Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Friday

• 28-11-2013 11:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭

Not particularly keen on alot tomorrow.
    I have noted Lucinda russel sending one to Doncaster and Charlie longsdon is sending one which recently joined the yard to musselbrough nearly 400m each way

Doncaster 1.20 clondaw Flicka 4-1
    Musselbrough 2.55 Palus San Marco 9-1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

just waiting for Urban's "bet of the year" that's supposed to be running at Dundalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Goldcupfav

Backed Cedre Bleu at 6/1 in the 2.40 Newbury. Seems to put in his best after a break so first time out tomorrow after 225 days off. Horse owes me nothing as i caught him at Haydock the run before last. Also throwing in Calipto and Wonderful Charm with him in a trixie. Wilde blue Yonder in the last also takes my fancy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 256 ✭✭CueCard7

Did nt put it up on tips because only 15/8 but Tocatta Blue should win in Dundalk.

Would put it up on tips but Dundalk's a kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

CueCard7 wrote: »

Would put it up on tips but Dundalk's a kip.

A completely legitimate reason not to put a tip up :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Malarkey121

I make good money at Dundalk Friday evenings, depends on what pays your weekends imo in fact I will only have a bet at Dundalk today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

Twelve Roses for me today in the big handicap hurdle. Second begin that McManus horse the last day that won last weekend More of That. They pulled 20 odd lengths clear of the remainder.
    6/1 is a cracking price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Ian Whelan

One that I will be laying today is Funny Star in the first race at Doncaster. Thought the last run was unimpressive and the horse seems to me to have limited scope for improvement. The form figures are a bit misleading as mostly ran in small fields. I am a follower of Paul Nicholls' horses but I will be laying this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Easter Meteor was going very well out in front when falling in the PP Gold Cup.
    Runs in the 2.40 at Newbury off 3 pounds higher.
    Rest of his form leaves a lot to be desired to be fair but having watched his last run again, looked very handy coming to the 2nd last.
    Small bet on at 6/1, just the beginning of the Lavelle love-in this weekend(PP out to 12s on Highland lodge so think i'll back that today).

Interesting to see if its a going day for CANTLOW in the same race, they don't really want his mark plummeting too much.

only1stevo wrote: »
    Rest of his form leaves a lot to be desired to be fair but having watched his last run again, looked very handy coming to the 2nd last.
    Small bet on at 6/1, just the beginning of the Lavelle love-in this weekend(PP out to 12s on Highland lodge so think i'll back that today).

Interesting to see if its a going day for CANTLOW in the same race, they don't really want his mark plummeting too much.

I reckon Easter meteor will be kept for march

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭paul64

Anyone know whats the good thing in dundalk tonight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

No such thing as a good thing at Dundalk. ;)

Of course, it happens everywhere, but I've seen far too many short priced favourites get not only beaten, but hockeyed at Dundalk (the first race last week springs to mind, a 4/7 shot comfortably beaten).

Splendid Light 9.15 well in with the fav.. is my dundalk bet tonight

ste2010 wrote: »
    I reckon Easter meteor will be kept for march

Any specific reason for this? Has Lavelle mentioned a target or just a hunch?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

MIJHAAR Doncaster 12:50:00
    TWELVE ROSES Newbury 13:30:00
    CEDRE BLEU Newbury 14:40:00

Anyone fancy anything in first Newbery?

Lottery of a race

Any specific reason for this? Has Lavelle mentioned a target or just a hunch?

Just a hunch - bigger day out with good chelt form mightn't want to blow their mark.
    Might be wrong.

Wintered well looks to be a plot in Doncaster 3.05 5-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,955 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Only one bet for me today, Foxtail Hill at 9/4 in the Donny bumper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭langer91

Only one bet for me today, Foxtail Hill at 9/4 in the Donny bumper.

on this myself, friend of mine knows the jockey and he said it has a good chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Bardari in the first. Only bet of the day.

Clondaw Flicks looks interesting too but has let me down a few times, one to watch today.

Liked Calipto myself, but am unsure.

Will swerve this one

Will be backing Bar De ligne in Newcastle @ 3-1

That was bad..... lol @ yer man saying lay of the day funny star....influenced my choice

Surely calipto should be favourite in the first. Looks a good juvenile race. Will be interested to see if either of the first 3 could put up a good performance. Calipto looks over priced and nicholls does well with this type of horse. But not a betting race for me.

kiers47 wrote: »
    Surely calipto should be favourite in the first. Looks a good juvenile race. Will be interested to see if either of the first 3 could put up a good performance. Calipto looks over priced and nicholls does well with this type of horse. But not a betting race for me.

Backed b4 off will join in.

Won well made up for that mishap on bar de ligne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Anyone calling Dundalk a kip was obviously never there.Dundalk 7.15 Meihua 10/1.James Ryan 2yr old ran well last time out and not knocked about and Fran Berry could have rode a few in this race.Duke of Marmalade is fast becoming a stallion for the all weather scene and out of a Storm Bird mare any further money for this lad should be noted[10/1 very short for what he has achieved so far].The most interesting horse on the card tonight at Dundalk is Prince Of Fashion 20/1.I had a horse with Johnny Geoghegan a while back and I can tell you he aims his horses for this time of year all the time.When A horse was ready Fran Berry got the call so everything looks in place tonight.

Thought that was quite impressive myself. Traveled like a dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Thought that was quite impressive myself. Traveled like a dream.

Stuck in work so haven't seen it yet, any prices been quoted for March??

Just came in for a look on lunch me self. I think I heard 16/1. Early days yet really, but looks a nice type and was still slightly green in the closing stages.
    Will be even better for that run I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

I just love these flat bridle horses, so awesome to see them hack up doing cartwheels

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Confidence was the horse I was referring to the other day as being the bet of the year. My confidence has wained since but I still backed him each way at 25s and I see Stan James are going 40/1 this is a ridiculous price he should be more of a 14s to 16s shot.

I had one of my biggest wins at the end of 2011 on Home Secretary at Dundalk and I thought he had about ten pounds in hand. Confidence was a clear second that day off a mark of 74, and duly obliged 2 weeks later around here off 75 in easy style.

Only had 3 starts in 2012 and was injured until this return last year when he showed absolutely nothing off marks in the mid 70s and on turf in May. He was meant to make his return since May in early October over a mile here but was a reserve, but there was plenty of money for him. He finally came back last week off a mark of 61 and the RP have it down as a ''poor run'' I thought it was very encouraging, beaten under four lengths over a mile, a trip which he has never excelled over.

Back up in trip tonight and the booking of Seamie is a positive. I thought there would have been money for him hence my cautious approach but 40/1 is a crazy each way price back up in trip

Western Warhorse is a good e/w bet in the next.

Clondaw Flicks looks interesting too but has let me down a few times, one to watch today.
    :pac::pac::pac:

Ah bloody hell, picked out the 1,2.

Only backed the 2nd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

I backed Cantlow the last day and he was beaten after about 2 fences. :o

Johner wrote: »

And he won't be out to win again till March.

Johner wrote: »

Me 2, didnt bother today :(

Lads who's giving you your info? As soon as I see people saying they've heard this or that I steer clear.

You'd be mad to back a horse from that yard that cost 5,000 first time out in bumper. at 9/4

Some less discerning punters might not bother to look the horse up.

Remember the 15/8 shot I gave for Dundalk

In any other forum a re-reg lasts about 5 minutes :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Slattsy if you have a problem perhaps PM a mod or report a post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭Goldcupfav

Goldcupfav wrote: »
    Backed Cedre Bleu at 6/1 in the 2.40 Newbury. Seems to put in his best after a break so first time out tomorrow after 225 days off. Horse owes me nothing as i caught him at Haydock the run before last. Also throwing in Calipto and Wonderful Charm with him in a trixie. Wilde blue Yonder in the last also takes my fancy.

Not the worst day ever. Cedre Bleu would of made it a very profitable day..

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Slattsy if you have a problem perhaps PM a mod or report a post

My bad.

Hit him Urban!

Confidence was the horse I was referring to the other day as being the bet of the year. My confidence has wained since but I still backed him each way at 25s and I see Stan James are going 40/1 this is a ridiculous price he should be more of a 14s to 16s shot.
    I like Prince Of Fashion - good luck though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

Nicholls daughter is possibly the worst rider ive seen this season :pac: anyone see her in the bumper at doncaster,might start a system of laying every mount she rides awful amatuer or not I feel for anyone who backed it.

Yeah she is awful, she should have won on her first ride in a bumper but gave it an awful ride. Ah well she'd still get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

I had one of my biggest wins at the end of 2011 on Home Secretary at Dundalk and I thought he had about ten pounds in hand. Confidence was a clear second that day off a mark of 74, and duly obliged 2 weeks later around here off 75 in easy style.

Only had 3 starts in 2012 and was injured until this return last year when he showed absolutely nothing off marks in the mid 70s and on turf in May. He was meant to make his return since May in early October over a mile here but was a reserve, but there was plenty of money for him. He finally came back last week off a mark of 61 and the RP have it down as a ''poor run'' I thought it was very encouraging, beaten under four lengths over a mile, a trip which he has never excelled over.

Back up in trip tonight and the booking of Seamie is a positive. I thought there would have been money for him hence my cautious approach but 40/1 is a crazy each way price back up in trip

Where Seamie's mounts are concerned, a market drift is usually the kiss of death.

Like Misty lane 6:45 Dundalk

Star Links 6-1 e/w Wolverhampton 5:55

I wish there was a way I could thank my own posts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Have taken note.Marcret looks thrown in here at Wolves stuck a few bob on.Wont back that again pulls to hard.

sting60 wrote: »
    Have taken note.Marcret looks thrown in here at Wolves stuck a few bob on.

Star links e/w if he goes into stall