Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

You've just become a billionaire...

• 20-11-2013 6:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,710 ✭✭✭✭

and you are going to buy 5 properties, where in the world would you buy?
    one of them must be your primary residence
    one of them must be a city dwelling (excluding your principal property)
    one of them must be a rural property (excluding your principal property)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

That's... three... properties...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

I'd stay where I am to be honest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

new build in the rathfarnham end of the dublin mts (primary)

city place in melbourne

hollywood hills

somewhere rural in central north america

maybe japan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

Primary: London
    City: NYC
    Rural: Aquitane
    #4: Bali
    #5: Here I guess, :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Skerries wrote: »
    and you are going to buy 5 properties, where in the world would you buy?
    one of them must be your primary residence
    one of them must be a city dwelling (excluding your principal property)
    one of them must be a rural property (excluding your principal property)

So your principal property can't be in the city, and it can't be in the country...

Mars colony here I come!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Primary in Kinsale
    Secondary would be Boston
    Rural property would be somewhere in Israel
    Rome
    Tokyo

That's not giving it much thought. I'd buy another 5 if I was a billionaire. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

Primary - Extension to my current home
    City - Kilkenny
    Rural - Thurles
    #4 - Maldives
    #5 - Scandinavia

I'm a home bird :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Primary residence, townhouse in Mayfair London.

Penthouse Apartment in Acapulco.

Ranch on the outskirts of Cody, Wyoming.

Multi million new eco build in Torshavn.

Purchase an estate in Tipperary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

Primary: Dublin
    City: Berlin
    Rural: Bordeaux
    #4: Current House...for the parents
    #5: Somewhere in Seattle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

If I had half a billion euro in one pocket and half in the other do you know what I would have?

Someone else's trousers on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Becoming a millionaire was the big thing back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Primary: Chicago
    City: Munich
    Rural: Donegal
    #4: On an island in Southeast Asia
    #5: San Francisco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

250 apartments in Bulgaria

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

NYC
    London
    Malibu
    Tokyo
    Munich

If only....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭Mousewar

If i was a billionaire i wouldn't be that pushed by property. There are two things i'd love to do though.

1. Buy branded crunchy nut cornflakes. Not the Tesco or lidl knockoffs but the real deal. I'd probably get like two or three boxes - that'd be amazing.

2. I'd get my haircut somewhere where the barber spoke English so he understands what i actually want done. Those places cost mega bucks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

I would just buy thousands of acres in the midlands, level every building and plant millions of trees and build a massive wall around with a nice cabin in the middle. Maybe airlift a few herds of deer and a pack of wolves into my new forest to make things interesting.

Years later the walls would crumble revealing a beautiful forest - my gift to Ireland from an eccentric billionaire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭SmilingLurker

NYC
    London
    Dublin
    Tokyo
    By some nice surf beach in Hawaii...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭The Dom

1. I'd buy Dr.Quirkys and reopen the Carlton and one the top I'd have a penthouse Apartment where I'd have parties and look down on those in squalor of the Gresham.
    2. I'd buy Arnotts, do some redecorating and re-open the Adelphi where I would also have a penthouse apartment.
    3. I'd buy a ranch in Texas and stalk Alexis Texas.
    4. I'd buy a Italian Villa next door (or as close to) Rocco's gaff as I could and try and shoehorn my way into his life so I could invites to his debauched parties (which I just know he has).
    5. Small rural cottage in Rooskey, Leitrim to do some fishing in my downtime from all the madness that having the above four would undoubtedly create.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Primary residence: Monaco
    City: Munich
    Rural: Nürburg, Germany
    #4: Japan
    #5: Somewhere in the Canaries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

All the crusties picking smelly god-forsaken dumps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

Primary: Dublin
    City: London
    Other: California
    Other: Hawaii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Sorry, just become a billionare, can't chat, have to park this...

http://media.pressherald.com/images/geffen_yacht.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Primary: Galway, one of the larger, nicer houses in the Taylor's Hill or Barna areas.

Rural: Mermaid Isle Estate on Illaundrane Island near Sneem in Kerry.

City: Penthouse in Central Milan

Property 4: Town house in Pamplona, somewhere along Estafeta with plenty of balconies so I can watch the run during San Fermin.

Property 5: Villa near the beach in Puerto Cayo, Ecuador. The worlds best kept surfing secret.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,380 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Budva (Primary)
    Moscow
    Seoul
    Napier
    Budapest / Vienna (can't decide!)

Fućk staying in Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Primary: Cornwall beach house
    City: London, 3 story Georgian
    Other: New York Penthouse
    Other: New England lakehouse retreat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

5 houses from one ghost estate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

I'd keep 6 million and give the rest away. I would live very happily with 6 million, I'd live very happily just from the interest on 6 million so the bulk would go to good causes. Bigtime.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Courtown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Hobbit hole on an a remote patch of land in Ireland.
    Penthouse Apt in Manhattan.
    Castle in the Scottish/English countryside.
    Island in tropical waters.
    Big place in New Hampshire for the fall.

There's many materialistic people here, greedy feckers you lot are.

zenno wrote: »
    I'd keep 6 million and give the rest away. I would live very happily with 6 million, I'd live very happily just from the interest on 6 million so the bulk would go to good causes. Bigtime.

Ffs :confused:

1 million would do me fine, but when I heard of 1 billion/billionaire, I thought 6 million would be reasonable :p

@ Mint Aero

Ffs ... Indeed.

1 million would do me fine, but when I heard of 1 billion i thought 6 million would be reasonable :p

994 million down the swaney? Would you give me 10 millions :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭my teapot is orange

Primary Residence: Paris
    Rural: Somewhere coastal in Australia (can't decide)
    City: NYC
    Other: Berlin
    Other: Dublin

Mint Aero wrote: »
    994 million down the swaney? Would you give me 10 millions :)

Nope, not in a long shot. I would make a policy that sticks like epoxy-resin, to make sure the 994 million got to the homeless in Ireland for housing firstly.

Oh, and the six million I stated wouldn't be just for myself, it would be shared within the family and friends, so i'd probably have 3 million to myself which is enough for me to travel the world so happy days, with icing on top.

Nope, not in a long shot. I would make a policy that sticks like epoxy-resin, to make sure the 994 million got to the homeless in Ireland for housing firstly.

I'll become homeless for a bit of moola, not a bother boss :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭kwestfan08

Primary: Manhattan Penthouse

Rural: Does Bora Bora count as rural? :P. If not my own gaff at the minute in Cavan

City: Vegas. I would imagine a billionaire would be able to get up to some fun in Las Vegas.

#4. Miami
    #5. Somewhere like Phuket or some other beach chillout locale

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭deseil

Primary residence Avoca Wicklow
    City:Amsterdam
    Rural: Pioppi, Campania Italy
    Other: Maastricht
    Other: Carcassone

Mint Aero wrote: »
    I'll become homeless for a bit of moola, not a bother boss :)

But ye see, if I gave you a million 'say' then you will be like the rest of the politicians of Ireland, and will not understand what it is like to live in the real world, and also not understand how the real-world functions. So ye see, we can't have that at all.

I'm a billionaire - I'm pretty sure I could buy a whole island somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Fecking Oirish and their obsession with brick boxes. So boring!

Why bother if you could just travel the world in your own custom built airship?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Primary residence: nice home (but not overly flashy) in a tax haven country (Isle of Man, Switzerland, Cayman Islands, Kuwait, Qatar, etc.) Will also get citizenship of said tax haven country, so I can avail of the low-tax status and so on. Will spend the minimum amount of time required living in this house, as I'm only using it to be a tax exile. (note: primary residence in the loosest sense of the word... only a de joure "primary" residence... de facto, I'm living somewhere else most of the time in my property empire; think I cheated a bit)

City dwelling: a luxury penthouse-apartment/townhouse overlooking/on the Avenue des Champs-Élysées in Paris.

Rural property: a huge ranch out in Texas. Where I can keep steers, play the cowboy and rub shoulders with the oil barons and so on.

Property 4: a luxury home somewhere in Dublin 4 or in the foothills of the Dublin Mountains.

Property 5: luxury penthouse apartment overlooking Las Vegas Boulevard ("The Strip") in Las Vegas. This residence would primarily be used for just having a pure time of hedonism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Hmmmm

Crashpad penthouse in the centre of Amsterdam
    House in the Dublin mountains. (maybe north wicklow)
    Penthouse in the V&A in Capetown
    Farm somewhere near Bela Bela
    Winter cottage in Austria

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

No property at all.
    Too much responsibility: agents, maids, painters, gardeners etc. All robbing you blind when your backs turned.
    For me it would be a good hotel, with good facilities and .....taxis everywhere:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

I'd move to Zimbabwe and become bagilgaziltrillionaire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

foxyboxer wrote: »
    I'd move to Zimbabwe and become bagilgaziltrillionaire.

You could probably do that now

http://www.significancemagazine.org/SpringboardWebApp/userfiles/sig/image/ChampkinUploads/Zimbabwe_$100_trillion_2009_Obverse(1).jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭GobBass

Primary: A Georgian townhouse in Clontarf for a start, this one in particular:

http://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/prospect-house-the-crescent-clontarf-dublin-3/2659144

However, if I wanted space, its a toss-up between this mansion in Howth surrounded by woodland and sea...

http://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/windgate-windgate-road-baily-howth-dublin-county/2626891

..or Ashtown Lodge near the Phoenix Park, which was given a brilliant write-up in the Irish Times recently.

http://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/ashtown-lodge-river-road-castleknock-dublin-15/2521108

____

City: A loft/penthouse in Berlin, preferably in Dahlem or the more central Mitte.

Country: Celbridge Demesne hands down, big ass house with 600 acres less than an hour outside Dublin, not bad. :D

Other: Penthouse in New York. You MUST see this, it is the most stunning property I've ever seen. I've promised myself I would buy it if the Euromillions ever came up.

http://priceypads.com/tribeca-penthouse-24500000/

Do I have too much time on my hands? Perhaps.

But a young lad can dream.

jesus, just checked out that New York Penthouse. Thats one sexy bathroom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Primary Residence: Dublin. Outside the City Centre on the Southside.
    City Dwelling: London (Very Posh London)
    Rural: Sweden (northern). I have been intrigued by the place since I seen The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.

Other 2 would be:
    Monte Carlo
    California (The nice areas)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭LETS BE AVN IT

San Diego - USA primary
    Waterford - city
    Ibiza - countryside Villa
    Shinoukville Cambodia - beach house
    Prague - penthouse