Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

crazy

• 15-11-2013 2:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭

Yesterday there was this car driving out of a carpark and it noticed that a small van was backing into it to do a turn. the car coming out waved the guy on to let him do his turn and next thing happens is that the car who let this guy turn, drives straight into the back of the van.

They refused to get out of the car as they said they where all hurt even thou there was just a smashed head light. The guards came, asked the 4 guys and a women to get out of the car and they all refused saying they couldnt move.

This went on for an hour and a half and were asking to be cut out of the car even thou all the doors could open. The fire brigades refused to cut the roof on them. Eventually they all got carried out of the car and had to get 4 ambulances, 1 fire brigade and 2 guard cars.

The guy who owned the fan was there scratching his head saying WTF are these people at. Anyone who was there was saying the same.

Anyone know what the outcome of this will be. Surely these fcuking scum arent all going to claim of this guys insurance. Can the insurance company not be able to tell that these people are having a laugh and are trying it on just for some compo. I really hope they dont get away with this because it will destroy this fellas insurance when he goes to renew.

Anyone who seen it will be afraid to gave a statement about what really happened because of the community these people come from because they are know to be scum the length and breadth of the country

Fcuking shocking what goes on in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

If they keep the act up of being injured then they'll win the case. Hopefully the insurance company hires PI's to weed the scamming bāstards out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Well known scam ain't it. Think there's a name for it,forget what it is now though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭numorouno

I hope you gave your name to the guards to say what you saw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

witnessed this before myself,car went into the back of another no visible damage to either car and the people in the front car had to be cut out:rolleyes:

the nice thing was a crowd had formed near the accident who then proceeded to roar abuse at the scammers in the front car:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭newbie2013

numorouno wrote: »

We dont live in a world where the guards can protect you from people like this. Do you think i want to wake up to my car burning in my drive or my windows broken on a daily basis.

think there was one or two who gave their names and statements so no need for anyone else IMO

witnessed this before myself,car went into the back of another no visible damage to either car and the people in the front car had to be cut out:rolleyes:

the nice thing was a crowd had formed near the accident who then proceeded to roar abuse at the scammers in the front car:D

They can roar abuse all they want. These scum will still get their money in court

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Insurance companies aren't as dumb as you think. They'll get fcuk all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

kneemos wrote: »
    Well known scam ain't it. Think there's a name for it,forget what it is now though.

Bash Cash.

I'd have given them my details, it's these people which are causing our premiums to go up.
    They won't come and burn your stuff down now will they :rolleyes: how would they find out your details?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I don't drive so don't know much about the insurance side of it, but isn't it usually the car who crashes into the back of another the one that is liable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭nitros7

Edit: Apologies i'm just repeating others sentiments now. Its a hot topic shoulda pressed F5 before posting :)

Why not take action yourself and contact the local Garda Station to report what you saw?
    Im no legal expert but I think I heard somewhere that if you wave someone on and they have an accident you can be liable for causing the accident!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

No way will the insurance pay out on that. Full cars with all occupants trying to claim for injury sets of immediate alarm bells coupled with the eingineers report of damage means they will get fook all.
    Pain in the ass for the innocent party cos his policy and no claims get affected while the claim is ongoing subject to investigation.
    Crash for cash, scumbags. Adding to everyones policies. Always offer witness statement in these instances!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

If they take a civil action the judge's hands are tied if they have medical reports saying they are suffering whiplash or sore backs,both of which are easily faked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

newbie2013 wrote: »
    Anyone know what the outcome of this will be. Surely these fcuking scum arent all going to claim of this guys insurance. Can the insurance company not be able to tell that these people are having a laugh and are trying it on just for some compo. I really hope they dont get away with this because it will destroy this fellas insurance when he goes to renew.
    Ding ding ding ding ding ding ding!!

Depending on what kind of bonus protection your man in the van had, he shouldn't feel too much of an impact moving forward. If he had none, he will be paying thousands. If he had 'stepback' to move him back by two years (and assuming he had a full bonus) it might only go up €800-1,000ish, but if he had full protection it won't really impact him at all. But things like whiplash are nearly impossible to prove. Pure scum though, and hopefully people do come forward - though if they were in the car behind him, the guy in the van's insurance company shouldn't have too much trouble showing them to be at fault.

It's situations like SEP 23 said that can get hairy where one person was at fault and the other exaggerated injuries. Even without cameras and witnesses, the people faking injury in the car will likely get nothing here, and could get done badly for damages and/or fraud also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

If they take a civil action the judge's hands are tied if they have medical reports saying they are suffering whiplash or sore backs,both of which are easily faked.

wrong, they will take into account the location and damage to the vehicle. If there is no visible damage then it will be thrown out. It will also be likely that they have tried this before considering the car was full.
    There are records kept of repeat fraudsters.
    Working in claims for years so anybody worth their salt would be red flagging this big time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

numorouno wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

gimmick wrote: »

Fantastic contribution to the thread.
    What exactly warrants a roll eyes?

OP clearly said he saw them wave the reversing car out, if he saw that then he needs to report it, unless he chanced upon the scene after the crash and is picking up second half info and passing off as his own.

I deal with stuff like this a on daily basis. It's become an absolute joke in this country and people pretty much get a free ride on pursuing these type of claims which just shouldn't happen. More should be in place to discourage people from either milking an unforeseen accident to get money or to even think about staging an accident for the same thing(this happens more regular then most people would believe).

Sounds clear from the story OP that the people in the car were looking to get a nice third party injury claim out of the people in the van. However from what you've described they are unlikely to get anything from the van guy's insurer as in most circumstances if you rear end a vehicle you are deemed to be at fault. Saying that the passengers in the car will still get a payout from the van's insurer or the person driving the car's insurer, more then likely the person in the car as I said. As they are deemed the "innocents" as third parties so by law any injuries they have suffered have to be paid out on so that is why they've milked it.

I won't go in detail but I see it all the time. People from certain backgrounds packing their family in a banger of a car and staging an accident to get a few quid. Happens in Ireland numerous times every day and it's getting beyond a joke due to how easy it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

They're just scum.
    Something happened me last year when I was driving herself to college. This dopey b1tch in front was all over the place on the road and I knew by her something was up. Anyway was lashing rain out and slows down so I did aswell and she was almost past the lights when It turned amber so she jams on the brakes and I had to aswell but slid into back of her ( and I was a bit away from her. Roads were real bad).
    Fcuk all damage. More to mine because of her tow bar.
    Anyway I got out and see if she was ok. She got out and was fine but the stink f weed in the car was ****ing ridiculous.
    Told her I'd get it fixed an not to mind the insurance. She agreed. Exchanged numbers and details and the Cnut still went they insurance and then looked for personal injuries and her time off work?
    Nothing wrong with her.
    Some people aRe just scum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

razorblunt wrote: »
    Fantastic contribution to the thread.
    What exactly warrants a roll eyes?

OP clearly said he saw them wave the reversing car out, if he saw that then he needs to report it, unless he chanced upon the scene after the crash and is picking up second half info and passing off as his own.

Its the attitude of it. More AH "Im such a great, law abiding, worldly person" type shíte.
    They're just scum.
    Something happened me last year when I was driving herself to college. This dopey b1tch in front was all over the place on the road and I knew by her something was up. Anyway was lashing rain out and slows down so I did aswell and she was almost past the lights when It turned amber so she jams on the brakes and I had to aswell but slid into back of her ( and I was a bit away from her. Roads were real bad).
    Anyway I got out and see if she was ok. She got out and was fine but the stink f weed in the car was ****ing ridiculous.
    Told her I'd get it fixed an not to mind the insurance. She agreed. Exchanged numbers and details and the Cnut still went they insurance and then looked for personal injuries and her time off work?
    Nothing wrong with her.

Always have the Gardai called, otherwise its a case of "I said, she said" and the rear ender loses.

They're just scum.
    Nothing wrong with her.

How did it end? genuinely curious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭rambutman

theres a serious epidemic down the country with one ethnic minority carrying off all these scams. Know a fireman and 4 times in a week (in a small town west of ireland) they've had to go out to accidents (of not too serious an outcome), where in 1 case the car delibertely drove off the road (or it looks so) into a wall at not too high a speed. Nare a loss on the occupants of the car, yet they held the whole road up waiting to get cut out of the car and 4 of them had to get driven off in different ambulances with no injuries except..........whiplash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

gimmick wrote: »
    Its the attitude of it. More AH "Im such a great, law abiding, worldly person" type shíte.

Bit much coming from a Mod really. I've seen those responses on AH and I didn't feel it was implied, in fact it was exactly what I was going to post before I read it, then your response.

Anyway it's off topic at this stage.

Makes me remember one actually.
    When I lived in Waterford I was driving just next to the bridge which then carries onto Dublin and Wexford.
    The main street in Waterford is 2 lanes in either direction, I was in the slower lane of the 2 when a dosey cow which I had spotted before just standing there waiting to get out of the carpark near the river decided to floor it the moment I was next to her.
    Got out of the car and the door from the passenger side as the drivers wouldn't open. Asked if she was ok and that very moment another woman runs across the street screaming how I was driving like a maniac and that I should be off the road.
    I got fairly peeved at this as it became clear what was going on.
    I called the guards, they came and looked at the damage and this is when the driver of the car starts moaning of back pains.
    One Guard took me away and told me that this isn't the first time they'd seen this and not to pay attention as they will give their full statement to the insurance company.
    Car towed away, due to the door, called up the insurance and told them everything.
    Next day I get a call from their investigator saying she was on her way to check out the situation.
    That case lasted months and in the end was quashed.
    Apparently the drivers pains suddenly stopped when they asked her to visit a doctor approved by their insurers.
    Scum bags the lot of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

SV wrote: »
    If they keep the act up of being injured then they'll win the case. Hopefully the insurance company hires PI's to weed the scamming bāstards out

Insurance company will most likely make a low ball offer to make them go away which is usually less than what it would take to hire PI or solicitor fees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

bear1 wrote: »
    How did it end? genuinely curious

Not good. Damage was only 100 quid ( worked in Toyota for years so I knew its only small on her part) but she took it for 700 quid and personal injury she wanted a grand. Absolute Cnut. Yes I should've called the Garda but she was running late for college and she couldn't afford to miss a class.

Thats ****e, they should be banned off the road forever.... or their houses burnt down. Haven't made my mind up yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

If the "injured parties" were in the moving, rear car then the guy in the stationary van in front has nothing to worry about.

I'd have burnt them all out of it....wouldn't be long moving then.

(I wouldn't, but they sound scummy)

Mr.McLovin wrote: »
    Insurance company will most likely make a low ball offer to make them go away which is usually less than what it would take to hire PI or solicitor fees

This is the norm yeah, in my opinion it shouldn't even get to this stage if there is any shadow of a doubt. More investigations need to be done and more consequence for attempted fraud.

I've caught 2 people at it in 5 months in my current job. I've forwarded all I knew to my superiors who would then contact the federation who are supposed to get on to the guards. Rarely anything happens and is too frequently a free ride for people to have a go at getting some cash. It's a joke.
    If the "injured parties" were in the moving, rear car then the guy in the stationary van in front has nothing to worry about.

The problem lies with the passengers in the car you see. The person driving the car will get nothing from his own policy but the passengers will by law if they have any injuries.... the law is in place for good reason but too many people milk it through fraud so it really needs to be looked at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

I have a theory that thats where a lot of those "we buy cars for cash" cars end up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

I don't drive so don't know much about the insurance side of it, but isn't it usually the car who crashes into the back of another the one that is liable?

That's what I though too. I think these dumb fúcks did it the wrong way round.

I've heard of several tales of cars reversing into you and claiming you hit them from behind. Shát meself hearing that so immediately purchased a dash cam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I think anyone who sues for whiplash should be lashed by an actual whip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,204 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

They're just scum.
    Nothing wrong with her.

Always cover your ass in such a situation. Very nieve on your part, one whiff of weed and you should have been onto the Guards straight away even if it was only a minor tap. If she tried to leave she would have been leaving the scene of an accident and could have been prosecuted so no idea why you'd rely on the word of a dopehead driving out of her bin to do the right thing.

OP - Half the problem is guys like you witnessing the situation, getting rightly irrate and then.... starting a thread on boards.ie. As others have said this is a curse that hits the regular law abiding men and women on our roads. No point in being pissed off when you can do something. Especially when you dont !

Mince Pie wrote: »
    wrong, they will take into account the location and damage to the vehicle. If there is no visible damage then it will be thrown out. It will also be likely that they have tried this before considering the car was full.
    There are records kept of repeat fraudsters.
    Working in claims for years so anybody worth their salt would be red flagging this big time.

Do full cars always red flag thou. What do yous do when theres a red flag

well for one, I was told by my insurer that they do not take into account the statements from friends or family of the drivers.
    So witnesses is the best thing to have and clearer as mentioned there were loads. So I'd imagine a car full of them may make some bells go off

bear1 wrote: »
    well for one, I was told by my insurer that they do not take into account the statements from friends or family of the drivers.
    So witnesses is the best thing to have and clearer as mentioned there were loads. So I'd imagine a car full of them may make some bells go off

Statements & "injuries" are two totally different things. If the third parties(passengers, people in other car) go to a qualified doctor and get a letter saying they are suffering from injuries due to the incident they will get a payout of some kind. Insurers are starting to push for their own doctors to assess cases in abnormal circumstances so that is one way to combat it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

It's called being a w4nker.

You see, the guy in the vans word against them in the car. They are going to say he reversed into them at speed. They arent going to admit driving into him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

newbie2013 wrote: »
    You see, the guy in the vans word against them in the car. They are going to say he reversed into them at speed. They arent going to admit driving into him

So I was right when I suggested setting their car on fire?