Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you a buyer

• 12-12-2013 12:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭

Looking at fj today and I saw a couple of ads with testimonies from lads and it struck me I dont buy much, in other words I have apolicey of not buying anything unless I go looking for it.I have found in the past that any time I bought stuff to improve things I usually stop buying after a couple of years with no difference.also if I am buying stuff I tend to spend months doing homework (drives herself mad) and lastly never buy something when you get on the phone first always put down the phone and ring back later.am I a salesman nightmare or are ye all like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

I will come back to you about that :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Im not easy to sell to ill only buy something that i need but the father is a salesman's dream

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

keep going wrote: »
    Looking at fj today and I saw a couple of ads with testimonies from lads and it struck me I dont buy much, in other words I have apolicey of not buying anything unless I go looking for it.I have found in the past that any time I bought stuff to improve things I usually stop buying after a couple of years with no difference.also if I am buying stuff I tend to spend months doing homework (drives herself mad) and lastly never buy something when you get on the phone first always put down the phone and ring back later.am I a salesman nightmare or are ye all like that
    Same as myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Same as yourself, loads of Googling and asking and emailing, and buy SFA at the end of it!

or decide to have a go at making it yourself

Haha, funny, I thought about adding that when I was writing it :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭cosatron

I find my dad's loses the plot when something's breaks and makes an declaration that his buying a new one and it never happens. 4 years ago the clutch went in the tractor for second time in a year and he took off down to Murphy's in headford, hell bent on buying a new tractor. We still have the same piece of sh*t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

cosatron wrote: »
    I find my dad's loses the plot when something's breaks and makes an declaration that his buying a new one and it never happens. 4 years ago the clutch went in the tractor for second time in a year and he took off down to Murphy's in headford, hell bent on buying a new tractor. We still have the same piece of sh*t

I assume your father would appreciate a ticket to the negative farming conference as a christmas present

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭cosatron

he is a paid up member. great farmer but can be the most negative man when things go wrong.

I assume your father would appreciate a ticket to the negative farming conference as a christmas present

Some type of raffle or competition is needed Bob. Free pair of tickets for the most moany hard luck story/photo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Yeah but no but

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

That drives me cracked. If the auld lad needed 5 bolts he'd buy 5. A month later he'd need another one and buy 1.

I'd buy enough of the variable stuff that you will eventually need. Otherwise you're on the road when you need something in a hurry.

plugging again ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭feartuath

Buying stuff
    If you can't use it,eat it,ride it,or bring it home it ain't worth buying.
    L
    Saw that on a t-shirt in USA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Yep all of the above. Research it, google it, try and buy it second hand on donedeal, then normally end up making it myself.
    How long something lasts, is far more important than what you paid for it on day one. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Only buy what's needed not what'll be handy.

Will only buy recognised marque.

No salesmen calling here as I have an electric gate at farm yard. That said one slipped the net yesterday selling minerals, got a short shrift. Any one notice that all the sales guys are fresh out of Ag college. Reinforces my view that college only educates most to work for someone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

delaval wrote: »
    Only buy what's needed not what'll be handy.

Will only buy recognised marque.

No salesmen calling here as I have an electric gate at farm yard. That said one slipped the net yesterday selling minerals, got a short shrift. Any one notice that all the sales guys are fresh out of Ag college. Reinforces my view that college only educates most to work for someone else.

That's a fairly narrow view on education. Did ya go to college yourself? :-)

munkus wrote: »
    That's a fairly narrow view on education. Did ya go to college yourself? :-)

Went from Oct to Dec of first year, spent book money on beer and was promptly removed by the boss.

70% of my classmates went to college and about 2% of them now work for themselves. I've noticed with family and friends that its all pressure to pass the exams with very little emphasis on the practical end of things.

A good training with a great mentor is what I'd call an education.

That said you need education to get into the graduate programmes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Went from Oct to Dec of first year, spent book money on beer and was promptly removed by the boss.

70% of my classmates went to college and about 2% of them now work for themselves. I've noticed with family and friends that its all pressure to pass the exams with very little emphasis on the practical end of things.

The other thing I noticed was how many graduates are 'underemployed'. What I mean is, they get their degree in say business, and then end up stacking shelves or working in supermacs. 55% of Americans are working a job that doesn't require the degree they hold..

Damo810 wrote: »
    The other thing I noticed was how many graduates are 'underemployed'. What I mean is, they get their degree in say business, and then end up stacking shelves or working in supermacs. 55% of Americans are working a job that doesn't require the degree they hold..

I've met many business graduates who can't do simple things like buy and sell.

I not criticising the graduate but the system that churns them out.

In my secondary school there was an A and B class. We in the B class were told that the lads in the A class were being educated to work for us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

In my secondary school there was an A and B class. We in the B class were told that the lads in the A class were being educated to work for us
    :D I guess people believe what they want to believe.
    The economic benefits of a degree published by Universities UK in February 2007, reports the average lifetime earnings of a graduate as £160,000 more than those of a non-graduate with two A-levels.

http://ww2.prospects.ac.uk/cms/ShowPage/Home_page/Main_menu___Research/Labour_market_information/Labour_market_FAQs/How_do_graduate_and_non_graduate_salaries_compare_/p!elkFpLg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

It might be that they will work forr us but they still get better paid for less work. By the way its good to know im not as quare as my wife makes out or maybe ye are all quare too, quare and negative

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

A teacher put it to us once. the ones up the front of the class are our lawyers and doctors. the ones in the middle are our teachers and guards and the ones down the back are those who will work the manual jobs, however he said there will be a couple who will be too stubborn and stupid to fail, one day they may put themselves so far into debt to buy a lorry or such and without even thinking about it end up with a fleet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 722 ✭✭✭P_Cash

I will try and make it before I buy it.. . . if at all possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,181 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Would agree, most of the employers and business people around here haven't gone to college , a lot of them served apprenticeships though

It might be that they will work forr us but they still get better paid for less work. By the way its good to know im not as quare as my wife makes out or maybe ye are all quare too, quare and negative

I've been accused of much and guilty of most but negative is a first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

I don't think i am a buyer....

Will buy what the cows need.... Or what I think they need... Have no interest in machinery (which drives father ballistic) e.g. we start our 30/40 year old loader off the welder....!

My dad is a bit of a concrete addict unfortunately....

P_Cash wrote: »
    I will try and make it before I buy it.. . . if at all possible

I sometimes have the same attitude as you.... Unfortunately, it can be cheaper to buy it off a lad making hundreds of the same thing....

I don't think i am a buyer....

Will buy what the cows need.... Or what I think they need... Have no interest in machinery (which drives father ballistic) e.g. we start our 30/40 year old loader off the welder....!

My dad is a bit of a concrete addict unfortunately....

Off the welder? =O how does that work??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

I was in the b class too… i think its true to life to be honest. Any guy i know that was in the a class would always be working for someone else. Us in the b class were interested in farming , horses, cars etc. The majority of us did apprenticeships or construction related college courses. Id say between us all were in every corner of the world and all getting on great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 722 ✭✭✭P_Cash

I sometimes have the same attitude as you.... Unfortunately, it can be cheaper to buy it off a lad making hundreds of the same thing....

not even that, but I have often found that you will spend 4 days F'ing and hammering trying to fix or make something out in the shed than taking the easy way out and take a 30 min trip to town and buying a new one for €40. .

its a man/diy thing i guess. . .

are we DIY because thats the way we are, able to do it.

or, is it the fact that we refuse the easy option. . get someone else. .

I like DIY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

jersey101 wrote: »
    Only thing I started with the welder on the tractor was a fire :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I think a lot of lads are only codding themselves. It's all how you view it in your head l suppose.

But we all work for ourselves and we all work for someone else too.

Sorry that statement might hurt a few lads brains this time of night. Forget l said anything :-)

jersey101 wrote: »

Jump leads from the welder to the battery....

This is one of those old big plant welders.... Cooled by oil I think.... Anyway does the job.. Couldn't justify spending 70000 on a machine that goes for at most an hour a day...

The cab is also falling asunder which is a pity... Have to wear waterproof jacket when driving it... If its raining... Poor me....:D

Jump leads from the welder to the battery....

This is one of those old big plant welders.... Cooled by oil I think.... Anyway does the job.. Couldn't justify spending 70000 on a machine that goes for at most an hour a day...

The cab is also falling asunder which is a pity... Have to wear waterproof jacket when driving it... If its raining... Poor me....:D

Some lads love hardship :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,884 ✭✭✭mf240

There was a c group in our school. Those guys were only there because that's where the bus stopped.

I've been accused of much and guilty of most but negative is a first

Thats a references to the other thread

mf240 wrote: »
    There was a c group in our school. Those guys were only there because that's where the bus stopped.

We had a D class as well.

One guy used to crush flies against the windows and eat them. Not sure why the rest of them were there.

Wouldn't never buy off someone who calls to the yard uninvited. They are always selling overpriced stuff ya don't need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

One guy used to crush flies against the windows and eat them. Not sure why the rest of them were there.

we had a,b,c,d a1 & b1 ….. B1 was bad!!! people learning to read at 14/15….

heard that guy done a sign language coarse after, think he went to south Africa since:D

As we used to ask after exams,"were you under water"----below C level

Seeing as I was in A, has any of ye got a job for me ???

Nope I've seen your drainage industry :D

You couldn't afford me :cool:

Your damn right I couldn't, what was it 5 metres a day :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

id class myself as a buyer.. I do my research and shop round always but if I need it I just get it as its another job ticked off of my list and one less thing to think about

going more online lately though:

This week:

Ebay.co.uk - CB2 clubman deluxe hunting lamp .. borrowed a neighbours and loved it, spare charger as his is shot also

McGraths.ie - solar electric fence and digital tester and 3 new leads
    did electrical.com- new hob
    animalfarmacy- allsure bullets and syringes etc

all stuff I needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Spend way too long thinking about things, mulling them over, researching them and then finally taking the plunge. All part of the game I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

The oul boy went into town yesterday to buy a couple of smartphones. He looks after the comms around here. The phone bills are paid out of an account in his name so it's his baby. I left him at it. This was his at least 6th trip since early Oct on the same job. He rang around dinnertime yesterday to get me to scan his licence on to an e-mail and send it to whatever shop he was in. I could hear the young sales guy in the background, the poor, pitiful, broken wretch. I reckon he was on the point of jacking the whole lot in. It was hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

The oul boy went into town yesterday to buy a couple of smartphones........He rang around dinnertime yesterday to get me to scan his licence on to an e-mail ........It was hilarious.

Are you sure it was a phone shop he went into? :-)