Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to solve this sexual problem?

• 19-11-2013 6:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Going unreg for this one for obvious reasons. I'm 100% gay and there's no doubting that. I've no interest in girls and can rarely stop thinking about guys. However, when it comes to getting into bed then that's where things go drastically downhill. I'm 20 years old at the moment, been with a few guys but unfortunately not the way I want to.

1. I rarely feel any real connection in bed even when I'm incredibly into the guy. It's like I'm bored before I even start. It doesn't help that the other guy is so horny that I end up disappointing.

2. I've tried bottoming, don't like it, don't enjoy it, not for me.

3. I don't feel comfortable with guys touching or masturbating me as I have a tight foreskin and this makes it uncomfortable in any way if they try. So I have to stop the person from acting.

4. I don't like giving blowjobs. Again, tried it many times but I find the act quite disgusting. In addition, I don't like receiving blowjobs for reason (3) but also because I tend to produce a lot of precum and this is disgusting.

5. I don't get any sexual gratification from anything that involves the anus whether giving or taking any particular act.

As you can see, this is a particularly horrible set of sexual cards to be dealt as I wish I was like every other guy who doesn't even have half of these problems but there ya go. I'm of the impression that I should avoid sexual acts in the future as I'm both useless to myself and the other unfortunate guy who wants to be with me.

I thought I'd bring this up not just for comments based on my situation because maybe just maybe somebody else is conscious of other gay sexual things.

Anyway, highly embarrassing but that's my lot.

If you're concerned about a tight foreskin then speak to a GP because this is something that can be fixed. There are basic stretching techniques you can try yourself at home (you can Google this, though make sure it's from a safe website). A doctor may also be prescribe a steroid cream if you have phimosis; this coupled with the stretching techniques should* help your foreskin become looser and easier to roll back over time, which in turn should make receiving handjobs and blowjobs a bit more comfortable and enjoyable.

Don't worry too much about not enjoying anal sex - you're not the only guy who doesn't. I found it quite uncomfortable at first but eventually was able to relax a bit more and enjoy it. Still, there's no requirement for you to have to do anything you don't want.

*in exceptional cases, minor surgery or a full circumcision may be needed but don't worry about that until you've spoken to a doctor and tried other routes first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭georgesstreet

Going unreg for this one for obvious reasons. I'm 100% gay and there's no doubting that. I've no interest in girls and can rarely stop thinking about guys. However, when it comes to getting into bed then that's where things go drastically downhill. I'm 20 years old at the moment, been with a few guys but unfortunately not the way I want to.

1. I rarely feel any real connection in bed even when I'm incredibly into the guy. It's like I'm bored before I even start. It doesn't help that the other guy is so horny that I end up disappointing.

I’d remind you that sex is not supposed to be an anxious filled marathon. Its supposed to be fun, enjoyable and also something where we connect with our partner. Laughter is also good as sex can also be funny.

Maybe you could try not to go to bed for the purposes of having sex, and if you find someone you could try sex more spontaneously rather than going to bed for sex.

Of course its not if you are anxious and feel you are going to disappoint etc etc. The prostate is up your bum, and it’s a pleasurable area, but probably only with someone who is experienced at knowing how to pleasure you and open you gently and pleasurably.
    3. I don't feel comfortable with guys touching or masturbating me as I have a tight foreskin and this makes it uncomfortable in any way if they try. So I have to stop the person from acting.

Tight foreskin is a medical condition and should be discussed with your GP. Incidentally, in other countries boys are generally checked in their schools for tight foreskin, but in Ireland it seems that this does not happen, so the incidence of tight foreskin in Ireland is not uncommon. Chances are your GP can help you and you’ll no longer have to worry about having a tight foreskin. Incidentally, it’s going to be hard for any lover if your cock is out of bounds due to this J SO its in your interest to have is seen to.
    4. I don't like giving blowjobs. Again, tried it many times but I find the act quite disgusting. In addition, I don't like receiving blowjobs for reason (3) but also because I tend to produce a lot of precum and this is disgusting.

Then don’t give them.
    5. I don't get any sexual gratification from anything that involves the anus whether giving or taking any particular act.

As you can see, this is a particularly horrible set of sexual cards to be dealt as I wish I was like every other guy who doesn't even have half of these problems but there ya go. I'm of the impression that I should avoid sexual acts in the future as I'm both useless to myself and the other unfortunate guy who wants to be with me.

I thought I'd bring this up not just for comments based on my situation because maybe just maybe somebody else is conscious of other gay sexual things.

Firstly, why are you embarrassed? Sex is a primary instinct and nothing to be embarassed about.

I don’t think you have been “dealt” any cards that can’t be changed. For example, your tight foreskin can, and should, be easily resolved.

Remember it may well be that you don’t like any of the sexual acts you have described because you have been introduced to some or all of them by partners which were not suitable for you.

Perhaps you might consider focusing on the sort of person you are looking for, which might be someone who is able to relax you (and maybe start off by massaging you and no sex at all) and who understands that it takes time and trust to relax and enjoy. There are lots of people who understand.

There is a lovely book called Paradise News by David Lodge which (apart from being a lovely read) describes how a priest who is a virgin discovers sex, and who is very anxious and nervous, and has the good luck to meet someone who takes time and teaches him over a number of days – I’d almost suggest you read the book and see what I mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,620 ✭✭✭Rick_

Welcome aboard Cliff Richard
    Like that helps, you idiot. :rolleyes:
    I rarely feel any real connection in bed even when I'm incredibly into the guy. It's like I'm bored before I even start. It doesn't help that the other guy is so horny that I end up disappointing.
    Why not talk first about what each of you want before you do anything so what happens will be something that does interest or excite you?
    I've tried bottoming, don't like it, don't enjoy it, not for me.
    That's fine. A lot of gay men don't like it. This isn't some sort of weird thing or somehting that makes you an exception.
    I don't feel comfortable with guys touching or masturbating me as I have a tight foreskin and this makes it uncomfortable in any way if they try. So I have to stop the person from acting.
    I had a tight foreskin and at times masturbation was painful. I ended up getting a circumcision. So glad I did. It was daunting going to the doctors and letting someone else see/touch your willy for inspection purposes (even more so for me because it was a guy and he was rather attractive!) but it's 2 minutes and they've seen plenty of dicks before. If it really is an issue with you, perhaps a visit to the GP is in order?
    I don't like giving blowjobs. Again, tried it many times but I find the act quite disgusting. In addition, I don't like receiving blowjobs for reason (3) but also because I tend to produce a lot of precum and this is disgusting.
    Not a fan of giving oral myself. If you didn't have the tight foreskin you may enjoy receiving them. Although if you find the act of them in general "disgusting" perhaps you should explore why you feel this strongly about it.
    I don't get any sexual gratification from anything that involves the anus whether giving or taking any particular act.
    Again, a lot of gay men don't do anal and keep it to oral only. This isn't something that makes you a freak or an exception.
    Everyone is different. Like I said, perhaps you should try and figure out what does excite you and find a guy who is willing to share those interests so there is no pressure, nothing will happen that you don't want and you can relax and enjoy the experience instead of fretting over it. You don't need to put yourself down over it, sex and sexuality is broad spectrum and everyone has their own likes and tastes. At least you kindof know what yours are and can focus on finding someone who shares them to enhance your own sex life and make it more enjoyable for you. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Welcome aboard Cliff Richard

Please keep this thread to advice for the OP

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Dr. Shrike

Your overall experience of sex seems to be very negative. If you just had phimosis or didn't enjoy anal, that would reflect the regular experience of a lot of gay men. But with so many issues, maybe it would be worth talking to a professional.

If you emailed/rang the Gay Men's Health Service, or the Gay Switchboard, they might be able to give you suggestions of counsellors/therapists who deal with sexual issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭bikeman1

Hi OP,

Firstly fair play for speaking openly about your issues that you are having. I imagine its not easy.

Sex is great and I truly hope that you will be able to enjoy it soon one day.

For you to enjoy sex you need to be relaxed and ready to enjoy it. Don't worry the other guy is probably nervous as well.

As others have said, what you want to do and not do is up to yourself. I know a lot of lads don't like anal when they start out, but once you have someone you can trust to help you discover your body, you MAY get to like it. There are plenty of tips online how to make it more comfortable.

With your tight foreskin, there are streching techniques that you can do to loosen it up. Also check with your GP. Don't worry about pre-cum it happens.

Also with more experience you will get used to someone else get enjoyment out of your penis, and enjoy it yourself.

Remember everyone has a first time and being gay this can be well into your late 20s / 30s. Its not as if someone gives you a manual how to do it right and enjoy it!

OP

Perhaps you are asexual.

Heres a few links on what asexuality means - obviously wikipedia comes with an accuracy warning but it can be good as a source sometimes.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asexuality
    http://www.asexuality.org/home/

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

I could have wrote this thread myself op. I too have very tight foreskin and get no enjoyment out of sex. Last time I has sex with my girlfriend I was bored and just wanted to masturbate myself..

I do think about sex a lot but when it comes down to it I just find it boring. I think I may be asexual myself.

I just don't get any feeling from a blowjobs or sex. Maybe like me you prefer to masturbate?

carzony wrote: »
    I could have wrote this thread myself op. I too have very tight foreskin and get no enjoyment out of sex. Last time I has sex with my girlfriend I was bored and just wanted to masturbate myself..

I do think about sex a lot but when it comes down to it I just find it boring. I think I may be asexual myself.

I just don't get any feeling from a blowjobs or sex. Maybe like me you prefer to masturbate?

Can I ask why you have never had your tight foreskin examined and rectified? Do you think the fact your glans is covered with foreskin might be in any way connected to the fact that you don't (i) like oral sex being performed on you and (ii)you get "no enjoyment at all out of sex" ?

I assume you are aware the pleasure area of your penis is the glans, and if you cover the glans then the pleasure is greatly reduced?

Asexual is defined by the OED thus;
    adjective

1 without sexual feelings or associations:

http://www.oxforddictionaries.com/es/definicion/ingles/asexual

You, and the OP, both have sexual feelings, so you are not asexual.

Can I ask why you have never had your tight foreskin examined and rectified? Do you think the fact your glans is covered with foreskin might be in any way connected to the fact that you don't (i) like oral sex being performed on you and (ii)you get "no enjoyment at all out of sex" ?

I assume you are aware the pleasure area of your penis is the glans, and if you cover the glans then the pleasure is greatly reduced?

adjective

I'v had very tight foreskin since I was a child, I always remember struggling to clean that area. I even struggle to use condoms as the foreskin opens up and constricts so much that it actually hurts.

I don't have much sex :o so I just never got it seen to. I think I read somwhere that a huge % of men have tight foreskin..

I'v had very tight foreskin since I was a child, I always remember struggling to clean that area. I even struggle to use condoms as the foreskin opens up and constricts so much that it actually hurts.

I don't have much sex :o so I just never got it seen to. I think I read somwhere that a huge % of men have tight foreskin..

It would indeed be unlikely to develop a tight foreskin in later life.

It's really a matter for you if you get it seen to, and if you are content to continue to get little or no enjoyment out of sex, then thats for you to decide for yourself. "I don't have much sex" suggests you do have some sex, and its a shame you don't enjoy it.

It's a primary impulse, and fun, and your decision to not discuss a problem you have with your doctor, and find out the facts, seems bizarre.

It would indeed be unlikely to develop a tight foreskin in later life.

It's really a matter for you if you get it seen to, and if you are content to continue to get little or no enjoyment out of sex, then thats for you to decide for yourself. "I don't have much sex" suggests you do have some sex, and its a shame you don't enjoy it.

It's a primary impulse, and fun, and your decision to not discuss a problem you have with your doctor, and find out the facts, seems bizarre.

let me rephrase that then.. i don't have any sex :o which is why it doesnt bother me that much..

I would go the doctor but the thought of having to get a circumcision kills me..

It really isn't that bad, I had mine done at 27. I didn't feel any pain, did need to take any medication afterwards and was completely grand - apart from very mild discomfort for the first week or two (when you undoubtedly get aroused and then remember to stop and think of something incredibly unsexy!) It was fully healed after a few months, looks better (looks bigger too!) and the first time you try it out it's like discovering masturbation all over again. I haven't lost any feeling either like some people claim, it is as pleasurable, if not more so now, for me than it ever was before. One of the best things I've ever done and if the steroid cream and stretching isn't working for you (they don't even give it to those in their 20's as they said it's useless unless you're fairly young) then circumcision is the only option, unless you want to live with it. I'm so glad I got it done. :)

let me rephrase that then.. i don't have any sex [IMG]file:///C:\DOCUME~1\Jonathan\LOCALS~1\Temp\msohtml1\01\clip_image002.gif[/IMG]which is why it doesnt bother me that much..

I would go the doctor but the thought of having to get a circumcision kills me..

The title of this thread is " How to solve this sexual problem? ".

Really, its your decision. How do you know any doctor will only offer circumcision? And if that is all your doctor has to offer, you don't have to proceed.
    Last time I has sex with my girlfriend I was bored and just wanted to masturbate myself..

Bearing in mind you have a girlfriend, its doubly curious as the lack of sexual interest in her is likely to have consequences, and if you were able to enjoy a sexual relationship with her, that could only be beneficial to your relationship.

I simply don’t understand your complacency.

Paddy C wrote: »
    It really isn't that bad, I had mine done at 27. I didn't feel any pain, did need to take any medication afterwards and was completely grand - apart from very mild discomfort for the first week or two (when you undoubtedly get aroused and then remember to stop and think of something incredibly unsexy!) It was fully healed after a few months, looks better (looks bigger too!) and the first time you try it out it's like discovering masturbation all over again. I haven't lost any feeling either like some people claim, it is as pleasurable, if not more so now, for me than it ever was before. One of the best things I've ever done and if the steroid cream and stretching isn't working for you (they don't even give it to those in their 20's as they said it's useless unless you're fairly young) then circumcision is the only option, unless you want to live with it. I'm so glad I got it done. :)

The title of this thread is " How to solve this sexual problem? ".

Really, its your decision. How do you know any doctor will only offer circumcision? And if that is all your doctor has to offer, you don't have to proceed.

Bearing in mind you have a girlfriend, its doubly curious as the lack of sexual interest in her is likely to have consequences, and if you were able to enjoy a sexual relationship with her, that could only be beneficial to your relationship.

I simply don’t understand your complacency.

You know I might just go to the doctor during the week and see what he says to me. Not to get to graphic but when on an erection I can pull the skin back but it hurts like hell. I havnt much sexual experience so I'm not 100% sure how uncomfortable it'd be in different positions. I know for a fact putting on a condom is like torture.. :mad: so I defo have a problem with it anyway.

Your doctor has seen it all before, and I really do hope you discuss it and am certain you will be delighted to discuss what is a simple condition/ I also bet your girlfriend will also be thrilled! :cool:

The tragedy is that tight foreskin is virtually unknown outside ireland, where in most countries it is picked up in schools in the early teens. For some reason that doesn't happen in ireland where most of those with tight foreskins are just left to fend for themselves, and most parents are not aware of the issue to help their child resolve it early on.

Your doctor has seen it all before, and I really do hope you discuss it and am certain you will be delighted to discuss what is a simple condition/ I also bet your girlfriend will also be thrilled! :cool:

The tragedy is that tight foreskin is virtually unknown outside ireland, where in most countries it is picked up in schools in the early teens. For some reason that doesn't happen in ireland where most of those with tight foreskins are just left to fend for themselves, and most parents are not aware of the issue to help their child resolve it early on.

Well as I said, I'm sure I was brought to the doctor as a child about it. I could be wrong though. I'm sure the doctor will examine it and give his opinion? It can't be normal though and if it is I don't know how any man could enjoy sex with it being to constricting.

It hard to deal with considering it's such a sensitive part of the body lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭floggg

Well as I said, I'm sure I was brought to the doctor as a child about it. I could be wrong though. I'm sure the doctor will examine it and give his opinion? It can't be normal though and if it is I don't know how any man could enjoy sex with it being to constricting.

There's definitely something not right. Putting on a condom doesn't cause most men any pain in the slightest.

Go see a doctor.

I was brought to the doctor about it when I was young, I believe they put it down to me just getting erections and starting puberty and "I just wasn't used to it" and it would relax itself over time. It didn't.

At least you could have pulled your foreskin over your head, albeit painfully. Mine barely moved. At the doctors, I was lying down on the table, the doctor looked at it, tried to pull the foreskin back and then that was it. Knickers back up! It was over in less than 15 seconds. Doctors have seen loads of willies and all he/she will do is send you on for a meeting with a urologist who will quickly examine you again and discuss the options with you. There are even two types of circumcision they can do, one removing the foreskin and another that leaves some of it on. I went for the full one.

If you want to know anything and don't want to talk about it in the thread, feel free to PM me. I'd gladly help anyone who wants some info.

I was brought to the doctor about it when I was young, I believe they put it down to me just getting erections and starting puberty and "I just wasn't used to it" and it would relax itself over time. It didn't.

At least you could have pulled your foreskin over your head, albeit painfully. Mine barely moved. At the doctors, I was lying down on the table, the doctor looked at it, tried to pull the foreskin back and then that was it. Knickers back up! It was over in less than 15 seconds. Doctors have seen loads of willies and all he/she will do is send you on for a meeting with a urologist who will quickly examine you again and discuss the options with you. There are even two types of circumcision they can do, one removing the foreskin and another that leaves some of it on. I went for the full one.

If you want to know anything and don't want to talk about it in the thread, feel free to PM me. I'd gladly help anyone who wants some info.

You were obviously one of the lucky ones, as most irish boys seem to be left to suffer in silence, and complications of tight foreskin can be really awful. I have never fully understood why other countries manage to resolve it in most cases in the early teens, but in ireland it seems to be just ignored.

adjective

You cannot know this for certain. It is really irresponsible when a person is looking for advice to say to them that you are certain what their identity is. Do not do this again.

Terry Pratchet

Sorry to have hijacked this thread but just want to thank the posters for their advice and tell them i'v an appointment with the doctor at half 4.. Kinda dreading it :o:o

Don't dread it and tell your doctor you are nervous when you arrive. He'll understand.

Remember, a doctor can only advise and you don't have to follow up on his advice if you dont want to.

I have a suspicion that you will be delighted to have this rectified, and your sex life will probably be much improved.

Good for you, let us know how you get on :)

Had to cancel my doctor was out and they only had a women doctor available. I'm back to my own doctor on Tuesday..

Hope your appointment goes well for you today. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 323 ✭✭emigrate2012

Get it sorted man, whatever doctor see's it, a life without sex is a life less lived, worried bout me balls at one stage me doc fondled them and they were grand. Etc, sorted sexy time ahh..... **** happens have fun......

Well he said I have 2 problems. 1 is a tight foreskin and also the 'string' that you have as a child usually breaks but mine hasn't. Over all a very uncomfortable problem for me.

He reckons the foreskin might not be to bad if the string is cut or breaks naturally which is slim at this stage.

Well he said I have 2 problems. 1 is a tight foreskin and also the 'string' that you have as a child usually breaks but mine hasn't. Over all a very uncomfortable problem for me.

He reckons the foreskin might not be to bad if the string is cut or breaks naturally which is slim at this stage.

Have you been referred to a urologist or what is the course of action proposed?

Got referred, sent a letter out but he thinks I might be waiting a long time for even an appointment. He just gave me some cream to ease the pain for now anyway.

Yes, the health system seems to be a shambles. Its great you are on the road to fix it, so well done.

I had to wait ages for an appointment with the urologist, then a few months after that appointment before I got an operation date.

The cream may ease the pain (I dunno, I was never given it as I was told it was useless unless you were still a teenager or younger) but you'll probably still be referred for a circumcision after you see the urologist. They will probably offer you the two different types as well, one leaves you with a bit of foreskin, the other is totally cut (the option I went for). There are websites where people have detailed with pictures the post-op look and care so they may be worth checking out if you do get the go ahead with a circumcision. Believe me, the pictures look a lot worse than it actually is. Mine was done at 11am, I was home at 4pm and didn't feel any real pain and was only very mildly discomforted for a few days and that was only because I forgot myself and moved too quickly etc.

I had to wait ages for an appointment with the urologist, then a few months after that appointment before I got an operation date.

The cream may ease the pain (I dunno, I was never given it as I was told it was useless unless you were still a teenager or younger) but you'll probably still be referred for a circumcision after you see the urologist. They will probably offer you the two different types as well, one leaves you with a bit of foreskin, the other is totally cut (the option I went for). There are websites where people have detailed with pictures the post-op look and care so they may be worth checking out if you do get the go ahead with a circumcision. Believe me, the pictures look a lot worse than it actually is. Mine was done at 11am, I was home at 4pm and didn't feel any real pain and was only very mildly discomforted for a few days and that was only because I forgot myself and moved too quickly etc.

I kinda got a sense that the doctor didnt even wanna refer me because of the time it would take to get an appointment. He even said ''if it affects you day to day I can speed the process up''. He told me it's more than likely they'll just cut the string and see how things go from there.

Funny enough the minute he diagnosed the problem my fear of getting it done completely disappeared and all I want now is to get it sorted. I'd book it for tomorrow if I could:mad:.

The first version where they leave foreskin is basically the "cutting of the string" and a removal of some of the foreskin so it can move over the head and back off the head completely whilst remaining comfortable for you. I was told it had a lower success rate and was more prone to infection etc. and it was better to have it all off. I also wanted it all off anyway so said right from the start that I wanted the full procedure, no half measures.

It was the best decision I ever made. I can tell you now that once yours has been done and after it has all healed up and you're regularly enjoying great sex, it'll be the best decision you ever made too.

The first version where they leave foreskin is basically the "cutting of the string" and a removal of some of the foreskin so it can move over the head and back off the head completely whilst remaining comfortable for you. I was told it had a lower success rate and was more prone to infection etc. and it was better to have it all off. I also wanted it all off anyway so said right from the start that I wanted the full procedure, no half measures.

It was the best decision I ever made. I can tell you now that once yours has been done and after it has all healed up and you're regularly enjoying great sex, it'll be the best decision you ever made too.

I find it amazing that so many men have problems with it. very irritating really. For once i'm actually glad my sex life is non exisitant :o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Dr. Shrike

Phimosis is a huge problem in Ireland. Except of course the actual problem is that people aren't willing to talk about their bits. Is it even straightforward for teenage boys to obtain that steroid cream without having to discuss it with their parents?