Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the longest journey you've been on?

• 08-12-2013 10:47am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 580 ✭✭✭

And where?

3.5 hours for me. I'm very adventurous, obviously. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

Flying to St. Louis Missouri for a wedding...with a 2 year old my boyfriend's divorced parent's. Drive waterford -dublin, fly Dublin to Chicago, flight from Chicago to St.Louis cancelled, finally get a flight that night but can see lightening in the distance :( arrive st.Louis and our bags were lost. Fml

Don't even know how long it too, but way too long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

An unbearably schweaty train journey through the night from Eastern to Southern Europe. Scheduled to be about 11 hours, was delayed a few more in some godforesaken Croatian place.

It was probably cheaper to fly. Never again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

My Xfactor "journey".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

I took a train from Fremantle-Perth to Adelaide, think that took about 2 days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Life.

36 years and counting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭danwhite88

Driving from New Jersey to Tampa Florida, Took two days but stopped over in motels.

Also travelling from London to Dublin by train and boat. 13 hours travelling altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Life.

36 years and counting.

Counting backwards though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

I find any travel on my own very long. To the extent that I've turned down loads of business trips to Aisa and the US because I'd have to travel alone.

I had a 12 hour flight from Heathrow to Dallas years ago, we had "technical" problems before takeoff and had to sit on the runway for 2 hours.
    14 hours sitting beside total strangers was just torture.

And then on the return journey I got stuck beside a yank with verbal diorea, 12 hours of non stop babble babble babble. Even when I put the blanket over my head and pretended to sleep he kept talking !!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Mine is a flight from Dublin - London to Kuala Lumpur. During heavy snow, so couldnt leave the runway for about 2 hoirs.

However, I know my brother travelled for 7 days Straight coming by land/boat from Beijing to Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Counting backwards though?

Ha! If i get another 36 years I'll be happy enough. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭digger58

Limerick to Thessaloniki in an L200 with a double Ifor Williams horsebox. There and back in 10 days! No Horses BTW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

By campervan cairns to Perth c 18 days. By flight Shannon to London to Singapore to Sydney to Auckland to Wellington left Monday morn 5.30 arrived Wellington Wednesday afternoon 4 pm New Zealand time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Dublin to Mombasa (Kenya) via Heathrow and Jeddah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Australia....

17 hours to get there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Dublin to Newark Liberty Airport: 6 hours or so
    Stopover: 3 hours
    Newark Liberty Airport to McCarran Airport Las Vegas: 5 hours

Totally worth the trip. Viva Las Vegas, baby...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

A flight from Orlando to Dublin via Gander, Cork and Shannon with an hour-and-a-half stopover in Gander in the middle of the night. There were many technical issues including no sound for the film and water dripping on my head constantly. I think it only took around 13 hours but never again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,491 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Longest journey was Derry to California. Bus to Dublin 4 hours flight to London 1 hour to Toronto 7 hours then Toronto to LA 5 hours then 2 hour drive from LA to California mountains.

Longest flight London to Vegas 13 hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

boobar wrote: »
    Australia....

17 hours to get there

Pfft

Took me 31 hours to get there, don't think I've ever been more bored in my entire life!

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Ahhhhh its grand

Train from Beijing to Shenzhen, 23 hours, never again. Thought I was being smart paying by only 50 euro and saving about 100 euro by not flying. Felt like jumping in front of fecking thing halfway through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭BetterThanThou

Drove from Dublin to Doncaster and back without booking into a hotel or sleeping, whole journey was about 26 hours. Probably worked out around 20 hours if you count only the time spent traveling.
    Furthest distance was either Tenerife or Cyprus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Ha! If i get another 36 years I'll be happy enough. :p

Another 36 years, the way you're going you will be back in Bagdad :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

Sydney to warburton wa via Melbourne across the nullarbor and into Perth before hooking back to the great central road and onto warburton. Best road trip ever can't remember how long it took but it was over a week as we weren't in a rush

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Cochabamba, Bolivia ----> Santa Cruz De La Sierra, Bolivia ----> Buenos Aires, Argentina ---> Madrid, spain ----> Dublin, Ireland ----> Athlone Ireland.

13,818km total if we were to pretend that I travelled between each in straight lines, so you could probably round it up to 15,000km.

Bus, flight, flight, flight, bus. about 3 hours sleep on the flight between Buenos Aires and Madird.

16 hours in Sant Cruz before my flight.
    15 hours layover in Buenos Aires.
    4 hour flight delay (+ original 3 hour layover) in Madrid (**** you Aer Lingus)
    7 hour wait in Dublin Airport (thanks to the Aerlingus delay, I missed the last bust back to Athlone and had to wait until the morning).

So was a long auld travel "day".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

From my hometown to the city I now work in. It was about 30 hours. A taxi, three busses, two planes, another bus, another plane, and then another taxi. It was 7 weeks ago, and I still feel mentally exhausted after it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭JamBur

Drove from Cork to Sibiu, in Romania, and back again. Took a bit of a meandering route:) 6000km round trip!

I was in a bus from Florianopolis in the south of Brazil, to Manaus in the north. An american lad blocked the toilet on the bus.............not pleasant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Overnight train through Egypt, around 9/10 hours. Awake - probably another train journey which was 6 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭timmy4u2

On a flight my longest journey was to South Africa. Dublin to Heatrow. Heathrow to JoBurg and Joburg to Cape Town. Around 14 hrs.
    My longest -non stop in that the journey was not broken-driving journey was by jeep to Bulgaria and back bringing a Jeep to an orphanage in Romania, full of parts.

Rosslaire to Cherbourg 17 hrs on boat. Drive from Cherbourg across France below Paris, Le Mans, Orleans, into Germany, Nurenberg, Salzburg into Austria, down to Grad after crossing the Austrian Alps, Into Hungary.

Through Hungary and its lorry rutted roads, skirt south of Budapest and into Romania at Arad and going south to Timisaoira,skirting along the border of Serbia following the Danube to cross into Bulgaria via the New Vidin bridge , on to Plevin, collected two people there and on to Ruse to cross the Danube back inro Romania towards Bucharest.

Took two days to drive then down to Plovdiv, plane to London and on to Shannon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

We did this for spring break (WHOHOO!) about 8 years ago. I took bloody longer than the 17 hours 37 minutes that google says too, more like 22-23. We travelled in a 7 seater chevrolet yoke and did it in one swoop with a few stops to stretch the legs - the yank lads took turns driving, they didn't think we could drive an auto on the right :confused:

Anyway, it culminated in Paddy's Day on South Beach, Miami which included a massive multinational game of ball - people just kept strolling up asking to play in all their different languages, it was savage!

We did the return trip 6 days later. It was still snowing in Cleveland. Quality holiday!

Sorry for going into a bit of a yarn but the subject of the thread got me reminicsing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭timmy4u2

Columbia wrote: »
    From my hometown to the city I now work in. It was about 30 hours. A taxi, three busses, two planes, another bus, another plane, and then another taxi. It was 7 weeks ago, and I still feel mentally exhausted after it.
    Is that what they call a mystery tour:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

2 years. Dublin to Dublin via the world.

Longest continuous was a few days. Vancouver to Oklahoma driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,151 ✭✭✭Daith

Three day train ride from Vancouver to Toronto. Also a 36hour bus ride in Chile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Longest 'day' of travelling probably from Preston to Falmouth by bicycle. Left around 7am on a Wednesday morning, arrived around 1pm on Thursday. Clocked up about 600km in between.

Longest over-all trip thus far was probably this Summer, meandering bike tour through South-East Europe and Turkey. 3 and a bit weeks, roughly 3000km through Bulgaria, Turkey, Greece, Albania and Macedonia.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Left Dundalk 3.30AM on a Monday morning and arrived in Poznan at 11.30PM that night, Had my 1st can at 3.30am and remember having vodkas in Poznan that night, Great Day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Bra to knickers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

I,ve often driven from Germany or Ireland to west Africa - Senegal, Mali or Guinea Bissau. usually in vans and trucks, 6 days was the best 8 was more usual. That's 16-18 hours driving, sleep 6 hours, then drive again, every day.

A few years ago when you need a convoy from Morocco to Mauritania it took 8 days minimum, more like 10 in reality.

Vladivostok to Moscow by train in 1997. 11 days, 10 nights, it was a goods train with passenger compartments. We had to take the goods train as we had a car strapped onto one of the wagons. Very comfortable, very interesting talking to the people we met but 11 days is hard going. (I think the passenger train is normally 3 days faster). Stayed one night in Moscow, left the next morning at 7 a.m and drove three days straight to Germany, most of the time was lost in queues at the borders.

Dublin to Melbourne via London and Singapore. About 36 hours or so.

If I was doing it again, I'd probably stop for a few nights in Asia somewhere to break it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

http://imgur.com/WXUehmR

Albuquerque > LA via Route 66. LA to SF via Route 1. SF to Vegas via Yosemite Valley. Vegas to Albuquerque.

Six days and 2415 miles in a truck averaging about 11 mpg. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Vancouver to Toronto. 4 days hitchhiking

Longest continuous drive was Albuquerque to Austin > 12hrs overnight. 762 miles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭R019912

London to Bangkok with Thai Airways. Best flight of my life. 3 seats to myself and amazing food, with hot Thai air hostesses. Yay

R019912 wrote: »
    London to Bangkok with Thai Airways. Best flight of my life. 3 seats to myself and amazing food, with hot Thai air hostesses. Yay

Did they also have a mild option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Many different hauls but the worst one was interrailing from Athens to Istanbul on an hot overcrowded train. We couldn't even get seats and had to site on the floor, the journey was something like 18 hours.
    I did a similar train journey from Mumbai to Trivandrum once but had a cot so was all good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Six hours. Dublin to Galway on a packed Bus Eireann coach, before the M6 opened. Almost two of those hours were spent in Moate. Quite grim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

Probably flying from Dublin to Beijing. Think that took about 20 hours. that journey wasnt so bad though. I also took a slow train in China from Xian to Shanghai. That took 15 hours but it was horrible. There were loads of people smoking, spitting and smelling strange.

I once went on a road trip that was from San Diego, California, to Sante Fe, New Mexico. It was a 14 hour (when you include all the stops we had to take) drive, covering 800 miles with some of it through desert. At some points the temperature outside topped 40-50 Celcius and the car we were driving in had no air conditioning. That plus the leather seats in the back made for uncomfortable conditions. I have to say that it was some of the most dazzling scenery I've ever seen, with us passing a train that was well over a mile long with the amount of carriages it had. It even had a small plane on one of them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

LHR to LAX for a Mayweather fight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Flights wise Dublin to Auckland via Los Angles. 24 hours. I was so jet lagged when I arrived that I felt like I was in a different dimension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭NoCrackHaving

I didn't do this personally but had a mate who did a race from Prague to Beijing by car, broke down in rural Mongolia at one point, interesting experience.

Isn't that the Mongol Rally from Prague to Ulaanbaatar in Mongolia? One litre cars or less? 10k mile trip...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

Auckland-Melbourne-KL-Amsterdam-Dublin

Absolute hellish trip. I was 8 hours walking around Melbourne airport at night.