Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Land Cruiser and small diesel van.

• 15-11-2013 6:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭

Ok any other towns in the country going out of their minds buying small diesel vans because they cant afford to put diesel into their jeeps so they think. I questioned one guys opinion on this and he said he uses his jeep for pulling cow box for the mart, trailer work again getting ration from the co-op and going to mass and the pub, he said it was killing him on diesel so he said it was cheaper to spend 1500 Euro on a van, DOE it and tax it and insure it and maintain it and also DOE and tax and insure and maintain his jeep, but now his jeep only does trailer work and uses van for other driving.
    I questioned his mentality and said well sell the jeep, hire the mart to collect your stock for your mart selling and get a local small truck driver to get your supplies and all other heavy work, i said well you dont have the BE licence so your insurance is not void if you were involved in a collision, you spent nearly 2,500 euro getting your van on the road and be spending another 1000 euro per year maintaining it, that would buy a hell a lot of diesel, conversation ended there but think i got my point across, maybe my thinking of this is all wrong since this craze is spreading like mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭wildefalcon

The one I love is buying a newer car to get the cheaper road tax.

Spend €10,000 to save €300 a year? Sure you'll get your money back in less than 50 years! Bargain!

Buy a calculator first! Or just 'fess up that you wanted a new yoke anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I'd like a jeep but can't afford to run one. The handiness is doing what you need to do when you need to do it rather than waiting on someone else and inevitably being let down.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

It's not just jeeps that lads are selling to spare diesel, Al hayes in Portumna has some amount of VW transporter vans for sale.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,126 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

No respectable farmer or traaaveler could be seen in a berlingo :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Cycling Dumbasses

Spend €10,000 to save €300 a year? Sure you'll get your money back in less than 50 years! Bargain!

Buy a calculator first! Or just 'fess up that you wanted a new yoke anyway.
    I guess spending money would not be the worst its the depreciation that would kill me, have a neighbour who owns a 2 year old skoda and met her on my narrow road last week and she refused to pull into a muddy lay by, i went and asked her why she would not pull into the spot to which she replied (my new car do you realise it cost me nearly 30 grand to buy) to which i said well its over 2 years old now and can you divide 30 by 2 because that is all its worth now and pull into that spot, she went in a bull of a mood.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

I had a berlingo with sliding door on the side!! loved it and sold it so easily E600 for over 2 years driving!! had to buy jeep as it was useless towing and it'd get stuck on the slightest bit of muck in a yard... jeep is the job but it is expected to be paying more for the luxury of 4wd and pulling capability

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

I have one an ex PO one it s dinger best of the small van by far. The 1.55 diesel is a great engine. You can chip them and they go from 75 to 94HP have not done it but it is an option.
    Bodacious wrote: »
    I had a berlingo with sliding door on the side!! loved it and sold it so easily E600 for over 2 years driving!! had to buy jeep as it was useless towing and it'd get stuck on the slightest bit of muck in a yard... jeep is the job but it is expected to be paying more for the luxury of 4wd and pulling capability

Any non 4WD will get stuck in mud in a when towing. However I think the Berlingo is a dinger to tow. Biggest worry I would have is being over weight.

This is the big issue now. I think that for this reason unless you are hauling an awful lot I would pay a someone to bring cattle home from the mart. I buy straight from farmers now and again. I love seeing these 4WD in yard and the big 12' or 14' trailer because it is cheap haulage for me.

All I can say lads is keep buying them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

If you buy an old car you get really cheap road tax :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

Have a land cruiser and the max i can get out of it is just under 25mpgs and thats on long journeys your down into the teens with a load behind ya but dont do big mileage so its not as bad, but will you be able to pull a tandem or tri axel trailer without one with some new laws coming inn??

Small vans in my opinion are great for farmers or anyone for that matter, excellent mpg, lower maintenance versus a jeep, great yoke for hacking around, i think pride is getting in the way with the farmers in my area that are keeping the jeep and buying the berlingo, caddy, inca van etc. If one cannot afford to run a jeep one should not have a jeep.

loveta wrote: »
    but will you be able to pull a tandem or tri axel trailer without one with some new laws coming inn??

No would be my opinion on the tri axle.

And loaded tri axles will be above the pulling weight of any jeep I would think. I see on DD there are a lot of them for sale.

Some farmers say one will need an Arctic license to pull tri axle trailers anymore, I don't know, but there is five axles to contend with.

Was at a Mayo IFA meeting where the RSA and Traffic Corps did a talk. There's a weight, I forget the exact name, stamped on your veeee hickle. It basically is comprised of the weight of your veeee hickle, the weight of your trailer, and the weight of the load in/on your trailer. If you go above the weight which is stamped on your veeee hickle then the boys in blue shall do you.

Also, the max speed for pulling a trailer is 80kmph. Traffic corps told the story of a Berlingo they pulled. He had a trailer on which was above the weight stamped on his veeee hickle, but that's not why they pulled him. He was doing 100kmph, and it was only after they pulled him they went looking into the weight issue.

Have a land cruiser and the max i can get out of it is just under 25mpgs and thats on long journeys your down into the teens with a load behind ya but dont do big mileage so its not as bad, but will you be able to pull a tandem or tri axel trailer without one with some new laws coming inn??

This is the issue a 14X6 trailer will carry over 4Ton of cattle a 12X6 will carry over 3,5Ton adding weight of trailer means that you are over weight even for a land cruiser. You also have to remember that jeeps are load rated empty a 100kg farmer behind the wheel and another one in the passenger side as well as a few backs of ration in the back and a box of tools will mean a nice hefty fine.

A 2 ton rated jeep can just about pull a 8X5 box legally, a 2.5-3T rated can haul a 10X5 box. I find it easier to pay someone to do most of the hauling. A VW caddy is rated to pull 1.5tons, some of the pre 07 were rated at 1.8 tons I think. These would just about legally carry 3-4 weanlings in an 8X5 box after than pay someone

No would be my opinion on the tri axle.

And loaded tri axles will be above the pulling weight of any jeep I would think. I see on DD there are a lot of them for sale.

Some farmers say one will need an Arctic license to pull tri axle trailers anymore, I don't know, but there is five axles to contend with.

Was at a Mayo IFA meeting where the RSA and Traffic Corps did a talk. There's a weight, I forget the exact name, stamped on your veeee hickle. It basically is comprised of the weight of your veeee hickle, the weight of your trailer, and the weight of the load in/on your trailer. If you go above the weight which is stamped on your veeee hickle then the boys in blue shall do you.

Also, the max speed for pulling a trailer is 80kmph. Traffic corps told the story of a Berlingo they pulled. He had a trailer on which was above the weight stamped on his veeee hickle, but that's not why they pulled him. He was doing 100kmph, and it was only after they pulled him they went looking into the weight issue.

I told you those Berlingo's were a dinger to tow. Now stopping is a totally different issue:eek::eek::eek:

Gross combined weight I think. (sometimes they call it the maximum authorised mass)

I told you those Berlingo's were a dinger to tow. Now stopping is a totally different issue:eek::eek::eek:

He had a trailer on to transport a vintage tractor, I believe they said he was over loaded even before he had the tractor on board. If he had been going a bit slower they likely wouldn't have bothered him at all.

I got a brand new second hand car last year and didn't put a tow bar on it intentionally, makes resisting the temptation to hook up a lot easier.

This is the issue a 14X6 trailer will carry over 4Ton of cattle a 12X6 will carry over 3,5Ton adding weight of trailer means that you are over weight even for a land cruiser. You also have to remember that jeeps are load rated empty a 100kg farmer behind the wheel and another one in the passenger side as well as a few backs of ration in the back and a box of tools will mean a nice hefty fine.

A 2 ton rated jeep can just about pull a 8X5 box legally, a 2.5-3T rated can haul a 10X5 box. I find it easier to pay someone to do most of the hauling. A VW caddy is rated to pull 1.5tons, some of the pre 07 were rated at 1.8 tons I think. These would just about legally carry 3-4 weanlings in an 8X5 box after than pay someone

Was chatting a rep a couple last year who was working at a show in the UK had a large van at the show and trailer loaded all the stuff up and hit for home stopped by the cops en route and they done them for being over weight, farm is very split up so would be moving stock every week but often wondered if i would be better of with a 22ft tractor drawn trailer.

wexie wrote: »
    Gross combined weight I think. (sometimes they call it the maximum authorised mass)

All commercial vans/jeeps have a towing capacity however this is added to the van/jeep weight to give the gross combined. The trouble is that the van/jeep weight is empty even of fuel I think. So a commercial vehicule with 50 litres of diesel and what I put in a previous post will mean 3-400kgs gone in towing capacity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

It's VW transporters that are getting popular around here. what are they rated to tow does anyone know?

Muckit wrote: »
    It's VW transporters that are getting popular around here. what are they rated to tow does anyone know?

They've been popular for ages over ye're way....................... :D

All commercial vans/jeeps have a towing capacity however this is added to the van/jeep weight to give the gross combined. The trouble is that the van/jeep weight is empty even of fuel I think. So a commercial vehicule with 50 litres of diesel and what I put in a previous post will mean 3-400kgs gone in towing capacity.

Yeah it's a bit silly and confusing when you start talking curb weight, gross weight etc. etc.

I think in some countries they use a gross trailer weight rating which makes a lot more sense and is easier to understand. It's really just they weight of everything you're towing

Was chatting a rep a couple last year who was working at a show in the UK had a large van at the show and trailer loaded all the stuff up and hit for home stopped by the cops en route and they done them for being over weight, farm is very split up so would be moving stock every week but often wondered if i would be better of with a 22ft tractor drawn trailer.

This would be an option a trailer for behind the tractor however again do not goo too big. a 22X8 trailer could carry 9 ton of livestock as well as the weight of the trailer. A 16' might be all you can legally tow. Towing and weight restriction are coming down the road fast.

There will be a lot more tractors with trailers on the roads because of it.

Wouldn't be the most practical for hauling long distances but certainly get the job done.

The 4 motion one is rated to pull about 2.5 tons but would have to check out

sorry sorry Puds I meant to say the Caddy!

The new type body are nice with the smooth quarter panels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Rho b

Anyone hear any more updates about non HGV trailer testing that is supposed to be introduced next year?

Rho b wrote: »
    Anyone hear any more updates about non HGV trailer testing that is supposed to be introduced next year?
    It is not coming in now at all.

Wouldn't be the most practical for hauling long distances but certainly get the job done.

I am not sure if he still does it or not, but there was a man who was drawing sheep & lambs by tractor all the from Achill in Mayo to the mart at Maam Cross in Galway. Now that's a good spin even in a car.

sorry sorry Puds I meant to say the Caddy!

The new type body are nice with the smooth quarter panels.

Present caddy's are rated to pull 1.5 tons however some of the older ones were rated at 1.8 tons I think. These would be a great option to pull 8x5 cattle boxes.

This would be an option a trailer for behind the tractor however again do not goo too big. a 22X8 trailer could carry 9 ton of livestock as well as the weight of the trailer. A 16' might be all you can legally tow. Towing and weight restriction are coming down the road fast.

:eek::eek::eek::eek: Could that be possible sure would it not be more to do with the brakes than any thing else say for example how would a guy move a medium size digger with a tractor if it all boiled down to weights

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Rho b

It is not coming in now at all.
    Got the jeep tested in May and the fella doing the test said that the rsa were going to test twin and tri axle cattle trailers/horseboxes etc and tractors with the 40 kph gearboxes

:eek::eek::eek::eek: Could that be possible sure would it not be more to do with the brakes than any thing else say for example how would a guy move a medium size digger with a tractor if it all boiled down to weights

That will be interesting. I see some lads here moving very large loads of big rocks. I also see lads transporting fair sized machines on home made loaders.

Yes it's all coming. Will be a big shake up. Probably no harm once everyone gets proper info so they can put the correct measures in place.

I see lads driving landcruisers towing 14 footers like they are boy racers. Has to stop

Lads hauling for marts, and lads hauling to factories will want to be keeping up on events.

...home made loaders.

We're nearly the only country in the EU where this is still allowed to happen. All new trailers (car or tractor) should be plated by manufacturer.

Lads hauling for marts, and lads hauling to factories will want to be keeping up on events.

A few big fines will sort things out lively.

We're nearly the only country in the EU where this is still allowed to happen. All new trailers (car or tractor) should be plated by manufacturer.

There's only one thing more dangerous than an idea. A lad with a shed, welder and an idea :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Yes it's all coming. Will be a big shake up. Probably no harm once everyone gets proper info so they can put the correct measures in place.

I see lads driving landcruisers towing 14 footers like they are boy racers. Has to stop

Go from athlone to Galway on a Saturday morning on the m6 and jeeps with loaded trailers will pass you hitting close to 120kmph on the way to ballinasloe mart. Regular accidents with trailers on it too - all from speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Masseymad

I am not sure if he still does it or not, but there was a man who was drawing sheep & lambs by tractor all the from Achill in Mayo to the mart at Maam Cross in Galway. Now that's a good spin even in a car.

i know him well...he now has a berlingo believe it or not :D banks took the landini :(

Masseymad wrote: »
    i know him well...he now has a berlingo believe it or not :D banks took the landini :(

Am I right in thinking the same man had a bit of a serious health scare too?

reilig wrote: »
    Go from athlone to Galway on a Saturday morning on the m6 and jeeps with loaded trailers will pass you hitting close to 120kmph on the way to ballinasloe mart. Regular accidents with trailers on it too - all from speed.

Ya it's scary. I don't think lads realise.
    A slight breeze, a twitch of the steering wheel and it's game over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Masseymad

thats whats going around but hes on the go everyday and dusnt seem to have a bother on him :) not in maam cross much now tho

There's only one thing more dangerous than an idea. A lad with a shed, welder and an idea :D

Even the wife is laughing her socks of at that one :D

The gross train weight is the maximum combined weight of the vehicle and trailer, when the laws tighten up they will check, individual axle weight including trailer axels , gross vehicle weight, towing capacity and gross train weight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

Even the wife is laughing her socks of at that one :D

Tell her x factor or Alan Carr is on and Keep her away from a farming forum :-). A man needs privacy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

I think ThAts me your in about. Im sound now my health has improved. Utd are back to winning ways B-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Tell her x factor or Alan Carr is on and Keep her away from a farming forum :-). A man needs privacy
    a place to escape

Most crew cab jeeps have a tow rating of 2.25-2.5 tonnes ,most jeeps around 3 tonnes with all defenders at 3.5 tonnes. Transit vans vary from 900 kgs to 3.5 tonnes depending on engine, FWD or Rwd, diff etc, there's not as big a variation within other van models but its something you need to check before you buy anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

i drive a kubistar and the heaviest load is about 600kg of ration on a double axle trailer. well able to tow but the stopping it is the problem. Ya have to be switched on while towing

has the trailer got brakes