Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you going to treat yourself this xmas

• 24-11-2013 10:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭

I think i will

New ipad docking station..xbox and going to move the current tv to other room with xbox and get new 42inch tv

Ive worked hard all yr so fook you taxman.going to spend a few bob on myself besides bills and bailing out those bankers

Will you AH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭tim3000

Ill get myself something nice all right maybe a tv. Had a ****e year and not much of an Xmas last year might treat myself this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Gonna buy myself a "nice" Christmas jumper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Yes, I'm working Christmas Day so on Christmas Eve I will treat myself to potato croquettes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I'd love to, but won't really have the cash.
    It'll be small-scale christmas for us this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Nope, not this year, just don't have the cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Shenshen wrote: »
    I'd love to, but won't really have the cash.
    It'll be small-scale christmas for us this year
    Holsten wrote: »
    Nope, not this year, just don't have the cash.

See above.

I'm treating myself by not having 17 people over for dinner this year \o/

Off to the Mammy's instead.

And new jammies, always new jammies.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I'm due a health insurance refund of a fair enough amount, so I'm going to spend it on the Oh ( he has a missing tooth that he hates) and a few bits for me, sunglassess, a knife (leatherman/swiss army) and a balaclava to keep warm when sailing.

Plan is to spend half and save half :) We are looking at a radical change in our lives next year (our own plan) so nothing massively extravagant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Not really tbh, tight budget.

But I do look forward to my annual crack open the sweets, sit down with a bottle of whiskey and watch Die Hard xmas eve tradition :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

I'm getting socks. I always get socks. I'm not sure how it started. Since when are socks a present?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

I love giving other people i love presents and decent presents at that. I have no interest in getting anything in return.

Anything I want I buy myself. I'm very hard to buy for..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,629 ✭✭✭brevity

I've kinda already treated myself to a digital camera so that's it for me!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I'm getting socks. I always get socks. I'm not sure how it started. Since when are socks a present?

I have specifically asked for Sealskinz socks, thirty euro a pair they are, fine as a gift but I couldn't justify buying them.

Now if you are getting Pennys socks...........................................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Coopaloop

Ive treated my boyfriend to an xbox one! I actually thought i wouldn't be able to get one,everywhere i checked was pre order only,and of course i wasn't smart enough to do that,so he thinks hes not gettin one for this reason,however today in xtravision i asked on the off chance did they have any and praise the lord they had one left!

So fricken happy,they are like gold dust. Can't wait to see his face Christmas morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Yes, I'm going to buy myself the RTE Christmas guide, such fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I'm going to be on AH all Xmas Eve and Xmas Day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Coopaloop wrote: »
    Ive treated my boyfriend to an xbox one! I actually thought i wouldn't be able to get one,everywhere i checked was pre order only,and of course i wasn't smart enough to do that,so he thinks hes not gettin one for this reason,however today in xtravision i asked on the off chance did they have any and praise the lord they had one left!

So fricken happy,they are like gold dust. Can't wait to see his face Christmas morning.

Will you marry me

Specialun wrote: »
    Will you marry me

That's cheap.

Forour anniversary my OH had his car professionally valeted inside and out, I paid to get it through the NCT, and serviced to keep it well maintained.

Then he had a day out with dinner as well

For Christmas, he's getting a nice jumper :D

To each their own though, I have a rather weird list of gifts I'd like for xmas :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭brokenarms

I am saving desperately for a Wii U for my boy

My treat is making his Christmas day special .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Stheno wrote: »
    I'm due a health insurance refund of a fair enough amount, so I'm going to spend it on the Oh ( he has a missing tooth that he hates) and a few bits for me, sunglassess, a knife (leatherman/swiss army) and a balaclava to keep warm when sailing.

Plan is to spend half and save half :) We are looking at a radical change in our lives next year (our own plan) so nothing massively extravagant.

Yeah right, "sailing".

keano_afc wrote: »
    Yeah right, "sailing".

It's cold out there and the place I am on in the boat, a knife is handy :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

PS4! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

I'm treating myself to a X free Christmas day. No stupid fuddy duddy leftie Xmas for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

A rasher sambo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Nah if I want to treat myself to something I just do it if I have the cash to do so, not for the sake of the one day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭liliq

Managed to pre order a ps4 that should arrive before Xmas for himself so between that and the kiddo, that's the cash gone for decent treats.
    There's nothing I particularly want though that I could justify treating myself to anyway, so it's all good. :D
    We're treating ourselves by staying at home and telling everyone who wants us to whirlwind around visiting that they know where we are if they want to see us on Xmas day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Treating myself to going home for 2 weeks to Ireland and spending time with the family and old friends. I've got the woogly googlies even thinking about it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭mossy95

Coopaloop wrote: »

Don't be surprised when the tell you have to buy a game too or they won't allow you purchase the xbox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Probably not, buy stuff all year round, getting home for Christmas will be nice though. Catch up on who died, who got their house painted/decorated, who is seeing who, who died and who died. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I'm treating myself to a candle-lit posh **** while Barry White plays in the background <3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

A blow up doll and a 12 pack of strawberry ribbed condoms and I might splash out on a box of kleenex or some other fancy tissues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

I'm probably getting a tablet and maybe some clothes. The time off is the biggest treat of all though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭deise08

Yep. as a Christmas present to me I got myself a batman mug and sock set. :) gonna wrap it and rut it under tree. socks going to be massive on me cos they're men's but I don't care so lookin forward to using em :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

I think i will

New ipad docking station..xbox and going to move the current tv to other room with xbox and get new 42inch tv

Ive worked hard all yr so fook you taxman.going to spend a few bob on myself besides bills and bailing out those bankers

Will you AH

The Chinese will be delighted with you buying all this stuff off them. So will the Chinese taxman and heads of the Communist Party

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭FreshKnickers

Ye know what? You've inspired me! I feckin think I will splash out on meself after all.

So, that's it. Brand-name milk for the Knickers household come Christmas day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Well, I'm a Garda and my partner is a teacher.

We're Getting TWO boxes of Aldi cornflakes for a special Xmas surprise for the kids. Double the cardboard for them as desert as we shan't waste the box.

We've turned a corner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

hmmm....planning to treat myself to an especially nice bottle of whiskey (yet to be decided) and probably new tires for the weekend car.
    Hopefully we'll need them round Christmas time.

Everything else will be treats for the lilluns.....little faces full of excitement and wonder on Christmas morning are a treat in themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭The Dom

God I pity people with young kids these days. November 24th, a month until Christmas and it town today there were bands playing Santa Claus Is Coming To Town and he did, appeared on stage asking kids what they wanted and stuff. Christ, good luck listening to those kids now for the next week saying: 'But Santa said he was coming.."

tl:dr: bah humbug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

Every day, once a day, give yourself a present. It could be a new shirt at the men's store, a catnap in your office chair, or two cups of good, hot black coffee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Probably going to wait until the sales and treat myself to some bike stuff and a new dress. Myself and my OH's anniversary is December 30, so well timed for getting something pretty for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Probably going to wait until the sales and treat myself to some bike stuff and a new dress. Myself and my OH's anniversary is December 30, so well timed for getting something pretty for it!

I hope your a woman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I hope your a woman

I am indeed :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭GobBass

Stheno wrote: »

A knife? A balaclava? Sunglasses? A missing tooth?

Sounds like a MacGyver list than a shopping list. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

I think i will

Will you AH
    I don't understand how you buying something for yourself is going to stick it to the taxman?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

Nope, completely broke this Xmas as is all the fam. :) A lean one this year for us, but we will be making sure there's plenty of food, which is the important bit anyway! :p:cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

New large screen smartphone in January sales.

Nothing to do with decent sized mobile pornography.

Promise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

I treat myself every year. I try to anyway. Last year I bought a few bottles of expensive scotch. This year I'm sending myself home to Ireland for the holidays. I haven't been home in two years so I'm very excited about the whole affair.

Christmas isn't straight forward for everyone. For anyone who has lost a loved one, either recently or otherwise, it can very painful. Something like 76 people have died in my home town this year, some of them friends of mine. Lots of people in the country out of work and can't get the things their kids would like. It's just a horrible time of year the older you get. Spare a thought for the not so fortunate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭April O Neill II

[-0-] wrote: »
    Christmas isn't straight forward for everyone. For anyone who has lost a loved one, either recently or otherwise, it can very painful. Something like 76 people have died in my home town this year, some of them friends of mine. Lots of people in the country out of work and can't get the things their kids would like. It's just a horrible time of year the older you get. Spare a thought for the not so fortunate.

Well said.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

I'm getting a new phone, a new graphics card and a PS4. I'm going to be doing some volunteering too to help those less fortunate. Christmas is my favourite time of year and it is great to give back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

As an athiest and secularist, I don't get involved in this Christian/ former pagan festival as I don't want to be a massive hypocrite.