Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Atlantic Coast Challenge 2014

• 06-12-2013 12:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭

There have been various noises made on here about getting some guys together to play in this event. How serious are people?

Three day event playing Rosses Point, Carne and Enniscrone, in whatever order you choose, from July 7 - July 9 (Mon-Wed). Entry fee is €125 if registered before Christmas - €139 thereafter.

Last year, we (team of 3) played Rosses Point on Monday, then drove to Belmullet and stayed there for 2 nights, playing Carne on Tuesday before heading to Enniscrone on Wednesday.

I've played in it for the past three years and have been rained on at Carne only - last year was bad, it has to be said. Played Enniscrone in sunshine all three years and Rosses Point in sun/cloud.

So, if anyone's serious, let's hear your thoughts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 spursmurray

This is the kind of trip I'd love to participate in. I have been looking at entering one of these for a while now. Whilst playing Adare with yourself this year I asked you if you had one game of golf left on a links course where would you play. Your reply was Carne, so I'd love to enter this. I have play Enniscrone before and loved it. Haven't played Rosses Point (yet)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

Would love to play in this. Wouldn't be able to commit till closer to the time however as would have to make sure it would work with work/family commitments. How far out would you need to book to be sure of getting a spot ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Id say I will this year.

Ive a team in mind.

What dates is it lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,516 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Id say I will this year.

Ive a team in mind.

What dates is it lads.

July 7-9th, Mon-Wed Fix.

I think I'm going to plan a weeks holiday in the west around this.

Haven't thought about team so if there's anyone interested on here I'd be interested.

Lads looked up last years results.

Am I missing something about format. There were lads getting over 40 points on at least 2 of the courses. There was a 50 pt score in enniscrone.

What format is it. Would have imagined scoring would be lower on top links by mostly visiting players?

Lads looked up last years results.

Am I missing something about format. There were lads getting over 40 points on at least 2 of the courses. There was a 50 pt score in enniscrone.

What format is it. Would have imagined scoring would be lower on top links by mostly visiting players?

Search this forum for the 2013 thread Fix, can't send link on phone.

It's a 3 ball event.
    Best 2 scores Per Hole count.
    The leading scores seemed to be in the early 80's points wise.
    That'd be about right, you'd hope to be picking up at least 4 points on most holes with a few 5's thrown in.

We'll win it ta fcuk ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

PARlance wrote: »
    Search this forum for the 2013 thread Fix, can't send link on phone.

It's a 3 ball event.
    Best 2 scores Per Hole count.
    The leading scores seemed to be in the early 80's points wise.
    That'd be about right, you'd hope to be picking up at least 4 points on most holes with a few 5's thrown in.

We'll win it ta fcuk ;)

The scoring is unashamedly good. Any expectations of winning should be left at the door, unless you have, quite literally, the golfing week of your life. Last July there was talk of daily reductions in handicaps, but that apparently fell by the wayside when they eliminated the singles competition they had run the previous two years.

Outside of that, I have only good things to say. The courses are magnificent, especially Carne, which made its impression in the worst weather I've played golf in this year. It's well run, the Guinness is great and plenty of nice people, both in admin and fellow competitors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 spursmurray

The scoring is unashamedly good. Any expectations of winning should be left at the door, unless you have, quite literally, the golfing week of your life. Last July there was talk of daily reductions in handicaps, but that apparently fell by the wayside when they eliminated the singles competition they had run the previous two years.

Outside of that, I have only good things to say. The courses are magnificent, especially Carne, which made its impression in the worst weather I've played golf in this year. It's well run, the Guinness is great and plenty of nice people, both in admin and fellow competitors.

If its well run, courses are great, fun had on the course and stout nice along with a bit of craic afterwards then I'm all on for it. Getting prizes in these events is just an added bonus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

The way id look at this is its €125 to play 3 top courses and after that I couldn't care less how I score or if I win anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

If its well run, courses are great, fun had on the course and stout nice along with a bit of craic afterwards then I'm all on for it. Getting prizes in these events is just an added bonus

I agree that winning ought never be the motivation for entering these events, and we were prepared to admit defeat as early as 9 holes in on day 1. What was really deflating was a far better, and very respectable, score in Belmullet in awful weather that saw a number of teams deposit members or just quit altogether at various stages during the round. and watching that get obliterated a few groups later.

Take nothing away from it though, it's a brilliant event and any element that isnt enjoyed is outside of the organisers' control.

Don't worry lads, I wasn't planning on winning it. It was a reference to a Tommy Tiernan sketch.

Going for the pints & golf, in that order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

very interested in this

I think - it would be a good idea to - try book in the same town / hotel. Then we can make a social of it too.

It means we will have a good few golfers in the same place - beers each night ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

Already booked, 9 10 playing carne the first day. First 2 years the scoring was 3 to score on all holes last year it was 2. Enjoyed it the last 3 years and we scored ok last year think we ended up 7th overallbut didn't have a singles score over 32 points any day. Courses are what u are going for anyhow, if u get decent weather it is a super 3 days.

Lads,

Can you play the courses in any sequence - how does that work.

Looking at the best place to stay - Ballina and Enniscrone are good towns ?

Stayed here and they half self catering apartments too -

http://www.theoceansandshotel.ie/

There are 3 different sequences if you start in Carne it goes to Enniscrone and then Rosses point so it depends on which course you start on. Same tee time each day.

mike12 wrote: »
    There are 3 different sequences if you start in Carne it goes to Enniscrone and then Rosses point so it depends on which course you start on. Same tee time each day.

Thanks mike,

For somebody travelling what would make most sense.

I see from Kevin's post he stayed in Carne - 2 nights. Kevin ?

How would Enniscrone or Ballina work out sequence wise.

I think if we pick a sensible sequence and town (I think Ballina has more to offer?)
    We could then put it up as an idea for more boards lads to join.

I'll throw this up there for suggestions.
    A bit of local knowledge but no experience of the competition.

To me, for someone travelling down from Dublin, I would say get to Belmullet first and get that journey out of the way.

Sunday Night Accom: Belmullet
    Monday Morning: Play Carne, after the round, drive to
    Monday Night Accom: Enniscrone
    Tuesday Morning: Play Enniscrone, sit back and relax
    Tues Night Accom: Enniscrone again
    Wednesday Morning: Drive 50mins to Rosses Point

Rosses Point to Dublin would be the best and quickest route back.

I'm guessing Kevin had to do a Carne -> Enniscrone drive as he stayed 2 nights in Belmullet... I wouldn't fancy that drive. It's only an hour and a bit but it's a nightmare of a road, it'll feel like double that time...triple if you add in a groggy head.

The drive from Dublin to Belmullet is a long one, 4 hours, and the last bit of the leg (as above) is on bad roads, but it's best to get that out of the way early...definitely not a drive you'd want to if you were finishing up in Carne after three days golf and pints.

Lads - I'll go with the west lads.

It is a strange enough place without trying to understand the inner geography of the Ceide Fields . So PARlance and Kevin come up with a plan.

We will post it and try get a gang from here on same route.

Sounds great lads.

To me, for someone travelling down from Dublin, I would say get to Belmullet first and get that journey out of the way.

I'm guessing Kevin had to do a Carne -> Enniscrone drive as he stayed 2 nights in Belmullet... I wouldn't fancy that drive. It's only an hour and a bit but it's a nightmare of a road, it'll feel like double that time...triple if you add in a groggy head.

The drive from Dublin to Belmullet is a long one, 4 hours, and the last bit of the leg (as above) is on bad roads, but it's best to get that out of the way early...definitely not a drive you'd want to if you were finishing up in Carne after three days golf and pints.

I'm from Mayo and the above is the way i would go, unless u plan to stay around Carne for an extra couple of days at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

That's the way I'd like to do it, but one of my guys flies in from the States and he drives up from Dublin on the Monday morning which is why we start at Rosses Point. Carne is a further two hours from there so we'll be sticking with the Rosses, Carne, Enniscrone rotation. But could stay in Enniscrone both nights - there are a couple of great bars. There's the Diamond Coast hotel which is practically on the course.

If you want to do the other rotation (Carne 1st day) but stay at Enniscrone, then we can hook up in the evenings...

PS. It's €120 before Christmas (not €125)... so there's your first pint covered.

The Carne first option seems to be the first to sell out so get in quick if that's what you decide. Last year it was very slow we were out around 11.30 and it was 5 hours plus each day, there must have been a couple of slow groups out early as it seems to be fine on the other rotations. 3 ball should be just around 4 hours. it might be an idea to get a caddie for the groupe for enniscrone as there are a couple of really funny lines off the tee.

Mike

I'm from Mayo and the above is the way i would go, unless u plan to stay around Carne for an extra couple of days at the end.

Phew, I'm from Mayo too, so glad I got it right :D;)

The Carne first option seems to be the first to sell out so get in quick if that's what you decide. Last year it was very slow we were out around 11.30 and it was 5 hours plus each day, there must have been a couple of slow groups out early as it seems to be fine on the other rotations. 3 ball should be just around 4 hours. it might be an idea to get a caddie for the groupe for enniscrone as there are a couple of really funny lines off the tee.

Mike

Mike/Kevin,

Could you confirm that the tee time you book for Day 1 is generally followed through and remains the same for the remaining days?

Was looking at it last night Mike and Carne on Monday filling up, we'll get booking.

That's the way I'd like to do it, but one of my guys flies in from the States and he drives up from Dublin on the Monday morning which is why we start at Rosses Point. Carne is a further two hours from there so we'll be sticking with the Rosses, Carne, Enniscrone rotation. But could stay in Enniscrone both nights - there are a couple of great bars. There's the Diamond Coast hotel which is practically on the course.

If you want to do the other rotation (Carne 1st day) but stay at Enniscrone, then we can hook up in the evenings...

PS. It's €120 before Christmas (not €125)... so there's your first pint covered.

Thanks Kevin,

Provisional plans are to stay in Belmullet on the Sunday night, so we will be in Enniscrone for the two nights that you're there and can hook up in the evenings.
    Have stayed in the Diamond before and it's ideal.
    There are no fears about the quality of watering holes :)

Mike/Kevin,

Could you confirm that the tee time you book for Day 1 is generally followed through and remains the same for the remaining days?

Was looking at it last night Mike and Carne on Monday filling up, we'll get booking.

Yes, the tee time remains the same for all three days.

Mike mentions a five hour round - yes, they're all like that unless you get out very early. The courses are tricky enough that you'll be looking for balls and - sure - who lets the group behind through anyway.

Yes, the tee time remains the same for all three days.

Mike mentions a five hour round - yes, they're all like that unless you get out very early. The courses are tricky enough that you'll be looking for balls and - sure - who lets the group behind through anyway.

Thanks Kevin, I'm sure it's a fine line between getting the it right, an early slot with a hangover... and the 30 mins or so reduction in the round time may be thrown out the window.

We're aiming for 10am, FixdeP is a lightweight so any earlier and he'd be in trouble :D
    There'll be no talk of Brunellos in the west Fix!

I'll probably be in Mayo for the weekend leading up to it, so if anyone fancies getting a swinging a few clubs in advance give me a shout.
    9 holes around Mulranny might be a nice way to ease into the following 3 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

When booking online lads how do you choose the rotation you want. Last time I played in it (Courtesy of Kevin;) ) I stayed in Enniscrone Sunday, Monday & Tuesday night. We got up there nice and early on the Sunday and played 18 in Enniscrone on the Sunday evening.

Monday we went to Rosses Point, Tuesday was Carne & Enniscrone on the Wednesday. That's the rotation I will look for again this time.

denisoc16 wrote: »
    When booking online lads how do you choose the rotation you want. Last time I played in it (Courtesy of Kevin;) ) I stayed in Enniscrone Sunday, Monday & Tuesday night. We got up there nice and early on the Sunday and played 18 in Enniscrone on the Sunday evening.

Monday we went to Rosses Point, Tuesday was Carne & Enniscrone on the Wednesday. That's the rotation I will look for again this time.

denisoc16 - your best bet is to go to the Carne website (or Enniscrone or Co Sligo) and look at booking the Open events. You'll have the three days show up and then you pick the day you want to play Carne - ie Tuesday. Here's the link: http://www.brsgolf.com/carne/opens_home.php

Cheers Kevin. But how will they know that I want to play Rosses point on Monday & Enniscrone on Wednesday and not the other way around?

There are only three rotas, so by picking the day you want to play Carne, the other two are automatically booked

- Co Sligo, Carne, Enniscrone
    - Carne, Enniscrone, Co Sligo
    - Enniscrone, Rosses Point, Carne

There are only three rotas, so by picking the day you want to play Carne, the other two are automatically booked

- Co Sligo, Carne, Enniscrone
    - Carne, Enniscrone, Co Sligo
    - Enniscrone, Rosses Point, Carne

Jaysus lads - I've a lot on the go at the moment.

But - this is a logisitical nightmare.

But - it is sort of coming together now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

Would love to play this one day. Unfortunately the dates are sitting on the little man's birthday. Will just have to wait till he grows up and brings me along!

Fair play lads, I struggle to book a few hours for a boards outing. Can't imagine what I'd have to do for a couple of days?

I've been told to give it a could of years, then she'll be kicking me out the door!

Thanks Kevin,

Provisional plans are to stay in Belmullet on the Sunday night, so we will be in Enniscrone for the two nights that you're there and can hook up in the evenings.
    Have stayed in the Diamond before and it's ideal.
    There are no fears about the quality of watering holes :)

Lads we are booked for - Carne day 1.

I tell ya, if that's the kind of organisation you're going to deliver would you mind running the country when you get a moment.

It was delegated to me after I delegated it to the delegated lad who redelegated to the delegator.

All joking aside - it would be nice if we all pick a similar spot - for one or two of the nights.

A few beers. Now only thing is to stop at the right time to keep the golf right. :)

We will talk accommodation in new year.

Can't see a panic on that on a Sunday to Wednesday.

All joking aside - it would be nice if we all pick a similar spot - for one or two of the nights.

A few beers. Now only thing is to stop at the right time to keep the golf right. :)

We will talk accommodation in new year.

Can't see a panic on that on a Sunday to Wednesday.

If Kevin's plans are the same as last year then we'll be on different courses each day but in the same Pubs on Monday & Tuesday.

I've got accommodation in Belmullet sorted. We'll get Enniscrone sorted soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

How would it work if I just have a 2 ball organised, is the booking system open so a third person could see an open slot and join in, or is this really only for 3 person bookings?

Senna wrote: »
    How would it work if I just have a 2 ball organised, is the booking system open so a third person could see an open slot and join in, or is this really only for 3 person bookings?

Fix booked it for us but I had a brief look earlier and I'm pretty sure you have to book a block of 3. I don't think its open for others to join in.

I think I know someone that's interested, he's currently trying to convince 2 others but may jump in if that fails. I could PM
    you in a week or so.

Fix booked it for us but I had a brief look earlier and I'm pretty sure you have to book a block of 3. I don't think its open for others to join in.

I think I know someone that's interested, he's currently trying to convince 2 others but may jump in if that fails. I could PM
    you in a week or so.

You can type anything in field - like Another or player need etc.

You will get a player here - i'd imagine - but warning, it is 120 down the drain as you have to pay up front.

You will pick up a player - the only thing going against that is - it is Monday to Wednesday. It is a big restriction on who could go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Ok, finally getting this sorted, I have a mate going but don't have a third. Rang carne and they said I can book and pay for two, leaving the third slot open for someone else to join.
    Our plan is to play Sligo on the Monday and we'll be booking for around 10.30/11 If anyone wants to join us, let me know.

Ok, finally getting this sorted, I have a mate going but don't have a third. Rang carne and they said I can book and pay for two, leaving the third slot open for someone else to join.
    Our plan is to play Sligo on the Monday and we'll be booking for around 10.30/11 If anyone wants to join us, let me know.

There is a gang of us going staying in Enniscrone night 1 and 2.

Just if you want to meet.

Sure you will get a 3rd from here.

That would make it 3 groups 9 people. Good laugh.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

There is a gang of us going staying in Enniscrone night 1 and 2.

Just if you want to meet.

Sure you will get a 3rd from here.

That would make it 3 groups 9 people. Good laugh.

some great pubs in Enniscrone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

Is it transferable ? As in if I booked and couldn't make it could someone else fall in ?

alxmorgan wrote: »
    Is it transferable ? As in if I booked and couldn't make it could someone else fall in ?

Not 100% sure on that, maybe worth firing a email to double check but I would imagine it is transferable, I am almost certain someone was talking about bringing in a sub (think it was KevinM) last year.

First year we played we had to change the week before and it was no problem.

Mike

I booked in for this again before Xmas. Rosses Point Monday, Carne Tuesday, Enniscrone Wednsday. Preceded by a round in Enniscrone on Sunday evening hopefully. And followed by spending Thursday in bed absolutely shattered from it. Can't wait. Booked into a B & B in Enniscrone for 3 nights.

As Mike12 says - no issue with having a sub step in.

Denis, maybe we'll finally get to meet. We're playing the same rotation as you and staying in Enniscrone, as are three other Boards lads. What time are you playing?