Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shrinking prize money

• 25-11-2013 7:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13

Was interested to get other people's opinion on this one.....

Rang during the week to find out the prize money of a non AAI 10mile race was told €150. Drive the 2hr plus to get there.
    Hit the start line and they keep us delayed by 30min, que freezing.
    Then a run with 40plus turns, little or no Marshall's. people sent the wrong way, people sent on the 10k a joining course. People just lost and found there own way back.
    I crossed the finish line first with 10 and half mile on the garmin. To be then told another girl should have won but was sent the wrong way. No chip trimming. So no way of finding out who ran a faster time.
    I was told we would both be given 1st prize money, but she would be given 1st position. And I 2nd.

At this stage I just wanted to get out there, I was THEN told the prize would be bought down to €100 because they didn't get the number of eateries they had hoped for.

I've never experienced anything like this, is it my own fault for supporting these non AAI races?
    Would they have increased the prize money if they had of got more than the numbers they wanted?

€25 to enter, with a non technical t.shirt, no chip timing, roughly by going by results they made in excess of 2500 in entry fees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,553 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Sounds like an absolute fiasco. It doesn't matter if the other girl was sent the wrong way - the winner is the person who crosses the finish line first (though the organisers should be making things right for other runner too). Did the posters/flyers describe the prize structure? If so, you should expect the amount published.

Make sure you provide all of your feedback to the race organisers. They need to learn from their mistakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 fastmummy

I have the original prize money in black and white in a text from race organizer.

I approached this man after the race. Stephen from a company called "go Tri "
    I explained to him that it wouldn't be standard practice to do that, and a lot of athletes travel to different races trying to make money to help pay for the likes of runners, race fees travel expenses etc..

He told me and I quote " I was hungry for money, he's running "pro " for 12 years and has never meet anyone that goes to races for the money, i should think of the rugby club the money is going towards, oh and to just f**k off!!!

Afterwards another Marshall came over to apologize, but I was quiet upset by then.

I don't think I need to worry about letting them know the problems, everyone and I mean everyone from the front to the back voiced their outrage at the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭hawley

fastmummy wrote: »
    I have the original prize money in black and white in a text from race organizer.

I approached this man after the race. Stephen from a company called "go Tri "
    I explained to him that it wouldn't be standard practice to do that, and a lot of athletes travel to different races trying to make money to help pay for the likes of runners, race fees travel expenses etc..

He told me and I quote " I was hungry for money, he's running "pro " for 12 years and has never meet anyone that goes to races for the money, i should think of the rugby club the money is going towards, oh and to just f**k off!!!

Afterwards another Marshall came over to apologize, but I was quiet upset by then.

I don't think I need to worry about letting them know the problems, everyone and I mean everyone from the front to the back voiced their outrage at the whole thing.

Hi, I ran in this race too, Shannon Estuary 10 mile and saw what happened. The other girl from Limerick was in the lead in fairness by about 20 seconds I guess after six miles of a 10 mile run and after being taken the wrong way through a park by a steward on a bike wearing a GoTri top(maybe the same lad who was rude to you) emerged maybe 30 seconds behind you + some other runners.

I didn't see what happened afterwards but you were treated badly. Ye both should have been given the full first prize. Obviously the language that the steward used towards you was unacceptable. The best thing to do is just put it behind you. I agree that the organisation was desperate. I can't understand why they made the route so complicated. They would have needed about 70 stewards to do it properly.

hawley wrote: »
    Hi, I ran in this race too, Shannon Estuary 10 mile and saw what happened. The other girl from Limerick was in the lead in fairness by about 20 seconds I guess after six miles of a 10 mile run and after being taken the wrong way through a park by a steward on a bike wearing a GoTri top(maybe the same lad who was rude to you) emerged maybe 30 seconds behind you + some other runners.

I didn't see what happened afterwards but you were treated badly. Ye both should have been given the full first prize. Obviously the language that the steward used towards you was unacceptable. The best thing to do is just put it behind you. I agree that the organisation was desperate. I can't understand why they made the route so complicated. They would have needed about 70 stewards to do it properly.
    Yep, it's really unfortunate that the person who should have won (no offence fastmummy!) was led astray and didn't cross the finish line first. There's been a number of precedents, like a marathon two years ago, where the leading two runners were directed the wrong way with just half a mile to go, and the third-place runner crossed the finish line first to officially take the win. While the finish order remained the same, the race organizers did the right thing on that occasion and gave the first prize to all three of the runners. On another occasion in the UK, the first place runner was the only one to run the correct route and every other runner in the race ran the incorrect route (and I believe were deemed not to have completed the race).

Sad state of affairs with this particular organizer though. It doesn't matter whether the race is in aid of a rugby club, victims of the latest tragedy, or lining the race organizer's pockets (I see this race also funds the organizer's triathlon racing team). What they do with the profits (if any) is their own business. But if they post that the prize money is 'x', then it should be 'x'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭mark_jmc

I also ran the 10KM in this yesterday, i'm a plodder so I was towards the back back I found this event shambolic. For a €15 entry fee the least I expected was not to have to guess which direction I had to run in, the 30 mins delay at the start was also difficult to take,
    The whole event was annoying for me so I can understand how the competitive runners must feel,
    Some very basic errors that should have been foreseen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Name and shame, I'd go as fair as changing the title of this thread to that race, so as people get warned to avoid any future races by this crowd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭djmcr

everyone and I mean everyone from the front to the back voiced their outrage at the whole thing.

As someone who ran this from the back please dont speak for me. I did not voice any outrage at the whole thing. True mistakes were made and there are lessons to be learnt.

However this was a fun run and was organised by local clubs to fundraise for the coming year. This was clearly highlighted in the advertisement poster.

Many people gave up their Sunday mornings to facilitate this fun run and one marshal in particular got a lot of abuse at one position. This is disappointing to say the least.

Without people sticking their necks out and organising runs or people giving up their time to marshal the number of runs in this country will drop, that would be a shame.

Now maybe my perspective might be different to yours fastmummy as I will never win a race but I do these races to contribute a little to the local clubs and not to make money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

djmcr wrote: »
    As someone who ran this from the back please dont speak for me. I did not voice any outrage at the whole thing. True mistakes were made and there are lessons to be learnt.

However this was a fun run and was organised by local clubs to fundraise for the coming year. This was clearly highlighted in the advertisement poster.

Many people gave up their Sunday mornings to facilitate this fun run and one marshal in particular got a lot of abuse at one position. This is disappointing to say the least.

Without people sticking their necks out and organising runs or people giving up their time to marshal the number of runs in this country will drop, that would be a shame.

Now maybe my perspective might be different to yours fastmummy as I will never win a race but I do these races to contribute a little to the local clubs and not to make money.

That's fair enough and most of us are often in that same boat, yet those other races usually have their sh1t together. There is no reason why a local fundraiser has to be so poorly organised as per the reports I've read here. When organising a run/race certain minimum standards should be met, otherwise don't bother calling it a run/race and just stand outside mass at the weekend with a collection bucket!

Also, if I was a volunteer in this mess I'd be extremely annoyed that those organising the race made such a hames of things. I'm sure indeed the volunteers had better things to be doing than being associated with such a disaster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

Abuse, whether of marshals or of runners (it sounds like the OP was abused by an organizer), is never justified. But I think saying 'it was a fun run and people gave up their time' is a cop out - I've marshalled / helped out at small club races as well as at bigger events, and to be honest if a marshall can't send people in the right direction they shouldn't bother volunteering. I'm not saying it's always easy (I marshaled at the National Road Relays where the roads weren't closed and it was difficult enough with cars / lone runners etc) but knowing the course / direction should be a given.

Saying 'people did it for free' doesn't excuse bad organization. I'm not saying the organizers aren't nice people, or that they weren't good to give up their time or that they didn't try hard, I'm just saying instead of saying 'stop complaining they were VOLUNTEERS' perhaps the organizers should be learning from all the mistakes.

I also think saying that because something is for charity / a good cause people aren't entitled to expect basic race standards (accurate directions / accurate measurements / prizes as advertised) is bad for fundraising in general. Charities usually put on events in order to attract people to give money to their cause - if it doesn't matter what experience you get for your charity donation then they might as well dispense with the event and just ask for money (which would be fair enough as people are happy to donate to charities).

It sounds like you're trying to guilt the OP into feeling bad for a) complaining about a fundraiser because it's a fundraiser rather than a 'for profit' race and b) being fast enough to finish on the podium. Just because she placed doesn't make her a pothunter. She crossed the line first and should have got the advertised prize.

Hope they learn from their mistakes. The 30 minute wait would put me off! We had the same kind of problems at a race we ran in Cork last year & I won't be going back!

Well done, Fastmum, on your win.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

At a time when my own athletics club is fighting to keep hold of their race that helps keep their athletics club going this post just boils the blood. Are you kidding me? Seriously?
    You think it's alright for runners to be sent the wrong way?
    You thinkg it's alright for there to be nowhere near enough marshalls?
    You think it's alright that the first lady to cross the finish line didn't get the advertised prize money?

I could go on and on.

Maybe the rugby club it was raising funds for should stick to what they know.
    As for raising funds for a private triathlon coaching company, seriously??

People actually defending sh*t races like this is what is only going to continue the demise of real races. If this happened in our race we would be mortified, yet it sounds like the guys organising this didn't even care?!

We have to provide a minimum of 40 marshalls for a 5k race, on closed roads, in a park...then people defend this sh*t.

Stomach churning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Timmaay wrote: »
    Name and shame, I'd go as fair as changing the title of this thread to that race, so as people get warned to avoid any future races by this crowd.

Already done above
    hawley wrote: »

Also, the park runs are free and run completely by volunteers and they run much more smoothly than it sounds like this race did. And even in a free race like park run, I agree with RQ above, anyone involved would be mortified if it was delayed half an hour and people were sent the wrong way. (Yes I know someone went the wrong way in one of the early ones, but people were mortified and they did learn from.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

The more races like this that drop off the race calender the better in my opinion.

HelenAnne wrote: »
    Also, the park runs are free and run completely by volunteers and they run much more smoothly than it sounds like this race did. And even in a free race like park run, I agree with RQ above, anyone involved would be mortified if it was delayed half an hour and people were sent the wrong way. (Yes I know someone went the wrong way in one of the early ones, but people were mortified and they did learn from.)

As I'm sure the organisers of this race will learn from their mistakes. All it takes in a run like this is for one marshal to feck off and it ruins the race for everybody, organisers, runners and fellow marshals.

There is no excuse for volunteers being abused at a race, none. The organisers have acknowledged their mistakes and lessons learnt.

Is it not better that they tried to organise a local event and make mistakes as opposed to doing nothing

pconn062 wrote: »
    The more races like this that drop off the race calender the better in my opinion.

That's a great community spirit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

That's a great community spirit

What's community spirit got to do with it? Was the event free? Were all proceeds going towards the community?

They advertised a product, and charged people to partake in their race, the product was of poor quality, people have a right to complain.

I don't agree the marshals should have to receive abuse but I think the race "organisers" deserve a bollocking.

As I'm sure the organisers of this race will learn from their mistakes. All it takes in a run like this is for one marshal to feck off and it ruins the race for everybody, organisers, runners and fellow marshals.

There is no excuse for volunteers being abused at a race, none. The organisers have acknowledged their mistakes and lessons learnt.

Is it not better that they tried to organise a local event and make mistakes as opposed to doing nothing

Maybe next time an athletics club can run it as a fundraiser for themselves and do it properly. The rubgy players can stick to bagpacking and gotri can stick to charging huge fees to people who want private coaching.

All races are run by and kept going because of the volunteers. They claimed to be AAI affiliated on the Facebook page so it should be run to those standards. Including having enough marshalls, gardai, first aid etc...

Many comments on the facebook page are laughable as well.

I agree, there's no excuse for abuse. And if the organizers have acknowledged their mistakes and will learn from them - great! That's all they can do.

However, you seem to have a problem with people mentioning the mistakes. I suppose what I'm saying is of course people can make mistakes, and things can go wrong, and maybe they feel awful now, but organizers (or their defenders) coming on line and just pointing out that they were very good to give up their time makes things worse rather than better.

I realize you're not an organiser & may not officially speak for them, so if they think things went wrong & will rectify them next time, good for them. Hope it goes well for them next year.

pconn062 wrote: »

What's community spirit got to do with it? Was the event free? Were all proceeds going towards the community?

They advertised a product, and charged people to partake in their race, the product was of poor quality, people have a right to complain.

I don't agree the marshals should have to receive abuse but I think the race "organisers" deserve a bollocking.

Event fundraiser for two local clubs. Advertised as fun run.

Few enough people in this community organising events and sticking their heads above the parapet. Boy did these guys get their heads chopped off. Won't encourage anyone else in the community to organise anything. Hence my comment about poor community spirit.

Mistakes were made, organisers have acknowledged this. People have right to complain.

I agree, there's no excuse for abuse. And if the organizers have acknowledged their mistakes and will learn from them - great! That's all they can do.

However, you seem to have a problem with people mentioning the mistakes. I suppose what I'm saying is of course people can make mistakes, and things can go wrong, and maybe they feel awful now, but organizers (or their defenders) coming on line and just pointing out that they were very good to give up their time makes things worse rather than better.

I realize you're not an organiser & may not officially speak for them, so if they think things went wrong & will rectify them next time, good for them. Hope it goes well for them next year.

No problem with people mentioning mistakes but what about the positives. Can no one mention them

I'm not being smart, but tell people who weren'tt there the positives - was it a nice course, was there a friendly atmosphere, was there a good spread of tea and cake after? I think if you tell people what went right, and what was enjoyable about the day (rather than just that people gave of their time to do it) there's a much better chance that they may come and give it a try next year.

People within the community giving up their time for the benefit of others within the community. Should this be views as a negative if it doesn't go exactly to plan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭chinguetti

The first thing that comes to my mind is that if they can't run a road race right, how can they run their own events, be it rugby, tri, whatever right?

Sloppy events should be named and shamed, regardless of how much time and effort people put into it on the event management side. The competitors also put time and effort and wait, money, into entering these events so are if they are told the course is such a distance and isn't, they have every right to complain.

However the logical thing is that if an event is badly run and gets bad press, which this one clearly has, it will be poorly supported next year and therefore has cut its own nose off its face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

People within the community giving up their time for the benefit of others within the community. Should this be views as a negative if it doesn't go exactly to plan

I'm organising a 5k for my local school and GAA club at the moment. It will be advertised as a fun run. It will be run properly. We will be charging people 15 euro and they will get what they paid for. I.e a fun run that is 5k, no further no shorter! I am hoping to entice people from the Dublin and Kildare regions so people will be travelling for a 5k specifically. If people are sent the wrong way or the first runners are somehow impeeded I would honour prize money and in some cases offer refunds if applicable! If something goes wrong I expect to be hammered and people not to return next year. Defend your local event all you want but community spirit won't entice pissed off runners back next year! If you don't see this that's your loss!

To all the runners who took part yesterday and marshals who helped out. Thank you for all your help and support.

We tried our best to put on a great series of races, to bring together the local community and to promote shannon as a great place to run. Our Estuary views are amazing - hopefully the paths will be in more use now.

Our sub goal for this project was to raise much needed funds for 2 great clubs based out of shannon. ST.Senans Rfc and GoTri Racing Triathlon Team.

We must acknowledge that mistakes where made and some things did not go as planned.

Human error and lack of marshals on the day led to some confusion.

We apologise to anyone that is not happy with the event and promise to work hard to amend this with a free re-run or free entry into next years race

We hope that the event has a big future and with this being the first time it was run, we ask for your feedback to make it bigger and better in 2014.
    As always these events are non profit and about getting people out running and being active in this great sport.

On behalf of St.Senans and GoTri we want to thank everyone for their support, to the sponsors and supporters - onwards and upwards

Info@gotri.ie
    At least they are holding their hands-up.

Was interested to get other people's opinion on this one.....

Rang during the week to find out the prize money of a non AAI 10mile race was told €150. Drive the 2hr plus to get there.
    Hit the start line and they keep us delayed by 30min, que freezing.
    Then a run with 40plus turns, little or no Marshall's. people sent the wrong way, people sent on the 10k a joining course. People just lost and found there own way back.
    I crossed the finish line first with 10 and half mile on the garmin. To be then told another girl should have won but was sent the wrong way. No chip trimming. So no way of finding out who ran a faster time.
    I was told we would both be given 1st prize money, but she would be given 1st position. And I 2nd.

At this stage I just wanted to get out there, I was THEN told the prize would be bought down to €100 because they didn't get the number of eateries they had hoped for.

I've never experienced anything like this, is it my own fault for supporting these non AAI races?
    Would they have increased the prize money if they had of got more than the numbers they wanted?

€25 to enter, with a non technical t.shirt, no chip timing, roughly by going by results they made in excess of 2500 in entry fees.

Different version of events according to the '2nd' place lady on FB:
    I was the individual MOST affected by the mix up in the route, since I was the actual winner of the female 10 mile race. A lady got mixed up on the route, skipped 1.5km,ended up in front of me because of this but still tried to stick in her claim to the the prize money, trophies, anything else she could whinge about, knowing full well she hadn't run the full 10 miles. She was rude and pushy towards marshals who were only there to help out their clubs for the day. VERY poor sportsmanship, very frustrating attitude. This was an event organised by community run clubs trying to fundraise. People should roll with the punches of the mistakes instead of complaining and laying blame. We are all only amateur athletes competing for enjoyment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

In what sense can it be a not-for-profit event when one of the 'clubs' it is run to benefit is a triathlon coaching company? :rolleyes:

menoscemo wrote: »

Read both last night. TBH yer one who was second there sounded like she knows the organisers. If I'd won, or should have won or whatever, I'd have been disgusted with the organisers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

The one thing that doesn't surprise me about this race is that a bunch of tri"athletes" could't figure out how to measure a course! :D:D:D

drquirky wrote: »
    The one thing that doesn't surprise me about this race is that a bunch of tri"athletes" could't figure out how to measure a course! :D:D:D

Their KM to Mile ratio calculator was way out ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

I thought this thread was going to be about shrinking prize money?

So - off topic apparently!

Too many charity races have large prize funds, it is about time they started putting that money back into the charity or the event.
    Large prize funds do not make many more runners show to your event as most runners do not expect to win.
    Spend the money on cake for the runners and warm soup for the volunteers or an advert in the local paper.

Yeah, but if you say "prize money is X" then prize money has to be X, it can't be X/2 because you didn't get as many entries as you expected.

menoscemo wrote: »

I'm pretty shocked by her version of events to be honest. As an earlier poster has said I was around 15-20 seconds behind after 6 miles and I ended up winning by around 20 seconds. So how I could have run 1.5km less than her God only knows. Clearly I was sent the wrong way by marshals. The second the race was over I stated what had happened (that I never passed her on the road but ended up ahead) At no point did I ever speak to a marshal I went directly to the organisers. Seems to me as a previous poster has stated that she knows the organisers.

To clear up any confusion about distance ran here's my Garmin.
    282007.JPG

You said in the OP that your garmin showed 10 and a half mile at the end.

16.1km is exactly 10 miles...

I stopped the watch at 10 mile because I was chasing my PB and wanted an exact time, I was still half mile to the finish, hence my watch time is 1:06:26 but my official finishing time on the clock is 1:09

Just to clarify my original post was to hear people's thoughts on the, bad organization and change of prize money. It's not a witch hunt for the organizers or to defend my opinion on the race ormy race time. I know what happened and I know what I raced.

I'm sorry if I spoke out of turn saying "everyone" I should have said the majority of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

I stopped the watch at 10 mile because I was chasing my PB and wanted an exact time, I was still half mile to the finish, hence my watch time is 1:06:26 but my official finishing time on the clock is 1:09

Just to clarify my original post was to hear people's thoughts on the, bad organization and change of prize money. It's not a witch hunt for the organizers or to defend my opinion on the race ormy race time. I know what happened and I know what I raced.

I'm sorry if I spoke out of turn saying "everyone" I should have said the majority of people.

Def agree the other person isn't speaking her mind. Maybe they gave her the extra 50. Lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭hawley

The company that organised the race on Sunday had their 2013 awards at the end of October.

Best racing disaster – Trevor Askin

http://www.gotri.ie/agm-awards-photos

Maybe they should have waited a few weeks:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 13232506

Hi! Just to confirm, I do not know any of the organisers of the race, I did not receive any extra money, I am not a tri athlete myself , but my post in the Facebook page was in relation to another woman citing she wanted her money back and complaining and bitching. I only Go out and run for fun, and that's why I defended the race overall. I am involved in a lot of non profit and profit community projects and I firmly believe in rolling with the punches with fundraisers for clubs, as I've been involved with so many myself. Prize money wouldn't be an issue for me as I understand it would be for others. So it's not the place of other people commenting to assume they can understand why I would defend the race. I also see the woman who started this posts' husband (sorry I never caught your name, but know your husband was the winner) took offence to me referring to you as a lady on Facebook. Was just a term of respect/courtliness. I saw his comments on Facebook too and accepted his point of view, because there definitely is mix up considering some of the facts. Ultimately it was the after race drama that affected things for me, but we're all different! It over now, another race next week so putting it behind me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭NiallG4

I don't know either of the ladies however if I was a judge I would be siding with the 1st lady across the line. Just from the tone of the comments on FB and here. The garmin somewhat casts doubt on the new "winners" comments re: skipping 1.5K. Just my verdict. She should have been given the money that was advertised. I reiterate that I have zero connection to either but I read the whole thread and that is my conclusion. Would be fun to set up a "The Verdict" thread.

NiallG4 wrote: »
    I don't know either of the ladies however if I was a judge I would be siding with the 1st lady across the line. Just from the tone of the comments on FB and here. The garmin somewhat casts doubt on the new "winners" comments re: skipping 1.5K. Just my verdict. She should have been given the money that was advertised. I reiterate that I have zero connection to either but I read the whole thread and that is my conclusion. Would be fun to set up a "The Verdict" thread.

Yeah- I agree. When the OP first posted I thought it came off a bit catty and I thought she could have been FOS but the watch evidence and the FB stuff has kinda swung it back for me... good thread though. Maybe we should put a poll at the top?

NiallG4 wrote: »

Well that's the joy of Internet forums Niall, we can all just manipulate the facts to make our own case seem better. And then take relief in strangers part informed conclusions. Doesn't matter a **** in the greater scheme of things though. Was told after the race I had ran 1.5km more so that's the number I later quoted wether it be correct or incorrect. Saw at the event some people be apologetic about the race unfold and others be rude and unapologetic. So if the purpose of this forum is so people who weren't there can draw conclusions from partial information and half sidedness then seriously, knock yourselves out.

13232506 wrote: »
    Well that's the joy of Internet forums Niall, we can all just manipulate the facts to make our own case seem better. And then take relief in strangers part informed conclusions. Doesn't matter a **** in the greater scheme of things though. Was told after the race I had ran 1.5km more so that's the number I later quoted wether it be correct or incorrect. Saw at the event some people be apologetic about the race unfold and others be rude and unapologetic. So if the purpose of this forum is so people who weren't there can draw conclusions from partial information and half sidedness then seriously, knock yourselves out.

132- Surely you can appreciate the appeal of this thread for runners who are bored at work?

IMO it seems pretty possible that neither of you did anything wrong, both ran well but the crappy organisation/ poor marshalling screwed you both.

Perhaps the best way to settle this one would be to have you both show up at the 2014 Irish Beer Mile Championship and fight this out on the track? On behalf of the committee I cordially invite both of you to have a tet et tet race before the main event? :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Why would the winner of the race need to be apologetic? She won the race and didn't get the advertised winning prize.

Sounds like sour grapes from you tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

That FB page is a train wreck. I'd say a solicitor would have a field day in there.

So one runner was in the lead and misdirected, and another runner ran at least the full distance, and crossed the finish line first? Neither runner did anything wrong, the fault lies with the organisers

as Krusty posted earlier, there's only one right thing to in this situation, and that's for the organisers to give both people the full prize money.

It's all very well to say mistakes will be made and they'll be better next year, but the organisers should be doing what they can to make things right this year, and that means minimising the impact of their mistakes on runners who did nothing wrong.

drquirky wrote: »
    132- Surely you can appreciate the appeal of this thread for runners who are bored at work?
    I reckon this thread has run its course. But.... If we could get our hands on some Garmin Connect links..... It'd be good for another 6 hours at least. :)

RayCun wrote: »
    So one runner was in the lead and misdirected, and another runner ran at least the full distance, and crossed the finish line first? Neither runner did anything wrong, the fault lies with the organisers

as Krusty posted earlier, there's only one right thing to in this situation, and that's for the organisers to give both people the full prize money.

It's all very well to say mistakes will be made and they'll be better next year, but the organisers should be doing what they can to make things right this year, and that means minimising the impact of their mistakes on runners who did nothing wrong.
    Yea I like your conclusion, I wish it had been laid out that simply yesterday but there was so much added confusion! I'm sure I'll race the other lady at meet in future, so it'll be great competition for us both to look forward to!

Why would the winner of the race need to be apologetic? She won the race and didn't get the advertised winning prize.

Sounds like sour grapes from you tbh.
    I made no specification to whom was apologetic or unapologetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Yea I like your conclusion, I wish it had been laid out that simply yesterday but there was so much added confusion! I'm sure I'll race the other lady at meet in future, so it'll be great competition for us both to look forward to!

Let us know here when you do race, it'd be like Coe vs Ovett all over again!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Time the term " fun run " was sent to room 101 , nowadays all runs are competitive especially when there is prize money involved , the gloves are off , it's every f***er for himself , QED the recent posts above !