Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

THE ASHES

• 21-11-2013 12:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭

Well lads and lassies, the ashes just started, live on sky. We are all shouting for our English neighbours no doubt. Come on the Brits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

That post emanated sincerity, so much so, I just nearly thanked it, but something stopped me. Don't ask me what...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

You're drunk aren't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

I'd rather fap to be honest.

Cheers for the suggestion though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,244 ✭✭✭mosstin

Public enemy number one with an early wicket.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

I'd rather watch paint dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Ok ok, I am actually a cricket fan and I am shouting for the brits. Hope I dont get banned from boards now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

The last lot of this shite only ended 88 days ago :mad:

Australia's obsession with test cricket is a serious downside to living here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

jobeenfitz wrote: »
    Well lads and lassies, the ashes just started, live on sky. We are all shouting for our English neighbours no doubt. Come on the Brits!

:confused::confused:

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Xavi6 wrote: »

You lucky blastard. I would love to be there for many reasons, fukn freezing here.

Ok ok, I am actually a cricket fan and I am shouting for the brits. Hope I dont get banned from boards now.

The English or the British?

Britain is an island of three countries, Engerland, Welshland and Scotchland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

It was the same when I was in NZ, they are crazy for it. Didn't like it when I said only about 5 countries actually take it serious.

Well done! You are right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

I LOVE the ashes...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

The Aussies will teach them poms a sticky wicket or two.

Well done! You are right.

Yay! \o/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I googled cricket jokes, to see if there might be some sense of humor/entertainment to the sport
    You've seen worse ?

The nervous young batsman was having a terrible time and was lucky to still be at the crease. During a lull, he stammered to the wicket keeper, 'Well, I expect you've seen worse players.'

Silence....

First slip added 'he said I expect you've seen worse players.'

'I heard him the first time. I was just trying to think.'

Chriiist. *crickets*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I googled cricket jokes, to see if there might be some sense of humor/entertainment to the sport

Chriiist. *crickets*

A man goes into the local cricket admin office, where there's an attractive secretary sitting behind a desk with three trays on it - "in", "out" and "LBW".

In order to strike up a conersation, he askes what the LBW stands for.

She smiles back and replies, "Let the Bastards Wait"

Tis a slow night, I know...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

Thought this thread was about dead people or Ash Wednesday..nevermind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

"The batman's Holding, the bowler's Willey"

I knew there would be positive responses to this thread. Twill make the Christmas period more exciting for AHers. This will be an epic thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Sorry but I'm going outside to watch my grass grow.

FearDark wrote: »
    It was the same when I was in NZ, they are crazy for it. Didn't like it when I said only about 5 countries actually take it serious.

The same goes for rugby league. Real life trolling ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

I knew there would be positive responses to this thread. Twill make the Christmas period more exciting for AHers. This will be an epic thread.

Yeah - for ****èrs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

The Scottish will be delighted with you lumping them in with the English cricket team

I will watch highlights tomorrow evening instead of watching live

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Why does cricket get such a hard time? It's not that bad, Twenty20 can actually be slightly exciting. Rather that than snooker.

Remember a couple of years ago when Ireland beat England in the Cricket World Cup and suddenly everyone loved it

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    Why does cricket get such a hard time? It's not that bad, Twenty20 can actually be slightly exciting. Rather that than snooker.

Remember a couple of years ago when Ireland beat England in the Cricket World Cup and suddenly everyone loved it

Heh, don't say that to cricket purists. It's the devil's game as far as they're concerned.

The reason I dislike it is that they can play for five days and still draw. The Ashes is five tests times five days over six or so weeks. Overkill.

One dayers are kind of acceptable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

The Windies aren't playing. Therefore, I am not interested!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

i'm feeling your pain. i'm in england and freddie fookin flintoff is being wheeled out to everything that broadcasts here. every normal show on 5live is now a cricket special with that imbecile presenting most of them.
    it's been a long time since i drove without the radio on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,744 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

seeing as they rob our best cricketers , go insanely over the top in a Sky induced frenzy , might be cheering the Aussies on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Makes golf look exciting.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

K-9 wrote: »
    Makes golf look exciting.

It's one that I'd file under the 'great craic to play or see live, awful shti to watch on the box' category alright.

12 hours sat in the sun enjoying the occasional alcoholic beverage with some sporting event to vaguely cheer at right in front of you, what's not to like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

P_1 wrote: »
    It's one that I'd file under the 'great craic to play or see live, awful shti to watch on the box' category alright.

12 hours sat in the sun enjoying the occasional alcoholic beverage with some sporting event to vaguely cheer at right in front of you, what's not to like?

A rather nice redhead or failing that, a blonde watching over me, you've got me.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Are the Irish not Brits as they are are a part of The British Isles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭Cake Man

They are obsessed with that sh!t, a fella excitedly came up to me in work today and said something like "Australia are 30 for 1".
    Didn't have a fooking clue what he was on about. Would gladly rather watch paint dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

The Windies aren't playing. Therefore, I am not interested!

India v West Indies starts at 8:00 a.m. It's been a long night and will be an even longer day for us hardcore cricket fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Broad's just got his fifth wicket.

Clean bowled.

Good times here in Brisbane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Broad's just got his fifth wicket.

Clean bowled.

Good times here in Brisbane.

that gonna wreck a lot of Aussie heads, they fúcking hate Broad!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭Captain Farrell

better than poncey kick and clap rugby yawnion though....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

kneemos wrote: »
    Are the Irish not Brits as they are are a part of The British Isles?

:D bit early senior kneemos for this type of post ...:p

Re the ashes, do you not get them on holy wednesday ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,905 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

thebaz wrote: »
    seeing as they rob our best cricketers .

Yeah , like they sneak over in the middle of the night and kidna p them!!;)
    Or did you mean that some of our best cricketers have opted to play for England because under the rules they are eligible to do so, and because it is the only way they can play first class cricket at test level regularly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

thebaz wrote: »
    seeing as they rob our best cricketers , go insanely over the top in a Sky induced frenzy , might be cheering the Aussies on this one.

They didn't rob anyone, Ireland aren't a test nation, Guys like Ed Joyce and Eoin Morgan were good enough to play test cricket so declared interest in playing for England. Joyce has since returned to play for Ireland again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

You could almost say the same thing about rugby union. In fairness to cricket, three of those nations make up almost a third of the world's population.

Collie D wrote: »
    You could almost say the same thing about rugby union. In fairness to cricket, three of those nations make up almost a third of the world's population.

Agreed. In Union only New Zealand, South Africa, Australia and England have a real chance to win the World Cup, France always bottle it.

In League it's really down to Australia, New Zealand and possibly England to have a chance.

In cricket you could argue easily that any one of England, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka or the West Indies would be in with a shout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭tin79

Lamest trophy ever. I wouldn't compete for something that small. Looks like something for Lilliput.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Sitting down drinking beer in the sun all day in stunning locations across the world

whats not to like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

lets see those kiwis kick asshole

"English" Cricket team has players from England, Wales, Ireland and beyond

A bit like the "Irish" football team always has done then.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

It used to be every couple of years, and now its every couple of months. What happened?