can't remember.

Well the ones I tend to see don't have lights, just the same ones you see the minute you walk in the door in penney's. I was out for a few pints tonight even, and seen 7 or 8 people wearing the same jumper. Can any of them buy a different one??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

I'm a professional cynic, but my hearts not in it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Spot the angry Saturday night shift workers.

Some knackers tried to break into my shop tonight. I can't open the door.

Lets all be angry and tired together

I was watching the rugby when of these animals blocked my view, When I touched the specimen in the process gesturing him out of the way he turned and stared. He said Wha? All right kid?

He'd an smirk on his face typical of a first year culchie (I'm culchie too) from Thurles up doing Arts in UCD. Drunken muppet getting fresh with a stranger. Being a complete Gentleman I didn't react of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

He'd an smirk on his face typical of a first year culchie (I'm culchie too) from Thurles up doing Arts in UCD. Drunken muppet getting fresh with a stranger. Being a complete Gentleman I didn't react of course.
    wearing bootcut jeans with frayed cuffs paired with his sunday black broges no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,837 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Being a complete Gentleman I didn't react of course.

So you wimped out ya? Did you not know that this site is for telling fabled stories detailing your heroism in dangerous situations?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I hear ya. I feel like I'm better than everyone else too. Sometimes it's just so difficult being this great :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Those who I encountered yesterday were a solid disgrace, terrible behaviour all round. I was young once yes, still young, but I'd never act the bollocks like they did. Loud mouthing from the the super drunk alpha males, putting down a pint of Guinness to go outside and through it up. The women necking vodkas and telling the barman to go fcuk himself when he said no more, no class whatsoever. This is our bright up and coming future

That can be quite tasty. Haven't you tried it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

He'd an smirk on his face typical of a first year culchie .

You can do culchie studies in university now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭LOSTfan57

Well theres the christmas spirit dead in some. God forbid you have fun and dont be uptight and serious 24/7. Those disgraces

LOSTfan57 wrote: »
    Well theres the christmas spirit dead in some. God forbid you have fun and dont be uptight and serious 24/7. Those disgraces

I'm not the Dad like character coming in and ruining good times. These people were drunk as skunks and were behaving badly. Can't handle the stuff.

Bogart used to say that the test of a real man is to be off your head without your drinking partners or fellow patrons noticing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭camel jockey

Clowns wearing Christmas Jumpers with lights, this seems to be the new thing this year for the 12 pubs. Big college gobsh1tes out spending their parents money or the State's if they're on the grant.

I was in Dublin yesterday and witnessed these cretins taking over such established Ale houses as McDaids of Harry st and Mulligans of Poolbeg street. Big loud festive mouths arriving in annoying everyone and getting sick in the smoking area and toilets.

Merry Christmas, Mr Scrooge. :o

You encountered a few gobshytes OP. It happens, Christmas or no Christmas.

There was a group last night in the pub I was in in Sligo, most of them were like anyone else just having a good night, but one of their group was horribly obnoxious, loud, bitching about people by name at the top of her voice, hitting people who weren't listening to her and shouting "listen to me" at everyone who dared to speak to someone else. She wasn't wearing a Christmas jumper!

So yeh, there will be gobshytes, but most people are only out for good craic and do no harm whatsoever - it's nothing to do with crappy Christmas jumpers. There's just and increase of people in the pubs this time of year and so naturally the number of idiots will also increase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Bogart used to say that the test of a real man is to be off your head without your drinking partners or fellow patrons noticing.

That sounds more like an alcoholic tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I'm not the Dad like character coming in and ruining good times. These people were drunk as skunks and were behaving badly. Can't handle the stuff.

There's been drunken shenanigans in Ireland every time of the year for as long as I can remember. Why does Christmas time make it worse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

OP, get in the bed and dont get up until the middle of January. Bah Humbug, you grumpy fart.
    All talk and no action too, should have given that turnip muncher a Stone Cold Stunner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I always carry a ricin cigarette for such occasions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 495 ✭✭bootybouncer

Like Facebook those jumpers are generally for ***** ..........................I had to wait for the wife outside a late night bar in dublin last night, like attenborough said we are a plague on this planet.............................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

I was out last night and there were loads of people wearing Christmas jumpers, Santy hats, different festive things- all seemed to be having a great time and no one falling all over the place or getting sick. It's not like people put on the jumpers and all of a sudden they're pricks. The people you saw were obviously out to get hammered, jumper or no jumper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Seans_Username

Big college gobsh1tes out spending their parents money or the State's if they're on the grant.
    This is our bright up and coming future

Nice generalisation there.

I'm doing a 12 pubs when I finish my exams. I've never done it before and tbh I find the idea of wearing Christmas jumpers is a bit cringey, but it's all a bit of fun.
    But god forbid someone gets too drunk. I don't think I've ever seen that ever in the history of ever- Oh, except for college students pissing away your money or their parents money, just them. Sure it's not like any college student has any form of their own income. It's a known fact that they don't work. Except for the several people I know in college who have jobs, but aside from them, they just piss away the state's/parent's money, just like you said

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Of course we mustn't forget the scrote who is mad for a sing song, knows the first line of every song but that's about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    Of course we mustn't forget the scrote who is mad for a sing song, knows the first line of every song but that's about it.

Ssssshhhh!!!!!!!

"Let me tell you a story..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭MarkY91

you sound like a boring person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

...and what did you do during your college years? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭Rezident

Sick of the mobs in stupid jumpers alright. Saw the barman in The Swan run over to stop them coming in. I love The Swan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

I always carry a ricin cigarette for such occasions.

Waste of time, doesn't take effect quickly enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

catallus wrote: »

Nice typically Irish response there to someone critical of the rampant binge drinking culture in this country.

Ah, shur he's probably just a dry shite.. not wanting to get completely wasted and make a show of himself...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

Nice typically Irish response there to someone critical of the rampant binge drinking culture in this country
    There's a firm line between advocating moderation and being a grumpy puritan. The OP was very much on the wrong side of that line

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Christmas jumpers?? Ah, that makes more sense alright.

I had thought there was a Noel Edmonds convention in town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

I've never done the whole 12 pubs thing. In our local town there's one every year organised by a loud mouth, beer guzzling lesbian. Around 50 people do it, prancing from one over crowded shithole to another at this loud mouth's request. You even have to register to take part. I shit you not.

The thought of spending 6 hours with a shower of chino and Christmas jumper wearing, over bearing twats does nothing for me.

I don't care about Christmas jumpers or drunkeness. The only thing that bothers me is the apparently increasing acceptability of public vomiting.

People who wouldn't dream of littering have excused puking on pavements in my presence. Go figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Reekwind wrote: »
    There's a firm line between advocating moderation and being a grumpy puritan. The OP was very much on the wrong side of that line

Doesn't the whole 12 Pubs thing depend entirely on binge drinking, though? It's a horrible, almost forced tradition, just my own opinion obviously... and I've no issue with people going out and enjoying themselves whatsoever, but I can see where the OP is coming from.. when a group of already inebriated and loud fcukers come falling in the door of a pub it can be very off-putting to people who are just there to enjoy a few pints in peace.

I've nothing against festive jumpers though fwiw! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

''Big college gobsh1tes''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Gandalph

I'm going on my 12 pubs this thursday with my college crowd. I am going to put on an extra crap christmas jumper, get scuttered and hopefully wake up to the grinch posting a thread dedicated to me on boards the next day.

P.S. people get sh*tfaced and loud in bars regardless of time of year or what kind of top they are wearing...you not go out that much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭LOSTfan57

Doesn't the whole 12 Pubs thing depend entirely on binge drinking, though? It's a horrible, almost forced tradition, just my own opinion obviously... and I've no issue with people going out and enjoying themselves whatsoever, but I can see where the OP is coming from.. when a group of already inebriated and loud fcukers come falling in the door of a pub it can be very off-putting to people who are just there to enjoy a few pints in peace.

I've nothing against festive jumpers though fwiw! :pac:

Well then if these people are falling in as bad as you make out should you not take issue with the bouncers allowing these people into the establishment? They may simply be merry and having fun but if they are as bad as some people make out they would not get entry into the place. Its a pub not a church. There may well end up being a bitta noise there. If its to loud they get thrown out then by the barman/security. Pubs arent libraries tbf.

The sudden spike in the demand for Christmas jumpers seems to correlate with the whole Social Networking popularity amongst people today. Fair enough, neither will do any harm to either man nor beast. I dont wish to do the twelve pubs but the Christmas jumper thing is a bit of fun.

I notice a change in the people going out today though. Many aren't content with just minding their own business in pubs/niteclubs anymore. Men dont just hassle women, they hassle absolutely anyone unfortunate enough to have to pass them out. Some of the cheap women going out today are all the more obnoxious. The general consensus is that their state of drunkenness completely absolves today's people from their shítty behaviour.

People getting bladdered is part of a plan for a night out as opposed to a complete accident. No one is content with just one or two drinks to loosen them up. It has to be a complete binge. I enjoy a few pints myself but if i was ever anyway resembling some of these people today it would be time to take a good hard look at myself. We had of course our friend last night who came onto AH looking for sympathy when the Gardai laughed at him when he was thrown out of a niteclub and lost his belongings and actually complained him. Not everyone goes out to act the ass but one is far too many.

This Facebook craze i could never get. Every single photo seems to be morons in a big silly cheap looking artificial pose out in a pub or club, craving the thumbs up. 'Hey look at us we have a life, Were out on the town and we want to get bladdered!'. :rolleyes: Que the responses 'Looking well Sharon' , 'Wow stunner' :rolleyes:
    Yet I and others are almost treated as social pariahs for not wanting any part in this shíte? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

What the hell is wrong with wearing a Christmas jumper
    Anything you said after that is irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭SeaDaily

This Facebook craze i could never get. Every single photo seems to be morons in a big silly cheap looking artificial pose out in a pub or club, craving the thumbs up. 'Hey look at us we have a life, Were out on the town and we want to get bladdered!'. :rolleyes: Que the responses 'Looking well Sharon' , 'Wow stunner' :rolleyes:
    Yet I and others are almost treated as social pariahs for not wanting any part in this shíte? :confused:

No, you are mistaken. No one is asking you to take part, most are just sick of people like yourself moaning about others out having a good time. No one is asking you to join in. Also no one is asking you to "get" this facebook "craze". If you don't understand it, stop trying. You'll be happier for it and others won't have to listen to your perennial whinging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

My most annoying festive people are the type of people that need to constantly remind everyone about how unfortunate the lives of other people are.

How are you suppose to have a nice time when you are constantly reminded of bad things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

The most annoying festive people are all the charities out in force in the towns and cities, it was endless how many different groups around cork city the weekend, im not knocking charities and i do support them but when they really get in your face that is a bit too much.

SeaDaily wrote: »
    No, you are mistaken. No one is asking you to take part, most are just sick of people like yourself moaning about others out having a good time. No one is asking you to join in. Also no one is asking you to "get" this facebook "craze". If you don't understand it, stop trying. You'll be happier for it and others won't have to listen to your perennial whinging.

Jesus calm down. I must add that I should have phrased it differently. Alot of my own friends are on FB so not everyone who uses it is bad. But from experience when people have asked me to add them and I've told them I'm not on it I get either a lecture or a stare of amazement (mostly both) There seems to be a consensus that your anti social or 'missing out' if your not on it which is rubbish. Perhaps I just like going about daily life without documenting my social life or what I had for dinner.

In general I just think this new found obnoxious nature people have is linked to the emergence of facebook. As I previously stated most people are relatively decent but all you need is one twat to have too many

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

one of their group was horribly obnoxious, loud, bitching about people by name at the top of her voice, hitting people who weren't listening to her and shouting "listen to me" at everyone who dared to speak to someone else.

You?