Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying a used car (Alfa!!)in the UK: pros and cons?!

• 19-11-2013 9:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭

Hey! I hope you are all well!
    I am closing in on my 2008-2010 Alfa 159 with Ti spec.
    I see that the Uk has a bigger range of cars with more engines and spec.
    I am hoping to buy a car qualifying post-July 2008 for emissions.

So I see the pros as:
    1) Bigger range of cars/specs/engines etc
    2) With higher spec.
    3) Possibly lower prices...

Cons:
    1) Lack of follow up if any problems.
    2) having to pay vrt.
    3) Not being 100% sure of the cars driving history, how well serviced and maintained etc..

Am I mad to buy from the UK...was thinking of doing all the research, somehow, getting the car checked out, flying over and driving home to Dublin...

Cheers...

A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

There is a guy on Alfaowner who recently imported a Ti spec 159- he should still have his thread on there somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭Arequipa

Thanks..i will check it out!

So, overall, is there an adventage to buying a car from UK:

Just bumping this thread up again!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Arequipa wrote: »
    So, overall, is there an adventage to buying a car from UK:
    Better spec, usually better looked after and lots more choice.

If dealing with main dealers they usually have well educated, knowledgeable staff who are eager to sell.

Hey! Thanks Barabus..so if a car advertised on autocar.uk is from a recognised dealer: i is worth a shout?!

Any info on main dealers in uk?!
    Sorry i am very new all things motoring!!

Thank u!!

Hey! Thanks Barabus..so if a car advertised on autocar.uk is from a recognised dealer: i is worth a shout?!

Any info on main dealers in uk?!
    Sorry i am very new all things motoring!!

Thank u!!

You should try alfaowners. It's a forum and they would be able to give you a good guide. After that do the usual background checks and maybe get it appraised by the RAC. It's hard to advise you unless you have a specific car in mind.

Hey! Looking at an Alfa 2008-2010, 1.9 JTdm, with Ti spec...
    Given its an alfa : would like lowish mileage & full service history...

Hey! Looking at an Alfa 2008-2010, 1.9 JTdm, with Ti spec...
    Given its an alfa : would like lowish mileage & full service history...

There is a guide on importing cars from the UK. Have a look through that as it's full of useful advice.

To find a specific garage which is good to deal with you'll need to check the owners forums. They will also have detailed buyers guides and also cars being sold by enthusiasts who are generally up front about work that's been done. I'd check them first as trying to make a warranty claim could be hassle.

That's honestly the best advice I can give.

Other than that a HPI check, history check and get the car looked over properly and the paper work before handing any cash over is a must.

Very nice car!! Plan is to get my NCT on my existing car & then buy the Alfa in the Spring!
    So at that point I will go for best car @ the best price!

I think the vrt on a UK car of this type will be approx €3K!

A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

13k cash price !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭ofcork

Those wheels look different than other TIs ive seen.

Beautiful car but....

Maybe a bit pricey!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Exile on Grafton St.

My brother is considering getting a car in the UK and has come across this organisation.
    You tell these people what type of car you want, the specand the price you are willing to pay and they go to the UK to source it for you.

Would anyone recommend them/another organisation? Or would he better off looking online at UK garages? Neither he nor me know a lot about cars...

http://www.jrcmotors.ie

I would be interested to see what they are like too..
    Someone who got you the model, in the spec you want, full service history & organised a full AA Check, would be really helpful....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭discombobulate

I would be interested to see what they are like too..
    Someone who got you the model, in the spec you want, full service history & organised a full AA Check, would be really helpful....
    It'd basically cost you the price of doing it yourself pus a couple of grand profit for them if you do that.

I'm on Alfa Owner and imported a 159 Ti in July. Pro's obviously are the wide list of options. A warranty with a standard dealer isn't going to be worth much as you wouldn't be able to use it so get the AA check done.

To be honest if you got that 159 Ti down in Kerry for 12k you would be doing as well as going over to the UK. I believe on Ti models here the 19" alloys were an option so some over here come with those 18" ones instead.

From your list of positives:
    So I see the pros as:
    1) Bigger range of cars/specs/engines etc Yes. This is a major advantage seeing as there's minimal Ti's come up for sale here.
    2) With higher spec.There's not much difference in spec when it comes to the Ti other than maybe getting the 19's which 2 of the Ti's for sale here unfortunately don't have.
    3) Possibly lower prices... In my experience the Ti's that sell here usually go for around the same price as importing.

From your list of cons:
    Cons:
    1) Lack of follow up if any problems. You'd have the same here if you buy privately or with a low warranty.
    2) having to pay vrt.Wouldn't really say its a con as you just have to factor it into the price and determine whether price is better here.
    3) Not being 100% sure of the cars driving history, how well serviced and maintained etc..Look for a service history. That's no different to here.

As another bit of info there generally wouldn't be much wiggle room in prices from UK dealers from my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,479 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I wonder what size deposit these car sourcing companies want up front before going ahead and bringing a car across on the ferry? I'd doubt very much they would bring in a car without a substantial deposit, on the hope that a customer will agree to buy it without seeing it first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

Id get a recommendation of good used car dealers off the lads on alfaowner.

Another option would be contacting the likes of Ned in Autolusso, Jamie in alfaworkshop or Neil in italia auto parts.
    All would be fairly well regarded in the alfa community in the Uk and while they don't sell, they would be in the know as to which enthusiast is considering selling their 159.

In a similar way, if I was after an alfa in Ireland Id be getting onto the likes of Gerry in TI, pat byrne or don baker

Thanks mate!
    So, no huge difference between buying here vs the UK...
    It would be a bit of an adventure travelling over & back!

What does Ti stand for?
    Would any of the guys you mention source an Alfa with the spec i'm looking for?

Appreciate your advice!

I'd say in ireland any of those 3 would source you one. Pat mainly deals in 156's though

In the uk, Jamiie porter or Neil would probably be your best bet.

Ti stands for turismo Internationale and is the highest spec available. A lot of alfas will claim to be ti, In fact motor check sites will say they are, but they're not ti spec.

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-159-brera-and-946-spider/342063-difference-between-lusso-and-ti-spec-159-sw.html

Oh yep, was aware of the Ti spec...
    Do Gerry, Don & Pat work for Alfa Ireland?

Looking in the classifieds and asking in the 159 forum on Alfa Owner would be 2 good options as any for sale there would be by enthusiasts.

In general though i'd imagine Ti's would be better looked after due to the premium to buy them.

The biggest dealer for top end used Alfas in the UK would be Veloces http://www.veloces.co.uk

Worth keeping an eye out on the car supermarkets like cargiant too as their prices are generally competetive. Would generally be ex-fleet so serviced well.

No their indepents that come highly recommended for servicing

God no. I would go to any of them before alfa. And alfa ireland...:pac:
    Most of the irish owners on alfaowner would be the same and I haven't heard anyone say anything bad about them.

Alfa in Ireland falls under the remit of fiat ireland which will soon be under fiat uk control.

Here's a list of 159s that alfaworkshop have.
    http://www.alfaworkshop.co.uk/alfa_romeo_159_for_sale.shtml

To be honest if I was importing a 159 from the uk, I'd be ringing either of the the three specialists I mentioned earlier on. Again all three are very highly regarded by members of alfaowner.

And how the feck did I forget veloces
    Although they have nice stock, uk ao members seem to rate them as a mixed bunch.

What's your budget and what engine are you looking for by the way?

Thanks for all the replies & feedback!!
    I am looking at getting an Alfa 159
    -2008-2011
    -1.9jtdm or maybe 2.4 Jtdm
    -Ti spec
    -i would hope to spend €10k to a max of €15k inclusive of everything..!!

Think colour wise: black with tan leather seats would be nice...!

Thanks for all the replies & feedback!!
    I am looking at getting an Alfa 159
    -2008-2011
    -1.9jtdm or maybe 2.4 Jtdm
    -Ti spec
    -i would hope to spend €10k to a max of €15k inclusive of everything..!!

Think colour wise: black with tan leather seats would be nice...!
    You won't get a Ti for 10k unless the mileage is high. I'd say close to 12k for what your looking for in an 08 with around 50-60k miles. You'd get a 2.0 or 2.4 for the upper part of your budget but would have to go the UK. A 10 or 11 i'd say would be over budget in any though from what I can see other than high milers.

When i was getting mine i did a spreadsheet of the vrt prices for each year and each engine to reference when looking.

I bought it on an eBay auction which would generally not be advised but it had a full history and was still under warranty with an Alfa dealership.

Also make sure the belt has been done as it's recommended after 4 years or around 50k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

If getting a 159 from the UK make sure to check the floorpans for rust. It's a common enough issue on both the 159 and the 156.

That red one looks to be sold already. Didn't last long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Kopy

Have the option of purchasing a 2010 Alfa 159 JTDM with full service history for less than €6500.
    Should i buy and sell it on or let it go ?

Why is it so cheap?

bazz26 wrote: »
    Why is it so cheap?

Cos i know the owner !

They could get a lot more than €6500 for it by selling it to someone else. Just curious why they were selling it to you so cheap. I suppose buying it at that price would boil down to how well you know the seller as well as the condition of the car.

bazz26 wrote: »
    They could get a lot more than €6500 for it by selling it to someone else. Just curious why they were selling it to you so cheap. I suppose buying it at that price would boil down to how well you know the seller as well as the condition of the car.

You are correct in regards to how well i know the seller,he has bought a new car.
    Regarding condition of car ?
    Only about 70 K miles in excellent condition ! even passed NCT last week.

Why do you think its value is worth more ?

Kopy wrote: »
    You are correct in regards to how well i know the seller,he has bought a new car.
    Regarding condition of car ?
    Only about 70 K miles in excellent condition ! even passed NCT last week.

Why do you think its value is worth more ?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/alfa-romeo-159-1-9-jtdm-4dr/6027537

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/alfa-romeo-159-1-9-jtd-8v-lusso-sportwa/5876523

Granted they are dealer asking prices but even someone asking €10k privately would be more realistic. If the car/seller are genuine then it's a steal at €6500 for a 4 year old diesel 159.

It even has the Alfa Blue & Me system in it ( Bluetooth SatNav Voice Recognition System )
    The car and seller are 100% totally legitimate.

You've nearly made my mind up to buy it .

It even has the Alfa Blue & Me system in it ( Bluetooth SatNav Voice Recognition System )
    The car and seller are 100% totally legitimate.

You've nearly made my mind up to buy it .

Any advice ?

Any further advice ?

Not sure what further advice you are looking for. You seem to know the car and seller than anyone here. It's down to you if you want to buy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    If getting a 159 from the UK make sure to check the floorpans for rust. It's a common enough issue on both the 159 and the 156.

If you need brake pads, buy the retaining pins aswell, the ones on english cars rust quite badly.
    Have the option of purchasing a 2010 Alfa 159 JTDM with full service history for less than €6500.
    Should i buy and sell it on or let it go ?

I'd want that much for my 08 if I was selling........buy it!
    What model is it?

Its the Alfa 159 JTDm 16v 150Bhp

pred racer wrote: »
    If you need brake pads, buy the retaining pins aswell, the ones on english cars rust quite badly.

I'd want that much for my 08 if I was selling........buy it!
    What model is it?

its the Alfa 159 JTDm
    16v 150 Bhp

Its the Alfa 159 JTDm 16v 150Bhp
    Sounds fairly simple. Buy it if you want a car you could make money on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

its the Alfa 159 JTDm
    16v 150 Bhp

Same as mine, strange I would have thought a 2010 would have had the 2.0L 170bhp in it.

What I meant is, is it a sportivo, lusso or Ti (it wont be a Ti but those are the 3 trim levels)

Sounds fairly simple. Buy it if you want a car you could make money on.
    If i do buy it where should i sell it ?

Its the 1.9 JTDm !
    as far as i know its the lusso but classed as the executive.

Done Deal, Carzone etc.

Lusso would be the second top spec'd model.

pred racer wrote: »
    Same as mine, strange I would have thought a 2010 would have had the 2.0L 170bhp in it.

What I meant is, is it a sportivo, lusso or Ti (it wont be a Ti but those are the 3 trim levels)

I don't think they ever officially sold the 159 with the 2.0 litre engine here. That arrived in the 159 facelift but I think they stopped selling the 159 in Ireland at that stage. A pitty.