Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Raised some money for Movember? You're a racist apparently

• 03-12-2013 4:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭

Someone linked me to this article today from the New Statesman, and sadly it is no parody...

Apparently anyone who takes part in movember (which raised millions this year for cancer research) is a racist, a sexist, and an imperialist... and this isn't coming from some crank media outlet, the New Statesman is relatively mainstream...

So yeah, apparently it's racist because white people growing a mustasche is culturally appropriating and then ridiculing cultures where mustasche growth is a religious or cultural symbol.

It's also sexist because women and trans-men can't really grow them. Also some lads get drunk and did stupid things in the name of the craic at the galas associated with it, so obviously that means all participants are worse than Hitler...

I wish I was overstating the thrust of this article. On the plus side, I've never seen a comments section more united in derision in my life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Cirkey that just reads like a whinge from somebody with far too much time on their hands. So we can ad growing moustaches to the can not do list for straight white males according to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Sounds like he's swallowed the big book of political correctness and had a thesaurus for afters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Dublinpato

I can't grow a mustache so i'am in the clear ye bunch of racist's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,593 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Ah here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭COYVB

Knew it'd be a woman who wrote it before I even looked... and there's nothing sexist about that comment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Someone linked me to this article today from the New Statesman, and sadly it is no parody...

Apparently anyone who takes part in movember (which raised millions this year for cancer research) is a racist, a sexist, and an imperialist... and this isn't coming from some crank media outlet, the New Statesman is relatively mainstream...

So yeah, apparently it's racist because white people growing a mustasche is culturally appropriating and then ridiculing cultures where mustasche growth is a religious or cultural symbol.

It's also sexist because women and trans-men can't really grow them. Also some lads get drunk and did stupid things in the name of the craic at the galas associated with it, so obviously that means all participants are worse than Hitler...

I wish I was overstating the thrust of this article. On the plus side, I've never seen a comments section more united in derision in my life!

Needs a kick in the ring. Perhaps two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Click bait.

Arianne Shahvis must be a psuedo-name because there's no trace of them beyond that one article.

Anyways, you'd really have to be a special kind of stupid to believe there's something inherently wrong with Movember in regards to sexism or racism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,760 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Arianne Shahvis must be a psuedo-name because there's no trace of them beyond that one article.
    http://www.aub.edu.lb/nfo/new_faculty_profile/Pages/fall2013bio.aspx

3rd name on that list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭tritium

Called someone who raised cancer funds a racist?

You're a cnut apparently

Yes I'm looking at you Miss Shahvis, you mad wierdo!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Article won't seem to load for me, but from the summary in the OP, it sounds to me like someone was looking for a reason to be shocked. Should we be upset when women look to promote breast cancer awareness amongst women, when men can get it too? That's how petty it sounds to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Some people can't grow moustaches, therefore nobody should grow a moustache until all people can grow moustaches.

Some people already have moustaches, therefore nobody else should grow a moustache and have people laugh at them. Otherwise, the people who already had moustaches may indirectly have their feelings hurt.

These are the two points made in the article, and I feel I am in no way oversimplifying or distorting any sentiment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

that article is one of the most idiotic things ive ever read.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

Oh FFS the moustache doesn't have any cultural significance. Its just some f*cking hair that grows on my face!

What next should I wax my arse crack so I don't offend the pigmy tribe of the bald anus islands.

Movember is open to women too. Old grannies and Lesbos and trannies and low oestrogen types.

Some people them statesmen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Christ, this is pure tumblrite drivel!

The author may have had some decent points, such as:
    Shouldn't it be built around teaching men to self-examine for lumps, challenging taboos surrounding psychiatric illness, and encouraging men to minimise drinking, smoking and red meat consumption, all of which have been associated with increased risk of heart disease and cancer?

But for crying out loud, when you're making accusations that growing a mustache is racist, whatever point you may have had is going to get lost in a din of people having gotten their backs up. And yes, while men's health issues still need a boost, at least the whole movember thing is actually doing something!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Paper never refused ink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Wow that article is a good example of someone scraping the bottom of the barrel for something to be offended about.

Anything about breast cancer awareness is sexist because I don't have breasts.

Well, not really, but I find it completely idiotic.

Movember was one of the first proper things that brought forward any sort of health awareness for men and has hopefully opened the doorway for more to come.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

"Some of them shave the beard but others let it grow a little; and the nobles shave their cheeks but they let the moustache grow until it covers the mouth"

That's a description of the Celtic peoples by Greek historian Diodorus Siculus from between 60 - 30BC! We've been growing moustaches around these parts for thousands of years, so the author can shove that up her PC hole!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

I've tried typing a response a couple of times. But all I can say is Jesus bloody Christ.

Speechless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

What about shave or dye?

Is it seen as a sacrifice or an embarrassing thing to go bald or dye your hair red to raise money.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I've tried typing a response a couple of times. But all I can say is Jesus bloody Christ.

Speechless.
    Ditto Whoops, though I kept typing "the author is a moron", so that will suffice. As is the "author" of the guff Hande hoche! linked above.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,057 ✭✭✭conorhal

Ugh... You know what else is sexist? Testicular cancer, how dare it refuse to effect women.

She's also dead wrong, I've never met a militant feminist that had difficulty growing a mustache.....

While we're at it, I find it sexist that I can't enter the Flora Mini Marathon.

Well, not really.

I understand that some women dislike Movember for the simple fact that they dislike moustaches and would rather their men not grow one, but to then call it sexist because women can't? The mind... it really boggles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Its nearly January, women can have their fanuary and men won't complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

I'm actually frowning here reading that. The writer comes across with such personal hatred for Movember, it's pitiful.

Fairly transparently the immediate impression she gives is that she feels left out, not being able to grow a moustache and is sick of reading about it on Facebook. Then tries to justify her own personal agenda by saying it's racist because mainly non-white men wear moustaches? What? Men of all races have moustaches, I suppose it's offensive to old English gentlemen too?

Not only that but it's sexist? The whole idea of Movember is to highlight prostate cancer, a male affliction. Does it not make sense to go with something inherently male? And another thing, if any woman had the guts to wear a fake moustache for the whole month of November I guarantee she'd raise far more money and awareness than any man could.

Sorry for spitting vitriol at you guys reading but that's gotten me very worked up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

What about shave or dye?
    Shaving hair would offend monks. Dying hair would offend old ladies who think you are making fun of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Glad I read that article. My Dad is a white man who has had a moustache since the 1970s, I know now him to be a massive racist and will inform him of that immediately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Arianne Shahvisi

Research Interests: Philosophy of Physics, Philosophy of Cosmology, Philosophy Of Science, Unity of science, Metaphysics, The Direction of Time, Emergence, and Feminism

Say no more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Schism wrote: »
    Sorry for spitting vitriol at you guys reading but that's gotten me very worked up.

Carry on, it's got me worked up too because the author is using transgender people as a springboard to get offended on our behalf. I feel equally annoyed and embarassed by this.

Schism wrote: »

Not only that but it's sexist? The whole idea of Movember is to highlight prostate cancer, a male affliction. Does it not make sense to go with something inherently male? And another thing, if any woman had the guts to wear a fake moustache for the whole month of November I guarantee she'd raise far more money and awareness than any man could.

This times a billion. Plus it's not like Movember stops women from spouting a moustache - I was in London last week and on certain stops on the underground you could send in photos of your progress and it would be shown among the advertisements. There were quite a few women wearing fake moustaches that had raised some money
    Its nearly January, women can have their fanuary and men won't complain.

I really hope Fanuary doesn't become a thing.

• Site Banned Posts: 263 ✭✭Rabelais

Published in The New Statesman, a magazine even more insufferably self-righteous than The Guardian. Same magazine that published Russel Brand sh1tting on about revolution and his left-wing beliefs while wearing a pair of jeans that cost £400.

I preferred my loony lefties when they were like Nigel Benn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Daqster wrote: »
    Say no more.

There's nothing wrong with feminism if you know what you're talking about. In a nutshell: Everyone should be equal, and considering the history of poor treatment towards women we should place a special emphasis on dealing with that. Perfectly sensible, it has nothing to do with hating men or anything silly like that, and if you encounter someone who claims it does; they're likely either a sexist that wants to demonise feminists, or a woman that hates men and wants to hide behind feminism.

"The Direction of Time" as a research interest, however...god damn philosophers. It goes one direction: forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Daqster wrote: »
    Say no more.

Nothing at all wrong with feminism; the idea that women face hurdles in society due to their gender isn't nonsense.

If you're going to call bullsh*t then "metaphysics" and "cosmology" should give you plenty of legitimate ammunition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Some of the comments are brilliant
    " coming up next week - how giving up alcohol for October is mocking Muslims"

• Site Banned Posts: 40 DMR1861

That article was laughably pathetic but it doesn't surprise me. I've seen nutjobs ranting that white people shouldn't dress us as ninjas for Halloween or do yoga because its offensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

DMR1861 wrote: »
    That article was laughably pathetic but it doesn't surprise me. I've seen nutjobs ranting that white people shouldn't dress us as ninjas for Halloween or do yoga because its offensive.

Maybe we need an equal rights for white people movement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭sensormatic

t think foxhound is coming out like no bother,,,,,,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Once upon a time feminism fought for real everyday issues like votes and women in the workplace. Look at what its become. Complaining about Movember and lads mags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

All Mexicans have moustaches? All Indians have moustaches?

Riiiight.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

The New Statesman is no stranger to controversy and over the years has had numerous contentious articles and guest contributors. I must admit, I cancelled my subscription years back. I imagine it's a piss take or sales are falling.

Of course, the article is a godsend for the "PC gone mad" brigade and no doubt, will be referred to in years to come. But I doubt anyone of any kind of substance will take the article seriously. I don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭CatLou

Setun wrote: »
    Glad I read that article. My Dad is a white man who has had a moustache since the 1970s, I know now him to be a massive racist and will inform him of that immediately.

My thoughts exactly (well, not exactly, my da doesn't have a moustache). Because european men never grown moustaches before... Sure, they just do it to mock some random Mexican guy. Jesus, what a load of rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

I was pondering whether to grow a Hitler style mo this year but thought better of it, might do it next year though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

old hippy wrote: »

Of course, the article is a godsend for the "PC gone mad" brigade and no doubt, will be referred to in years to come. But I doubt anyone of any kind of substance will take the article seriously. I don't.

Well, it certainly allowed some posters to get their digs in...:rolleyes:

tin79 wrote: »

Movember is open to women too. Old grannies and Lesbos and trannies and low oestrogen types.

conorhal wrote: »

She's also dead wrong, I've never met a militant feminist that had difficulty growing a mustache.....

Signed

A Lesbo Granny Feminist who thinks Movember is a great idea.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Well, it certainly allowed some posters to get their digs in...:rolleyes:

Signed

A Lesbo Granny Feminist who thinks Movember is a great idea.

They can think of it as an early xmas present :D it's a great excuse for them to release all that misinformed, misguided and misogynist rage...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Zillah wrote: »
    There's nothing wrong with feminism if you know what you're talking about. In a nutshell: Everyone should be equal, and considering the history of poor treatment towards women we should place a special emphasis on dealing with that. Perfectly sensible, it has nothing to do with hating men or anything silly like that, and if you encounter someone who claims it does; they're likely either a sexist that wants to demonise feminists, or a woman that hates men and wants to hide behind feminism.

"The Direction of Time" as a research interest, however...god damn philosophers. It goes one direction: forward.

Yet the same feminist will lobby for gender quotas that makes some people more equal than others… you can't square that peg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

She is not a feminism, she is sexist and racist

Using her logic (not mine), women mini matrons for breast cancer are racist and sexist too. Its just a bunch of white women running, jogging and walking mocking Africans women who have to walk everyday for supplies. Men can't take part unless their in drag and breast cancer is not a worth while cause as more women die of heart diseases, strokes or HIV.

The article is a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

The only thing I can take from that article is that a moustache quite suits David Cameron. He looks more manly and trustworthy with one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

old hippy wrote: »
    The New Statesman is no stranger to controversy and over the years has had numerous contentious articles and guest contributors. I must admit, I cancelled my subscription years back. I imagine it's a piss take or sales are falling.

The oft muted no true scotsman fallacy.