Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GArda recruitment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

cena wrote: »
    They are to start taking in applications for new garda tomorrow.

http://www.joe.ie/news/current-affairs/gardai-to-start-looking-for-new-recruits-from-tomorrow/

well you signing up

No, because I dont agree with most of the laws I'd be enforcing. Kicking people out of their own houses because they are not paying property tax will be one of the jobs on the list in a few years

• Site Banned Posts: 263 ✭✭Rabelais

It's a very positive development. It's a sign that the Department of Justice and Equality has a budget to play with. Expecting some high-quality applicants. Very positive news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

My application will tell them I'm a gender reassigned Rastafarian of Polish origin.

I intend suing the bejaysus out of the department in 2015.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭December2013

Where do you apply ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,095 ✭✭✭✭cena

Where do you apply ?

Public jobs.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭mutley18

Feck it I can't, I'm not from Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Public jobs.ie

So to apply you have to be:

18 to 35
    have a leaving cert
    and apply on publicjobs.ie

is there anything else?
    oh and whats the story with knowing Irish these days? Heard that was a requirement years ago (know next to nothing about the application process :o )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

So to apply you have to be:

18 to 35
    have a leaving cert
    and apply on publicjobs.ie

is there anything else?
    oh and whats the story with knowing Irish these days? Heard that was a requirement years ago (know next to nothing about the application process :o )

You won't need it for the initial process of aptitude test and interview. I think it's basic ordinary school Irish level they do in the College if you were to be accepted.

mutley18 wrote: »
    Feck it I can't, I'm not from Mayo.

Why do you have to be from mayo ?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Where do you apply ?
    Why do you have to be from mayo ?!

With this attitude you'll never make detective! :D

keith16 wrote: »
    With this attitude you'll never make detective! :D

Haha probably not .... But It's not for me I'm asking .. If you dectective thinking you would have copped :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,803 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

No, because I dont agree with most of the laws I'd be enforcing. Kicking people out of their own houses because they are not paying property tax will be one of the jobs on the list in a few years

Why didn't you pay the tax then....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

I had a look at some of the Garda recruitment threads over in Emergency Services... hours of entertainment.

The people who have wanted it all their lives/those who are currently Garda Reserves VS anybody else who has a passing interest in becoming a Garda.

It ain't pretty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

When did this happen?

Butterface wrote: »
    I had a look at some of the Garda recruitment threads over in Emergency Services... hours of entertainment.

The people who have wanted it all their lives/those who are currently Garda Reserves VS anybody else who has a passing interest in becoming a Garda.

It ain't pretty.

Have you got a link :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭okioffice84

They are to start taking in applications for new garda tomorrow.

http://www.joe.ie/news/current-affairs/gardai-to-start-looking-for-new-recruits-from-tomorrow/

well you signing up

I'm not sure you would pass the spelling and grammar test. Although you do write like a garda talks so maybe....

Have you got a link :)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1081

Any thread on that forum.. it seems to be the same lads battling it out and trying to turn off anybody else that expresses an interest in becoming a Garda that (a) hasn't always wanted to become one or (b) isn't a Garda Reserve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It ain't pretty.

Many also were on the 2008 campaign and had everything passed before the moratorium was put in place.

That final panel was never called.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1081

Any thread on that forum.. it seems to be the same lads battling it out and trying to turn off anybody else that expresses an interest in becoming a Garda that (a) hasn't always wanted to become one or (b) isn't a Garda Reserve.

Thank you so much:) I'm just finding out for someone else... Haha well they can try all they want at the end of the day won't put anyone off doing what they want :)

Many also were on the 2008 campaign and had everything passed before the moratorium was put in place.

That final panel was never called.

Ah, well that explains the high levels of begrudgery going on in that forum so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

With my level of liberal resitsnace and independent though..? Not a chacen they'll take me on...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

how does one apply for the position of Garda OUTLAW?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Aestivalis

Well you have to cut the guys in the garda recruitment forums some slack to be honest.
    Think about it, theere are hundreds and thousands of people in Ireland who's life long dreams, whos aspirations, and goals are to become police officers.

Completely normal like any job, no? And yet, they cant do it. They have minimal opportunity and MASSIVE competition for a small few places.
    Its soul crushing and destroying. Imagine waiting 5+ years for a job opening, checking weekly, trying to improve your skills etc only to not get accepted to a job position that should have relatively open opportunities.

Its horrible. There are fúck all opportunities in this country for millions of people. Aside from generic run of the mill office jobs and labour, the more specialised area's are very difficult to get into.

Garda
    Paramedic
    Fireman
    Train Driver

and I'm just listing 4 off the top of my head that I know are difficult as fúck to get a job in with todays job market.

Its only natural that people in this country feel let down, depressed, nowhere to go, without opportunity.

I have no interest in becoming a guard, so no I wont be applying but lets hope they offer a huge amount of places..because by god this country needs a lot more police.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭jantheman91

I'd rather sign up for the British Army and with the hatred I have for them it says enough.

I'm not sure you would pass the spelling and grammar test. Although you do write like a garda talks so maybe....

I did not proof read my post. So feck off

Well you have to cut the guys in the garda recruitment forums some slack to be honest.
    Think about it, theere are hundreds and thousands of people in Ireland who's life long dreams, whos aspirations, and goals are to become police officers.

Completely normal like any job, no? And yet, they cant do it. They have minimal opportunity and MASSIVE competition for a small few places.
    Its soul crushing and destroying. Imagine waiting 5+ years for a job opening, checking weekly, trying to improve your skills etc only to not get accepted to a job position that should have relatively open opportunities.

Its horrible. There are fúck all opportunities in this country for millions of people. Aside from generic run of the mill office jobs and labour, the more specialised area's are very difficult to get into.

Garda
    Paramedic
    Fireman
    Train Driver

and I'm just listing 4 off the top of my head that I know are difficult as fúck to get a job in with todays job market.

Its only natural that people in this country feel let down, depressed, nowhere to go, without opportunity.

I have no interest in becoming a guard, so no I wont be applying but lets hope they offer a huge amount of places..because by god this country needs a lot more police.

Yeah, but does aspiration to join the police force mean that they'll actually be any good at the job?

There are people on that forum giving out about the unfairness of the aptitude test.. as if their ambition alone should qualify them for a career in the force!

Yeah, but does aspiration to join the police force mean that they'll actually be any good at the job?

There are people on that forum giving out about the unfairness of the aptitude test.. as if their ambition alone should qualify them for a career in the force!

Not at all. There are plenty of people who wont get the job, and rightly so because they were unsuitable applicant.

Complaining about an aptitude test is completely normal. Welcome to boards.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Of the lads I know who want to apply, most are how shall I say? :confused: nutjobs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Met a few guards through work over the years and huge number of them are of very poor standard young and old

Dont knock peoples dream but fellas seem to want to become a guard or fireman for the status

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

ACAB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I'd rather sign up for the British Army and with the hatred I have for them it says enough.

Why I'd never sign up, could you imagine dealing with somebody with that attitude everyday?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,732 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Aestivalis wrote: »

Please tell us your not one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Aestivalis wrote: »
    Think about it, theere are hundreds and thousands of people in Ireland who's life long dreams, whos aspirations, and goals are only hope of a decent career is to become police officers.
    If I were to be cynical I'd include a need to command respect they would never manage to earn.

Please tell us your not one of them.

You didnt even read my post then.
    humbert wrote: »
    If I were to be cynical I'd include a need to command respect they would never manage to earn.

Thats great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

"legitimate targets" is it? I thought that was the PSNI?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭rustedtrumpet

Rather not, RATS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Rather not, RATS

Whens your court date?

SV wrote: »
    Whens your court date?

Minority Report?

People who tend to call Gardaí 'RATS' tend to be the type that have court dates often.

Ah take your head out of your arse would ya

Do you have any reason for calling them that then? Or are just trying to be cool on the internet?

Jokes are not supposed to be explained, I see you have had to do so with the past 2 jokes you made, in the space of 5 minutes on 2 different threads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

Rather not, RATS

Your so cool!

Jokes are not supposed to be explained, I see you have had to do so with the past 2 jokes you made, in the space of 5 minutes on 2 different threads.

what? lol, jesus I'm not trying to be a comedian and haven't tried to make any jokes but thanks for the lesson there!
    Nothing funny about a joke calling Gardaí rats but good chap yourself.

I would join if there was even the slightest hope I could use the line: "YOU'RE OFF YOUR CASE CHIEF!" But alas, I don't think Chief is a rank in the gards nor do I think they call them "cases"

Are they going to reopen some of the stations?

I would like to join but I don't think I would pass the aptitude test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

id say I would be a right corrupt guard... make the money fast from corruption before your booted out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,943 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Can you apply if you wear glasses ?
    Also if your colour blind ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭Shane-KornSpace

"Applicants Must have a proven proficiency in two languages; one of which must be Irish or English".

Taken from the booklet.

So I can't apply cause I don't speak a second language? Damn that sucks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Can you apply if you wear glasses ?
    Also if your colour blind ?

I think the more blind you are the better chance you have..think they do a test where they put a bike and an aeroplane in front of you..they ask you which one is the bike and if you point to the bike then you are automatically crossed off