Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saturday Night Show 14th December

• 14-12-2013 6:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭

Nothing up about this yet. Is it on? Is everybody in RTE out in South Africa reliving their student unions days? Is it cutbacks? I see the Late Late has been slashed by 35 minutes next Friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

Nothing up about this yet. Is it on? Is everybody in RTE out in South Africa reliving their student unions days? Is it cutbacks? I see the Late Late has been slashed by 35 minutes next Friday.

It's on alright. :);)

Kian Egan is supposed to be on - which would be as surprising as grass being green, following his recent success in the Australian jungle. :rolleyes: ;)

However, something's up with the RTE TEN page that states the line-up. See for yourself - you'll either get a blank screen or an HTTP 404 error message, depending on the browser you're using:

http://www.rte.ie/ten/news/2013/1211/492287-kian-egan-for-saturday-night-show/

Nothing wrong with the show's Facebook page, though - so what does the relevant (but predictably poorly typed and poorly thought-out) post say?
    Coming up on the show this week Sinead O Connor will be in for a chat and she will be performing a track called “Healing Room”. Newlyweds, tenor Paul Byrom and Dominique Coulter, fill us in on married life and Paul will also be singing “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas”. Top chef Neven Maguire will be showing us how to have yourself a stress free Christmas lunch and he’ll be preparing a few treats live on the show as well! Twink’s daughter Chloe Agnew will be performing a song and she will be filling us in on working in America and spending Christmas with her mum and the choir from St Mary’s School for Deaf Girls will be signing Coldplay’s “Fix You”. There is a fantastic viewer’s prize as well which may make someone's Christmas a lot easier so tune in at 9.45pm and enjoy the show!!

So does this mean Kian has pulled out or something? I guess we'll just have to watch to find out.

Regardless whether or not he has, though, it's a pretty uninspiring line-up. SOC's last appearance on the show feels like a very short time ago, and Neven's doesn't feel like it's well in the past, either. :rolleyes:

And Twink's daughter?

picard-facepalm2.jpg

Looks like there's going to be an AWFUL lot of singing, as well - and quite possibly even more if Kian does turn up.

piccardpalm-gg-580x371.jpg

Think I'll pay more attention to this thread than to the actual show, guys. :D:);)

And here's the puppeh and kitteh: :D:);)

sandeepr-2081521.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

I have a bit of a soft spot for Nevin. Every time he is on he gives some great tips so I would not mind him being on more often:). Having just treated myself to a turkey baster, maybe tonight I will learn how to use it:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,739 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Great post GHG!

Twink's daughter? What're the chances the woman herself makes an unexpected appearance? In the crowd at least, i reckon.

It's literally a few weeks since SOC was on the LLS.

Uninspiring for sure, but should be a bit of craic (on here, anyway).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

cofy wrote: »
    I have a bit of a soft spot for Nevin. Every time he is on he gives some great tips so I would not mind him being on more often:). Having just treated myself to a turkey baster, maybe tonight I will learn how to use it:D:D:D:D

I'm remembering a certain poster having a canary when we had the laughs over the two lads talking about the turkey baster and it's various uses last Christmas......;):p

I hope Neven has a recipe for a decent punch......:D

I think we're going to need it...:)

I'm remembering a certain poster having a canary when we had the laughs over the two lads talking about the turkey baster and it's various uses last Christmas......;):p

I hope Neven has a recipe for a decent punch......:D

I think we're going to need it...:)

Oh God don't remind me, those two men nearly put me off my Christmas dinner.:eek::eek: I have'nt been the same since:D:D:D

cofy wrote: »
    Oh God don't remind me, those two men nearly put me off my Christmas dinner.:eek::eek: I have'nt been the same since:D:D:D

Still can't look at those basters in kitchen shops!!....:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭taytobreath

Hi Cofy and grey so what and go harvy go.http://b-static.net/vbulletin/images/smilies/biggrin.png

Hiya tayto..........I'm a bit afraid of you tonight.......Post 666......Ooooohhh.....:)

as u can see im not good with the computers, and notice my post count too

Hiya tayto..........I'm a bit afraid of you tonight.......Post 666......Ooooohhh.....:)

haha brilliant u noticed;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Not the most promising of line ups. I have zero interest in Sinead O Connor, don't really understand the media fascination with her. Looking forward to the chat on here though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,085 ✭✭✭✭neris

Really pushing the boat the boat out for a crap line up tonight. Twinks kid might as well be some randomer they pull out of the audience to feed us a few lies

LynnGrace wrote: »
    Not the most promising of line ups. I have zero interest in Sinead O Connor, don't really understand the media fascination with her. Looking forward to the chat on here though.

I have to say Sinead had a beautiful voice Lynn, she comes out with some clangers.....She's her own PR Dream Team.....

Holy God, looking at that weather I'm going to be blown away again tonight..:(

Well, no mention of Kian by Brendan, there...

Ah no......."Daughter of Twink" tells us about........Twink............:(.....

There is no stopping that woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,322 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Evening all! :)

Genuinely miffed I couldn't make it to Chris Hadfield's book signing :(

Neven Maguire on the SNS again?! Does he have the same agent as Brendan or something? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭xploderz

Sinead O'Connor interviews are always highly entertaining, you just never know what's gonna happen

Ah shucks i thought rte had finally shut down there

Phew, I thought we lost Brendan to cyberspace!!

Everyone in the audience made to wear Santa hats, I see... :rolleyes:

sinead o connor interviews are getting very old too, she was only on the lls a few weeks ago. but they canbe entertaining too. so im a hyprocrite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

xploderz wrote: »
    Sinead O'Connor interviews are always highly entertaining, you just never know what's gonna happen

I'll be watching it from behind the Christmas tree.

dobbo's son is singin

I have to say Sinead had a beautiful voice Lynn, she comes out with some clangers.....She's her own PR Dream Team.....

Holy God, looking at that weather I'm going to be blown away again tonight..:(

Agree gsw, re her voice.
    Yes, same here, time to batten down the hatches, it's very stormy again.

Everyone in the audience made to wear Santa hats, I see... :rolleyes:

Didn't someone say they had to leave them behind them on the Afternoon show last year?......

"Tough old bird" he would said "Twink" if the daughter wasn't in the wings!! :eek:

neris wrote: »
    Ah shucks i thought rte had finally shut down there

lol i thought it was the wind outside

I think this lads underwear is a bit too tight........

I'd like to pull those three crackers, etc.

**** it is the wind

Anyone else just lost rte

Someone broke RTE

RTE DOWN! RTE DOWN!

CODE RED!

License fee money well spent

I'm don't like his voice at all..........

And I'm gone into cyberspace too!

How do we fill this awkward silence...chat among ourselves :D

A drunk Twink just tripped on a cable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

This would never happen on the BBC, I'm outraged :D

Well, we'll just to have a little chat among ourselves......

I'll start.

No shopping done yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Our Tv licence fee at its best :rolleyes:

I liked his voice something very nostalgic about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Shes very apologetic!!

LynnGrace wrote: »
    How do we fill this awkward silence...chat among ourselves :D

So...er...Lynn...

...you all, er, set for Christmas?

Boo boo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

The most exciting thing to happen to this show in a long time:D

The kettle is boiled.

Hot Whiskey anyone??

Well, we'll just to have a little chat among ourselves......

I'll start.

No shopping done yet.

Did most of it online - no ques:):):) and delivered free of charge:D

Drinking game for apologies offered........

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Twink's daughter?

Fault detected.

He has the strangest accent I have ever heard in my life.

We're back!