Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do You support your County in the GAA?

• 30-11-2013 10:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭

Whether it's Carlow or KK, Kerry or Leitrim.

Do you get behind your own come the championship. I'm from Tipperary and every year there's fierce pressure put on our hurlers, we've a big tradition as 26 times (40 Munster titles) AI champions as well as winning the football 4 times (9 Munster titles).

I went to college with people from Carlow who used to support KK, I don't get that, You support your own. In the 90s nobody followed rugby apart from the d4s and rugger bugger purists, A Munster Leinster interpro in Thomand pre professionalism in the early 90s would be lucky to have 2 men and a dog in attendance, even for a good while after too.

Is it all down to Bandwagons? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Yes, very much so.

Of course there are always supporters of teams who just support them when there winning,just like the Ireland soccer team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I do quite passionately, but I have zero interest in premier soccer strangely enough.

Mostly 90mins of lads tapping a ball Backwards and forwards to each other with the occasional goal.

Where is the excitement in that :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Genuinely never met a proper Gaa supporter who didn't support their own county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

If you're from Carlow in fairness supporting KK is probably your only option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Yup as a dub livin in carlow that would obviously be my preference in teams. I think i can rest easy they will never meet in a final!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Mahogany Gaspipe

A dog, at a rugby game, really?

Come on that's complete bollix in fairness. Sure how would he get a ticket?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

Nope, I couldnt name one player on the Dublin team in either codes. It is not on my radar in the slightest. I've never been to a game or watched one on tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

realies wrote: »
    Yes, very much so.

Of course there are always supporters of teams who just support them when there winning,just like the Ireland soccer team.

Ireland soccer team dosnt do winning. Its just a piss up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,763 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Yep, that pretty much the cornerstone of the gaa. In fairness its the same in rugby, I know Leinster fans who would prob have more in common with typical Munster or Connaught fans than the typical Leinster fan but they still support Leinster.

Its not the same in soccer but I think if the structures were set up in a similar way and they created a "support your own" situation, domestic soccer would get a lot more support. Its prob the most played sport when you take into account 5 a side etc but the FAI doesn't seem to have any strategy on that level

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Big Davey

Define your own county ?? I was born in one county spent my childhood in two different counties and now live in another. Which one should I support ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,994 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

I'm from Mayo and attach more emotional to following them than I probably should...this is not a good thing if you don't enjoy the bitter taste of disappointment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I'm from Mayo and attach more emotional to following them I probably should...this is not a good thing if you don't enjoy the bitter taste of disappointment.

Plenty of Connacht titles though. 1951 is only 62 years ago. :pac:

Seriously you're bound to break your duct sooner or later, the current Mayo team are still young, battle scarred yes but they have the experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

No, couldn't care less about GAA rivalries.

Ireland soccer team dosnt do winning. Its just a piss up.

They did a lot of winnings in the 80,s and 90,s :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Pretty easy when you're a Dub. :cool:

Saying that, I've supported them since I was old enough to go to games. My family are somewhat obsessed with Gaelic Football, so I didn't really have much choice.

We used to go to a lot of the games as a family growing up along with my cousins and aunties from Dublin (my mam's family are all proper Dubs) and I remember my mother would sit down and make jerseys for us all along with Dublin flags and other Dublin paraphernalia. To say she was a proud Dub would be an understatement. My sister had a Dubs themed Christening for my niece this year as it was the day before the big game. We were all instructed to put on our jerseys after the mass bit. Sounds worse than it actually was - it was great crack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭PeteEd

I'm from Antrim
    Whats this GAA you talk off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭upstairs for coffee

It's a sport for boggers.

PeteEd wrote: »
    I'm from Antrim
    Whats this GAA you talk off?

Good hurlers in fairness, not great but good, you've won about 100 Ulster titles.
    I remember in 1989 when ye beat Offaly and got to an AI final. Unfortunately you came up against Tipp in the final and Nicky English ran riot.

Really :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

And Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,763 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I wonder has Bernard Brogan ever spent an evening footing turf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Ooh, good one. Do you avoid original flavour crisps the same way you avoid original comments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

Hon Tipp!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Thomas D

No. County borders mean nothing to me. I'd see myself as being a person from a certain town, followed by an association with Dublin city and finally an Irish person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,076 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

no.

LordSutch wrote: »
    no.

Why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Big Davey wrote: »
    Define your own county ?? I was born in one county spent my childhood in two different counties and now live in another. Which one should I support ?

Were your parents from the county where you were born?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Thomas D wrote: »
    No. County borders mean nothing to me. I'd see myself as being a person from a certain town, followed by an association with Dublin city and finally an Irish person.

Its a bit weird within Dublin because there is no local rivalry. Not many dubs would go to school just over the Louth or Kildare border. Also you have the extra council counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,302 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Big Davey wrote: »

Which one do you support?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

I support Kerry because they won the all Ireland when I was 10. This is the method of picking a team that Irish people use when picking their English football team.

I tell people that I have some sort of family connection to Kerry though. Sure my Dad went to all their games in the 60's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

I support Galway but I'm in no way fanatical.
    More like a fleeting interest.

Why not?

Not into the GAA, its not my sport, but I do support the local football/Rugby teams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I go to one or two championship games a year but couldn't find a league game with a flashlight if it was on my back garden.

In other words, I'm a Dublin gah fan.

There is nothing wrong with supporting a football game, It's not life or death or more important than that.

It's to be enjoyed and people who take it to serious need to cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Whether it's Carlow or KK, Kerry or Leitrim.

Do you get behind your own come the championship. I'm from Tipperary and every year there's fierce pressure put on our hurlers, we've a big tradition as 26 times (40 Munster titles) AI champions as well as winning the football 4 times (9 Munster titles).

I went to college with people from Carlow who used to support KK, I don't get that, You support your own. In the 90s nobody followed rugby apart from the d4s and rugger bugger purists, A Munster Leinster interpro in Thomand pre professionalism in the early 90s would be lucky to have 2 men and a dog in attendance, even for a good while after too.

Is it all down to Bandwagons? :pac:

You're from Tipp, the Carlow boys were winding you up, either that or compele muppets.
    Also that's not true about rugby.

In work, one of the Clare boys was absolutely torn apart by all the country lads for wearing a Dubs jersey.

The one doing the majority of the slagging was a Tipp man.... with a Liverpool tattoo across his whole back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

I support Offaly because I have lived in the county all my life.If I was from Laois I would support them

In my opinion the idea of supporting a team because they win is completely daft, and it must be a fairly hollow experience.

realies wrote: »
    There is nothing wrong with supporting a football game, It's not life or death or more important than that.

It's to be enjoyed and people who take it to serious need to cop on.

The neighbour is totally nuts about ManU. They even travel to Old Trafford several times a year :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

anncoates wrote: »
    I go to one or two championship games a year but couldn't find a league game with a flashlight if it was on my back garden.

In other words, I'm a Dublin gah fan.

The Dublin footballers have had an average attendance of around 20000 at their league matches over the last 2 years

I'm from leitrim and I couldn't give a **** about gaa. boring sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Do You support your County in the GAA?

Yeah, looking forward to the league :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,994 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

You can call any sport 'boring'.

I'm a big fan of soccer as well and most games are boring to watch but I still enjoy them.
    Wouldn't follow rugby as much but from what I watch from the Rabo and most international games are boring as well...well to me anyway.

It's all relative to the person watching.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    You're from Tipp, the Carlow boys were winding you up, either that or compele muppets.
    Also that's not true about rugby.

It is true, nobody cared about Inter Pros in the 90s it was all about the club scene. Sides who were supported by genuine Rugby people, St Marys of Dublin , Shannon, Garyowen for eg. Rugby wasn't popular among the masses here until Drico and the rest of the overrated primadonnas hit in the early 2000s.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Yellow121

The new season is just over a month away with the provincial cups (McGrath, McKenna cup etc). See who's new to the panel for 2014, anyone shaping up nicely, anyone left :(, if you have a new manager to check out. It's all so exciting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

No interest in Gaa at all, never really got the appeal tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

It is true, nobody cared about Inter Pros in the 90s it was all about the club scene. Sides who were supported by genuine Rugby people, St Marys of Dublin , Shannon, Garyowen for eg. Rugby wasn't popular among the masses here until Drico and the rest of the overrated primadonnas hit in the early 2000s.

That's a bit harsh. I have always supported irish rugby and am not from a rugby stronghold. I think the support for the provinces has increased more down to exposure than anything else. You might have seen an interpros game once a year in sports stadium back in the 90s. Rugby was always popular but its exposure was more limited until professionalism. When the old 5 nations was on there was always a bit of crack at school flaking a rugby ball around eventhough we never actually played properly. Admittedly for much of the rest of the year there was not as much interest. But you did not have a Heineken cup then so the 5 nations was the only top level rugby you would see on the box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

I've no issue with you using the word boring. But "gaa" is not a sport. Drives me nuts when people talk about "playing GAA". That's like asking do you play FAI or do you play IRFU. The GAA covers a number of sports, and to be honest apart from the scoring system, player numbers and pitch dimensions, there's not a whole lot of similarity between the main two, hurling and football.

And although it's fair enough if you think they're both boring (each to their own) I personally don't know how anyone could have found the All Ireland hurling final this year boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭upstairs for coffee

GAA is a boring sport. At club level, the teams go out to hammer the ****e out of one another be it in football or hurling.

It's archaic. No strategy, no tactics, no nous needed to win. Just be stronger, fitter, be able to give the shliotar a good whack, "mark your man" and you are sorted.

Boring boring GAA. And it prevents other sports from developing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Jimmymcnulty86

I avoid GAA matches nd days out like the plague. even though it's a great oul sport GAA supporters are by far the most irritating sports fans, don't have the patience for it. From the bandwagon Dubs fans every summer who get pissed up scream "up daaa duuubs" even though they can only name Brogan to the the backward GAA obsessed lads who judge a person on weather or not he's good at football nd think the world revolves round suppin pints nd the GAA.