Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eye injuries

• 20-11-2013 9:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭

got a wallop of a cows tail in the eye over a week ago, was sore at the time but thought nothing of it. It got sore again on monday and asked doc to look at it yesterday when i had kids in there, she was more worried about my eye than anything the kids have:cool: no discharge but she said its very swollen at the back ,if it doesnt improve by friday have to go back , she gave me drops, many a time i got a belt of a tail before and nothing happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Got a tiny bit of metal stuck in my eye afew years back, maybe from the angle grinder. Eye was sore for afew days before I mentioned it to my optician while getting some contacts. He said its probably just from the old contacts, but said he'd have a quick look. As soon as his saw the metal he told me to go straight up to the eye unit in the Mater hospital, where I ended up bloody sitting around for over 5hrs to be seen, and then another few hours before a doctor took it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Timmaay wrote: »
    Got a tiny bit of metal stuck in my eye afew years back, maybe from the angle grinder. Eye was sore for afew days before I mentioned it to my optician while getting some contacts. He said its probably just from the old contacts, but said he'd have a quick look. As soon as his saw the metal he told me to go straight up to the eye unit in the Mater hospital, where I ended up bloody sitting around for over 5hrs to be seen, and then another few hours before a doctor took it out.
    ye oh has been up in the eye and ear 3 times, i said if he has to go again he can drive himself, all for not wearing a pair of googles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Really lucky with the GP I use, he loves minor surgery, great at getting steel out and I don't have the 5 hr wait.
    He also does loads of other stuff like stitches, skin biopsies,etc....great service for a careless farmer

rancher wrote: »
    Really lucky with the GP I use, he loves minor surgery, great at getting steel out and I don't have the 5 hr wait.
    He also does loads of other stuff like stitches, skin biopsies,etc....great service for a careless farmer
    our gp has a shaky hand, was training to be a surgeon but had to change to being a gp , he stitched me up with no anaesthetic a few years ago after i caught my arm between the crush bar and a cow. he wouldnt have a steady enough hand to go near your eye. There was a locum in one time oh had steel in his eye and he took it out no problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

whelan1 wrote: »
    our gp has a shaky hand, was training to be a surgeon but had to change to being a gp , he stitched me up with no anaesthetic a few years ago after i caught my arm between the crush bar and a cow. he wouldnt have a steady enough hand to go near your eye. There was a locum in one time oh had steel in his eye and he took it out no problem

if i had to stitch you up, id be shaking too:D

hugo29 wrote: »
    if i had to stitch you up, id be shaking too:D
    :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

ye oh has been up in the eye and ear 3 times, i said if he has to go again he can drive himself, all for not wearing a pair of googles

I was a demon for that.
    Then I got a red hot chip burned onto my eye.
    3/4 mm away from the lens and that would have left me near blind.

When they finally got it out I had a scar on the white of my eye or a few years as a reminder.

Now I never go without goggles when I'm using the grinder or even helping near a grinder.

Hope your eye improves with the drops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

i was making up calf pens during the sumner and i was chipping off the slag of a bit of weld i did. Hot piece hopped of my eye lid and stuck them together, burnt my eye too. It was during the heat wave too and i could only see out of one eye for a week because it was so bright it hurt my eye. Always wear goggles now.

I know a chap who was walking past his workshop and got a piece of steel into his eye.
    Passed it off and in a week had to go to doctor as his eye was near closed.

Off to hospital and they said the only course of action was to remove as it was infected and beyond saving.

He refused point blank to allow them remove it. Took his chances with antibiotics and within a month it healed itself and his sight returned.

My wife had a lad in clinic one day and he was saying he got sight back in one eye after 20 years.

When he was a young electrician a cable clip bounced back and pierced his eye and he lost his sight. They offered to remove it as it looked right bad but he didn't like the sound if that either.
    He was in with a consultant for a different problem when he was in his fifties and the consultant remarked on his eye. He relayed the story and the consultant sent him on to a friend. Turned out he had a day Surgury procedure done and near perfect sight returned !!

bbam wrote: »
    I know a chap who was walking past his workshop and got a piece of steel into his eye.
    Passed it off and in a week had to go to doctor as his eye was near closed.

Off to hospital and they said the only course of action was to remove as it was infected and beyond saving.

He refused point blank to allow them remove it. Took his chances with antibiotics and within a month it healed itself and his sight returned.

That was a close one to say the least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

[quote="bbam;87602661"
    He refused point blank to allow them remove it. Took his chances with antibiotics and within a month it healed itself and his sight returned.[/quote]

Do you know was it because he hadn't health insurance that he didn't allow them proceed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭tomo75

"Now I never go without goggles...."

I wear glasses as my eyesight is poor. I got a pair of perscribed safety glasses - I wear them all the time when out working.

Its bad enough having poor eyesight but no eyesight - that would be a disaster.

Muckit wrote: »
    Do you know was it because he hadn't health insurance that he didn't allow them proceed?

Nope... Agri contractor... fairly ignorant type too... just took a chance which in fairness could have gotten much worse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

got caustic soda in the corner of my eye a few weeks ago, not bad thankfully but a few tiny burns on my face aswell. My own fault as I was just after taking off my face mask as it was all fogged up and I was banging a seize I had just past caustic pearls trough and a few flicked up onto my face. stupid of me, but i got off lightly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭Massey10

bbam wrote: »
    My wife had a lad in clinic one day and he was saying he got sight back in one eye after 20 years.

When he was a young electrician a cable clip bounced back and pierced his eye and he lost his sight. They offered to remove it as it looked right bad but he didn't like the sound if that either.
    He was in with a consultant for a different problem when he was in his fifties and the consultant remarked on his eye. He relayed the story and the consultant sent him on to a friend. Turned out he had a day Surgury procedure done and near perfect sight returned !!
    I've often heard junior doctors like to operate to gain experience so you should always look for a second opinion if in doubt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

In my younger days I got steel in the eye 3 times in the space of a few months-could not go back in the 3rd time so I picked out myself with a needle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭ravima

With hindsight (the most exact of sciences), most accidents are caused due to carelessness and if we were honest, stupidity. How many of us know that we should use goggles when using drill or strimmer, but we don't bother. How many us wear goggles when hammering nails into concrete? How many wear gloves when handling chemicals?

It only takes a fraction of a second to lose an eye, or get a chemical burn.

We know we should wear the stuff, but it's easier not to.

Having said that, from now on, I'll try to wear safety glasses when doing the cows. A bit of hard dung at the end of a swinging tail is also a danger, which I had not thought of till now.

Thanks for the tip.

Regarding your eye, mind it. Relation of mine was hit in eye when a rope holding a load of hay on a trailer was thrown down to him. No treatment, sight went and a few years later the dead eye had to be taken out. Perhaps and it is only a perhaps, if he had gone to doc/hospital, this could have been averted. You only have two!!

Lad in college got pink eye. Now that was a funny story :D

got sawdust in the other eye this evening:mad: oh said there is a big red mark on the bad eye when he puts the drops in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

I told this story before but it's no harm telling ye again as anything to do with the eyes is very important.

OH was gardening for an elderly neighbour. He got a clip of a bush across the face. No harm to him or so he thought. About a week later his eye was red and watery so he went to the doctor and was put on drops. It was gradually getting worse, sore and red so the doctor sent him into hospital. He spent 32 days in the Eye Department. For the first 17 he was getting drops put in every hour day and night - no sleep as by the time he had dropped off from one dose it was time for the next! His eye was horrible to look at, the white was red and the coloured part (iris) was white. He has about half vision in that eye now. If you look at it there is a shadow similar to a misted over window. He got an infection from the branch and it was working away in the eye for the first week and the drops the GP put him on were having no effect and allowing it to get a greater hold.

He now does nothing nor will allow me to do anything outside without safety goggles. So, lads and lassies, look after yourselves!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

A neighbour of mine used a magnet and a razor blade to get a piece out of his eye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

A neighbour of mine used a magnet and a razor blade to get a piece out of his eye.
    Some combination to go rooting at the eye with :D Would the blade not stick to the magnet ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

Magnet can pull a sliver of steel through the eye causing a laceration. Ouch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

Magnet is dangerous. It can pull sliver of steel across the eye cutting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

The doctor used a normal injection needle to get the metal out, took her about 2seconds to do, I was only in with her for 5mins in total! Was bloody annoying have to wait like 7/8hrs for that ha, going back to the topic of health insurance, maybe if I had insurance I could have gone to likes of the beacon private hospital and got it done there wayy quicker? Or is the likes of that too specialised?

But anyways, blade and a magnet, fook that, I'll que up for most the day anyday before I'd trust myself to try it myself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Anyone ever get that stain in your eye to see if any damage shows up.
    You're lying on your back looking up at a drop as it drips into your eye. It's a funny feeling!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Bizzum wrote: »
    Anyone ever get that stain in your eye to see if any damage shows up.
    You're lying on your back looking up at a drop as it drips into your eye. It's a funny feeling!
    Had it a few times. worked in one spot that it was a regular problem with eye problems. there was one lad who would use a sliver of paper and remove pretty much anything. goggles are all well and good in most circumstances, but try wearing them for 10-12 hrs per day every day. stopping them from getting scraped and fogged or dirty can be a nightmare. i know its better than losing an eye but there are loads of times where they werent pactical. try working in the rain with a consaw and goggles. layers of muck stuck to the front and water dripping in behind them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Manoffeeling

moy83 wrote: »
    Some combination to go rooting at the eye with :D Would the blade not stick to the magnet ?

The metal can burn its way into the eye and seal over. It wouldn't be at the back of the eye, just barely in. A simple nick and encouragement is all it needed. But you knew that anyway or were you just demonstrating that your knowledge of magnets and stuff :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I thought he was poking with the stanley and drawing with the magnet at the same time :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Oh I've been in the same situation myself, being to the doctors twice this year with metal in my eye.
    Just laziness on my part as I was chipping the slag off a weld and had the face mask up thinking I would be grand sure it ll take just a sec.
    Before we moved GPs I was a common customer to the eye and ear. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Farmer

At this point, I just keep about half a dozen pairs of goggles dotted about the place - near the welder, bench drill, inside the back door, a new sealed pair on the shelf, one in the everyday jacket, at the cattle crush (got a good shot of lignacaine once when a needle came off a syringe), etc. I think that generally we're not too lazy to put them on, just too lazy to go looking for them if they're not nearby. I think you just have to develop the mindset that something WILL happen if you don't take the precaution

Of course the springy branch or unexpected splash is hard to legislate for.

Sincere best wishes to the OP - I'd be past myself with worry at this point (esp after reading this thread), although generally these things work out fine - you just hear about the bad cases

In fairness I have never heard of anyone wearing goggles while milking. Think my incident was a total one off

True.
    All we can do is minimise the risks with the read dangerous stuff and then be careful after that. I worked in a job where you had to wear safety glasses all day and it's a pain. Even of not workin on any machines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Whelan my sister always were's goggles when she's milking her cows, she got a bad infection in her eye years ago and she's always careful to wear them now, amazing how dirty they get after a few milkings

Whelan, How's you eye?

not better, didnt have time to go to doc yesterday... will try to go monday or tuesday, pain behind it at times and sun makes it worse, still using drops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

not better, didnt have time to go to doc yesterday... will try to go monday or tuesday, pain behind it at times and sun makes it worse, still using drops

I wouldn't be putting it off whelan, ya need your sight :)

i know will make appointment monday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭paddysdream

Got shingles in my eye(optic nerve ) a few years ago.Now that was pain let me tell you.
    Felt like a piece of steel in my eye for a few days.Local doctor looked at it and could see nothing there.
    Then the itching and the real pain started.
    Middle of Feb. and me sleeping in the armchair(lying in bed caused the eye to swell up and close so sitting up was better.
    Then out every hour to walk around the house ,anything to try and distract myself.
    Got it diagnosed in Waterford and down every Monday to the eye clinic for 6 weeks during the busiest time of the year.Got it in time but still have a numb forehead and a constant irritation in my left eye.Any late night driving etc leaves it very sore.
    After all that still sometimes forget the goggles when grinding!
    By the way remember reading (in the journal I think) some lady saying that shingles in her eye was more painful than any of the childbirths she expeirenced.

feck deffo going back to doc monday now after reading that:cool: drops are terible they run back into my throat and cause a bad stomach:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭paddysdream

feck deffo going back to doc monday now after reading that:cool: drops are terible they run back into my throat and cause a bad stomach:mad:

Shingles?
    First sign is a sore eye.Then the end of your nose starts to itch(optic nerve runs to there or so I was told).After that it was itching on forehead and in my hair.

Worst pain I have ever had(this includes breaking my nose with a bucket and hitting myself full force with the back of an axe on the forehead when it caught in a washing line and rebounded).

Think it stays in your nervous system for a while.The severe pain went after a few weeks but the tiredness lasted for 6 months or more
    .Leaves you feeling lethargic and weary for a while.For example remember going down to the lambing shed one morning at 9am(3 hours later than normal),looking in and seeing 25 or 30 ewes lambed overnight.This was maybe 2 weeks after the shingles started.Done nothing but went back into the house ,made coffee and didnt even stir back out till after 11.Just hadnt either the energy or the interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Always go to a doc ASAP after any eye accident no matter how trifle you think it is. Coming from a welder/pipe fitter that had numerous foreign bodies in both eyes... Know lads that left it and were lucky to have their eyesight.

I've seen someone in pain with their eye - you should have gone doc today or to Casualty - it's serious, go, immediately! My OH read your post about the pain in the back of your eye and says you shouldn't leave it for a minute.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

Got a nasty doing last summer, Tractor I was working had dodgy battery connections, used to stir them then start it from the ground, one day the top of the battery went pop and splashed me with acid, a nice woman was looking out the back window of the house next door and saw what happened, in fairness to her she had a half a litre of milk poured into it before i knew what happened, ended up with a bad burn on the eye and burns on my face and arms too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭thetiredfarmer

Farmer wrote: »
    At this point, I just keep about half a dozen pairs of goggles dotted about the place - near the welder, bench drill, inside the back door, a new sealed pair on the shelf, one in the everyday jacket, at the cattle crush (got a good shot of lignacaine once when a needle came off a syringe), etc. I think that generally we're not too lazy to put them on, just too lazy to go looking for them if they're not nearby. I think you just have to develop the mindset that something WILL happen if you don't take the precaution

Of course the springy branch or unexpected splash is hard to legislate for.

Sincere best wishes to the OP - I'd be past myself with worry at this point (esp after reading this thread), although generally these things work out fine - you just hear about the bad cases

It was the tree branch that got me.Split the eye into three pieces.Got it put back together but it never worked again.There were a couple of bent shed pillars and twisted gates before I got used to being without it.But feck it,it could have been worse!

Well! Have you been to doctor yet? Or do I have to go to your house and drag you to the nearest Casualty? I hope you've gone, your eyesight is way too important

KatyMac wrote: »
    Well! Have you been to doctor yet? Or do I have to go to your house and drag you to the nearest Casualty? I hope you've gone, your eyesight is way too important
    appointment tomorrow afternoon, have bord bia inspection tomorrow morning:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

How is the eye today?

just irritable, bit of a pain in it this evening, will know the story tomorrow