Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AH Careers Day! What's your job, and what do you love/hate about it?

• 06-12-2013 1:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

(NB: Not an actual careers day. There will be no pamphlets.)
    • What is your job?
    • What do you love about it?
    • What do you hate about it?

I work in customer service in a call centre.
    I enjoy the daily social buzz that goes along with working in such a large call centre.
    I dislike talking all day because my throat gets sore every few weeks, voice starts to go, and I dislike listening to moaning/complaining for half the day.

You?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭barry181091

Still in college, but I worked in a large MNC relating to Hardware/Software engineering.
    I enjoyed the freedom the job gave, no clocking in BS. Could go for a break, have coffee, anything like that whenever you wanted.
    I disliked the monotony of sitting in front of a computer for 9 hours. Unlike the poster above, there was no real daily social buzz either, people just sort of kept to themselves.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I'm a bean counter. The kind of beans I count are phone calls and emails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,875 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I'm in Administration, SAP mostly.
    What I like is that I've made some good friends and sometimes the work is rewarding.
    What I don't like is the why managers act, some probably not even qualified to manage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

whirlpool wrote: »
    • What is your job?

1. Unemployed.
    2. The hours are great.
    3. The pay isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭brevity

What is your job?

I'm a software engineer.

What do you love about it?

I like the problem solving aspect of it.

What do you hate about it?

The workload and constantly shifting priorities by people who don't fully understand what I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭Captain Farrell

CEO of a company I started myself 22 years ago.
    Love the fact that realistically I now only work for about four hours per week, delegating the rest to the directors.
    Hate the fact that as much as i want to retire early, I can never see myself selling off a company that feels a part of me. And also that I've had to lay people off at times in the recession. Unavoidable, maybe, painful definitely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'm self-employed.

I love my co-workers.

I hate the boss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

[*]What is your job?
    [*]What do you love about it?
    [*]What do you hate about it?

Run my own business.

It only works 9 months of the year in sunny climates.

Nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Civil service
    Doss on boards all day & great pay :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

James Bond type (although NOT for the UK).

Love: Travel, Interesting People, Good Pay, Nice Gadgets, Cracking Heads, Riding.

Hate: Getting Shot, Getting Tortured, Occasional Work-related Accidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

What is your job? Boner - removing bones from meat.

What do you love about it? Nothing

What do you hate about it? I'm surrounded by boners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Beauty Therapist.

I love how going to work doesn't feel like work, it's fun and you can really get to know people so much that you can look forward to some people coming in. It breaks up the day. It's a good feeling when someone comes in, has stuff done and leaves so happy with how they look or feel.

The pay is crap, the hours can be long and people can treat you like you're an absolute thick.

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Civil service
    Doss on boards all day & great pay :D

FFS, duck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Rental management for flats

What do I love: there's a lot of autonomy with the job, and while the hours can be long (don't really mind that) the pay is decent

What do I hate: the constant moaning, the occasional aggro, the junkies I have to deal with and the fact that rent day can be a little dangerous given the amount of cash you end up carrying around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭tobsey

brevity wrote: »
    What is your job?

I'm a software engineer.

The workload and constantly shifting priorities by people who don't fully understand what I do.
    Same for me, and probably the same for every other software developer.

Though the money is pretty good too.

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Rental management for flats

What do I love: there's a lot of autonomy with the job, and while the hours can be long (don't really mind that) the pay is decent

What do I hate: the constant moaning, the occasional aggro, the junkies I have to deal with and the fact that rent day can be a little dangerous given the amount of cash you end up carrying around

Where are ya based, luv? If ya want I could give ya a hand carri-en dat cash for ye. Secure, like, y'know? Ya can't be too careful, luv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Jarrod

Where are ya based, luv? If ya want I could give ya a hand carri-en dat cash for ye. Secure, like, y'know? Ya can't be too careful, luv.

I thought they got you once the Gardai stopped the 24 hour surveillance...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

realies wrote: »

[*]What is your job?
    [*]What do you love about it?
    [*]What do you hate about it?

Run my own business.

It only works 9 months of the year in sunny climates.

Nothing.

Banana boats? It's banana boats!!

Myself? I make soup.

I like making soup.

Nothing bad about making soup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

• What is your job?
    • What is your job? Accountant
    • What do you love about it? All the lovely number to add up. :)
    • What do you hate about it? When the lovely numbers don't add up. :mad:
    Retired, actually. Love it.

Jarrod wrote: »
    I thought they got you once the Gardai stopped the 24 hour surveillance...

Wha'? Wha' arr yooo on?

Spacehr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭ZzubZzub

I'm a nurse.

I love going into work every day, even for 15 hour shifts! I love helping someone who desperately needs it, being there for someone in their last hours so they're not alone and knowing you've made even a little difference to someones life.

I hate that I can't help everyone.
    And the stereotype that I sit around eating chocolates all day while the health care assistants do all the work. An unfortunately common stereotype.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

brevity wrote: »
    What is your job?

I'm a software engineer.

Literally everything said here is true for me too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭homemadecider

What is your job?

I'm an aid worker. I work fulltime for one of the big international NGOs.

Working with super smart, compassionate and passionate people. I get to travel to Africa a lot so I get to see a lot of bonkers places. I sometimes meet people who have never seen a white person before; sometimes they are terrified of my very pale skin and roaring red hair. I love the feeling of contributing to helping people who need it, though I know that sounds so bloody cliched.

Sometimes people I've just met in the pub will ask what I do for a living, then spend the next 30 minutes going on about how aid is a waste of money and how we should 'help our own' instead of sending money to 'the brown babies' (yes, people do this say). FFS, I'm in the pub after a long and stressful week of work, let's just talk about the weather or tell terrible jokes.

It's also very difficult to come back from trips to certain countries after seeing the conditions that people live in, it makes you feel more motivated to keep working and doing your job well.

Lastly I always come back very jumpy if I've been staying in a place where there has been gunfire. Or tarantulas. Or both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

I don't have a career really.
    What I'm doing is basically office management, but I'm on an entry level grade.

What I like, I'm quite good at a number of parts of it, and I like when I'm well prepared and ahead of everyone in terms of knowing their needs etc.

What I hate, every ****ing thing. The people, but mostly the way the place is run. It's awful. Poor communication, managers that can't and shouldn't be doing their jobs, getting paid way too much for it too. Everyone does their best, they really do but some just shouldn't be at it.
    I realised today that I'm getting paid less than what I was getting paid in college on work experience. My brother in law manages a bar and gets paid much more than me. I'm doing an office manager job but getting paid ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

What is your job? PR Manager

What do you love about it? The money is good (could be better)

What do you hate about it? Long hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

What is your job?

Im work as a patient advisor

Very rewarding job when things go good, seeing people get out of hospitals to go home and all for christmas for example

Its very stressful dealing with terminally ill people. Dealing with grieving families daily. Terminally ill children. Monotonous days sitting in front of a computer taking their toll on me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 ShadyLane

I'm a physician.

What do I love? Just about everything to be honest! I love the hands-on nature of the job, performing procedures and solving problems for people. Getting to be there for massive moments in people's life is a privilege that doesn't get old.

What do I hate? The 24+ hours shifts do take their toll, but are still bearable. The worst is how paper thin the whole system is stretched. If only I could clone myself and be three places at once!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Doing a PhD in Biology

Love when I get some interesting data and get to meet a lot of nice and interesting people.

Hate having to troubleshoot when things refuse to work.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,979 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Work in a cold storage warehouse, love nothing about it, hate the cold and low pay.

But it's a job and they're hard to find these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,489 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

1: Corporate Pilot
    2: Watching the sun rise, the sense of personal satisfaction at the end of a challenging flight, getting well paid and getting to see the world.
    3: Jetlag :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

I'm a gardener

Love that I get to spend my days making beautiful spaces more beautiful.

Hate days of leaf blowing in Autumn and long hours all the time (I don't hate either)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

TEFL teacher.

Love: The great chats with lovely people; I've been very lucky in that all my students have been lovely bar one or two. The laughs and the craic and the general social aspect to it, which is guaranteed here in Spain. Also seeing hard-working students improve. Being in complete control of my classes and not having a boss breathing down your neck telling you what to do. I can also decide how many hours I want to work.

Hate: The unsociable hours, students who believe they'll learn English by simply sitting in class, the lack of recognition of a good job from the academies, the instability pay-wise and the fact that you can never have a bad day - you always have to be upbeat, "dynamic" (they love that word here) and on.

I think the good outweighs the bad generally though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Job: Postdoctoral researcher
    Things I dislike: I've been here for two months already and I haven't a ****ing clue what's going on.
    Things I like: Nobody has noticed yet and they're still paying me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Dunno if this counts but....

I'm a student.
    I hate it.
    I hate the overpriced tuition.
    I hate the uncaring professors.
    I hate the bureaucracy (oh no, you can't take THAT class! You have to take THIS class!).
    I hate how much time it takes.
    I hate how disconnected it is from the actual work I hope to do some day.
    I really hate the tuition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

[*]What is your job? IT - Project Manager
    [*]What do you love about it? Reasonably good pay, interesting sometimes, I'm not out in the rain breaking rocks.
    [*]What do you hate about it? Sometimes unrealistic expectations from moronic people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

Primary school teacher.

Love: Making the kids laugh and smile which in turn makes me smile. Explaining something to a child who doesn't get it until you see the lightbulb moment and they twig what your trying to teach. Gives me an enormous sense of satisfaction.

Hate: Paperwork. A minority of parents can just be a pain. Some people's assumptions that because I'm male and I work with small children I'm a paedo. The last person to pull that stunt wasn't threatened with a legal action and seeing a grown man's face drain of all colour was priceless. Thankfully 2 people in 5 years have said that so it's not something I have encountered much either..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

Part-time waitress

Things I like - The camaraderie with my colleagues, serving customers who we can have the craic with, not having too much responsibility, making a mean cappuccino.

Things I hate - Rude customers, incompetent management, crappy hours, crappy pay, having sore feet and a sore back after a busy shift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭larko

Hearing aid dispenser.

I like helping people to hear. Its rewarding. Pay is good but it took a while to get to this point. Some older people have fascinating stories and lives. It seems to be a job that recession hasnt effected much.

I hate some older people have problem dealing with a young person... like I havent a clue. It annoys me but their loss! Lots of paperwork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

Job: mother
    What I like: smiling happy kids
    Don't like: narky naughty kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭araic88

Primary school teacher

Love: Getting to re-live my childhood, singing songs & reading stories I used to love ;-)
    Receiving funny/cute notes or cards the kiddies made by themselves.
    Getting to set my own timetable & coming up with ideas for art, PE etc.
    Being socially accepted even when wandering around covered in glitter/paint/yoghurt.
    Wearing a comfy tracksuit to work when it's PE day ;-)

Dislike: the paperwork involved that doesn't seem to benefit anyone.
    A decent system seemingly being dragged to follow the British system that they've realised themselves isn't great.
    Dealing with playground arguments!

TEFL teacher

Love: the buzz of teaching a nice class, meeting new people from all over the world every day, doing a job I'm genuinely interested in, most of my colleagues are sound, can wear pretty much want I want except jeans, can be myself, can do pretty much what I want in my classes as long as students are learning/happy, it's related to what I studied for my degree.

Hate: the total instability of it - on a zero hours contract so no guaranteed work from one week to the next, which affects every aspect of my life. Can't plan holidays, can't even plan week to week because I don't know when I'll be working or how much money I'll have. Constant worry about not being able to pay the rent/bills. Other than that, the only thing I hate is some of the students and their horrendous attitude/sense of entitlement. We get a lot of rich people who think teachers are beneath them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭rustedtrumpet

Bartender

Great craic, funny to watch people in an awful hoop at the end of it night. Chats with customers. The odd good tip. Few drinks after work.

Having to deal with people in an awful hoop at the end of a night. Poor pay. **** hours, 5 nights a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Lastly I always come back very jumpy if I've been staying in a place where there has been gunfire. Or tarantulas. Or both.

Tarantulas with guns? Right, I'm having nightmares tonight :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

IT Sales Territory Manager

Pay is good and i do very little

I hate the culture multinationals create.Its very cut throat and political.I also hate that the targets rise constantly and your always chasing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Funds Industry

Mind numbingly boring. I looooove when a client rings us just to break up the day

Pro: lots of wimmins in the office

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

IT Consultant

Like: Variety
    Dislike: Travel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭mark_jmc

HR Manager

love the variety, everyday is different & get to be involved in all aspects of the business.

don't like: unfortunately in this day & age the job increasingly involves things like redundancies, layoffs budget cutting etc. It's not nice feeling telling people that have families etc that they are losing their jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Answers below are intentionally vague, boards has a broad reader base...

What is your job? Manager of commercial operations in a pharma company

What do you love about it? Working in a very interesting industry, getting exposure to many different aspects of the business, no two days (okay no two weeks!) the same, being trusted with a significant responsibility or three. Good pay with the potential to be great.

Nothing really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

What is your job? Civil Servant

Getting Paid for doing very little

Being a Civil Servant, Getting Paid for doing very little

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

My Job: Working at silage during the summers.

What I Love: Can pay well if you're busy, you get to meet people and see places, always out and about when the sun is shining, free dinners and meals :D

What I Hate: Customers / the weather decide what hours you work, can't plan to do anything any more than a day or two in advance, wet weather means boring days off, no income for 9 months of the year.

Overall I love it though!