Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Talking to people in Airports

• 03-12-2013 6:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭

Why do strangers think it's ok talk to others in airports or on an aircraft?

Is it an Irish thing?

Travelling for me is an opportunity to read / podcast / sleep.
    I find it a bit cringey tbh. Some clown invariably pipes up with one of the following:

Sitting in the airport bar: "Where ya off to yourself?"

At the gate: "No sign of the feicin plane yet, RYANAIR, WHA?"

On the plane: "What were you /are you doing over in X Y OR Z yourself?"

Getting off the plane: "Back to this crap weather now, WHA?"

In the passport queue: "Jaysis, where's me passport, WHA?"

At the baggage belt: "Where is my baggage?"

On the 16A into town "€2.85, sure over in X Y OR Z the bus driver gives you money getting on"

Walking towards my house: "This is a lovely place, are ya renting or buying?"

Do you talk to other people in the airport? Do you make up elaborate stories in response to strangers' questions? :)

Do you mind randomers talking to you in airports? 193 votes

Yes, yes I do.
    0% 0 votes
    LEAVE ME ALONE OR I WILL STAB YOU
    12% 25 votes
    meh - usually talk ****e, passes the time, what's the harm?
    21% 42 votes
    THE GATHERING, YEAH YEAH YEAH.
    65% 126 votes

has your flight been delayed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭billie1b

keith16 wrote: »

Is it an Irish thing?

I find it a bit cringey tbh. Some clown invariably pipes up with one of the following:

On the 16A into town "€2.85, sure over in X Y OR Z the bus driver gives you money getting on"

Do you talk to other people in the airport? Do you make up elaborate stories in response to strangers' questions? :)

You must have made really good friends with them if they are on the 16A with you and walking to your house also 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Is it an Irish thing?

They were casing you.

I love that :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

your house is In the airpirt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

I love that :)

Please clarify whoopsy, otherwise, I am inferring that you love people following you to your house from the airport :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

No but if someone talks to me I go full O'Gorman on their ass and get every minute detail of their lives.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,658 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

billie1b wrote: »
    You must have made really good friends with them if they are on the 16A with you and walking to your house also 😀

I think OP doesn't understand the etiquette of having a boyfriend/girlfriend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

The nerve of them eh. Being all friendly and shit. Feckin Irish.

10 years ago some of my friends went to Australia for the usual year out loads of folk do.

While waiting on their flight from Bangkok to oz, there was a guy on his own. One of my friends chatted with him and told him to join the group which he didn't initially but when the flight was delayed he decided he would. Happened that the dude was local enough to us and is now one of our best friends, was at his wedding earlier this year. Through him, we've made a whole new group of friends!

It's good to chat to people, they could be your best friend!

Please clarify whoopsy, otherwise, I am inferring that you love people following you to your house from the airport :eek:

I love when people talk in airports, or anywhere really.

Had great chats with a couple of homeless lads earlier this year in a train station in Europe while I was waiting for a friend! They offered me a can of beer first and when I declined tried to insist on buying me a coffee instead. That's deadly like.

Daqster wrote: »
    The nerve of them eh. Being all friendly and shit. Feckin Irish.

I'm not saying "the nerve of them" as such, but it seems ok at the airport, where perhaps, if you did the same thing at a bus stop, people might think you were a bit special?

I guess with air travel, everyone is either stuck in a terminal or on a metal tube hurtling through the air, and perhaps, there is a sense of communal belonging? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

Talking to people is a big deal now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,800 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Its kinda like what humans do sometimes though, like, talk to each other :pac:

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

Talking to people is a big deal now?

Shush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

They have these fantastic inventions these days. Earbuds. Pop a pair in and pretend to listen to music. No more chatty people.

Unless you are on the LUAS, crying, in which case some weirdo will pull them out and ask if you are alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 996 ✭✭✭HansHolzel

That boring wa*ker Declan what's-his-name in the Sindo once wrote that he always brought a book with a naked woman on the cover with him on the train so no one would talk to him.

yeah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

my vote is invalid
    I voted yes I do, but I thought the question was 'do you like talking to randomers at airports' so my vote should be the other one

Boombastic wrote: »
    my vote is invalid
    I voted yes I do, but I thought the question was 'do you like talking to randomers at airports' so my vote should be the other one

I shall refer this matter to the returning officer.

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,921 ✭✭✭RayCon

It's good to chat to people, they could be your best friend!

I checked ... they're not.

I don't know what the problem is. I love those random chats with complete strangers, it brightens up the day. It's nice to connect with your fellow humanity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

I'm one of those annoying people that talks to anyone around me, although I do know when to stfu if someone doesn't wanna know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,528 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Candie wrote: »
    I don't know what the problem is. I love those random chats with complete strangers, it brightens up the day. It's nice to connect with your fellow humanity.
    Me too, I really don't get this obsession with cutting yourself off from the rest of the world with earphones or whatever. It's true that there are some odd people out there, but the majority are actually pretty interesting. My last chat with a random stranger was on the Dart with an aul fella that used to fly flying boats for the RAF.

Selling stuff on adverts you meet some odd-balls, let me tell you. Some sound folk too, but the weird ones really are weird-fcuking-ooos.

I sold something on Adverts last week (was gonna say what but the guy freaked me totally out and I'm actually scared that he could potenially see this post, become angry and wear my skin for Christmas) but when he came in he started saying mad crap to me in a weird low mono-tone voice. Oh it was weird and I just tried to act cool and say yeah, I understood where he was coming from and that but I didn't nobody could.

Had one guy drive all the way from Wexford once to buy modem and he phoned a few times on the way for directions, then got lost near the house and finally when he arrived and this is no word of a lie, I opened the door and before I could say anything he said: "I'm sorry, I've made a mistake, I wanted the silver one not the black one". I hadn't even shown him the thing and I said: "Mate, it is the silver one, hang on I'll get it" and he just jumped on his motorbike and said: "No, I need a silver one" :confused:

Yesterday I sold a new sealed CD and the person collected it like it was a kilo of cocaine. No eye contact at all and legged it when I gave it to them. Then have had positive experiences too where bought a concert ticket off someone and ended up going out with them for the night afterwards

One thing I don't like though, is if I am eating alone in a cafe or wherever and someone sits at the same table. Even if the place is packed, I don't like it. Or alone at an event like a play or something as once you have made acquaintances with someone then you feel you have to act different throughout the show.

You know what, I've changed my mind now. Fcuking leave me be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭NeonCookies

I dunno...like, I understand the benefits of chatting to someone ie. they could turn out to be your best friend! Only a few weeks ago, someone started chatting to me on the bus to work, and we've hung out a few times since - we're both new in this country so great opportunity to make a friend!

BUT if I'm travelling longer distances, no. I'd prefer to chill out, read my book, watch a movie etc. I think it's just because I've ended up chatting to some weird people in my time that I was so relieved to get away from after 10 minutes, that I'd be very wary of chatting to someone when I know I'll be stuck with them for the next few hours!

I opened the door and before I could say anything he said: "I'm sorry, I've made a mistake, I wanted the silver one not the black one". I hadn't even shown him the thing and I said: "Mate, it is the silver one, hang on I'll get it" and he just jumped on his motorbike and said: "No, I need a silver one" :confused:

You probably shouldn't have opened the door in your BDSM gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

I generally enjoy chatting with strangers - anybody I've ever met in an airport has had an interesting story to tell.

I remember once I was flying back to Dublin from the Netherlands, and I got chatting to a lad from Dublin, travelling back on his own too. I ended up sitting beside him on the plane too, he barely stopped chatting away to me the whole time during our ascent but I was enjoying listening to him so I went along with it. Anyways, a while later the air hostess comes around with the trolley and I order a sandwich and tea, and next thing I know the lad pays for my stuff for me. I objected but he turned to me and said "listen, to tell you the truth I'm terrified of flying and chatting away with you has helped keep me calm, so lunch is on me". Nice bloke :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭taytobreath

Selling stuff on adverts you meet some odd-balls, let me tell you. Some sound folk too, but the weird ones really are weird-fcuking-ooos.

I sold something on Adverts last week (was gonna say what but the guy freaked me totally out and I'm actually scared that he could potenially see this post, become angry and wear my skin for Christmas) but when he came in he started saying mad crap to me in a weird low mono-tone voice. Oh it was weird and I just tried to act cool and say yeah, I understood where he was coming from and that but I didn't nobody could.

Had one guy drive all the way from Wexford once to buy modem and he phoned a few times on the way for directions, then got lost near the house and finally when he arrived and this is no word of a lie, I opened the door and before I could say anything he said: "I'm sorry, I've made a mistake, I wanted the silver one not the black one". I hadn't even shown him the thing and I said: "Mate, it is the silver one, hang on I'll get it" and he just jumped on his motorbike and said: "No, I need a silver one" :confused:

Yesterday I sold a new sealed CD and the person collected it like it was a kilo of cocaine. No eye contact at all and legged it when I gave it to them. Then have had positive experiences too where bought a concert ticket off someone and ended up going out with them for the night afterwards

One thing I don't like though, is if I am eating alone in a cafe or wherever and someone sits at the same table. Even if the place is packed, I don't like it. Or alone at an event like a play or something as once you have made acquaintances with someone then you feel you have to act different throughout the show.

You know what, I've changed my mind now. Fcuking leave me be!

you must have a big rapist head on ya:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

OP if you wish to avoid travelling with the hoi polloi then it might be best to choose another airline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Plane was delayed here for hours going back to Dublin a few years ago. In the end, we all had to be transferred to another airport an hour away and a load of Irish and a few Polish (who lived in Dublin but had been visiting Madrid) palled up and we'd a great time! Got chatting to a couple who'd been over to get IVF treatment for about the 15th time as they desperately wanted to have kids and Spain has very high success rates in it and I always wonder about them and if that time was successful for them...

Anyway, yes, it's an Irish thing. As soon as the plane was delayed, I expected to getting chatting to someone. When we all formed a "crew", I was reminded what I miss the most about home and long may it last. I really love unexpected conversations with friendly strangers.

you must have a big rapist head on ya:D

Yeah, must check to see if Crimewatch was on the night before or something and my doppelganger was on the fecker or something :p

Nah, honest, the guy didn't even look at me, he was fumbling around with the bike still running and helmet in his hand and was mumbling to himself as I opened the door. My thinking was that he reliseed he left his money at home or something and just wanted to get away quick so he could scream 'Fuuuuccckkk!' after having driven up all that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

Is it an Irish thing?

Yes, we're special. Let us wonder at ourselves some more. I love navel-gazing.

Serious answer: Can't say it's something I've noticed happening very much at all. Certainly has rarely, if ever, happened to me!

Candie wrote: »
    Alun wrote: »
    Me too, I really don't get this obsession with cutting yourself off from the rest of the world with earphones or whatever.

It's not an obsession. For introverted people like me, small talk tends to make us quite anxious!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

hmmmm....I travel a lot and generally on my own, usually put my headphones and axe murderer face on shortly after getting out of the car and they stay on till I get to my hotel at the other end.

I'm really not interested in your cousins-sisters-bestmates-mother-in-laws tumor or how great a time you had last year visiting buttfuque in mozambique when you went to visit your thirdcousinsonyourmotherssidefatherinlaw who's building a house for the local parish handicapped goats herd who got hurt during the big storm when he tried to save several orphaned mongoose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,151 ✭✭✭furiousox

As Jean-Paul Sartre once said, "hell is other people..."

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Headphones usually keeps them away though you will get the odd person that will signal at you to take them off to have a chat.

Yes, we're special. Let us wonder at ourselves some more. I love navel-gazing.

Doesn't make us "special" but it has happened quite a lot to me flying to Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

furiousox wrote: »
    As Jean-Paul Sartre once said, "hell is other people..."

Hell is the Ray d'Arcy Show.

They would just love sitting at airports, doing a Paddy o Gorman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

I generally try to keep to myself when I fly alone. If someone tries to chat to me I take a second or two to decide if their hot(and femake)/not weird/interesting/sober. If they're the opposite then I'll just nod along before ditching them or putting in earphones.

I DESPISE drunk people who try to talk to me on public transport / a plane. They talk pure crap and breath on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,301 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Being laid back and casual enough to have the craic with randomers in situations like that is very much an Irish thing in my experience. I love it.

Doesn't make us "special" but it has happened quite a lot to me flying to Ireland.

My post was in response to the OP asking is it an Irish thing. Happens a lot around here, and often about things that happen absolutely everywhere. I don't think the chatty airport has ever happened to me anywhere!

MadYaker wrote: »
    Being laid back and casual enough to have the craic with randomers in situations like that is very much an Irish thing in my experience. I love it.

Saying that, I can see why people might not like it. I can't imagine someone who'd continue trying to talk to you after you gave them an indication that you're not interested though unless they were nuts or lacked social skills.

I probably just like it because I'm usually excited about going home.

My post was in response to the OP asking is it an Irish thing. Happens a lot around here, and often about things that happen absolutely everywhere. I don't think the chatty airport has ever happened to me anywhere!

Fair enough. It happens to me almost every time I fly home tbh, which is about 3 or 4 times a year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

I try to talk to randomers whenever I get the chance - at airports, on the train, anywhere. It's probably good for the soul to do so. Although most people these days in public have earphones in and have their eyes glued to their 'Pad. Every now and then you can be lucky and start chatting to an ouldfella who is a bit mad and is a bit of craic
    MadYaker wrote: »

Where are people in other countries going wrong that makes them averse to this sort of thing?

Saying that, I can see why people might not like it. I can't imagine someone who'd continue trying to talk to you after you gave them an indication that you're not interested though unless they were nuts or lacked social skills.

I probably just like it because I'm usually excited about going home.

Or are nervous about flying, that seems to be a reason for a lot of people to get horribly chatty and somewhat unstable.

If you're looking for sympathy it's in the dictionary between **** and syphilis.

:mad:

wexie wrote: »
    Or are nervous about flying, that seems to be a reason for a lot of people to get horribly chatty and somewhat unstable.

If you're looking for sympathy it's in the dictionary between **** and syphilis.

:mad:

Yikes! :eek: Can't tell if you're having a go at me there....

wexie wrote: »

I used to be terrified of flying and... gawd, yes.

Remember taking fúckloads of Diazepam before a flight and talking crap at the poor woman next to me for the duration of the 3 hour flight. Tried to hug her at one stage too. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Majority of my travel is for business so I doubt I give off an 'open to a chat' vibe.

Aside from that I normally try to sleep when flying so any small talk would be restricted to the terminal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭legrand

fado fado bused it between NY and Boston - think journey was about 5 hours if memory serves. Not so much chatted to but vicariously had to endure a woman talking to a stranger next her. She literally talked for 5 hours of the most inane ****e imaginable. I at least has a few cassettes to listen to and thus prevented me from reaching out and strangling her - quite how others around her did not react I don't know.

Yikes! :eek: Can't tell if you're having a go at me there....

ey?

No not at all, just like to be left alone when travelling (on my own, if I'm with family usually hands full), I seem to attract pretty weird individuals when I'm travelling on my own. I had some ginormous american woman actually ask me could she hold my hand flying from Atlanta to Austin :eek:

Not to mention the most surreal bustrip between Montreal and Toronto, overnight bus in the middle of a snowstorm. I found out afterwards that somewhere in between, I forget the name of the town, there used to be a mental hospital that closed up shop sometime ago. All the patients were released but just kinda hung around and tended to travel on the bus.