Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parthenaise x Limousin

• 04-12-2013 12:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭

I have a few Parthenaise heifers off Limousin cows, what would be the best breed to cross them with do ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

As heifers perhaps something like a saler. That might bring a lm looking calf with a different breed from the cows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭mikeoh

Exactly what I was going to say!!!!Saler.......I have a soft spot for SH too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭on the river

Saler bull RIO very easy calfing or Angus Gjb easy calfing also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

I would either go back limo or angus. GJB is a good shout

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

why cross back to Lim, saler would be good

how do you think they will cross back to a CH later on

did you breed them or purchase Jmurf

limoX saler? Hope you have high gates!

what is saler bringing to the party?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

The easiest calving Lim I could get is what I'd be looking at.
    What age/weight are they goin to the bull at?

limoX saler? Hope you have high gates!

i have one of those, like a pet lamb she is

Structure,length and width. easy calfing and very milky. These animals can be outwintered which they are used to in the Mountains of France

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

That's when the party really gets going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭jmurf100

hugo29 wrote: »
    why cross back to Lim, saler would be good

how do you think they will cross back to a CH later on

did you breed them or purchase Jmurf

I bought them in, nice quiet heifers off milky limousin cows. Im not fond of the idea of salers or BB, will probably go with an angus or easy calving limousin for the first calf but after that im undecided, was considering parthenaise, limousin or maybe blonde what do ye think?

jmurf100 wrote: »
    I bought them in, nice quiet heifers off milky limousin cows. Im not fond of the idea of salers or BB, will probably go with an angus or easy calving limousin for the first calf but after that im undecided, was considering parthenaise, limousin or maybe blonde what do ye think?

where did you purchase, would consider couple myself,

CH all the way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Structure,length and width. easy calfing and very milky. These animals can be outwintered which they are used to in the Mountains of France

Any breed can be outwintered and I wouldnt rank salers up there with the best of them, I would actually go as far as to say a handy sized lim cow is a lot easier kept than them.

Really a charolais or belgiun blue cow outwintered i think not. They are soft animals where their power and size hinders their ability to thrive in cold wet conditions

You will find plenty of charolais cows roaming the hills of the burren for the winter if you looked and i doubt if you will find more hostile terrain in Ireland ;) Blues not so good at it but Charolais, Lim and shorthorn cows are the most popular around here. Theres a reason for that. Salers are too big and rangey to keep flesh on for the winter in my experience. The bit of hair they have is deceiving.

Their suitability for outwintering would not be a major concern for my setup. Its a good quality weanling im trying to produce

Then look no further then saler charolais cross . Great colouriong which go well at any marts

You will find plenty of charolais cows roaming the hills of the burren for the winter if you looked and i doubt if you will find more hostile terrain in Ireland ;) Blues not so good at it but Charolais, Lim and shorthorn cows are the most popular around here. Theres a reason for that. Salers are too big and rangey to keep flesh on for the winter in my experience. The bit of hair they have is deceiving.

What sort of cattle do you keep and are they outwintered

I outwinter all my blues. Most of my cows are bluexFr or offspring off same.

I find hereford and sims cross well with parthenaise but there is a lack of a good easy calving hereford in AI at the moment. Maybe if you were lucky and got a straw of MRU somewhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

I find hereford and sims cross well with parthenaise but there is a lack of a good easy calving hereford in AI at the moment. Maybe if you were lucky and got a straw of MRU somewhere

I noticed that. I was thinking of trying some of the polled Hereford bulls on a few heifers and all the fecking bulls with Progressive Genetics are really hard calved. All above 9% difficulty. Dovea have one polled as well and he is the same.

What sort of cattle do you keep and are they outwintered

Have mainly Lims and Charolais a few simmentels and hereford's and 2 angus and none of them have ever seen the inside of a shed. My uncle has a mix of lim and saler cows doing the same system before you say I have no experience of them. Their cross well with a charolais but they dont cope well with the winterages at all, Much the same could be said for the simmentals.

I outwinter all my blues. Most of my cows are bluexFr or offspring off same.

BB ARE unnatural with there double muscle trait. Yes i admit they are great weaning and finishings animals yet even crossed with a Fr i doubt they can survive the cold and sometimes horrific winters Ireland has.

They did just fine during the hard winter 2 years ago and Meath had the coldest tempratures in the country.

The PB might be soft but that goes for all PB animals in my experience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭johnpawl

If it was me I'd chance HCA on them. I used Bourvil easy calving part this year but straws very dear.

johnpawl wrote: »
    If it was me I'd chance HCA on them. I used Bourvil easy calving part this year but straws very dear.

Not impressed with Hca myself all talk on the catelogue but when came to it poor quality calfves. Calfves mothers were si xch cross are one of best .Maybe FTY ALTHOUGH I THINK HE is unproven looks good though

We're giving heifers the Lim bull Towthorpe Dubai THZ. A couple of calves so far, he looks easy enough calved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Not impressed with Hca myself all talk on the catelogue but when came to it poor quality calfves. Calfves mothers were si xch cross are one of best .Maybe FTY ALTHOUGH I THINK HE is unproven looks good though
    Ya, HCA has only a score of 89 for muscle. That's in the bottom 3% of the breed. Hardly the ideal breeding to have in a cow. NCBC conveniently leave this info out in their catalogue too. The only Limousin bull they do it for.

Balls I've a shot of his straws gotten. Do grand for heifers though as long as there's no problems calving

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

ive all crossbred but 50%bb's , Char and lim, some with Saler and SH mixed in .. all outwintered.

I outwinter replacement heifer weanlings .. good sheltered spot .. gets them used of outdoorliving from the off!! :-)

+1, saler cow and ch bull is a great cross for selling, but wouldn't have more than 50% Saler blood in any heifer, after that you are jeopardising weanling quality imo.. they have good coat of hair, great mothers, grow well,etc temperament suspect

OP .. good limo all the way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

I,d personally put a blonde on them. you should have good stylish calves and a nice light colour. ive put blonde on 12 heifers of my own here this year. they are mainly limo off british friesain so should have layers of milk and still retain a bit off the blondes when they come. the colour may be a bit hit and miss however.

1chippy wrote: »
    I,d personally put a blonde on them. you should have good stylish calves and a nice light colour. ive put blonde on 12 heifers of my own here this year. they are mainly limo off british friesain so should have layers of milk and still retain a bit off the blondes when they come. the colour may be a bit hit and miss however.
    Will the heifers calve to the blonde bull ok do you think?

I often put BA on PB Charolais heifers. Popped them out, and a grand stylish calf. Ch x Ba is a super cross.

IMO the most important thing when picking a bull for heifers is calving ease. Everything else is secondary. You want to give her every chance to get back cycling as quickly as possible.

I had a cracker of a HCA heifer this spring but I only have the one so i can't speak definitively

Im not in the slightest bit worried about the blonde. this bull is throwing super calves. they are falling out like greyhounds and after a couple of weeks they just seem to shape up well. i would however not let my limo bull anywhere near a heifer again. lads make too much emphasis on limos being easy calved, id rather know the individual bull to be honest.

I wonder why blonde didn't become more popular... They seem to do the business as far as I have heard

Im not in the slightest bit worried about the blonde. this bull is throwing super calves. they are falling out like greyhounds and after a couple of weeks they just seem to shape up well. i would however not let my limo bull anywhere near a heifer again. lads make too much emphasis on limos being easy calved, id rather know the individual bull to be honest.

What blonde bull did you use chippy

From what i have gathered is they are slower to finish but produce at a higher killout percentage. they wouldnt be great on milk either. I have to say they are relatively new to me. i only started using them after leg wax and reilig went on about them a few years back. Theres only one breed round here this year and thats charlaois. I went out and bought a charlaois bull last night, it will be the firrst time in years we had one round here.

If you had similar blonde and ch weanling bulls would there be much difference in the price you'd be getting around you?

Fair play chippy, what is he breeding out off

Ya, i had considered blonde, to be honest i was undecided between blonde and parthenaise

hugo29 wrote: »
    Fair play chippy, what is he breeding out off
    The blonde is a neighbours bull,super animal, i dont know what he is out of. The charlaois is out of a breeders stock bull, i havent gone through his papers that much to be honest. he wasnt that well pushed either, im going to chance him on a few cows this year and if the calves come good i'l keep him if not he'll get the hook, allowing a month though i possably may be able to keep him under 30 months too if he doesnt produce.

Would u chance CBQ at 5.8% calving difficulty?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Bizzum wrote: »
    I often put BA on PB Charolais heifers. Popped them out, and a grand stylish calf. Ch x Ba is a super cross.

I used my first blonde straw ever on a big char cow due Jan 15th but I did so on seeing your few BA X CH cows in photo thread. I used KCE but for heifers munster are saying that Lochhead Tyson the blonde at back of book is calving difficulty 3.7% @ 64% High reliability... sure that is comparable or better than lim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

I was suggesting the saler as an easy calving alternative to a limousin but if
    your not keen I would go limousin over angus if you're selling weanlings.
    As cows I would try and get a third breed in the mix so would maybe go blonde. How are the bulls to calve from though. I always thought they were harder than charolaois

Bodacious wrote: »
    I used my first blonde straw ever on a big char cow due Jan 15th but I did so on seeing your few BA X CH cows in photo thread.

We'll all be interested to see how she goes for ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 follett

there easyier than a charolais

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭badshot

Bizzum wrote: »

just wondering what BA bull you use

badshot wrote: »
    just wondering what BA bull you use

Used Landais till he gave up the ghost. Used Astonlodge Jet then the latest lad we used was Budore Utah BUH.