Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favourite childhood Christmas Presents

• 14-11-2013 9:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭

For the season that's in it..

My favourite would have to be my Evel Knievel wind up bike

Of course my Releigh Grifter

So AH.. your more memorable/crappy ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,723 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Sega Mega Drive. I barely remember anything I got in any other year, but I got a Mega Drive when I was 10, and nothing was ever going to beat that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Penn wrote: »
    Sega Mega Drive. I barely remember anything I got in any other year, but I got a Mega Drive when I was 10, and nothing was ever going to beat that.

Yeah, I was about 10 when I got a Super Nintendo. Got so much freaking play out of it. The rock land of SuperMario World was the first thing in my life that 'aged' me, the stress of getting past some of those water levels changed me man, a little boy who lost his innocence to a world that could cause so much pain. :(

I did eventually clear the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

The pair of jeans I got with the pockets cut out of them.

Something to wear, and something to play with in one go. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

this is the grifter i got

http://i805.photobucket.com/albums/yy334/MadMaxEdwards/IMG_6437.jpg

3 gears on the handle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

I remember the year my brother got one of those., I still hold a huge resentment. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Penn wrote: »

I was 8 when I got mine, still remember playing Sonic for the first time, back then we'd go to my Nan's for dinner and I must have been moping around the house as my Dad dissappeared and reappeared 40 minutes later having gone home to get it. Made my day!

Best present though was the GI Joe base the year before, my Dad only confessed recently it took him a week to build, he'd go down to my Aunt's house every night to assemble it. My cousin got one too that year and I remember that Xmas morning my Uncle looking completely dishevelled he was up at 5am making it after totally underestimating the requirement. My cousin went to open it and the whole thing collapsed. My cousin burst out crying and my uncle almost did too, while my dad was standing smugly admiring the carnage.

mcc_box.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Raleigh burner with mag wheel's ,

Always wanted the Raleigh Vektar in black never did come bah humbug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Optimus Prime.

A toy and someone to base my whole belief system on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

One year I asked for a Xmas tree for Xmas and that is exactly what I got, a small 10'' Xmas tree.

Another year I wanted an elephant and ended up getting two elephants*

elephants may have been teddys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

The LoLo ball years, those yokes were great. The lies we told, "I did 2000 yesterday". Do they still exist, even in Wii version?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Bicycle.
    Stilts.
    Scalextric.
    Train set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Best - Sega Master System
    worst - Spice Girls CD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭matchthis

Mask figures, no vehicles. Went down Xmas morning and didn't see them under the tree. Dad consoled me and showed me the guys sitting on the branches in the tree. My fondest, most magical memory of my dad.

Yeah, I was about 10 when I got a Super Nintendo. Got so much freaking play out of it. The rock land of SuperMario World was the first thing in my life that 'aged' me, the stress of getting past some of those water levels changed me man, a little boy who lost his innocence to a world that could cause so much pain. :(

I did eventually clear the game.

The Labrinth levels in Sonic did the same to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Used to get scallextric the odd year but I remember this one the most.

I don't remember a lot of specific presents but what I remember the most is when I thought I had "evidence" of Santa one Xmas morning. I cut out a piece of cardboard from a cereal box and put it by the fireplace, determined to prove that he existed and that he came down the chimney.................highly scientific approach.

The aul lad got a wellie, put it in soot and then left a footprint on the cardboard. The next morning when I saw it I flipped, I don't even remember what presents I got that year but I had my evidence for Santa :pac:

Worst present I had was when I was forgotten about one Xmas, it was also when I spent the most on gifts for everybody, they realised halfway through opening the presents that literally nobody got me anything. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

when my parents got me my first watch.

i had just learned how to tell time, and it was a big deal!

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Used to get scallextric the odd year but I remember this one the most.

I don't remember a lot of specific presents but what I remember the most is when I thought I had "evidence" of Santa one Xmas morning. I cut out a piece of cardboard from a cereal box and put it by the fireplace, determined to prove that he existed and that he came down the chimney.................highly scientific approach.

The aul lad got a wellie, put it in soot and then left a footprint on the cardboard. The next morning when I saw it I flipped, I don't even remember what presents I got that year but I had my evidence for Santa :pac:

Worst present I had was when I was forgotten about one Xmas, it was also when I spent the most on gifts for everybody, they realised halfway through opening the presents that literally nobody got me anything. :(

Granda did the same when his kids were growing up, went with a heap of sand and dumped it outside, everyone seen it but nobody questioned it then later put the footprint in it, cue massive excitment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Moocow100

Crazy I read the heading and the first thing that came to my mind was my Evel Knievel Bike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

When I was four I got a Barbie horse and carriage, which I was just delighted with. I found out later that my dad and grandad, both jarred, had spent half of Christmas Eve night trying to put on all the tiny stickers so it would look all snazzy when I got it :)

My first mobile phone was another great one. A 3310 with a pink cover :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Never got a console for Xmas, if I had it would easily win out here. The two best that spring to mind were a scaletrix knock-off and a Ghostbuster's proton pack with a yellow foam tube to stick in the gun bit which was supposed to be light beam! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

One year I got a little red sweet shop that had real hard if sweets on the shelves and a till with you money. I remember that fondly.

I also remember the year me and my brother got bikes. My parents bought me a blue one and him a red one and u had a knicker got because girls don't ride blue bikes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭ORVEE

A bike made out of gold. I couldn't believe it.

http://www.dtrcartwright.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/Burner/85_06b.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

The bike I got at age 9 - gave me 6 years of convenient transport. Also not pink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

A racing car set with a looping track that took up half the sitting room floor. We enjoyed playing with it when Dad let us have a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

That's not a grifter!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

I got Optimus Prime when I was about 4. I've got many better presents since then but Optimus Prime is my most memorable and special present

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Lego was great, kept me busy and never got old.
    Megadrive and SNES were the most exciting years though, especially when you have brothers are you're all stoked about it. There's a kind of bonding experience to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭Hoop66

I got Verti-Bird when I was about 9 or so.

Best toy ever. It really flies, as I never tired of reminding people.

No, that wire is just for the controls IT REALLY FLIES!

Amazing the fun you could have going round and round in circles, occasionally "rescuing" the car that came with it. I made a helipad with a big H on it for mine[/sad twat]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

Mighty Max Skull Mountain playset. Discovering all the little trapdoors and secrets one by one as the day went on was like a new present each time. Another year I got a farmyard to home all my animal figurines. I used to love getting all these presents that required an active imagination to play with. Then I got a SNES and I never used my imagination again. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭The Dom

Gatling wrote: »
    Raleigh burner with mag wheel's

There was a blue Raleigh Burner with blue mag wheels chained to a pole in Temple Bar beside the Button Factory a few weeks back. It had the yellow crossbar padding and everything and I swear I almost cried. I had a poster of that bike on my wall for four years when I was a kid.

I looked back when I was half way down the road and could see a few guys in their late 30s, early 40s had stopped or slowed their walk to take in what they were seeing. Was like they were looking at a Veyron or something.

My own favourite Christmas gift was a handheld Space Invaders game.

To be able to walk around holding something you could only usually do on a TV (which in itself was impressive enough in 1983) was amazing. Christ I went through some amount of batteries though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Z rims for my bmx, the ones that buckled then sprang back into shape.

TCR.

A Kiss remote controlled van.

Stretch Armstrong.

A chemistry set.

Astro Wars.

Kryptonics for my skateboard.

The Last In Line by Dio.

Computer Battleships.

A Fozzy Bear cuddly toy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

For sheer use my best presents were a pair of boot-skates and a lo-lo ball. That was also the year that Dad gave us the drum out of an old washing-machine (not for Christmas!) We could stand on it and whizz around in circles until falling off from sheer vertigo.

The Big Red Fun Bus and The Big Yellow Tea-pot are another two that stand out in my memory.

Good times.

Also, I just remembered! I got an Uncle Travelling Matt toy one year and I just loved him to bits. I still have him minus his helmet :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I almost got a blow job down a lane with no condom fo 30 euro by a junkie whore one christmas eve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Lads, when is the Toy Show on? And most importantly will you be able to see it across the water here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

I was mad into Lego. The two best Christmas presents were a few years apart.

Lego 911 Universal Building Set

Lego 8860 Car Chassis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

These...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

The Dom wrote: »
    There was a blue Raleigh Burner with blue mag wheels chained to a pole in Temple Bar beside the Button Factory a few weeks back. It had the yellow crossbar padding and everything and I swear I almost cried. I had a poster of that bike on my wall for four years when I was a kid.

I looked back when I was half way down the road and could see a few guys in their late 30s, early 40s had stopped or slowed their walk to take in what they were seeing. Was like they were looking at a Veyron or something.

That bike brings back so many memoires ,

I swear I'll either buy one off eBay or find one to restore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Commodore 64

Will never forget it, Christmas sure was an amazing, truly magical time when you were a kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

keith16 wrote: »
    Commodore 64

Will never forget it, Christmas sure was an amazing, truly magical time when you were a kid.

Remember spending hours of my childhood playing "The Double" on the C64. Forget your Football Manager, Championship Manager and all that guff. The Double was the king of football management games.

Brought Gillingham to the league and cup. Not so much a demonstration of my skill at the game as much a demonstration of my determination to cheat at any cost. Switching the computer off and reloading the game until I won probably accounted for over 50% of my childhood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭fortwilliam

ORVEE wrote: »
    A bike made out of gold. I couldn't believe it.

http://www.dtrcartwright.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/Burner/85_06b.htm

[/QUOTE
    ]

Are you me?

I had that exact bike.. then the milk float drove over it.. it was never the same again...:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

When I got a bike. Normally our presents were left under the tree, but that year Santy decided to leave it at the end of my bed. So I woke up early and in the half light I could see the shape of a bicycle! I was so delighted!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

razorblunt wrote: »
    Lads, when is the Toy Show on? And most importantly will you be able to see it across the water here?
    I think it's the last Friday of this month, repeated the following Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

One that sticks out was a proper metal tennis racket and 5 Dunlop balls when I was around 9 or 10. The amount of craic I had with them was actually unreal :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Duffman K

Got a snooker table (6ft x 3ft) one year when I was about 12 , loved the thing so much but after a year or two it had to be taken down as it was taking up too much
    space :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭GHOST MGG

Wooh the memories..
    one i can remember playing with a lot was http://i1302.photobucket.com/albums/ag123/darrenca2010/il_570xN306578352_zpsf07007f8.jpg you put the red laser discs in the hole on top and they fired out the front..it was magic!

and my biggest christmas present was in 81 a http://i1302.photobucket.com/albums/ag123/darrenca2010/5235786057_6762bb702b_zps282cfcde.jpg
    My first computer..ah the joys of stick men fighting in valhalla!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

A millennium falcon from star wars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭travis1976

matchthis wrote: »
    Mask figures, no vehicles. Went down Xmas morning and didn't see them under the tree. Dad consoled me and showed me the guys sitting on the branches in the tree. My fondest, most magical memory of my dad.
    I nearly shed a tear reading that. Lovely memory to have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

minotour wrote: »
    The LoLo ball years, those yokes were great. The lies we told, "I did 2000 yesterday". Do they still exist, even in Wii version?

While seeking inspiration for my kids presents i answered my own questions from above.

Lolo balls are back (but not in POG form). http://www.amazon.co.uk/Mookie-76586-Lolo-Ball/dp/B0002CYUMA/ref=sr_1_238?s=kids&ie=UTF8&qid=1385040405&sr=1-238

Seriously though, read the reviews, they are still a big hit with the 5-10 year olds. Cheap too, Im getting a bunch of em for the nephews

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Game Boy with Pokémon Red