Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Positive Farming Conference

• 10-12-2013 8:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭

hi all,
    i've been getting text's about this for a while now;
    seems it moved from the South Court Limerick to Clonmel
    http://www.positivefarmers.ie/index.htm
    i went to it a few years back when it was a one day event & price wasn't too high, now it €185:eek:

any of ye progressive farmers going?
    is it worth it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Positive farming conference - I dunno, it's a long way away and it might be raining....and shur farming is finished anyway. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

how much money do they make out of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Attended a few times absolute scam

In the height of the madness one of the speakers( an organiser), a poster boy of dairy farming spoke for one hour about the investment fund he had and they qued up to give him cheques.

The following year no sign when it was time to invest as property had gone tits up

It's a money making recket for the organisers. Same rabbits pulled from the same hats each year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Went last year. Ended having pints for the second half if the conference
    Thats how interesting it was

jersey101 wrote: »
    Went last year. Ended having pints for the second half if the conference
    Thats how interesting it was

did u learn any thing from the pints

milkprofit wrote: »
    did u learn any thing from the pints

nope. There was a good few lads asleep in the conference though come 3 oclock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Happy, clappy farmers conference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

I was on about running an alternative Negative farmers conference last year, we could all que up and chat about our failures and how bad things were. Kinda like an AA meeting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

I was on about running an alternative Negative farmers conference last year, we could all que up and chat about our failures and how bad things were. Kinda like an AA meeting.

would there be any alcohol involved,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

I thought you had enough of those meetings as it is every few days in the mart :P:D

HOW MUCH THE FEE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

HOW MUCH THE FEE

Free in, shure everyone will be complaining they're in the red.

I must come up with a suitable amount that will annoy you lads, how about €20 for a wrist band to be allowed access

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,566 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

I must come up with a suitable amount that will annoy you lads, how about €20 for a wrist band to be allowed access

How much if It's just a person that wants access. I don't need to bring in a wrist band.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

jfh wrote: »
    hi all,
    i've been getting text's about this for a while now;
    seems it moved from the South Court Limerick to Clonmel
    http://www.positivefarmers.ie/index.htm
    i went to it a few years back when it was a one day event & price wasn't too high, now it €185:eek:

any of ye progressive farmers going?
    is it worth it?
    Nothing positive about the price :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭poor farmer

Good man Bob, You should make it mandatory that those attending are well Cut before being let in.
    We cant even complain about The weather .

How much if It's just a person that wants access. I don't need to bring in a wrist band.

bloody free loaders. pints lads are a fiver as its a nice round figure.

We will be starting with the big farmer versus small farmer SFP debate. I have arranged two special guests to argue both sides with passion. Mr Freedominacup is a great man to argue the I deserve it side cos im a big farmer :D:D , while Conmaicne Mara will be his fierce some opponent arguing for the small farmers from way out west:).

A discussion on - how much good, the IFA do for Irish farmers with Rancher giving a presentation.

The IFJ are looking to know if we could include a presentation about - why all New Zealand practices should be adopted here straight away. Im undecided as of yet about this section

We are hoping for a carnival atmosphere for the final topic of the day with the -
    my Holsteins are better than your Jerseys/Friesians debate. We are still looking for guest speakers for this section so if you have nominations please let me know.

And many more topics to follow

It has being pointed out to me that no cans,bottles or pint glasses will be allowed in the conference room incase these objects are used as missiles to target our many guest speakers

We will be starting with the big farmer versus small farmer SFP debate. I have arranged two special guests to argue both sides with passion. Mr Freedominacup is a great man to argue the I deserve it side cos im a big farmer :D:D , while Conmaicne Mara will be his fierce some opponent arguing for the small farmers from way out west:).

A discussion on - how much good, the IFA do for Irish farmers with Rancher giving a presentation.

The IFJ are looking to know if we could include a presentation about - why all New Zealand practices should be adopted here straight away. Im undecided as of yet about this section

We are hoping for a carnival atmosphere for the final topic of the day with the -
    my Holsteins are better than your Jerseys/Friesians debate. We are still looking for guest speakers for this section so if you have nominations please let me know.

And many more topics to follow

It has being pointed out to me that no cans,bottles or pint glasses will be allowed in the conference room incase these objects are used as missiles to target our many guest speakers

Bob maybe you could give a talk on how to select the right "breeding heifer"

and she "who cant be named" might give a talk on selecting the right barbecue

As guest speaker I will require two things
    • Free dhrink.
    • That the chairs are bolted to the floor :D

Also, where are Teagasc in your plans Bob?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

I'll provide the security detail for the speakers and one detail just for Mara himself to make sure he behaves himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

I'll provide the security detail for the speakers and one detail just for Mara himself to make sure he behaves himself

You'll have to enlist some mercenaries to mind that lad.

mahoney j and delavel would be best for this. There would be fight by the end of it id say :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

No voting or debating allowed on the cap agreement . Two sides in a tug of war and let the victors take all the pillar two funding !
    The discussion on the best breeding heifer should have examples on display .
    The farmer that gives the best poor mouth spiel should be crowned " king of the farmers "
    This would make a class day out , Boards might fund the tent if we asked nicely

Is there a dress code for this event? I need to know as I've no floaty fancy shoes and wish to get info on a grant for them. That or I'm turning up in Bekinas and a smelly jacket with frayed cuffs.

boating shoes are a must for any man serious about farming and his fashion :D

boating shoes were mentioned

maybe bodacious could demonstrate that spoons maneuver he was on about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

hugo29 wrote: »
    boating shoes were mentioned

maybe bodacious could demonstrate that spoons maneuver he was on about

That's a whole other show.:eek:

well with calving season coming up it could come in handy. was mentioned in a other thread about flipping the cow onto her back to loosen her hips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

well with calving season coming up it could come in handy. was mentioned in a other thread about flipping the cow onto her back to loosen her hips

Jaysus:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

I'd use tequila and red bull, has the same effect

:D, thats what i thought too, but who am i to question these methods

i prefere lube meself

:eek: jayus jersey, whatever you rub on to yourself is yer own business,

At first glance I thought you said you were turning up in a Bekini.
    Mental image! OUCHE

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    At first glance I thought you said you were turning up in a Bekini.
    Mental image! OUCHE

No, I'd never put the rest of ye to shame by doing that :D

Ive a feeling this thread is going to be closed :(

:eek: jayus jersey, whatever you rub on to yourself is yer own business,

i was talking about the cows.....honestly i was :D

Ive a feeling this thread is going to be closed :(

hopefully not as my conference needs all the publicity it can get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

moy83 wrote: »
    No voting or debating allowed on the cap agreement . Two sides in a tug of war and let the victors take all the pillar two funding !
    The discussion on the best breeding heifer should have examples on display .
    The farmer that gives the best poor mouth spiel should be crowned " king of the farmers "
    This would make a class day out , Boards might fund the tent if we asked nicely

That wouldn't be fair because the big farmers have an unfair advantage in the tug of war....cause they are big.

Is he speaking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,566 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

bloody free loaders.

That's the spirit Bob. It is a negative farming conference and with everything else being so bad we can't be affording to pay a fortune like that positive farming conference.
    On the plus side your pints at a €5 while on the expensive side are still less than I had to pay in Dublin the last time I was there.

Jasus is there something in the water with ye lot

Is he speaking

it will be 30 quid in, if you want to me to get in touch with Jesus to see if he could say a few words. hearing what the best of the worst have to say costs money

towzer2010 wrote: »
    That wouldn't be fair because the big farmers have an unfair advantage in the tug of war....cause they are big.

Ah but the small west of ireland farmers are way more used to pulling cows, horses and tractors out of drains and bog holes !

Well im in training anyway. I've been pulling the The old 65 around the yard all evening.

Good man , we will cream them big boys ! I was pulling the two young lads apart for half the evening so im getting used to it myself aswell

Feck it I just realised the bi.tch is seized. I've been burning rubber all evening.
    Nothing to worry about id say, most of those big lads do most of there farming from the cab of a landcruiser.

Feck it I just realised the bi.tch is seized. I've been burning rubber all evening.
    Nothing to worry about id say, most of those big lads do most of there farming from the cab of a landcruiser.

You must be practicing your poor mouth speech aswell , with your siezed 65 !

:D:D Is she a mark I or II

What are you on about poor mouth.shes perfect for the little prick.s of fields we have down here. And great for drawing stones in from the same fields.;-) lucly tis a short draw. ......