Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did you receive sex ed in school?

• 18-11-2013 12:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭

After going through the 14 years in Irish schools, I never received a bit of it. How about yourselves? And if so, what was it?

I finished 6th year in 2003 btw, so I should have had some, but the school never bothered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

No I received it in my mates house with his sisters friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,955 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

i finished in 2001 and i got it in 5th class.

I barely paid attention though, as most of the class found it hilarious..... ah immaturity!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,955 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Grandeeod wrote: »
    No I received it in my mates house with his sisters friend.

YEEEEEEEOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWWW!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Not in school as such.
    Got a good bit of sex education in the school bicycle shed though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

1959, an older boy showed me his stiffy, we saw another fellas sister having a piss, that was it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Done a good bit of theory, far too little practical:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭Mr Bloat

I got sex ed in school, it was done as part of religion class. I did the Leaving in 89, so I guess it must have been 87/88 when we had the class. It was done by a holier than thou Religion teacher but to be fair to her, she did a good job and explained things well. Myself and a few mates thought we would spend the time sniggering merrily down the back of the class but it was done so well that everyone took it seriously. To be fair, now that I think back on it, I'd have to say well done to the teacher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Finished school in 2006, never got sex education. They taught us about what a period was when I was fifteen. Bit fcuking late!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Received it in primary school, in 5th or 6th class I think. Meant nothing to me as a 11/12 year old though. This would have been ~2001.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Honest to god we were taught how to baptise a baby with two heads.

In case we ever came across a car accident and had to baptise a baby before it died.

We were also taught to baptise a baby with no head.

Absolutely mental stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,670 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Our science teacher skipped over those chapters for the inter cert.

We had a priest try explaining it to us once. And we had a very religious couple try explain to us that God was the most important person in the relationship.

Edit: Just to add the priest (He was always called Sexy Sam because he always took the lectures on sex that we had in retreats. Yes, we had bi-annual retreats) started by telling us we were very mature and shouldn't laugh. He then followed it by saying that if we ever had difficulties with people of the opposite sex, people of our own sex or with animals, we could tell them in confession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭.Henry Sellers.

Had it in fourth year around 2004, it was boring. There should of been a live demonstration. Our religion teacher did put on a video of a woman giving birth once,everything was seen. The poor babby looked like an alien being squeezed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

We had a priest who got all the lads to talk about their experience's so far at 15 while recording it all on a Dictaphone,

The right to remain silent came in handy that day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Yup.

Back in the 80s no less. Looking back, it must have been a desperate measure to combat teenage pregnancy as it was rife in our area.

We just spent the whole class asking faux-iinnocent questions like Can you really stick a penis in a person's arse?

I distinctly remember a female teacher telling us oral sex was 'gross' and that she didn't 'how people could do it'.

I was very lucky. At the age of 10 I got a book from my parents called where do I come from. That was my theory. And as I said above the practical bit came in my mates house. Who needs sex ed in schools.:D

anncoates wrote: »
    Yup. Back in the 80s no less.

I distinctly remember a female teacher telling us oral sex was 'gross' and that she didn't 'how people could do it'.

Jaysus, that would be the 80s for ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Hilariously, our first year sex ed involved somebody looking the word up in the dictionary and the teacher making him read it out.

That was that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

Yeah from a Nun, it was very ironic.

Jaysus, that would be the 80s for ya!

To be fair, looking at her would also make you incredulous about how people could do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,670 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I was very lucky. At the age of 10 I got a book from my parents called where do I come from. That was my theory. And as I said above the practical bit came in my mates house. Who needs sex ed in schools.:D

Actually, my mum was a nurse. And before I was old enough to get embarassed by anything she'd gone through books and stuff and explained the basics.

The rest I learned from late night Channel 4. Thank god for foreign films.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Corvo

If you count feeling a booby through a very thick jumper of the local presentation, then yes.

To be fair, looking at her would also make you incredulous about how people could do it.

Unfortunately I did go through a spell many years ago where the philosophy of "any port in a storm" was followed to a T.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

A telly was wheeled in, and a video was put on.
    That was it.

From watching cows at it I had an inkling of what was involved already. And looking at pics of marys in the encyclopedias we had.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 503 ✭✭✭dublinbhoy88

A nun came into our secondary school and taught us what we already knew, I wanted ask her if she was talking from experience but managed to restrain myself

Grayson wrote: »

For people brought up in the 80s. no amount of internet porn on tap can ever be a thrilling as copping a pair of French or German tits on Channel 4 when the old pair had gone to bed.

A telly was wheeled in, and a video was put on.
    That was it.

From watching cows at it I had an inkling of what was involved already.

So a telly was wheeled in and a video of cows shagging was put on.

Can I have the name of the school please. That particular video was banned in Ireland many years ago.

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭The Dom

Yes, but how did you know my name was Ed?

For people brought up in the 80s. no amount of internet porn on tap can ever be a thrilling as copping a pair of French or German tits on Channel 4 when the old pair had gone to bed.

Absolutely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,625 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Got sex ed in primary and secondary, guess when I was in fifth or sixth class they started with the hair in funny places ****, but moved on to telling us about being turned on in what was one of the funniest videos I've ever seen. It had an animation of a penis getting erect and a vagina getting "wet" and then an older gentlemen used the old index finger on hand through the loop in the other hand to demonstrate how this helps the penis "slip in, slip out, slip in, slip out"

In secondary school we got the aids lessons. Jesus there is no better way to scare kids away from having sex. That video started with a young male presented saying "were gonna meet 4 Sexual active people in this video, one of the people in the video will have aids" at which point one ofthe lads yyelled "it's you". Ultimately it was. But I remember one of the slightly less cool girls in the class asking the teacher if using multiple condoms "maybe two of three" lowered the chances of aids again.

Oh yeah, I forgot to mention, co-ed sex ed... Hilarious

Grayson wrote: »
    Actually, my mum was a nurse. And before I was old enough to get embarassed by anything she'd gone through books and stuff and explained the basics.

No foreign telly, but RTE used show something called Cineclub which was quite racy....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭The Dom

This could mean one of two things.

Either you were a teenager in the 80s and by "old pair" you mean your parents, or that in the 80s you were actually going out with an old woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Esoteric_ wrote: »
    Finished school in 2006, never got sex education. They taught us about what a period was when I was fifteen. Bit fcuking late!

Just because period and colon were mentioned doesn't make it Sex-Ed, that was English class you spanner! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

We had some kind of weird class in Transition Year on marriage guidance / relationships !

It was absolutely bizarre and had more relevance to a 50-something year old couple who enjoyed baking, gardening and collecting stamps than a bunch of 16 year old guys.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

No Irish person said "gross" in the 80s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

In 1994, in first year, we were read select passages from Girl Talk and told to be sure to wash our back bottoms and our front bottoms.

BraziliaNZ wrote: »

She honestly did. Maybe that's why it stuck in my mind.

Not that I need your validation, of course.

It depended on whether you'd cable television or just Bog 1 and Bog 2 in which case you probably said some weird RTE expression that was popular at the time like "Stop the lights!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

Got the talk in 6th class in an all-girls school, and again in first year in a mixed secondary school. Neither talk was even close to as informative as what my parents explained to me.

They made a go of it again in Transition Year (2004) but the teacher told whopper lies that I confronted him on. He said that contraception was illegal, sperm lived for 30 days in the womb and could catch an egg at any time, and that breastfeeding was a form of reliable contraception, as well as pulling out and douching.
    I got detention, and he got a very pleasant visit from my mother the following morning. Needless to say the class was cancelled.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,207 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Who's Sex Ed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

Our sexual education was conducted by our religion teacher, a nun ironically enough, in Year 11. So we would have been about 14. I asked whether or not anal sex before marriage would be wrong in God's eyes and got that little remark placed on my permanent record... which so far has had no consequences whatsoever. In my mind all I was doing was shining a light on the absurdity of the situation.

But to be fair it was a disgrace, no theory of how things were supposed to work or how to protect oneself was doled out; it was education in the sense that it was bold and we shouldn't do it.

In science we got the nuts and bolts approach when we were about 12 i.e. sperm goes into the vagina and fertilises egg etc. One of the girls in our class was with a lad when she reached about 16 and told him how she was scared of a guy's ejaculate... she actually thought that it would be just one massive sperm like in the biology textbooks, clearly did not read the "not drawn to scale" label! :pac:

I just watched Channel 4 late at night and it explained most things! (Again, cable was the internet of those days..)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

In first year we had a sex ed day right before the summer holidays. It consisted of sr Columbus asking if any of us had a boyfriend and then proceeded to tell us we were too young. Think they talked about pregnancy there too but they talked more about drugs.

Then in 3rd year we had period talks and the lady from tampax gave everyone a free sample thing.

In 6th year religion class our nice teacher dedicated 2 classes to speak about contraception and options if you faced an unplanned pregnancy.

The nuns taught me to never sit on a mans lap without a phonebook between us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,084 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

No, then again it was a nun that was the Principal so doubt she would have been too knowledgeable on the subject herself.

Who's Sex Ed?

That older boy who stayed back a few years and lurked around the bike sheds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,446 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I grew up in the UK, by 16 (in 1963) in my school we had had sex education as part of biology classes, also as a 'social education' class, and a talk by a doctor. Also in the (church)youth club I belonged to we had occasional talks on different aspects of sex and development. It was nobody's fault if we didn't know the theory anyway!

looksee wrote: »
    I grew up in the UK, by 16 (in 1963) in my school we had had sex education as part of biology classes, also as a 'social education' class, and a talk by a doctor. Also in the (church)youth club I belonged to we had occasional talks on different aspects of sex and development. It was nobody's fault if we didn't know the theory anyway!

I think in the UK it very much depends on the school and the individual teachers though. If anything things have regressed since the liberal days of the 1960s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

They kicked all the boys out of the class for an hour in 5th or 6th class in primary school so they could teach us about periods and stuff. The class mostly giggled through the whole thing.

In 1st or 2nd year we did reproduction in science class. That teacher was amazing, she didn't have to teach anything more than the core biology stuff but she did a really in depth question and answer session that the class surprisingly took seriously. Most people knew the basics of sex at that point anyway but loads of people had strange questions usually revolving around how to avoid pregnancy. Stuff like can you get pregnant from oral sex etc. It was really nice of the teacher to do that because that was in the very early 00's when the internet wasn't really a thing many people had access to so people usually only had the word of other teenagers in the know to go on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Except for that one fcuker who went to America for two weeks during the Summer holidays and came back speaking the lingo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Nope. A biology lesson in first or second year; that was it. Really, it should be mandatory for 9 or ten years olds. We were already talking about it at that age amongst ourselves but that was all wild speculation!