Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calls for discrimination against ginger-haired people to be made a hate crime

• 29-11-2013 10:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/my-daughter-was-bullied-to-death-in-england-over-her-red-hair-29794602.html
    THE father of an Irish teenager living in England has said his daughter took her own life after being bullied for years simply because she had red hair.

Enda Farrell, who moved with his family from Galway to the UK in 2001, is calling for discrimination against ginger-haired people to be made a hate crime.

Mr Farrell believes the 15-year-old killed herself partly to escape the constant abuse she had suffered due to her rare hair colour.

South Cumbria hate crime manager DS Mike Wallace said there were no immediate plans to amend the force's policy, but it was reviewed every 12 months and other potential categories were being considered.

A step too far to be made a hate crime? Do red heads really get it that bad?

Where would you stop with hate crimes though, over weight people ect

Its terrible what happened to this girl but bullies will always find something to discriminate and bully somebody about.

Maybe bullying itself should be made a crime?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Mr.McLovin wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/my-daughter-was-bullied-to-death-in-england-over-her-red-hair-29794602.html

Its terrible what happened to this girl but bullies will always find something to discriminate and bully somebody about.

Well, enough to drive someone to suicide. Is that not enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

It's a really sad story. I'm not going to argue either way but I will say that this will be passed into law and we'll continue to plod on in this direction along the pc road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭gdawg87

seems to be a lot of teens committing suicide over the last few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭duchalla

TBH, I think the gingers get a rougher time of it in Hingland than they do here....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

Birneybau wrote: »

It seems in this case the person did maybe in general they do then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

gdawg87 wrote: »
    seems to be a lot of teens committing suicide over the last few years

Or people are talking about it now. My grand parents rarely talk about people committing suicide when they were growing up. There just happened to be a lot of "accidents".

Putting hate crimes in place isnt going to stop most people from doing or saying hateful things. But education will have a greater affect. Most young people are unaware using terms like ****** and gay is seriously damaging to someone. But still use those words(a hate crime currently on the books), but if they were educated on about the damaging affects of the words they might not use them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

One person though. I'm not saying hat it isn't a tragedy, just that one case does not indicate a widespread problem.

I get slagged off about being bald. When i was in school it was my accent. I got slagged off because of my teeth (I had buck teeth) too. I was even bullied for a while.

If I had killed myself because of the bullying it does not mean that getting slagged off because of something that made me different was a hate crime. Just like someone calling me baldy now isn't a hate crime.

The issue here isn't the bullying about being a ginger, it's the bullying itself. If the girl wasn't ginger then they might have just picked on something else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Grayson wrote: »
    One person though. I'm not saying hat it isn't a tragedy, just that one case does not indicate a widespread problem.

I get slagged off about being bald. When i was in school it was my accent. I got slagged off because of my teeth (I had buck teeth) too. I was even bullied for a while.

If I had killed myself because of the bullying it does not mean that getting slagged off because of something that made me different was a hate crime. Just like someone calling me baldy now isn't a hate crime.

The issue here isn't the bullying about being a ginger, it's the bullying itself. If the girl wasn't ginger then they might have just picked on something else.
    What about black people so?

Is it just another bit of slagging and no different to having having red hair or buck teeth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I don't think there is as much malice in slagging someone that's bald as there is in the raw, bizarre hatred sometimes directed towards someone with ginger hair.

The hatred for Gingers stems from old English animosity towards the Irish and Scots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

It's a little like saying teenagers slagging off other teenager's clothes is a hate crime.

The issue is that the poor kid was bullied, not the form that the bullying took.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Wont it just make us more of a target if they officialise it as a hate crime?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Jarrod

As others have said, it's likely that had this girl not had red hair then she probably would have been picked on for something else. That's how bullies operate, they pick on whatever they think their target will feel most self conscious about and then pick on them for it. If they they realise that the trait they've chosen doesn't get the desired reaction they pick something else.

Whether or not this girl was picked on because she had red hair is the issue in whether it could possibly be considered a hate crime. Bullies usually pick their targets and then decide what they're going to focus their cruelty on rather than the other way around.

For example, when I was in first year, there was one complete d1ckhead in my class. I mean this guy slagged me off about everything possible, being too thin, being too into sports are two I can remember. Now I've no reason to think that this guy hated thin people, rather, he saw me as someone who was an easy target (I was pretty shy and quiet). The guy was a complete pr1ck but I wouldn't consider what he said to be a hate crime, although I suppose you could argue that all bullying is a hate crime...

I don't really know what my point is now, I'm confusing myself. I suppose what I'm saying is, bullies are going to pick on 'weak' people for whatever they think will hurt the most, getting bogged down in the specifics of their taunts is somewhat irrelevant (this last bit is not in reference to this case, necessarily, as I don't know the specifics but more in reference to bullying in general).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭Spokes of Glory

Firstly, it's not confirmed as a suicide. But if that turns out to be the case, it seems to me further evidence that a whole generation of people are growing up who cannot deal with unpopularity or group exclusion. Nobody is obliged to like you unfortunately, and coping with that is a life lesson most people learn as they grow. Expecting that state to enforce a situation where immature kids and adolescents cannot single out an individual (and I'm excluding physical intimidation here) because they have red hair/freckles/glasses is ignoring the reality of human behaviour at that age. Bullying (if you want to use that term) has always existed in schools, albeit it certainly seems to be more personal and vitriolic these days. On the other hand, kids seem to be more sensitive to it.

Spokes

Firstly, it's not confirmed as a suicide. But if that turns out to be the case, it seems to me further evidence that a whole generation of people are growing up who cannot deal with unpopularity or group exclusion. Nobody is obliged to like you unfortunately, and coping with that is a life lesson most people learn as they grow. Expecting that state to enforce a situation where immature kids and adolescents cannot single out an individual (and I'm excluding physical intimidation here) because they have red hair/freckles/glasses is ignoring the reality of human behaviour at that age. Bullying (if you want to use that term) has always existed in schools, albeit it certainly seems to be more personal and vitriolic these days. On the other hand, kids seem to be more sensitive to it.

Spokes

Bullying doesn't only happen as kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

In our own little microcosm (boards) it would be like making comments like "Ginger have no souls" a bannable offence.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

sticks and stones will break my bones but words will get you sent to prison

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

What next............. your sentence gets halved if it's just a strawberry blond you discriminated against?

The father is grief stricken and is flailing around for something...........anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭The_Pretender

I don't really see why people should be slagged for things they have no control over :confused:

It's different if you're slagging a friend who wears awful clothing, but to bully someone for being ginger or gay or a different nationality is just stupid :mad:

I don't really see why people should be slagged for things they have no control over :confused:

It's different if you're slagging a friend who has a terrible fashion sense, but to bully someone for being ginger or gay or a different nationality is just stupid :mad:

Unfortunately we have humans who have not evolved to grasp this concept amongst us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭Spokes of Glory

Bullying doesn't only happen as kids.

Agreed. But this report focuses on a 15year old, and I think we'd all reasonably expect that an adult would be more emotionally capable of dealing with insults about their hair colour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

Bullies pick on people they perceive to be weaker than them. Unfortunately, if it wasn't about her hair they would have focused on something else.

That being said, I endorse anything that makes these little ****ers that bully people be held more accountable for their actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭loveisdivine

I'm ginger (although its darkened a little in the last few years) but believe me, it can be seriously rough in school. I'm talking daily jibes and comments, you are the butt of everyones jokes. Your nickname will be something to do with being ginger, if you make a mistake its cos you're a ginge! You are never considered attractive. Infact I had a boyfriend in high school that got so much abuse from others for going out with a ginge that he dumped me! Now to be honest I handled it well, the fact that it had been going on for years meant I eventually got used to it and I embraced it.

Bit I can totally see how someone a little more insecure could get very overwhelmed by it.

Its such a shame because majority of redheads, once they get older, love their hair and wouldn't change it for the world! Including me :D Also, the boys in school that used to tease you for being ginger (which automatically meant unattractive) suddenyl start looking at you in a different light and the red hair becomes super sexy. Its all a bit crazy really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

I'm ginger (although its darkened a little in the last few years) but believe me, it can be seriously rough in school. I'm talking daily jibes and comments, you are the butt of everyones jokes. Your nickname will be something to do with being ginger, if you make a mistake its cos you're a ginge! You are never considered attractive. Infact I had a boyfriend in high school that got so much abuse from others for going out with a ginge that he dumped me! Now to be honest I handled it well, the fact that it had been going on for years meant I eventually got used to it and I embraced it.

Bit I can totally see how someone a little more insecure could get very overwhelmed by it.

Its such a shame because majority of redheads, once they get older, love their hair and wouldn't change it for the world! Including me :D Also, the boys in school that used to tease you for being ginger (which automatically meant unattractive) suddenyl start looking at you in a different light and the red hair becomes super sexy. Its all a bit crazy really.

I'm asking a straight question here, I'm not setting you up to prove a point, would you feel this treatment you received (which was bang out of order by the way) should be classed as a hate crime?

I ask because I am genuinely curious and I suppose it would be easy for me to be dismissive of the notion a) because I am not a red head and b) I have never been the victim of being singled out because of my appearance.

I'm asking a straight question here, I'm not setting you up to prove a point, would you feel this treatment you received (which was bang out of order by the way) should be classed as a hate crime?

I ask because I am genuinely curious and I suppose it would be easy for me to be dismissive of the notion a) because I am not a red head and b) I have never been the victim of being singled out because of my appearance.

To be honest, no, I wouldn't class it as a hate crime. Its a tough one because it can genuinely have a big influence on your life. I agree with another poster that this girl was clearly very vulnerable and if it wasn't her hair then it would have been something else.

I think there just needs to be more support/reassurance that being ginger isn't going to ruin your life. That you are attractive and that its not some sort of disease!

If someone had of come to me when I was younger and explained to me how my feeling towards my hair colour would change as I got older, heck even brought my attention to all the gorgeous ginger people out there, it probably would have helped a bit. Cos the main thing for me was this feeling that no one would ever find me attractive, that gingers couldn't be desirable. If we could shatter that myth I think it would genuinely help a l ot of people. It might sound vain to focus on attractiveness, but when you're 15 its a big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Do gingers really get properly bullied about it? There were a few gingers in my year in school who got slagged off a bit about it, but nothing more severe than just general banter. No one ever bullied gingers with the intention of genuinely upsetting them.
    I never encountered that kind of thing among any of my groups of mates growing up tbh - it never went beyond the friendly, slap on the back sort of jesting.

Were we unusual, or is this particular case unusual?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

You are never considered attractive. Infact I had a boyfriend in high school that got so much abuse from others for going out with a ginge that he dumped me!

Jesus Christ. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭Marcus Halberstram

I have red hair and I ****in hate the term ginger. I've noticed more and more Irish people using that word ever since that stupid ****in South Park episode. I was teased relentlessly as a kid and that was the term used but generally only in a derogatory sense. Now everyone seems to use it and I always tell people I hate that word, I have red hair NOT ginger. And its not just kids that bully people for having red hair, adults do it too. I've got nothing but abuse here for the colour of my hair to the point that I actually hated it growing up.

It was only until I went abroad that I received compliments for the first time in my life about my hair colour.

Most recent negative comment passed here - A girl I know openly said in front of me that she would never have a partner with "ginger hair" because "ginger babies are horrible."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Wont it just make us more of a target if they officialise it as a hate crime?

AHA!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭marizpan

Most recent negative comment passed here - A girl I know openly said in front of me that she would never have a partner with "ginger hair" because "ginger babies are horrible."

I had red hair growing up but it is more strawberry blonde now. I used to get slagged for being ginger all the time and i saw my hair colour as a negative untill 14 yrs when I started getting a lot of attention from language students who thought it was stunning.
    I am now proud of it.

I have two red haired children. They tell me they are 'orange' not red. And love their hair colour as they get so much attention from family and we can't even go shopping without being stopped 3-4 times as people admire it.

My dark haired hubby is very very proud of his red haired children. When we go abroad, people ask to take photos of our hair but ask hubby out of the photo!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

I'm in two minds about this. In one way, it's no different to bullying for other reasons (glasses, accent, weight, clothes, whatever) and it's probably not a good idea to make everything a hate-crime. On the other hand, in a lot of ways, the way redheads get treated is not far off racism, and that IS a hate-crime. There really isn't much difference between hating/abusing someone for their dark skin and hating/abusing someone for their red hair and freckles, is there?

And yes, redheads do get treated awfully in this country and in England. As a teenager, I'd be shouted at in the street several times a month ("GINGEEEEER!" "Ginger minger!" etc.) by complete strangers. After that whole South Park thing, people would frequently bring up "gingers have no souls" in front of me, or say "Yeah, but you have no soul, so..." to put down my opinion. Loads of people I knew in school would like Bebo pages entitled things like "Find a cure for ginger-ness", "Gingers are mingers", etc. and make offhanded comments on how they'd never date a ginger or hated ginger hair without caring that redheads could see/hear them. I always shook it off, but I can see how it could send someone already vulnerable over the edge. It's not always outright bullying, but just constant little jibes or, worse, matter-of-fact statements about how gingers are ugly, etc. It could definitely get you thinking negatively about your looks or make you think that no-one will ever find you attractive. It might be a joke to everyone else, but when you hear it so frequently (especially in your awkward teenage years), it does get into your head.

I dunno about making it a hate-crime, but I wouldn't object to stuff like "gingers have no souls"/"gingers are all ugly" being removed from boards. Replace "gingers" with "black people" and you've got a strong racist statement there - so why is one tolerated and culturally acceptable??

I'm in two minds about this. In one way, it's no different to bullying for other reasons (glasses, accent, weight, clothes, whatever) and it's probably not a good idea to make everything a hate-crime. On the other hand, in a lot of ways, the way redheads get treated is not far off racism, and that IS a hate-crime. There really isn't much difference between hating/abusing someone for their dark skin and hating/abusing someone for their red hair and freckles, is there?

And yes, redheads do get treated awfully in this country and in England. As a teenager, I'd be shouted at in the street several times a month ("GINGEEEEER!" "Ginger minger!" etc.) by complete strangers. After that whole South Park thing, people would frequently bring up "gingers have no souls" in front of me, or say "Yeah, but you have no soul, so..." to put down my opinion. Loads of people I knew in school would like Bebo pages entitled things like "Find a cure for ginger-ness", "Gingers are mingers", etc. and make offhanded comments on how they'd never date a ginger or hated ginger hair without caring that redheads could see/hear them. I always shook it off, but I can see how it could send someone already vulnerable over the edge. It's not always outright bullying, but just constant little jibes or, worse, matter-of-fact statements about how gingers are ugly, etc. It could definitely get you thinking negatively about your looks or make you think that no-one will ever find you attractive. It might be a joke to everyone else, but when you hear it so frequently (especially in your awkward teenage years), it does get into your head.

I dunno about making it a hate-crime, but I wouldn't object to stuff like "gingers have no souls"/"gingers are all ugly" being removed from boards. Replace "gingers" with "black people" and you've got a strong racist statement there - so why is one tolerated and culturally acceptable??

I could've written that all myself! I'd often be walking down to the local shop and there would be a group of (younger than me!) kids stood outside who had no problem shouting "ginger!) at me as I walked past.

I just realised nodoby had posted this yet, surely its obligatory for all ginger-related threads?!

http://youtu.be/KVN_0qvuhhw

I don't think there is as much malice in slagging someone that's bald as there is in the raw, bizarre hatred sometimes directed towards someone with ginger hair.

You ever have someone run up behind you and smack you full force in the back of the head? Or have a rugby team try and lick it for good luck?

It's not pleasant but I wouldn't call it a hate crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Gingers. Then what? People with spots, goofy people. The list would be endless, especially in schools. Would never work.

Kids might actually start listening though.

Gingers do get a hard time in fairness. I love ginger women.* very very sexy. Sometimes.

*Awaits PMs

Mint Aero wrote: »

4 stories is hardly an epidemic now is it? Fair enough it's horrible. But to bring in a law and call it a hate crime? Cop on.

How about children be brought up more to respect each other and that personal insults aren't nice? Not giving the parents a criminal convection for calling someone ginger.

More bollox from AH I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Comments about physical features representative of many races (eyes, hair, lips, nose, etc) are considered hate crimes, so why not those related to the minority which have ginger/red hair?

I'm not sure if "hate" crimes should exist at all - but if they do, they should at least be an equal opportunities employer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

4 stories is hardly an epidemic now is it? Fair enough it's horrible. But to bring in a law and call it a hate crime? Cop on.

How about children be brought up more to respect each other and that personal insults aren't nice? Not giving the parents a criminal convection for calling someone ginger.

More bollox from AH I see.

How about you cop on Billy. 4 stories? That was page one of my Google search. I haven't all day :rolleyes:

Remember kick a ginger Facebook day? :rolleyes:

If you really think inciting hatred of Redheads isn't a growing a problem then perhaps dye your hair orange for a week and see how ya get on :rolleyes:

*sigh* :rolleyes:

Whatever about gingers, I think it's perfectly fine to hate people who post like that.

Well done, you googled.

4 cases does not make a hate crime either.

Especially considering the third one has nothing to do with a kid being ginger. They don't even know if the kid was bullied. Did you even bother reading the stuff you posted?

The 4th one is about a kid killing himself because he was bullied. He dad had told him stories about being bullied when he was a kid because he had redhair and glasses. Are glasses a hate crime now? And of course the kid who was bullied and killed themselves wasn't actually bullied because they were ginger.

Whatever about gingers, I think it's perfectly fine to hate people who post like that.

Well done, you googled.

4 cases does not make a hate crime either.

Utter nonsense :rolleyes:

Comments about physical features representative of many races (eyes, hair, lips, nose, etc) are considered hate crimes, so why not those related to the minority which have ginger/red hair?

I'm not sure if "hate" crimes should exist at all - but if they do, they should at least be an equal opportunities employer.

I think the word opportunity is an apt one. I think that ginger kids who are bullied are targets of opportunities. I think the kid with the bad teeth, or the limp, or the thick glasses or whatever is just as likely to be bullied. It's just whoever happens to get in the bullies crosshair.

And I think it makes an interesting newspaper story which is why we hear about it.

Why the fock do you keep rolling your eyes, go see an eye specialist.

Mint aero, more like golden crisp ;)

Get off Facebook, it's not the gospel to life. Kids with all sorts of little issues get picked on.

I know sure but don't expect AH to see what's wrong with that :rolleyes:
    Why the fock do you keep rolling your eyes, go see an eye specialist.

Mint aero, more like golden crisp ;)

Get off Facebook, it's not the gospel to life. Kids with all sorts of little issues get picked on.

Leave Golden Crisp out of it :P

I don't see your point of view tbh Billy, I don't expect you to see mine either. I think it should be made a hate crime.

Leave Golden Crisp out of it :P

I don't see your point of view tbh Billy, I don't expect you to see mine either. I think it should be made a hate crime.

I had white hair that eventually turned dirty blondish growing up and called hay head for 20 years can I sue for emontional damages and get the people charged with hate crimes? You think that be fair?

I'm bald now but that's not the point!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Yellow121

Redheads are more Irish than the rest of us. I only have some red hair when I grow a beard. It's no surprise that redheads have major trouble in England as they have major race related problems.
    Make no mistake about it, them having a go at redheads is race related. If bullying someone over their skin colour is a crime then surely bullying someone over their hair colour should be also. Especially when it's race related.

I had white hair that eventually turned dirty blondish growing up and called hay head for 20 years can I sue for emontional damages and get the people charged with hate crimes? You think that be fair?

I'm bald now but that's not the point!

It's not the same Billy :( There isn't widespread hate campaigns against people with white hair except when it comes to FG against OAP's :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭constance tench

ops..just deleted that as it was mentioned in the OP's link:rolleyes::)

It's not the same Billy :( There isn't widespread hate campaigns against people with white hair except when it comes to FG against OAP's :p

Well I feel every bit as emotionally damaged as the ginger kid. So why isn't it the same?!

Well when there's a kick a white/baldy head day come back to me with your woes Billy and I might support your type in a quest for equality etc

Went to school with gingers and they had it bad but not bullying. The ones that did get bullied a lot though were kids with real bad acne. My school was horrible for slagging though it went to far everyday for 5 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

I use to get the **** kicked out of, covered in spit, books stolen , never ending ging jibes. Pre south park gingers jokes. Some retards do act in a way towards red heads that should count as a hate crime so yea do it. Never had much probs after school that i couldnt deal with.