Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish broadband users pay 3 times the EU average. How much do you pay?

• 28-11-2013 8:59pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭

In terms of download speed, Ireland’s 17Mbps ranked just above the global average of 16.2Mbps, while its average upload speed reached 4.16Mbps, some notches lower than the average 7.1Mbps.

Where Ireland ranks highest is in the Household Quality Index. Based on millions of test results from Pingtest.net, this index compares and ranks consumer broadband quality measured as an R-Factor, the metrics used to measure call quality in VoIP with 94 to 80 being the most desirable range. Here, Ireland came in at No 13 with an R-Factor of 86.5, ahead of the global average of 84.67 and the EU average of 85.64.

http://www.siliconrepublic.com/comms/item/34979-irish-broadband-users-pay/

How much do you pay for your monthly broadband?

Poll to follow

How much do you pay for your monthly broadband in Ireland? 124 votes

Less than €25
    0% 0 votes
    €25 - €29
    16% 20 votes
    €30 - €34
    8% 10 votes
    €35 - €39
    15% 19 votes
    €40 - €45
    15% 19 votes
    €46 - €54
    26% 33 votes
    €55 or more
    18% 23 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

I just got upgraded to 17mbps with Vodafone in rural Co. Meath. Civilisation has finally arrived in the shticks!

The fookers would not upgrade a normal residential account tho, they would only do it for business accounts. Luckily I work from home etc.

It's a e50 package, but they kinda tricked me. I lost all the free calls I was getting before hand, so calls now add on about e20 per month :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

I am charged €35 per month, and for that, I download / stream hours and hours worth of digital content which entertains me no end.

Provider: Magnet

Advertised Speed: Up to 25 Mbps
    Actual Speed: 12 Mbps

Watching endless amounts of porn: Priceless........and soul destroying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

20 a month, Avg 1Mps download. Three, customer service is a joke too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

€25 a month for 50Mb/s down and 15Mb/s up. Vodafone Fibre.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

Poll added.

If you're replying, say who your provider is and what you're getting for that. I think I may be giving Eircom the two fingers after Christmas ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭inocybe

45 for home phone and 'broadband', less than 1 Mbps :(:(:( eircom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Tazio

inocybe wrote: »

Yeah kinda same here. 1.5MBPS.. And told I'm lucky too.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

27 euro a month for 50mb broadband (I often squeeze an extra 1-2mb) unlimited download and phone. No idea what I get for the phone, dont even have one. It was just cheaper for the package than broadband alone.

Shame the hardware they give out is completely crap. I can pick up the signal from a certain point outside the building but not from my own room. It is a 2 bedroom apartment. Would hate to see the quality of the signal in a house.

Wow that's bad. Was stuck in 7/0.5 here for ages - which sucks when you just moved and are used to having UPC.

My neighbours must be raging because they are STILL stuck on 7/0.5 even tho 17/1 is available.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Vodafone €35p/m

Supposed to be 24Mbps but usually get between 8 and 15Mbps

170GB allowance

Its not bad, not great either though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

1 million dollars!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

50mb from UPC. I actually get 50 too. They do much bigger packages but it's really not necessary in my view. It's hard to say what it costs since it's bundled with the TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭Faz6r

80 euro a month for 200mb broadband, horizon tv box and home telephone
    i cant wait for upc mobile to come in 2014 so i can save even more money with a quad pay bundle :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,976 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

€49 a month with UPC for 120Mb/s down and 10Mb/s up. Unlimited landline calls and no FUP.

Jaysus that's good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,986 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

€45 per month including free calls with Eircom for this:

3131946521.png

I was an early adopter of broadband. I remember paying around €80 per month for 512/128 kb about one hundred times slower than what I have now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

€55 for 120mb bb,home phone and multiroom TV with UPC.

Loyalty deal though,be pricy enough when that expires next year I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

UTV - Connect - €38/month - Unlimited - speed between 3-6Mb/s
    (Took 2 months to get the speed up, they connect through eircom, who put up a fight and only gave out 1Mb/s. )Once sorted though haven't had an issue, and top notch customer service.

That includes line rental approx 15€..and phone calls, but we don't have a house phone, wish there was an option for no calls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,976 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

I pay 45.75 monthly to UPC (am on a loyalty discount, with them like 5 years).

I get 30Mb download 3Mb upload with a 500 GB download allowance. I also get the basic UPC channels thrown in with this.

Their speeds are absolutely consistent.

Not much of a loyalty bonus. I had 30/3 from UPC for only e35/month in the last place. No TV but meh...

inocybe wrote: »
    Same as this.
    Usually soars to a dazzling 0.76mbps.....white knuckle ride

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Around €45 for 50Mbps down 5Mbps up, no cap.

I also get any time free national landline calls and 400 international minutes (which is actually quite useful to us because I've a sibling studying abroad).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

srsly78 wrote: »
    Not much of a loyalty bonus. I had 30/3 from UPC for only e35/month in the last place. No TV but meh...

The Tv channels are worth an extra tenner in fairness though, to me they most certainly are. Their basic channels are 28.50 as a standalone and the closest bundle I can see is 60 euro. Not too bad a deal at all imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Banjoxed

Jesus kids just watch the adverts on UK television. We are being taken up the bum bum by the Irish providers. "Half the broadband, twice the price".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Ericaa

At the moment, paying €50 a month for horizon tv, landline, and 200mb/s broadband.

Banjoxed wrote: »
    Jesus kids just watch the adverts on UK television. We are being taken up the bum bum by the Irish providers. "Half the broadband, twice the price".

Some places in the UK can't get any broadband service. Or suffer really slow connections. Just like here, just like all around the world, rural urban divide.

This being AH maybe everyone is not aware of the fibre broadband rollout, which is the main topic on the Broadband forum this last while.

http://www.eircom.net/efibreinfo/map/

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Kind of a ****ty connection here compared to the local/national average:
    http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3131998037

29 euros a month for all you can eat broadband, international calls and a few hundred TV channels, none of which I've ever seen. Two euros extra for mobile phone.

Some places in the UK can't get any broadband service. Or suffer really slow connections. Just like here, just like all around the world, rural urban divide.

This being AH maybe everyone is not aware of the fibre broadband rollout, which is the main topic on the Broadband forum this last while.

http://www.eircom.net/efibreinfo/map/

My employer in London always seems to have brutal internet. In the center there is so much congestion! The worst part is all the transatlantic cables link up about 100metres from the office :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Eircom, that useless shower of cunts, wouldn't get their act together and upgrade our phoneline AND exchange, they are still single copper lines. I got so fed up waiting I cancelled the phone line altogether and got satellite broadband, it's all I can get as I live in the sticks, mobile coverage is shite so 3G is a joke, never mind 4G, lucky to get a signal at all.
    Next Generation Broadband? That's a joke too. As I said, phone lines not upgraded, nor our local exchange, and I'm too far from 'line of sight' wireless operators, I'm in a river valley surrounded by hills with tall trees on them , picturesque, but useless for internet access. That would leave Three, but as I have already tried both an O2 and a Vodafone dongle I don't see why Three would be any better, I only get EDGE network.
    So satellite.
    I'm with Digiweb, on a 20 Mbps download and 6Mbps upload package, which is the good part. Downloads are fast, as are uploads, and consistent. The bad part is the 10 GB rolling data limit, (wtf), and the latency that comes with satellite broadband. While I can skype (just as well since I told eircom where to stick the phone), gaming is soooooooo bad. I like to play fps games on PS3 and lag is just so bad..
    Averages of 750-850 ms ping, goes as high as 1250 ms or more sometimes. No joke.
    This costs me 39.99 per month. Ouch.
    But until eircom come out of the dark ages, and tbh they don't seem interested in building infrastructure, I'm stuck with it.
    Don't get me wrong, for general browsing and stuff it's great and downloads really are fast, but the data limit and the lag are not what I would've signed up for if I had alternatives.

zerks wrote: »
    €25 a month for 50Mb/s down and 15Mb/s up. Vodafone Fibre.
    Lucky bastard..

No fupping FUP??

Johro wrote: »
    Eircom, that useless shower of cunts, wouldn't get their act together and upgrade our phoneline AND exchange, they are still single copper lines. I got so fed up waiting I cancelled the phone line altogether and got satellite broadband, it's all I can get as I live in the sticks, mobile coverage is shite so 3G is a joke, never mind 4G, lucky to get a signal at all.
    Next Generation Broadband? That's a joke too. As I said, phone lines not upgraded, nor our local exchange, and I'm too far from 'line of sight' wireless operators, I'm in a river valley surrounded by hills with tall trees on them , picturesque, but useless for internet access. That would leave Three, but as I have already tried both an O2 and a Vodafone dongle I don't see why Three would be any better, I only get EDGE network.
    So satellite.
    I'm with Digiweb, on a 20 Mbps download and 6Mbps upload package, which is the good part. Downloads are fast, as are uploads, and consistent. The bad part is the 10 GB rolling data limit, (wtf), and the latency that comes with satellite broadband. While I can skype (just as well since I told eircom where to stick the phone), gaming is soooooooo bad. I like to play fps games on PS3 and lag is just so bad..
    Averages of 750-850 ms ping, goes as high as 1250 ms or more sometimes. No joke.
    This costs me 39.99 per month. Ouch.
    But until eircom come out of the dark ages, and tbh they don't seem interested in building infrastructure, I'm stuck with it.
    Don't get me wrong, for general browsing and stuff it's great and downloads really are fast, but the data limit and the lag are not what I would've signed up for if I had alternatives.

That's the problem with current broadband technology. There is no economic case for installing new infrastructure to serve people who live in the sticks. It's not just here it's the same the world over.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/personalfinance/houseprices/10369920/Poor-internet-connections-in-the-countryside-are-hitting-rural-property-market-estate-agents-warn.html

One agent who helps customers buy homes worth more than £1 million told The Daily Telegraph yesterday he was advising all of his clients against looking at properties that have slow internet speeds.

It came as reports in Scotland claimed people dubbed "digital refugees" were now moving from the countryside in search of faster internet speeds in the country's towns and cities

€45 per month including free calls with Eircom for this:

3131946521.png

I was an early adopter of broadband. I remember paying around €80 per month for 512/128 kb about one hundred times slower than what I have now.
    *sighs*
    Location, location, location.....
    If only.

'pretty good' ? :eek:
    I would stick pins in my knob to get that.

*sighs*
    Location, location, location.....
    If only.

If it's any consolation I come originally from a very very rural location. I remember electricty coming to the area in the late 1960's. Rural electrification took 30 years and a very deliberate investment programme to complete.

That's the problem with current broadband technology. There is no economic case for installing new infrastructure to serve people who live in the sticks. It's not just here it's the same the world over.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/personalfinance/houseprices/10369920/Poor-internet-connections-in-the-countryside-are-hitting-rural-property-market-estate-agents-warn.html

One agent who helps customers buy homes worth more than £1 million told The Daily Telegraph yesterday he was advising all of his clients against looking at properties that have slow internet speeds.

It came as reports in Scotland claimed people dubbed "digital refugees" were now moving from the countryside in search of faster internet speeds in the country's towns and cities
    Yeah that doesn't cheer me up at all...
    Tbh though, I'm not the only guy that lives out here, there's lots of people looking for decent quality broadband in the area and I'm less than two miles from a decent size town where they do get good broadband. You would think that it pays to broaden the infrastructure, everybody out here complains about the lack of it, they would all pay to have it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

40 a month for fixed line and broadband with Vodafone..

Can't actually remember what the speed is supposed to be but it's always OK for my (pretty basic) needs. Just tested and it's currently 10mb.

If it's any consolation I come originally from a very very rural location. I remember electricty coming to the area in the late 1960's. Rural electrification took 30 years and a very deliberate investment programme to complete.
    Yeah my parents moved to Ireland in the early eighties, bought a farmhouse down a lane and had to pay well over two grand, in punts, to get electricity down there. Even then there were lots of places that hadn't been electrified yet.
    It's no consolation tbh :P
    I don't really understand how it wouldn't be worth their while putting the lines in, there are plenty of takers. Probably worried customers would subsequently switch.

I would never consider moving, I built our home myself and it's in a great location, except for mobile/wireless coverage. I never considered the phone company might let me down, always thought 'sure can't i get broadband over the phone'.
    Apparently not, at least not from eircom. They could at least upgrade the lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,220 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

€40 for 300gb limit with Vodafone in a small midlands town, getting about 15mb down and 2mb up. More than meets my needs thankfully.

Yeah my parents moved to Ireland in the early eighties, bought a farmhouse down a lane and had to pay well over two grand, in punts, to get electricity down there. Even then there were lots of places that hadn't been electrified yet.
    It's no consolation tbh :P
    I don't really understand how it wouldn't be worth their while putting the lines in, there are plenty of takers. Probably worried customers would subsequently switch.

You're up against the laws of physics, not that I know too much about it myself. Copper is good to carry voice traffic over long distances but it doesn't work for broadband. The fibre rollout is effectively bringing the telephone exchange nearer to the subscriber by running fibre from the exchanges to the cabinets. But the speed drops as you get further away from the cabinet and is pretty much gone at 2 km.

You can see on the map I posted earlier that there is no plan to provide fibre to vast swathes of the countryside. But other technologies will come along, there is talk of ESB lines being used. It will be a gradual process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

45 a month for phone and broadband with a wireless provider (out in the sticks)
    10mb down, 1 up. National & UK calls included.

Its shítty, but the alternative ie dialup isnt an alternative so Im glad to have it.

If it's wireless then it's not broadband, don't mind what marketing people say.

You can see on the map I posted earlier that there is no plan to provide fibre to vast swathes of the countryside. But other technologies will come along, there is talk of ESB lines being used. It will be a gradual process.
    Ha. I was looking at that very same map earlier today, came as no surprise we are not covered and won't be covered by that. But I take your point about other technologies coming along, it's just that I'll probably be dead by then at the current rate of progress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

srsly78 wrote: »
    If it's wireless then it's not broadband, don't mind what marketing people say.

Im talking about 'mountain antenna to receiver on the roof wireless', not 3 or O2 mobile broadband.

That's better alright, correction accepted.

What latency do you get? Open up a command prompt and type "ping www.boards.ie".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

UPC Horizon with 120MB connection, tested this a few minutes ago:

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3132238085.

Very nice tonight, it was pretty crappy yesterday though with it barely making 10MB up and 6 down. Certainly not consistent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

3 euro a month for 15mb broadband and telephone. . . in the UK :p

The prices here, including general mobile phone tariffs are crazy!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

http://www.siliconrepublic.com/comms/item/34999-eircom-to-expand-fibre-to/

Eircom to expand fibre to an extra 200,000 homes and firms across Ireland

Eircom said this morning it will be expanding its fibre footprint to include an additional 200,000 homes and business in Ireland – growing its 100Mbps fibre network from 1.2m premises to 1.4m premises.

The next-generation broadband programme is ahead of schedule and the company is on track to pass 700,000 premises by the end of the year, Eircom said.

The latest expansion means an additional 562 communities across all 26 counties will be able to avail of Eircom’s superfast eFibre service.

“This is a very positive development and a critical step forward in ensuring as many people as possible across Ireland have access to high-speed fibre broadband,” Eircom CEO Herb Hribar said.