Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fry Day

• 12-12-2013 8:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭

Livius Cheltenham
    Summery justice Bangor
    Over and out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Never got sucked into the Wonderful Charm hype, so i fully expect Oscar Whisky to win the opener tomorrow.

I also like the look of Prince of Pirates. Think he could be the one to really be better than his current mark, and seems to go well fresh. (look at his bumper win, ridiculous!!)

Chicago Grey in the Cross Country now that he has a decent jockey on board.

Might go in hard on Garde La Victoire in the last, looks a cracking race but i really really like this horse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

There is one I really do like each way tomorrow at Dundalk. But I'm going to be greedy and make sure I get the best price in the morning before letting ye know. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Just gona point out a couple that might be over looked,

CHELTENHAM 1:40 GLENCREE , conditoins and distance should suit, while seeming to struggle in this grade, best foot forward can win or at worse place at 33/1 could be a we sweetner.

BANGOR-ON-DEE 1:20 RAPIDOLYTE DE LADALKA, I am thinking this could be the distance for this animal, if the ground dries up slightly it will suit big time, @ 11/1 there is value to be had.

My Yankee for tomorrow.

Hit The Headlines 5/1 1.05 Cheltenham

Uhlan Bute 4/1 1.40 Cheltenham

Prince Of Pirates 5/1 2.10 Cheltenham

Ballyalton 9/4 3.45 Cheltenham

Have also left some powder dry for Urban's Dundalk coup.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

A Joke of a card in Downpatrick,who would pay into that rubbish,ive never seen so little money matched on a meeting at this time,theres about a 100 quid matched on BF on the whole card,says it all really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

SRFC wrote: »
    A Joke of a card in Downpatrick,who would pay into that rubbish,ive never seen so little money matched on a meeting at this time,theres about a 100 quid matched on BF on the whole card,says it all really.

Stop giving out ye b*ll*x tomorrow's Friday! Watch Cheltenham instead and get on the Oliver Brady plot in downpatrick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Final warning re. attacking posters, commenting on reregs, etc.

ste2010 wrote: »
    Stop giving out ye b*ll*x tomorrow's Friday! Watch Cheltenham instead and get on the Oliver Brady plot in downpatrick

Im looking forward to the last in cheltenham,the two best novices in england running against each other might have a good bet on deckie,that Ballyalton beat jeffersons good horse Oscar Rock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Themonkey

i really fancy chicago grey tomorrow was travelling well until a mistake and then finished the race strongly i may be wrong but ill be getting stuck in

Why do you guys not put up times and meetings, we are not all ace pupils.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Why do you guys not put up times and meetings, we are not all ace pupils.

34.87 tomorrow dundalk

Slattsy wrote: »
    34.87 tomorrow dundalk

not the time it takes to run the race, the time the race is happening and the meeting it is happening @ , is it to much to ask for in the festive season?

This might help you
    http://www.sportinglife.com/racing/abc-guide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Pat Martins Califorinia Rose is
    miles the best in the race she is dropped big time and well drawn.I have put her up a few times but she is well tomorrow night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

ste2010 wrote: »
    Livius Cheltenham

Was he not ****e last year?

Thats a tricky race, have €15 free bet for it too, bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭unitedrover

1.40 Cheltenham- Uhlan Bute NAP
    Had a very good run last week in Sandown where it stayed on but just couldnt reach winner. Given Venetia's form at this time of year and her record in big handicaps Im expecting a big run

12.30 Cheltenham- No bet. But in the match I would choose Wonderful Charm.

1.05 Cheltenham- Hit the Headlines N.B.
    Been tipped in a few places tonight and given Elliott's ability at placing horses in England Im convinced it has a good chance.

2.40- Chicago Grey
    Ran quite well on its debut run over this course in October, staying on into 5th after a bad mistake at the 21st. No Balthazar King in the field this time, I feel he has a strong strong chance granted luck in running.

3.45- Garde La Victoire
    Short price but he did beat Gone Too Far well the last day. King gave a strong write up for GTF in his stable tour thus the form looks strong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

Fully expect Wonderful Charm to beat Oscar Whisky. The way he has been finishing off his last two races, he looks tailor made for the RSA but the 2m5f with a steep hill should be fine.

With regards to Chicago Grey, I'd be a bit wary because off a mark of 141 he should have no problem getting into the Cross Country at the festival but surely picking up a few lbs for winning would severely hinder his chance. Given how Elliot has campaigned him over hurdles a lot in the last few seasons, I'd be a bit surprised if he won tomorrow as March is clearly his big day.

1.05 Cheltenham

Finger On The Pulse 33/1

Finger On The Pulse 33/1 looks an absolutely huge price here. Now rated 125, the 2008 Jewson hero is getting on in years now a 12 year old but you only have to look back to the summer for form that would give him a belting chance in this. A winner off a 2lb lower mark of 123 at Stratford at the start of July, Finger On The Pulse put in another couple of belting performances when 3rd in the Betfair Summer Plate Listed Handicap at Market Rasen and a good finish in 2nd beaten 1L off 6lb higher marks of 131 on his next two starts and a replication of any of those efforts should see him go very close. Since then he didn't run too badly in decent contests off marks of 132 and 131 at Market Rasen and Cheltenham respectively but he's got a bit to prove having been pulled up on his last two starts. The handicapper has relented, however, dropping him 6lb and off a mark of 125 he would definitely have a big chance if bouncing back which he has done before seemingly out of the blue. The class act in the field in terms of rating, James Huxham's 8lb claim off top weight is a big help in this Conditional Jockeys Handicap and returned to the C+D of his career highlight I think 33s is miles too big a price.

I find it quite hard to evaluate his form but I can't not have a bet on 2.40 Cheltenham Quercy De Manoir 16/1. Trainer/owner Jean-Paul Gasnier sends his 9 year old across from France for this Cross Country handicap chase and having just squeaked in with a featherweight of 10 stone with jockey G Cottreau (ridden him once; no clue about him otherwise) claiming 7lb he has to carry absolutely no weight at all on his back (RP reports jockey's lowest weight of last year 10-1 but that could be way off) over this mammoth 3m7f trip. Seemingly a horse with quite an affinity for Cross Country races, Quercy De Manoir landed two such events in France at big prices over the summer and although it is very difficult to quantify his form I'd be fairly surprised if he didn't have a big squeak off 115 with such a low weight for what is the trainers first runner in the UK as I just can't see why he'd waste the trip if he didn't feel he had a big chance, especially as he owns him. As I said, a punt in the dark with regards to his form but at 16/1 and off 9-7 (if the jockey can do the weight) he certainly intrigues me enough to have a bet on him today.

rossom wrote: »
    I find it quite hard to evaluate his form but I can't not have a bet on 2.40 Cheltenham Quercy De Manoir 16/1. Trainer/owner Jean-Paul Gasnier sends his 9 year old across from France for this Cross Country handicap chase and having just squeaked in with a featherweight of 10 stone with jockey G Cottreau (ridden him once; no clue about him otherwise) claiming 7lb he has to carry absolutely no weight at all on his back (RP reports jockey's lowest weight of last year 10-1 but that could be way off) over this mammoth 3m7f trip. Seemingly a horse with quite an affinity for Cross Country races, Quercy De Manoir landed two such events in France at big prices over the summer and although it is very difficult to quantify his form I'd be fairly surprised if he didn't have a big squeak off 115 with such a low weight for what is the trainers first runner in the UK as I just can't see why he'd waste the trip if he didn't feel he had a big chance, especially as he owns him. As I said, a punt in the dark with regards to his form but at 16/1 and off 9-7 (if the jockey can do the weight) he certainly intrigues me enough to have a bet on him today.

You didn't answer my question on Carmela Maria :-) for Tuesday?

hucklebuck wrote: »
    Was he not ****e last year?

Thats a tricky race, have €15 free bet for it too, bastards.

Yep he was attrocious..he is a handicapper..he is handicapped..
    He is handicapped enough to win today and will return to being completely handicapped after today

UrbanSea wrote: »
    There is one I really do like each way tomorrow at Dundalk. But I'm going to be greedy and make sure I get the best price in the morning before letting ye know. :cool:

Have had a good punt each way on Copper Dock at 9/1 in the 8.15. A course and distance winner last year off 75(i think this very race) he was also beaten a fifth of a length off 77. Returned after a break and hasn't shown a whole lot in some very hot handicaps under a claimer, but he has dropped big time in the weights. Ran behind some of these last time off a mark of 62, but he was drawn way out in 14 and had to come wide. Didn't seem to travel bad but wasn't asked for maximum effort once he was beaten.

Dropped two pounds for that, he has a twelve pound swing with the winner from the last day and with Joseph up he could well be much closer given he isn't drawn in the car park tonight. He is seriously well handicapped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Ian Whelan

I have taken the 5/1 about Hilary in the 6:45pm at Dundalk. Back over 1 mile I genuinely can't see us being out of the first 3 on the basis of her second to last run. I think it's fair to say she did not get the trip last time. I think 5/1 is too big and that she will be shorter later so I will be laying off a bit of it at 4/1 or less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Stop dragging threads off topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

Ian Whelan wrote: »
    I have taken the 5/1 about Hilary in the 6:45pm at Dundalk. Back over 1 mile I genuinely can't see us being out of the first 3 on the basis of her second to last run. I think it's fair to say she did not get the trip last time. I think 5/1 is too big and that she will be shorter later so I will be laying off a bit of it at 4/1 or less.

I've been following Hilary for a while but starting to lose faith, was nowhere in her last run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭IrlMonk

One that pops out at me is Back Burner in the 5:25 @ Wolves
    The change of trainer to D.O'Meara is significant,
    I think O'Meara is a smart trainer on a upward curve and knows what he is doing by bringing BB to Wolverhampton for the first time.
    It's S H James only ride of the day.
    Well fingers crossed anyways, @ 7/1 in some offices I think I will have another little flutter but this time on the nose
    ;-)

Through the RP app with William Hill money back as a free bet if second on a channel four Cheltenham race today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,547 ✭✭✭droidman123

Only one bet for me today...duke of lucca 2.10 chel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Didn't see the race but yikes, Up and Go could only finish 4th in a 5 horse race at Bangor there when 6/4 fav (backed from 2/1). Dunno how anyone in their right mind could back McCain's horses. His list of disappointing horses is growing rapidly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Ian Whelan

rossom wrote: »
    Fully expect Wonderful Charm to beat Oscar Whisky. The way he has been finishing off his last two races, he looks tailor made for the RSA but the 2m5f with a steep hill should be fine.

Bad ride by Jacob I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭hurdles1

Looking for value 2day martin cash looks to have a sporting chance in 2.50 d.p
    hold em cowboy will be short but @ 20/1 bit of 25/1 around martin cash looks to have a good e.w chance in a poor race. ran much better than finishing place sugests last time out over hurdles.

ice apple looks nailed on to be placed in 1.30 swell
    brutal race j long likes a tipple at the ring and jimmy quinn eyecatching
    booking

happy punting

I know the weight probably beat him today but really think Wonderful Charm is made for the RSA. Travels well, jumps economically and stays, stays, stays. He's not slow but I'd be very fearful that he'd get done for toe by an Oscar Whiskey type (namely Felix Yonger) come business end of the Jewson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Goldcupfav

jimjamcos wrote: »
    I know the weight probably beat him today but really think Wonderful Charm is made for the RSA. Travels well, jumps economically and stays, stays, stays. He's not slow but I'd be very fearful that he'd get done for toe by an Oscar Whiskey type (namely Felix Yonger) come business end of the Jewson.

I'd like to see Wonderful Charm win over 3 miles on a stiff track before backing him for the RSA. Jumps great but still has to prove his stamina over the trip imo.

Goldcupfav wrote: »
    I'd like to see Wonderful Charm win over 3 miles on a stiff track before backing him for the RSA. Jumps great but still has to prove his stamina over the trip imo.

Yea, maybe. I'd like to see him at least tried over trip though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

4 second places in a row shoot me now:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭Pinesky

Red not blue 3.15 Chelt .
    Has his ground and small respite from hanicapper 20/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭BQQ

Fair play to Ryan Mahon.
    Did well to win that on Sire Collonges.
    Others might have downed tools when they dropped back through the pack like that.

Sickener for me though - I was on the 2nd :(

Didn't see the race but yikes, Up and Go could only finish 4th in a 5 horse race at Bangor there when 6/4 fav (backed from 2/1). Dunno how anyone in their right mind could back McCain's horses. His list of disappointing horses is growing rapidly.

Holy Moses, just seen that Diamond King was also beaten by a 20/1 and 10/1 shot @ 2/7! :eek: I'd lay, lay, lay any future McCain shorties if I was on Betfair.

Really like Ballyalton in the next but trip's a slight worry so watching brief.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Holy Moses, just seen that Diamond King was also beaten by a 20/1 and 10/1 shot @ 2/7! :eek: I'd lay, lay, lay any future McCain shorties if I was on Betfair.

Also fav in the bumper in Bangor was backed into 8/11 from circa 6/4 beaten 2nd.
    It's a really interesting race alright. I think ballyalton might be the best horse but I think the trip will do him. I like Garde le Victoire for it.

Diamond King was almost certainly going to win, but ploughed into the last.
    Was brought to a virtual standstill - remarkable that the jockey managed to stay on.

McCain also had a winner earlier.
    I'd treat his runners with caution, but not sure I'd blindly lay them.

kiers47 wrote: »
    Also fav in the bumper in Bangor was backed into 8/11 from circa 6/4 beaten 2nd.
    It's a really interesting race alright. I think ballyalton might be the best horse but I think the trip will do him. I like Garde le Victoire for it.

Dammit. Two nice horses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,907 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Davids Secret
    4.55 ew bet for me
    Mad to follow me though

Anyone fancy Ger lyons supposed 2nd string in the maiden in Dundalk tonight,ran well in Dundalk before and then ran ok in a curragh maiden 7/2 at the min,he has the 7/4 jolly in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Dammit. Two nice horses!

Ya didn't have a bet myself thank god as I was definitely favoring the Hobbs horse.
    Was a cracking duel up the straight.

SRFC wrote: »
    Anyone fancy Ger lyons supposed 2nd string in the maiden in Dundalk tonight,ran well in Dundalk before and then ran ok in a curragh maiden 7/2 at the min,he has the 7/4 jolly in it.

Nice pick

sting60 wrote: »
    miles the best in the race she is dropped big time and well drawn.I have put her up a few times but she is well tomorrow night.

Nice one Sting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Well done Sting and thank you.
    Hoban did very well after the awful start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭MyStubbleItches

Well done and thank you. Doubled it with Urbans pick too so a nervous wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Well done and thank you. Doubled it with Urbans pick too so a nervous wait!

Me too!!

Uh oh pressure is on