Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster vs Perpignan, Sun 8 Dec 12:45pm; Sky Sports

• 06-12-2013 11:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Munster:
    15 Felix Jones, 14 Keith Earls, 13 Casey Laulala, 12 James Downey, 11 Johne Murphy, 10 Ian Keatley, 9 Conor Murray,
    8 James Coughlan, 7 Sean Dougall, 6 Peter O'Mahony (c), 5 Paul O'Connell, 4 Donncha O'Callaghan, 3 Stephen Archer, 2 Damien Varley, 1 Dave Kilcoyne

Replacements: 16 Duncan Casey, 17 James Cronin, 18 BJ Botha, 19 Billy Holland, 20 CJ Stander, 21 Cathal Sheridan, 22 JJ Hanrahan, 23 Denis Hurley

Perpignan:
    15 James Hook (c), 14 Joffrey Michel, 13 Tommaso Benvenuti, 12 Watisoni Votu, 11 Sofiane Guitoune, 10 Camille Lopez,
    9 Tom Ecochard, 8 Justin Purll, 7 Al Strokosch, 6 Jean-Pierre Perez, 5 Guillaume Vilaceca, 4 Luke Charteris, 3 Paulica Ion, 2 Romain Terrain, 1 Sébastien Taofifenua

Replacements: 16 Maxime Delonca, 17 Kisi Pulu, 18 Jean Baptiste Custoja, 19 Sébastien Vahaamahina, 20 Dewaldt Duvenage, 21 Tommy Allan, 22 Richard Haughton, 23 Dan Leo

Date: Sunday 8th December
    Venue: Thomond Park
    Kick-off: 1245 (local and GMT)
    Referee: Greg Garner (England)
    Assistant referees: Tim Wigglesworth, Stuart Terheege (both England)
    TMO: Sean Davey

Had a decent part of a preview written but I somehow deleted the tab. :o

Anyway, in short, don't let Guitoune get near the ball and don't give Hook too many shots at goal! Perpignan are missing a few players from 1-9 including Taumalolo, Guirado, Romain Taofifenua, Narraway with Duvenage on the bench but 10-15 is still very strong even in the absence of Mafi, Marty and Mkejevu.

I reckon Munster should be alright for a close win, but the question is can the partnership of Downey and Laulala that has never really clicked consistently set the platform for our back three to put their defence under pressure. Munster's defence has been good this year and the discipline needs to match it, Hook will keep the scoreboard ticking over for Perpignan and they have plenty gamebreakers to cause us problems.

Prediction? 54 votes

Munster
    0%
    Perpignan
    98%
    puntosportingmoby2101[Jackass]Dermo123cee_jayFeederNewtown90budhabobRiskymoveKristopherusFoxtrolmurphym7pappyodanielduckysaucecallaway92Rigor MortisScrubsfanChrisstevensieyebrows63Heroditas 53 votes
    Nigel Wray
    1%
    Grimebox 1 vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Are you familiar with tables down in Munster. It's very difficult to read your team sheets ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

durkadurka wrote: »
    Are you familiar with tables down in Munster. It's very difficult to read your team sheets ...

Were gonna have to loan molloyjh to Munster for a while to teach them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭19543261

Tables may be a bit above their ability level. Let's not overwhelm them.

Excellent table example.

Saturday, December 7th
    13:35 - 15:35 frASM Clermont Auvergne vs. Llanelli Scarletswa Live
    rugby Rugby: Heineken Cup
    Saturday, December 7th
    13:35 - 15:35 enExeter Chiefs vs. RC Toulonfr Live
    Saturday, December 7th
    13:35 - 15:35 itZebre vs. Saracensen Live
    Saturday, December 7th
    15:40 - 17:40 frRacing Metro vs. Harlequinsen Live
    Saturday, December 7th
    18:00 - 20:00 enNorthampton Saints vs. Leinsterie Live
    Saturday, December 7th
    18:00 - 20:00 ixUlster Rugby vs. Benetton Trevisoit Live
    rugby Rugby: European Challenge Cup!
    Saturday, December 7th
    20:00 - 22:00 frGrenoble vs. London Wasps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 541 ✭✭✭accidentprone1

19543261 wrote: »
    Excellent table example.

Saturday, December 7th

0.o

I don't even... What? All I can see is "rugby Rugby".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

durkadurka wrote: »

Below is one of your posts, look at the highlighted.

Leinster v Castres, Sat 20 Oct 3.40 on Sky
    LEINSTER:

15: Rob Kearney
    14: Fergus McFadden
    13: Brendan Macken
    12: Gordon D'Arcy
    11: Dave Kearney
    10: Jimmy Gopperth
    9: Isaac Boss

1: Cian Healy
    2: Sean Cronin
    3: Martin Moore
    4: Devin Toner
    5: Mike McCarthy
    6: Kevin McLaughlin
    7: Sean O'Brien
    8: Jamie Heaslip CAPTAIN

REPLACEMENTS:

16: Aaron Dundon
    17: Jack McGrath
    18: Michael Bent
    19: Quinn Roux
    20: Rhys Ruddock
    21: Eoin Reddan
    22: Ian Madigan
    23: Luke Fitzgerald
    CASTRES OLYMPIQUE:
    15: Brice Dulin
    14: Romain Martial
    13: Romain Cabannes
    12: Remi Lamerat
    11: Max Evans
    10: Remi Tales CAPTAIN
    9: Rory Kockott
    1: Mihaita Lazar
    2: Brice Mach
    3: Anton Peikrishvili
    4: Richie Gray
    5: Rodrigo Capo Ortega
    6: Jannie Bornman
    7: Pedrie Wannenburg
    8: Antonie Claassen
    REPLACEMENTS:
    16: Marc-Antoine Rallier
    17: Karena Wihongi
    18: Saimone Taumoepeau
    19: Christophe Samson
    20: Ibrahim Diarra
    21: Julien Tomas
    22: Geoffrey Palis
    23: Daniel Kirkpatrick
    REFEREE: Greg Garner (RFU), ASSISTANT REFEREES: Martin Fox (RFU), Robin Goodliffe (RFU), 4th OFFICIAL: Eanna O'Dowd (IRFU), 5th OFFICIAL: Gary Glennon (IRFU), TMO: Graham Hughes (RFU)

I don't know how to do tables.
    but I know that's a full strength Castres team.
    And with Castres beating Northampton last week, winning the French title a few months ago and Leinster missing Cullen, God, Strauss et al, I'd take any win.

If anyone has a serious write up then please update this Mods.
    I don't do sexy write ups, but I do get fcuked off when no match thread appears.

19543261 wrote: »
    Excellent table example.

Saturday, December 7th

Has to be the worst example i have ever seen... anyway, this is a game thread

• Administrators Posts: 54,834 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Must win for Munster really. Think you'll do grand.

awec wrote: »
    Must win for Munster really. Think you'll do grand.

I thought that for the Edinb game :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

I thought that for the Edinb game :(

Yeah I know where you're coming from there, but I still think Munster should be well able for this one. HEC rugby at home in Thomond alone is a factor. Perpignan are a long way from the quality of Toulon or Clermont so should be beatable. I'd agree with comments above though that the centre pairing for Munster doesn't inspire huge confidence, but if players like Jones can get on LLLs shoulder even a couple of times during the game it should be enough to open Perpignan up.

Munster by 10+ for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,309 ✭✭✭former legend

Perpignan
    Don't mind this ****e about tables, stick in a prediction poll.

double post. nothing to see here.

Has to be the worst example i have ever seen... anyway, this is a game thread

........:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Perpignan
    Vahaamahina not starting, is he not a regular, no? I don't know much about them really, but their front row still looks pretty strong..... Would worry about our scrum tbh.

Looks like our pack is where we can win this though, play a nice, error-free game. Go through the phases...and if we get on the front foot, then we can use the likes of Laulala, Jones and Earls and hopefully open them up a bit.

Think it'll be tight enough though. And I hate these early kick-offs....suppose I'll leave home at around 11. Wonder will there be many Perpignan fans over...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Perpignan
    Can't see anything but a Munster walk over here.

Perpingan are a distinctly average team at the best of times, not least when they're away from home in Europe, missing half their first team and have a relegation battle to consider back in the Top14.

They might give Munster a game in the second leg of the tie, but I doubt it. T'was a handy ould draw for ye lot yet again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 157 ✭✭uggybear

Perpignan
    not a bad line-up for Munster, a walk in the park but still should be a competitive game from both sides. Wouldn't want to repeat an average non-convincing performance like the Gloucester game. Should've won that game by a mile!

Perpignan
    Big markers laid down by both Ulster and Leinster today.

Are we going to follow suit? I would love us to show some sort of meaningful performance for once...we've failed to make it all click yet this season, at least in big games.

So, the first half against Cardiff delivered against Perpignan would be great to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭finatron

[Jackass] wrote: »
    relegation battle to consider back in the Top14.

In 9th place from 14 not really relegation battle is it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,625 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

finatron wrote: »
    In 9th place from 14 not really relegation battle is it

Actually with the top14 as balanced as it is this season they should have an eye on la barrage.

Perpignan
    Perp have a very good backline but a weak enough pack, unusual for them.

If Munster can keep it tight and starve Lopez of ball, this should be handy enough.

I'd say Munster by 10-15 points, a try BP is not out of the question if they can get an early score or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Fancy Munster to win today and continue the form of the Irish teams this weekend. Not sure they will get a BP but they should win by a score.

Perpignan
    Leaving now... Hon Munster!! Hoping for a convincing performance more than anything... Earls to score a try,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

Perpignan
    Really looking forward to this, mainly because literally anything could happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭marvsins

Perpignan
    Just to give people an idea, the bookies have the handicap at -12 for Munster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Taxi for the Munster tannoy guy. Is it so difficult to learn how to pronounce names?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,668 ✭✭✭Mahatma Geansai

Sheehan commentating...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Anatidaephobia

I had no idea James Hook is only 28. It seems like he's been around much longer than that.

BEAUTIFUL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Boom!

Great stuff from Murray there. Awful, awful defense from Perpignan.

Perpignan
    Lovely offload from Murray.

Hook was feckin abysmal there!

Perpignan
    Is there a massive wind behind Munster or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Alpha Dog 1

Great start, hopefully we can build on it.

Is there a massive wind behind Munster or something?

Yeah looks like it.

Perpignan
    Great stuff from Earls. Where in the jaysus has Johnny Murphy's form come from? Havign some season.

molloyjh wrote: »
    Yeah looks like it.

The length of Johne Murphy's kick there!

Jesus Perpignans line speed is pensioner type stuff giving Munster so much room. Munster have to get the TBP win here.

Perpignan
    This is going to be a paddlin'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭ScissorPaperRock

Franky Sheehan: "Casey Lawala".

Is Hurley one of Frankie's clients?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

Keatley and Murphy playing well so far. Great rob by earls.

Lived in Perpignan for a couple of summers, have their jersey actually and have been to a couple of their games. Not safe to mention that in UL this year though:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭Kanrith

Really positive signs from Munster so far.

Keatley penalty 10-0.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

Nice opening stanza from Munster. Conor Murray must be just about the best SH in the NH, bullet pass today so far and good decision making. Great to see Earls back from injury.

Great step from Earls but desperate final ball.....

ARGH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Perpignan
    Shocking pass by Earls after a great step...

I can see this being similar to the Brive game a few years back.

Murray looks in trouble there. Get up lad, get up.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭grohlisagod

How did they butcher that?