Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Runners

• 05-12-2013 6:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭

Runners: Do you have to take an oath when you join an athletic club? I imagine you do and I imagine it to be as follows:

"I do solemnly swear that when I run I will wear my florescent vest with pride and will run along country roads in the dark four or five abreast. Then when I enter the town boundaries I will continue to run on the road even though there is a footpath there" Yes a FOOTPATH for FEET.

I am sick of it... and yes there will be gob****es, yes gob****es who will come on and say nooooo we always run on the footpath and when there is oncoming traffic we are single file...BULL****. Tuesday and Thursday evenings is athletic nights here in my town and it is only a matter of time before someone is killed. I was lucky tonight there were only four I met abreast on the road, later on it will be large groups on the roads, not paths with no consideration to traffic coming along. It is a miracle so far that a car has not ploughed into running groups as they come round a bend and there they all are in their florescent vests ..guess what they won't protect you against a car.. and of course it will more than likely be the driver blamed when it does happen.

Cop on and use the FOOTPATHS. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

Don't even pay Road tax Joe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Ranting and raving forum over that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

You never know what's around the corner and should always be prepared to stop safely. Sorry caustic.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

At least they're not cyclists though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

nooooo we always run on the footpath and when there is oncoming traffic we are single file

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

You never know what's around the corner and should always be prepared to stop safely. Sorry caustic.

Which is why none of them have been run over yet...what I am saying is they should not be running in groups on the road it is unsafe, they have running tracks fields footpaths etc,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

Runners should always be in pairs

ooooo we always run on the footpath and when there is oncoming traffic we are single file

a huh

• Site Banned Posts: 263 ✭✭Rabelais

Running is enjoyable. Cannot stand the obsessives though. You know the sort. Looking like something out a concentration camp video - all bones, taut skin and bulging eyes. Men with spider legs and no arses, women without curves. Joyless and empty running machines. From health and exercise to obsessiveness.

Have a slice of apple tart you miserable sh1tes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

You can run but you can't hide... because we're not playing hide and seek.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

They'll meet an oncoming artic on a bend some day and stopping won't be an option. The gimps who wander along the roads here every evening in the pitch dark(no footpaths and not even that much road) wearing dark clothing rot my waffle. If you hit them, you're the wrong one yet the feckers are like trying to spot a ninja in a hotpress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

It's the Endorphins man.Good sh1t.

Not so good if splattered across the tarmac.

kneemos wrote: »

Ah gway, lift weights. Muchos better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

WilyCoyote wrote: »

We await your input on how best to deal with these road runners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

caustic 1 wrote: »
    Runners: Do you have to take an oath when you join an athletic club? I imagine you do and I imagine it to be as follows:

"I do solemnly swear that when I run I will wear my florescent vest with pride and will run along country roads in the dark four or five abreast. Then when I enter the town boundaries I will continue to run on the road even though there is a footpath there" Yes a FOOTPATH for FEET.

Ah, balls. The secret's out. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

first they came for the cyclists - I did not speak out

When they came for the old folk - I did nothing

Then they came for the runners........

Ah, balls. The secret's out.

I knew it.

and I did nothing.

Then they came for me, and I stood up for myself and didn't need anyone to speak for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

SV wrote: »
    and I did nothing.

Then they came for me, and I stood up for myself and didn't need anyone to speak for me.

Stand easy rambo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

See what happens?

Next they'll come for the scenery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

I am sick of it... and yes there will be gob****es, yes gob****es who will come on and say nooooo we always run on the footpath and when there is oncoming traffic we are single file...BULL****. Tuesday and Thursday evenings is athletic nights here in my town and it is only a matter of time before someone is killed. I was lucky tonight there were only four I met abreast on the road, later on it will be large groups on the roads, not paths with no consideration to traffic coming along. It is a miracle so far that a car has not ploughed into running groups as they come round a bend and there they all are in their florescent vests ..guess what they won't protect you against a car.. and of course it will more than likely be the driver blamed when it does happen.

Cop on and use the FOOTPATHS. :mad:

Seeeee, this is why jeeps have pedestrian bars!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

We await your input on how best to deal with these road runners.

No worries Vincent! Everything covered this side. :D

Nothing can go wrong this time. It's all about pre-planning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

I am sick of it... and yes there will be gob****es, yes gob****es who will come on and say nooooo we always run on the footpath and when there is oncoming traffic we are single file...BULL****. Tuesday and Thursday evenings is athletic nights here in my town

I think I found the problem

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Which is why none of them have been run over yet...what I am saying is they should not be running in groups on the road it is unsafe, they have running tracks fields footpaths etc,

And a roundabout for cyclists.
    Both categories are darwin contenders.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Four or five abreast? You wouldn't be exaggerating there OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I find it is much easier to run in the bicycle paths instead of the roads.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

UCDVet wrote: »
    I find it is much easier to run in the bicycle paths instead of the roads.

+1 It's about all they're good for.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Tarmac isn't as harsh on the joints, compared to concrete.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Depends how thick you roll them :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Rabelais wrote: »
    Have a slice of apple tart you miserable sh1tes!

I bet the runners eat through more cake and apple tart than you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

The constant updates on Facebook is what annoys me 'just ran 10 miles'

Nobody gives a sh!t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Beat me to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Aestivalis

Saw something that blew my mind the other day.
    I was driving on a busy dual-carridgeway at around 4pm, when I came across 3 runners, who were running on the road, coming TOWARDS traffic...with a perfectly good foothpath beside them.

The mind boggles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Oranage2 wrote: »

Nobody gives a sh!t

Your problem is with your friends then, who just happen to be runners.
    Aestivalis wrote: »
    Saw something that blew my mind the other day.
    I was driving on a busy dual-carridgeway at around 4pm, when I came across 3 runners, who were running on the road, coming TOWARDS traffic...with a perfectly good foothpath beside them.

The mind boggles.

You do know you're supposed to face on coming traffic when on a road, right, right ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Aestivalis

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Your problem is with your friends then, who just happen to be runners.

You do know you're supposed to face on coming traffic when on a road, right, right ?

On a dual carridgeway? there shouldnt be runner on dual carridgeways when theres a gigantic footpath beside them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Can anyone point me in the directions of the numbers of runners mowed down on a daily basis, and the death/survival ratio relative to the size of the maurading gangs of them? It must be massive going by the posts in this thread, god help us all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Nobody gives a sh!t

Now that I agree with. Just needy people looking for attention. Although that pretty much describes everybody on twitter..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Healy Rae Permit Holder

Nobody gives a sh!t
    And they just changed their name to Irish a half hour earlier, why not be posting in Irish or is using imtranslator.net on the go too difficult. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

they have running tracks
    They what now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Nobody gives a sh!t
    Probably because they're about 2 stone overweight and are just looking for some moral support from their friends.

Stop being such miserable sh1tes and whinging about what other people do.

Nobody forces you to look at facebook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

seamus wrote: »
    Probably because they're about 2 stone overweight and are just looking for some moral support from their friends.

Stop being such miserable sh1tes and whinging about what other people do.

Nobody forces you to look at facebook.
    We are not 2 stone over weight, i like updating on facebook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

SV wrote: »
    At least they're not cyclists though.

Seen some nutjob cyclist yesterday (one of those courier ones I think, that tow some kind of container which is usually a little wider than the bikes). He comes booting up the quays, passing by O'Connell bridge, heading for Hueston and starts screaming at everyone on the footpath as he is approaching Aston Quay, to get out of his way, as he obviously knows his wide load needs a inch or two of the footpath also. Most people step back a little and those at the front breath in deep and he nearly knee caps one guy who even held his arms back also in case they were taken off.

Second's later, everyone's mind back on the pedestrian clock counting down and all of sudden the lunatic courier jumps in front of all of us, obviously have run back up the quay, bike lock in hand and starts screaming right in the face at the guy in the front: "Did you hit me? Hit me now! Hit me again!" The other guy was in shock, for about two seconds until it dawned on him which twat this was and he starts screaming: "What the fcuk are you on?? I never touched you! You courier cnut!". "Yes, you did! Hit me, go on and I'll kill you". "Fcuk off you fcuking stupid cnut or I will fcuking hit you!"

Went on like that for a but and then the lights changed. Ah, gotta love street theater in Dublin :p

Daqster wrote: »
    Seen some nutjob cyclist yesterday (one of those courier ones I think, that tow some kind of container which is usually a little wider than the bikes). He comes booting up the quays, passing by O'Connell bridge, heading for Hueston and starts screaming at everyone on the footpath as he is approaching Aston Quay, to get out of his way, as he obviously knows his wide load needs a inch or two of the footpath also. Most people step back a little and those at the front breath in deep and he nearly knee caps one guy who even held his arms back also in case they were taken off.

Second's later, everyone's mind back on the pedestrian clock counting down and all of sudden the lunatic courier jumps in front of all of us, obviously have run back up the quay, bike lock in hand and starts screaming right in the face at the guy in the front: "Did you hit me? Hit me now! Hit me again!" The other guy was in shock, for about two seconds until it dawned on him which twat this was and he starts screaming: "What the fcuk are you on?? I never touched you! You courier cnut!". "Yes, you did! Hit me, go on and I'll kill you". "Fcuk off you fcuking stupid cnut or I will fcuking hit you!"

Went on like that for a but and then the lights changed. Ah, gotta love street theater in Dublin :p

If that's true then it's no harm someone did hit him, feckin gobshíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Daqster wrote: »
    Seen some nutjob cyclist yesterday (one of those courier ones I think, that tow some kind of container which is usually a little wider than the bikes). He comes booting up the quays, passing by O'Connell bridge, heading for Hueston and starts screaming at everyone on the footpath as he is approaching Aston Quay, to get out of his way, as he obviously knows his wide load needs a inch or two of the footpath also.
    What's more likely is that his experience has taught him that if there are no cars, pedestrians in Dublin walk straight out in front of bikes without looking, especially on the quays around O'Connell Bridge
    Pedestrians also tend to stand almost on the road as they wait to cross, which leaves bikes with very little room.

No call for his aggressiveness of course, but I've had to scream at people on those quays who step out literally without looking.